EFCC arrests 24yr old currency courier trying to export N1b cash out of Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 September 2012

EFCC arrests 24yr old currency courier trying to export N1b cash out of Nigeria

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) two days ago arrested one Abubakar Tijani Sheriff, whom it described as a bulk currency smuggler, as he attempted to smuggle $7million out of the country. The EFCC said in a statement yesterday that Sheriff, 24, was arrested at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport in Lagos en route Dubai, United Arab Emirates, as he boarded his flight.

Following his arrest, he declared that he had a total sum of $4.5million on him but thorough screening and search showed that he was actually carrying $7,049,444, the commission said.  Sheriff then confessed that he was a courier for 20 individuals who hired him to courier the money for them to Dubai.

"Investigations by the EFCC showed that Sheriff is a regular traveller and one of several couriers of illegal cash suspected to be proceeds of crime,” the commission adding that his claims concerning his accomplices are being investigated.

Travellers leaving the country are statutorily required to declare cash in excess of $10,000. However, under the provisions of the Money Laundering Act, it is not sufficient to declare excess cash; the onus is on the person making the declaration to explain the source of the excess cash and the reason for the export.

Source: Sahara Reports

103 comments:

One Word Man said...

I pray and hope this case gets investigated and d culprits brought to book... EFCC don't sweep dis 1 unda d rug...

Who is fooling who? Its obvious he's just d scape goat here,coz there're definitely some big guns behind d scene.

Qwaaaaaaat?whr did he get such money frm,na naija we D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥y,very soon we won't hear anything abt this case again

No comment waiting to see how this goes
ONEA....

And they think the country is poor, when some Nigerians are richer than most Africa countries.....

Omg,a whole 1billion naira,from the report he travels meaning this is not his 1st.I won't curse I just want God to take control.Jazmin.

Maryjane Blogazine said...

SUCH A YOUNG MAN SHOULD BE IN SCHOOL,NOT TAKING RISK AND INDULGING IN CRIME,GOD HELP HIM,MY BLOG-Maryjanedavidson.blogspot.com

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

His names sound Sierra Leonean though anyways foolish boy i wonder how much his cut is from all these smuggling deals

Warri Girl said...

He is just the boy, the God fathers are still hidden.

Ummmmmm na wa º°˚!

When wıll they foolıng themselves, EFCC stop brıng thıngs let dıs to our notıce, what an average Nıgerıan wants ıs justıce. If EFCC comes up to say so, so n so r they person behınd thıs money laundry n wıll b brought to bk n r actually penalızed then wıll begın to hv faıth ın the syst call Nıg.
At the end of dıs whole shıt, notın wıll be achıeved. What happened to the Adenuga's ıssue? N many more day have happened ın thıs ctry?
Abeg make una leave courıer guy alone, hım buz e dey do

JUGGERNAUT WRITING: SO WHY IS IT ONLY SAHARA REPORTERS AND LIB THAT ARE REPORTING THIS ONE? THE REST OF THE NIGERIAN MEDIA DO NOT HAVE AIRPORT CORRESPONDENTS? DO I SMELL A "POLITICAL FISH" HERE? ISN'T SOMEONE TRYING TO COVER THE SMELLING FISH? 20 PEOPLE sent him; HAHAHA. HOPE EFCC DO NOT GO CHASING SHADOWS AND MIRAGE. THIS ONE NA "GOVERNOR FISH" SHIKINA!

freeangel said...

na wa ooo

7 million buckeroos.....this is crazy

Sheriff why nau? U should have called me to help u carry some,now see...

Musediq said...

Huge money, na wa ooo people no dey fear sha...THIEVES

BLOGLORD said...

Na ele-eja get the money? Isn't it obvious its for some top politicians? i bet this is the end we would hear of this matter after one or two phone calls is made.

Kanyinulia said...

There's nothing wrong with what the boy had done...they operate a money transfer center sort of money courier. And its difficult doing the business in Nigeria cos they ask for lots of ish...if you transfer money from nigeriua, you'll find out that they charge you one naira on top of any one dollar, one euro etc cos thats what is used in settling the airport officials..... They take the money to dubai and do the individual transfers from dubai cos its easy to the business from there..besides foreign currency operators have couriers who travel with more than a billion dollars on dailyb basis, i guess his is just a case of business gone bad

I've seen someone with bigger money on transit.

Who is he fronting for? HahahhahHa...NAija politician and mago mago

wow, Nigerians are still carrying cash in this day and age??? The courier could have simply set up a currency company and individuals could have been sending or clearing the money through the company! Maybe Sheriff did not want to pay taxes

Ghen ghen!! Dem don catch wan scape goat, let's see how d story unfolds. ANGELIC

BLOGLORD said...

24? hmn! U'll see this one on the road cruising the latest car and doing big boy up and down and u keep wondering what he does for a living.
never compare ur life to others!

tax collector said...

May b d brain behind al these did nt settle d EFCC wel.eyah is a pity.why nt go n catch d big fishes dat launds money.ops!sorry why would they,whn they r d ones dt appointed them.i pray i hear d aftr story.y would i whn they wil b settled wit half of d money.mtshwwww NONCENSE!!!!

Same TJ that facrook sent to collect $620k from Otedola?he should name the 20 owners(government officials).public fund meant for the amelioration of poor citizens is smuggled to developed countries with comfortable citizens. Billions of dollars are wasting(idle) in foreign banks yet people believe that Nigeria is poor.This country a big joke.

Naija we Hail Thee,dere re Obviously Big names involved.....imagine d amt he is smuggling out..:hmmmmm

Carryin of huge hard currency out of d country is a steady occurance...its just dat dis one leaked...bt I kw it wud be swept soon

Hmmmm, could this Tijani be the same Tj Farok Lawan was referring to? *thinkingoutloud*

Pls my pple, let's stop listening to Sahara reporters biko nu! Dey always publish fake news! This is what "Sahara reporters" is known for! Linda biko I beg u, stop culling some news from Sahara reporters, dey never have d gist right! Do ur own investigations lik u always do! As much as I go lik comment on dis kind money Wey I dey hear so, d fact dat dis article came from Sahara reporters jst prevents me from doing so! Sahara reporters, lie lie pple! Lols! «~DORA

dope said...

Story storrrrry... Story. Once upon a tym. Tym tym... Case no where to be found in 2months

So he is not Ibo? I thot it was only Ibo pple that like money....ndi oshi no n'obara...mtscheew..

http://ashirigbakaute.blogspot.com/

I Tot u were d one,,u guys luk alike

Na dem sabi

onyenanu chiamaka jennifer said...

Dats y they want make 5000 naira note so dat it will be easier to carry

Na wa oooo..

OMG!!! Linda I know dis boy......he lives in ma area, all dis small hausa beurea de changes boys.... Where did he get such huge amount of money from??? Hope τ̲̅ђe 20 individuals show der face oooo else *lipsealed*

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

you c why we kicked against 5,000 naira bill. They for just they stuff the moni for their pants take fly out of the country .
that 7million dolls belongs to a top gun i bet a politician the boy is just a courier na only 7milla dey c wit am i get to wonder how much more the guy has stashed away

Celebrity World said...

Hey se moneyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ewo egoooooooooo linda let there now how efcc go arrest man and money at same time . Nigeria with wayo 419. If to say na dangote nobody fit arrest him this trillion of naira .oleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeEeeeee

So sad.

This thing is going to die natural death. Let's all just wait and see. Such monies most likely belong to the countries top dogs. Sherif will be back home in no time. No be Naija??? P.E.

Lwkm anonymous. 2:37pm must be chungai...this matter is real qwaaaaaaaat...lol

thats Nigeria for you.the story ll soons be forgotten and abandoned

Str8FrmDaHips said...

He should name his boss..fat chance of that happening..he probs be let go..depending on who Bossman is!!
Yet some are wandering the streets trying to get a meal..God is this fair??

This guy looks like someone that I sat next to from Paris to Lag. Same name really young and travelling business class. Casually dressed BB Porsche, LV etc. I hope he isn't the one.

the nigga looks like K-solo

The money is much

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Dude is as good as dead..the boss men would waste him!!

its a big fat setup with 1 billion you can bribe your way to heaven...

*dis is serious*

Online Preacher said...

... and they are talking about N5,000 note so that it will be easy and less bulky to steal our money away. Nemesis will catch up with them. But I pray those behind this are brought to book because this is wickedness. They could have even invested in our economy with the money are created more jobs. This will certainly yield more interest than going to hide it overseas.

nekysparkles said...

Omg!!!see money

johnson said...

Are you unemployed or u need extra cash as a
student,broke,confused!! Here's ur big chance to make N15,000 daily by joining Netcontacts coporate services. Members are entitled to benefits!!! Visit http://www.netcontacts.com.ng/
Register with my invitation code:1372385812. And start making money.For more info call:08036910953.

The money may belong to somebody in government or the National Assembly. If it is then the matter can neatly be swept down the staircase, and not even under the carpet.

R4R said...

i agree with u bonario

pls chck
www.relationship4rum.blogspot.com

I LIVE IN DUBAI ,THATS HOW WE RECIEVE MONEY FROM NAIJA FAST TO BUY GOODS FOR CUSTOMERS. ITS NOT GOVT'S MONEY ,THATS TRADERS MONEY

This will pass, in a week it will be out of the news, trust me on this

wow,

So dem get levels for currency smuggling? Which one be bulk currency smuggler? Dem get pieces currency smuggler as well?

Only God will help Nija.

What does the Nigerian Govt do with these money they seize in the name of money laundering...i give'em 3 months you won't hear anything about this issue again and the money will develop wings

Ok! This name is Yoruba so for all those that were abusing and insulting an entire group of people, Ndi Igbo, on the Internet, what do you have to say here????

He looks like K-solo

Trust me, nothing will come out of this. Before we say JACK, the big man will take his money and the young man will be released and continue with the task. This is just a news to excite us that they are working. Eagle wey no dey see.

well my comment is to bonario or whteva,DO U HAVE A JOB?YOU SEEM TO BE VERY ACTIVE IN LIB,smtimes ur comments r stupid some smart,dont if u must always show up here try d anonymous once in a while.

DID I SMELL A FISH? 20 PEOPLE SENT HIM; FOR EFCC TO PURSUE SHADOW WAKA? AGEGI TELL US WHICH POLITICIAN GET AM; ABI NA ABUJA BASED OR GOVER**R

The money na for farouk aka mr cap banking and all the honorable thieves

Make Money Online said...

definitely the source is not clean, if it is the word smuggled wont be there

BIBI said...

imagine dat, dis money wuld have done a lot 2 improve d living conditions of pple in nigeria but dey choose 2 loot.GOD is watching u all

Naija na action Film ,maybe the 20 individuals never come settle Efcc that's why dem come arrest am.

amakA sparkles said...

The owners ar top govt officials. Dtz y thy wanted the #5000 notes.thieves!

It is well in the well ooooo. Wat is dis country turning into.

i personally am tired of hearing all these bullshit vry soon the case wil disapear in2 tin air.

mr uche j said...

get all the people with stive hard work.

You are definitely right and besides the courrier charges for moving cash is just ridiculous not forgettin the horrendous process involved. Am now imagining how much ought to have been charged for the amount in question

i know this dude from secondry school days in lagos state model collge kankon...alwys spoke of some tight hausa connections...now i know he wasnt lying then...

the anus is on the EFCC persons making the investigation to arrest the accomplices also.

Leave the poor guy, he's looking for a better tomorrow....

Pls oooo where are his parents cos I would like a word with them,as for the kiddo he should be seriously investigate and purnished accordingly.

hmmm. no b small money oo

@anonymous 10.29am
Its onus and not anus oooo....lmao!!!'

@Anon..
Don't like correcting but sure you meant onus not ANUS!!..

Ok........so what happens to d money?

Lolz.. Bros abi babe Ψ U̶̲̥̅̊ leave matter @ hand attack psn wey D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ on him own. Maybe d dude is on hols na or an applicant or a̶̲̥̅̊ night worker... Whateva jor =D ђåª•ђåª•ђåª
º°˚˚ º°˚˚

#Word.. Dats Ψ they wanted 5k note. I concur.. Bunch of thieves

D anus kuma??? Omo!!! If d anus is on d EFCC psn, where d prick go come D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥.. Lolz

I bet that money belong to 1 northern government offical trying to use our funds to buy a mansion in dubia, in atl more than 30 husa kids all in college live in multymillion dollar house on lenox rd and peces ferry rd

As usual

Dat niggas 1 connected mutha4ka,dat amount of money @ 24!n he's been in2 it 4 a whyl nw!dis isn't d first,trust me his goons r already negotiating his freedom

Whatever sha bt de case has to be thouroughly investigated........oooo

Dis country is turnin 2 smtin else oooo very soon naija will enter menopause nd hmmmmm i wonder de outcom since notin is done now

hmmmm see hate served on a platter, sowey with such comments BONARIO aint quiting LIB anytime soon,and am trying not to sound rude just like u.

You that noticed Bonario is VERY active on Lib.. Doesn't that tell a lot esp the fact that you EQUALLY just as active or even more. Abeg park well and leave Bonari alone! Mscheww!

Pardon me but did u mean to type "onus" not "anus"?

@Angel williams, idiot go and collect your own share of the money from EFCC na. Like you don't know what's going to happen to the money before..

Lol••• Anus of proof oh sorry* onus of proof

Anus? Muahahahahahahahahahaha! Ewo! Its onus o!

@Angel,,the money will be transfered into ur acc. Sure

Anus? Jisos ...some of you no bother pass primary 6 sha....thank god for BB many of you will still be thinking Internet is a city in London

Manzuma Shehu said...

why not putting it on dollar account 1billion is not too much for his age.
maybe is on a business trip. he didn't steal it na. nawa for u guys

Sasha Fierce! said...

Hmmm, The 'Anus'....Am sure the commenter must be Yoruba...They always write words the way it sounds in their mouth.

'The Anus of the proof indeed......Wetin concern ANUS and EFCC?See as you make me fart now with laughter.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Shut it @Sasha fierce...Yoruba indeed!!!..become trendy now to run mouth like a railtack on tribal lines..not suprised always something ANAL 'bout ya!!