Dear LIB readers: I hate my engagement ring | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 2 September 2012

Dear LIB readers: I hate my engagement ring

From a LIB reader
My boyfriend of three years proposed to me just this Thursday night with the cheapest looking ring I've ever seen. He said the ring is expensive but it looks cheap and I hate everything about it. He said his sister picked the ring out for him. I'm not surprised she has no taste. Can I sell my ring and get another one for myself? I've seen a ring I want, should I discuss it with him or just get it without his knowledge?

246 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 246 of 246
jisola said...

na wa for all this LIB readers o!alot of you are just very slow and pathetic...Wats wrong if someone doesnt like her engagement ring???for crying out loud, shes the one wearing it...you all criticizing jst sound desperate. its your type dt ur bf will wooze u once and then you will convince yourself that you were the one that is wrong and he's sorry dn u will start crying that you married a monster.Y wud u be dating someone for so long to get to propopsal stage and the person doesn't know wat you like then he kips making loads of errors when you are married and you cant agree if from now you both don't know wat works for both of you.

However madam, it may not mean that your fiance doesnt care, some guys are just unintentionally nonchalant so i think you can show him how much you appreciate your new status and tell him subtly ow u feel about the ring...hes ur man by the way, you shud be able to tell him anything.

Young lady, u will never be happy in this marriage because you love the thought of an expensive ring wrap around that tiny/ Fat finger of yours rather than the thought of being with the man you love forever! Simply said you are FUCKED with so much Misplaced Priorities!
I pray i never meet a Skinny/ fat FUCK like you.

jisola said...

i forgot to add sef...bsds the ring is an expensive one...a cheaper one may be way classier and she wud love it....desperadoes calling someone materialistic.

Its so funny that people are saying "you are engaged and you arent happy"
Is marriage a gateway to a successful or happy life...please av a rethink....She isnt going to die if the guy breaks up wv er cos she doesn't like her ring(i hope so)

Famous Amos said...

U RE A BIG FOOOOOOLLLLLLLL...IDIOT! LONGGGGG HISSSSSS

Famous Amos said...

U RE A BIG FOOOOOOLLLLLLLL...IDIOT! LONGGGGG HISSSSSS

you are a stupid girl and you are an ungrateful person i hope he breaks up with you.

okay oh if she no want am me i go have am asin i dey wait for my own but in the main tyme i fit wear her own. what an idiot she does not like her ring okay then why not return it to him!!!!

I would advise you wear the cheap 1 proudly. Sebi you get another engagement ring on engagement day? Abi married people how is it done? So work on that. U might not have to wear this for long. My friend hates her engagement ring too, but she is looking for to d new 1 she gets on her engagement day. She is choosing it herself to match their wedding band

ODE. Instead of u to form that area boys tif am. Then u should form sadness for him and say u are even willing to get another one at ur own cost ( with the money u got from pawning the ugly ring) saying u feel soo bad and can't let him spend anymore money on a replacement.

Don't u women know what "Native Intelligence" is all about?

Suganmu like u. Pscheeeew

She said the ring was picked by the guy's sister not the guy himself. She better mind her taste before she will start stepping on her in-law's toes or rather be seen as a gold digger. This is just proposal does not necessarily guarantee their getting married eventually. She better tread softly and learn to be appreciative of the content for which the ring was given to her and not the price of the ring. In as much as the guy likes it, she should be proud of it and the earlier she starts forgetting about those materialistic pple she call friends who wouldn't even mind a plastic ring to be in her shoes the better for her. If u give urself sometime, u might eventually like it esp when u see the admiration and pride of giving u in his eyes, that if u truly love him anyway.

i honsetly think the ring is ugly. why are we calling her names? you pple ve moved beyond bf/gf an d at this stage you should be free to air your views? if u cant say what u feel concerning anything then you should again check the relationship. a successful relationship is based on total n complete honesty n openess. it doesnt ve to be expensive to be nice.if you dont like it discuss it with him. you should wear what you ve proudly.

i neva liked my engagement ring as well.until i made him realize it.it was actually some diamond ring worth almost a million naira.now,i'v grown 2 luv it as i realized its a beautiful expensive piece.

U just don't seem to get her point here. Her not liking the ring has nothing to d with beauty but the price, saying is too cheap and u're advising her to go for a more cheaper but beautiful one. Obviously u misunderstood her point.

Babe said...

My dear,
DONT change the ring or even discuss it with him, you must learn to love what you get from the one you love and better still teach him to love what you love(raise his class).
Some men are just nt bothered abt the things we ladies are finicky about.
If you start by hating the ring, i'm sorry to say, you might end up hating everything about your marriage to him.
the ring is just a ring, it's the thought/emotion/affection behind it dat matters.
A lot of people with beautiful rings dont have an amazing marriage.
i indirectly told my husband d kinda ring i wanted before he proposed but he got me sumfin else, i love what he got even dou it's nt what i wanted.
and the truth is, he actually found what i wanted but as he walked into the shop to pay for it someone else just picked it and it was just few days to our anniversary. If he hadn't proposed dat day cos he dint get the right ring, i woulda thot he wasn't ready for commitment and was wasting my time.
Please love your ring as much as you love your man.

you must be really stupid to ask such question...wait a minute..why ask us wen u already made ur mind up to do what u want with it....d poor guy try ein best to do the right thing...now its d ring next thing is where u wanna have ur wedding...babe no let thunder fire u!!!! U BETA BE WISE AND TAKE D RING IN PEACE

U no get sense, u will make a useless wife, all dis women that want to behave like I belong. Be contented with what u have. Stupid girl. Linda post my comment oo, I no dey like d way u dey discriminate me.also I love u Linda .

You must be as dumb as ur boyfriend that gave you the ring...

No, you can't just sell the ring and get another one without speaking to him first. Nothing is wrong with a cheap engagement ring as long as the wedding band is gorgeous. Wear the ring and go with him to pick out the wedding band yourself.

Instead of sitting around mopin abotu the look of your ring be grateful that their is someonone out there who wants to marry you. Focus on the life you wan tto build together.

Thye attitude of most people on this blog seriously amazes me...A man that loves you and knows your worth will do whatever he can to please you. It is not a crime for her not to like her ring!!!!My friend did not like her ring, her fiance changed it and proposed to her with the new ring all over again...A man that loves you will do whatever it takes to keep you.. My love pls tell your man u don't like your ring in a very nice way and if he loves u he will find a solution to your prob but give him time.. to all the haters who are women condemning her you need to walk on your self esteem for being willing to accept even a rubber band ring just to marry a man!!!MSCCHEWW!!! NWA OMA has spoken!

The attitude of most people on this blog seriously amazes me...A man that loves you and knows your worth will do whatever he can to please you. It is not a crime for her not to like her ring!!!!My friend did not like her ring, her fiance changed it and proposed to her with the new ring all over again...A man that loves you will do whatever it takes to keep you.. My love pls tell your man u don't like your ring in a very nice way and if he loves u he will find a solution to your prob but give him time.. to all the haters who are women condemning her you need to walk on your self esteem for being willing to accept even a rubber band ring just to marry a man!!!MSCCHEWW!!! NWA OMA has spoken!

Betenks said...

This lady has no brains and damn too materialistic. i wish she was standing next to me to get the slaps that my heart and hands were preparing for her. A man can give u a 32 carat ring and give u hell when u eventualy mary him or give u a clay ring and give u heaven afterwards. love and the heart that gives it is all that matters. My friend and i once cracked a joke and said"we wouldnt mind even a ring made of barbed wire"as long as its a symbol of engagment from a man that we truly love. Grow up girl and show some respect.

*work on your self esteem

stevemak said...

Just too funny! U guys should read this thing well ooooH! The guy told her it is expensive and thats what he believes; O.k. I believe if she tells the guy it is cheap and she needs a new one the Guy will think twice and she might loose him but have the expensive ring. She is "NAUT"

One word for u madam engagement..._u mit jst end up being disengaged!!! How many yrs do u want to wear d engagement ring abi u think all engagements leads to d altar,no disengage ursef ooo...rather save ur energy and gt ur ass to d altar.

it is a woman like you that would prefer her man to borrow money instead of being comfortable. so he should now go and steal to buy you a new ring abi common girl get off your high horses and be content. ole oloju kokoro

discuss it with him. but only after you are already married and he is trapped. lol.

bitch you should be grateful you got a ring. it shouldn't be about the ring but about the love you have for each other!!! Honestly I don't understand some women sometimes, shallow idiot!!!

wait a minute, Linda is that the actual ring? if so that's a beautiful ring and girl you obviously don't know whats good!!!

u be mumu, u should count urself lucky to be proposed to cos there are so many ladies out there praying for a guy to come their way not to talk of proposing. u can even change the guy u dis ungrateful lady. ode osi!

YOU ARE A BLOODY INGRATE.Girls would kill for any ring even if its made of carton wood or plastic man look you give u ring you still dey lamba.Stupid girl.Bounce jooor hope he knows how materialistic you are before he commits his life to.eran oko oshi

What do you all mean "she should be grateful? HE SHOULD BE GRATEFUL TOO THAT SHE SAID YES. If you cant talk to your man then you guys ain't friends and shouldn't be getting married. My fiancee proposed to me with a ring i loved and i saw a similar and better ring from the same store and i told him 'I really love the ring you gave me but i saw something that would match every accessory i wear and the difference in price wasn't so much and we laughed it off and next day we exchanged the ring. NO HASSLE, NO FIGHT, NO ONE IS MATERIALISTIC.

AND WHO SAYS SHE WANTS A MORE EXPENSIVE RING? SHE SIMPLY DON'T LIKE THE RING, SO THEY CAN EXCHANGE IT FOR HER TASTE WHICH MIGHT EVEN BE CHEAPER.

U dis gal u dey craze ooo, u get ring n u still dey complaine??? Some women sef.".............

MzCream said...

Well, he shud get u a nicer one buh ask him nicely. That is why now I have started using style to tell my bf to take me to buy my ring after d proposal. Buh it's not nice dt u hv started insulting your inlaw before ur marriage sef.

I don't need to be a shrink to know that you are insecure,greedy and very mean. You are barely part of the family and you are already having issues with the sister, is'nt the man and not the ring suppose to be the real deal here. Ya sisters should learn how to hold onto the substance and not the shadow cos if you can hold on it then you control whatever shadow it might cast and pls give us a break

First, go out to a few ring stores to find out the value of the ring you were given. You want to be sure it is real on all levels. GO ALONE. Don't even tell your girlfriends cause it will get back to your man.

I'm not sure what country you're in but here in the US, every mall has at least one jewelry store. Drag your fiance to one of them, saying you want to "browse" WEDDING BANDS/RINGS. Take different opportunities to point out the engagement rings that you like -- and why. (THINK: ring setting, the way the ring is cut/shaped, etc.)

Over the course of many such visits to Jared's/Zale's/Kay's Jewelers and more, he'll get the hint if he's a smart man. You wont even have to tell him you don't like the ring. If he's one of those that it takes a while for him to get the hint, just keep taking him on jewelry outings.

It's very tacky to tell him directly and to his face that you hate the ring.

***Lush

imma said...

My gal though dis is coming quite late there is nothing wrong with discussing your disappointment with your future husband over the ring, its your life talk it over with him though you made a mistake by not telling him your expectations as to the kind of ring you are expecting before the eventual proposal,its your life discuss it and choose your words,like you said dat its your childhood fantasy if he loves you he will be glad he is fulfilling it. To other ladies in relationship seize some opportunity to chip in this expectations to your would be husbands naturally Nigeran guys are lacking seriously when it comes to this get her aa cute engagement ring things

his sister picking ur engagement ring????? #rollingmyeyes#

Therese said...

Please people if she doesn't like her ring she is more than allowed to change it. She's going to have to wear that ring for the rest of her life!
But I do advise she talk to her fiance and choose her words carefully as she does so!
Congrats on the engagement dear!

Nigerians. The lady asked for your advice. Did you guys really need to bring your sad, frustrated loveless lives here. That she doesn't like this particular ring does not make her materialistic or ungrateful, the only problem i honestly expected people to have with this post was why she had to send this to Linda. I m sure her mind, two friends and a sister could have easily helped her know the right thing to do.

But too bad for most of this comments sha... I bet you just want a guy that can get you pregnant , do abe ile wedding and even dump you in his mother's house. Desperation!!!!

Lol!!! Sounds more like changing your boyfriend.... you should be grateful!!! ur lucky he even proposed

sleekreek said...

U're not serious at all and probably a materialistic person,,,u dare not sell it or complain to ur guy about it cos u might be giving him a wrong signal......am sure u are just bothered about the fact that his sister chose the ring and like u said his sister doesnt have a taste,,,,,but do u think he should take u to where he bought it???His proposal was meant to be a surprise,and that's just the reason why his sister made the choice for him.........its just an engagement ring,,just to let u know he's committed,,,u will definitely be the one to choose ur wedding ring when the time comes.....

its a pity wat dis girl is going 4, an expensive looking ring, dat mins u want 2 show off not 2 marry d guy. Wen he buys u an expensive looking ring, he will use u 4 d wedding preparation. Its not her fault, its bcos d guys sister not only picked d ring, she also gave her consent or go ahead. Nonsense.

Why is it that every single one of these comments are so poorly written? Speak and write English, people. She has to wear this ring for the rest of her life, she should like it. It may eventually cause resentment in their relationship down the line. I am having the same problem you are. If you're too scared to talk to your fiance about this, perhaps you shouldn't be marrying him.

And just to reiterate, you all need to start speaking well. It makes you look ignorant. And you make America look ignorant. Vote Romney! :)

Does d quality of d ring determine d quality of d marraige?dere r mre impt things to look out for instead of d quality of d ring,b contented n b hapi...

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 246 of 246   Newer› Newest»