Arik Air overbooks flight; 16 people standing inside plane. Haha | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 September 2012

Arik Air overbooks flight; 16 people standing inside plane. Haha

This is going on right now at Murtala Muhammed Airport, Lagos. I'm getting info from passengers on the plane. Apparently Arik Air overbooked their Lagos-Benin flight by 16 people..and all sixteen passengers have refused to come down. Passengers have been at the airport since 6:30. Flight was initially supposed to take off at 7:30, then delayed to 11am. It was eventually boarded at almost 12 with 16 people more than available seats. The Arik Air involved is the one you see in this photo - the John Paul 2. No passenger is leaving and the plane is refusing to fly.

Lol. Naija! So Arik doesn't know when to stop selling tickets? Or they were hoping some passengers will not show up?

136 comments:

LMAO!!! Are thinks this bad now?Is it so bad that Arik air thinks they are now Ekene dilichukwU or the Young shall grow? chai! Nigeria is in serious soup!

Ngozi says so via my agbalumoberry.

If they refuse to get down, then they should expect a crash.

Emeka Facts said...

They need enough cash,now dey don get am.

loolz @ hoping some people don't show up. Anyway its simple,I suggest dey lap eachoda,or d flight attendants should come down.

na wa...these days with the recent happenings if i am asked to come down i just jejely do so...though it is annoying

Every single airline in the world does this.

Really nigeria na waoo

Paulynn said...

Naija Naija!!! lol

miss linda don't let arik add you to the list of people banned from their flights oooo..a word is enough for the wise..lol...they have a monopoly now

y r d complaining? let arik find them attachment chair as ekene dili chukwu style of the 90's.! laff wan kil me die!

Sasha Fierce! said...

Wow..Are you for real?In this age and time?
Africans have a loooooooooooong way to go in putting their acts together.
Am staying put abroad....where I trust that situations like this will never arise.

MAXIMUS™ said...

Oh dear! Lol, I don't blame the '16'. Seems Arik is the safest option to fly in Nigeria, hence the drama. If there were other better options, of course they would get off the plane and insist on refunds

Only In Naija!!!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Africans never learn from history..just read about the African Titanic in Senegal killing over a 1000+..due to what..OVERCROWDING..Ship was built to take 500 max!!..
No matter how urgent the business is what couldn't wait for a few hours or a day??..risking your life and others..there's a crash in Nepal apparently migth be due to overcrowding and EXCESS luggage!!

Alpha1alima said...

Let the pilot take off naa, it's 9ja n we r used to attachment, I flew with extra 29 passengers aboard sosoliso aircraft from Enugu to Lagos some years back, so it's not a new thing. My brother also did same last week with 19 extra passenger from Ph to abj. They should all understand.

Alpha1alima said...

Let the pilot take off naa, it's 9ja n we r used to attachment, I flew with extra 29 passengers aboard sosoliso aircraft from Enugu to Lagos some years back, so it's not a new thing. My brother also did same last week with 19 extra passenger from Ph to abj. They should all understand.

Arik should change their name to Ekenedilichukwu Air. Laughing in spanish

May B Naija need some heads 2 turn 52yrs. U guys shld gt ready 4 anoda crash if d 16 refuse 2 come down.

Chai i swear Arik they tot they werent going to show up not knwin Nigerians gon na ijebu.

Africa's jolie says so via lindaikeji's stolen Blackberry

is Arik the first airline in history round the world to have their plane overbooked?
cant the excess passengers save everyone the time and respect themselves and get off the darned plane to join the next flight?
if it was an international airline,they wld just humble...i hate nigerians sometimes!

Hehe! Flying molua

hmmmm! shut down arik before it is too late!

LMFAO.......Arik ke nan

cheeiii naija is in hot soup......

bonario you are too funny

Warri Girl said...

African Man style, guess they thought 16 people weren't going to show up.

Tunero said...

Why is everyone saying "Naija dis Naija dat"?? Its "Arik"(a private airline) 4 crying out loud not "Nigerian Airways" n besides almost all airlines all over the world overbook! I can't imagine a sane African will open her mouth and say Africans ve a long way to go cos 1 airline overbooked......

Ha naıja for real, evry tın ıs possıble. Thıs na sımply ıssue nw, get plyboards put btw d seats 2 accomodate d 16 n benın here they come. Stop wastıng arık's tım, dat plane 4 don do lıke 3 trıps... I luv dıs my ctry.

This is what happens everytime then they close check in earlier than normal so that some people will be stranded and pay extra to reschedule the flight.

sexylove said...

Hehe, arik yaff kill me oo, choi!! Molue plane, lwtmb

One Word Man said...

This is pathetic, an airline can't even keep tabs on tickets its sellin, hw can they keep tabs on plane checks, over haulin, maintenace and other more technical issue
Na Baba God go save us
Oshisco airlines

Loolz @ lap each oda,Bonario abeg d sun is much hereooo.

Tinz dat happen only in Naija,,,no matter d number of plane crashes dey xperience dey wil neva learn. ANGELIC

best comment so far....on point

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

Tickets are oversold everywhere in the world but what i don't understand is how they checked in the extra 16 people i mean didn't their systems show that the flight was full or did the extra guys check themselves in and go straight airside which seems unlikely coz even self check in closes once the flight is full. the likely scenario in the west would be the 16 extras raising hell at the check in counter not after boarding it beats me how they managed to check in the extra people

Baba Ibeji said...

For sure overbooking happens worldwide ... I guess the error on arik's part is that they shouldn't have allowed so many passengers board the plane....

#SMH... hilarious

Lolzz. Agofure special.

Gothikah said...

Abeg they should use d extra money for d 16 people and buy omojuwas ipad o make we hear word. The man go soon start ww3 nd 4 maka ipad. Biko nu ndi arik purchase ipad1 16g; ipad2 32gb; ipad 3 64gb all wit 3g o. Make he just get all d ipads let's hear.

ladiscolay said...

Hello, I was one of the passengers and I have picture from inside the aircraft. There were additional 5 people who were not allowed to enter the aircraft.
FAAN,Civil Aviation, Security agencies where are you all?

ada denco said...

Had the same experience this summer, it was just me and my bro. We actually made up our minds that we won't disembark because we will miss our international flight.
Lol,sorry for the peeps involved sha, i know how it feels.
Besides,that period was not easy at all because we initially booked aero, and the cancelled their flight for that day disappointing everyone, and Arik was our Only Hope.
www.somewhereinmoscow.blogspot.com

Lmao...I like ur sense of humour...lmao

ALEX said...

Chai.. Wonders shall neva end in that stupid country called nigeria. Imagine, it has turn to molue plane. Nawa ooo, well sha, make i just dey flex for my yankee wey i dey. Chei!!!

=))º°˚=D ˚˚°ºː̗̀=Dː̖́•‎​​​​​ ː̗̀=Dː̖́•‎​​​​​ º°˚˚=D ˚°º‎​°º‎​=)) omg, I can't stop laffing. Pls check out dis blog. www.fresh9jafashion.com

Oh my gosh, am speechless right now! what wont we see in the nigerian community. am ashamed of both the airline and passagers who refused to get off the plan when they realised the plan was full. are they not concerned about health and safety? God forbid what if something bad happens like plan crash there chances of survival would be very slim if not zero-then they would realise life is more percious than what ever they were rushing back to do or the money they spent on purchasing the ticket. meanwhile, how did the airline manage to overload the plan? dont they use seat numbers? were the staff checking pple in sleeping? or sld i say stupid?....so gutted!!!

True talk @maximus

Make de put attachment seats and utilise those seatbelts they use for infants for the extra passengers naa. They should strap those infant seatbelts to the already seated ones and off they go. The tym have wasted, person for don enta edegbe and co and land for benin sef. Hehehe

In civilised countries they would simply transfer them into other carriers,or refund them their cash!

BLOGLORD said...

*raised eyebrow*
ok, let me assume that ticketing officers got it messed up this time; why can't some Nigerians reason like they have a litle bit of sense in their head? do they intend to fly while standing? this is part of what causes plane crash and then when it happens everybody begin to cry and curse.

Well if u must know, this has neva happened in arik history and the reason for this was techical issue, arik is still trying to resolve it. Linda get ur fact right before u post ur stories.

some people are just the architect of their own misfortune.
make them stand go the benin na. idiots!

aviation rules allow airline to oversell ticket just not sure what the oversell ratio is

ibukun abimbim said...

Lol OMG what a buffoomery infact this country will not stop making the world laugh becoz Air plane has turned to moluwe in 9ja now. Lol pls no lapping oh and enter with your change

@ Sasha Fierce ur so so so lame u just want us 2 know ur abroad abi! What makes u fink situations like dis won't arise where ever u r. Just shut ur trap n get a life, I'm sure ur @ d swamps of AJ smoking weed dts y ur talkin trash.Quoting U'

Chris Vedutti said...

This arik guys are so fund of doin dat. I had 2 fight my way to get a seat from abuja 2 lagos even after I booked 48hrs b4 n got to da airport an hour b4 . Those guys fink they r enjoying monopoly dats why the can be dat so unprofessional not to knw wen to stop selling tickets . God help us dow

Oh pls!be sensitive...u think its fun losing sth no matter how small it is...u want to rub the stolen fone in her face?u re an olodo!!!

GB09 said...

I'm shocked at these comments, even here in Atlanta I've had to be moved to a later flight bcos Delta overbooked, its something airlines do all over the world. The logic is from experience since most times some people miss their flights so they do this to still be able to fly with a full plane and trust me it works majority of the time. On occassions where everyone shows up, they have a system of compensation, so please its not a Nigerian probblem, its an aviation industry norm. We need to educate ourselves before we condemn all the time.

am still laughing chie dey should use dana na its even cheaper.......... its 7k

Ignoramus..............u talk foolishly. Is it d fault of d passengers or d stupid airline dat over booked passengers,

Lisa said...

Airlines always overbook as some passengers tend to cancel at the last minute. This is done to ensure full-capacity. However, if all passengers do turn up, alternative arrangements are made for those who booked later i.e. travel at a later time than scheduled. The airline should be fined heavily. SMH

They should av brought in rubber chairs for them to sit atleast dem Too sitdown... Via dopeskin

At least that Omojuwa guy can shut the hell up on twitter! they didn't loose their passengers because they are still one of the top 3 airlines in nigeria! new planes and all.. i'm sticking with them o!

Funny enough, I have a 5mins video of the entire incidence as I was among the passenger on the flight. Left my hotel for the airport by 5am. Got there to meet a terrible crowd hustling for space. Flight was later cancelled and shifted to 11am. Took another one hour to get into the plane only to get there and the plane was overbooked. Both those of us sittind and those standing insisted that the flight will not move until either a bigger fliht or compensation is given to those without seat. After 1hr 30mins of shouting and rumbling, we finally negotiates 50% money return for those passengers foor their next flight. We hope they do it though. We finally left by around 2: 35pm and landed safely in benin

Celebrity World said...

Nigeria brain why this people turn plane to brt . Na wa oh everyday nigeria keep turn upside down . God help us with this bad people ?

Arik are use to that,even booking and cansle

dey shld "mu standin nw as in lagos molue style" or dey shld lap dia self

Airlines in the US overbook all the time but they offer airtravel coupons and lodge passengers who are willing to go on a later flight and you find lots of people volunteering,I even considered it sometime in
March when American Airline offered about $400 worth of travel coupons

only in Nigeria are we going to hear this silly story. The extra passengers should have been well compensated and that way, they will gladly get off d plane. Thats how its done

Marilyn Oge(Sumtin) said...

Lmao....... Very soon dey'll hav conductors...naija no go kill me o.... I agree wit d idea of lapping, dey shud just lap each other.

Folks. This is not just about rebooking. I am one of those impacted - so witnessed this drama life. All the people were given boarding passes. Some without seat numbers and some with multiple mumbers. The scale of the mess is simply shocking.

After a lot of pleading and so on some of the passengers were persuaded to come down on the condition that they will be out on another flight promised for 2.20. They were then taken to the executive lounge supposedly on the account of Arik. But again Arik staff simply disappeared and refused to foot the 1000 Naira cost for the lounge. As at 4.30pm when I left the airport, the romised 2.20 flight was yet to materialise.

Meantime all the affected passengers have had their boarding pass tickets endorsed for 50% rebate on their next flight. Only remains to be seen if this will actually happen.

We all really have to speak out and expose these sort of inefficiencies in the system to have a hope of moving on in this country. I have seen people on this blog simply dismissing this as no big deal - ther airlines overbook too after all. But this is just plain ineptitude which may have wider implications bothering on safety.

Seriously? Are you really really serious.
No more comment.

Some serious BRT things going on here! Haha! What next in this nigeria?!

u lot think this is funny abi??

johnson said...

Are you unemployed or u need extra cash as a
student,broke,confused!! Here's ur big chance to make N15,000 daily by joining Netcontacts coporate services. Members are entitled to benefits!!! Visit http://www.netcontacts.com.ng/
Register with my invitation code:1372385812. And start making money.For more info call:08036910953.

Airlines overbook all the time incase of no-shows but this is ridiculous!

It's no new news naa a I fley with 29 extra passengers some few years back aboard sosoliso aircraft from Enugu to lagos. My brother had similar experience two weeks back from Ph to abj. In 9ja we r used to attachment.

There are currently limited flight options in naija. However, this has happened to me in yankee where the plane was overbooked. It was easily resolved by offering me and anyone else willing to give up their seat, an free return ticket to any destination they flew to in addition to re-booking me on the next flight.I gladly accepted since i wasn't in a hurry. I'm sure there are alot of people on the plane that would accept this so Arik should not be greedy and make the offer.

See ur dirty mouth!that's why you will continue to be treated as a sevondclass citizen in ur own country!

R4R said...

bet yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

www.relationship4rum.blogspot.com

All you fools spilling your acid about overbooking,will you all shut your big traps n freeze ur fingers! Every single airline in the world overbooks sometimes,so stop typing like some retarded Hippo! Its bcos its a local flight,if it was BA now or Emirates or the likes of them,the 16 passengers would all be eating humble pies by now. Metcheeeewwwwww!

You are such a big limp Liar! About airlines carrying extra passengers! Abeg shut ur gutter! Ode.....

MACBOOK said...

Hahahahahahahahahaha this people will not kill me o let them stand jor after all whats the different between those flying coffin in the with molue or brb that people stand?lol naija I hail thee.linda ma luv how u jare

When will this passive Nigerian mentality stop??

Its a big pity that Nigerians don't know their rights.

This is becoming like a recurring decimal on Arik air in recent times. It is simply a fraud and should not be so. Our regulatory agency should do something about it. I had a similar incident two weeks ago coming from Lagos to PH and had to wait for them to put in another flight.

Rosellar said...

Another naija failure.......where are the regulators? Shouldn't this airline be severely sanctioned? And the customers, shouldn't they be adequately compensated......where is d nigerian consumers' rights board/association?

Mimi said...

All you people hating on those who won't come down. Yes, its not the first time this is happening. But when it happened to me on a foreign airline, I was happy it did. They paid me soooooo well for their error. If they made that offer to the passengers, I trust my Naija peeps. Half of the passengers would come down. So with no highly sensible compensation, the plane can like to be a molue.

Aduke said...

Lmao!...Now this is hilarious n crazy at the same time!! Standing???LOL...Smh oh Lord!

LMAO @ BONARIO's comment! Smh...

Rather sad that the Aviation industry in Nigeria continues to flagrantly jeopardize safety! How come the agents did not know they were overbooked? Don't they know the sitting capacity of the plane? I just don't understand these things!! My heart goes out to the passengers whose schedule for the day have been shattered! Kudos, though ironical, to the pilot for heeding safety and not flying!! Shame on Arik for not resolving this issue by bringing another plane to take the excess passenger!!! And I am supposed to fly this Arik from USA to Nigeria? Never going to happen!!!!! Shame and quadrille shame on you Arik!!!!!!!!!!!!

Honestly same thots here. Cos u never know how God works.

You have me in tears. 3 trips.....#dead#. Like say na danfo.

When did plane turn to brt?cos you are making it look like its the proper way to go abt it,let's all join hands to fight all these lawlessness now.

Jungle Justice said...

Please show me wia u n ur broda get d "spare" lives 4rm, bcos I am also interested! Na only assurance of a spare life go make me do weytin una do so! LAWD have mercy!!! Flying locally is scary enof then adding overcrowding to the mix? Not by a couple of persons but a whole clan! Hmmmmmmmm! Una guardian Angels get enof assignment!

Chai! Na real wa. Only for Naija. 16 extra passengers, ehn to solve matter make some of dem join the pilot for the cockpit they fit lap themselves beside pilot, but make dem remember to hold change sha! Haba! Aircraft don turn to flying molue. Arik Air, I dey hail o!

I love ur blog but i av tried comentin buh is dificult... Its not user frendly dats y most of ur readers dont coment.. Do somtin about it... Neny...

U are foolish, infact U be no1 MUMU!!! How wld dey hav sold tickets above d num of available seats dey had?? Dos pax shldnt come down, its Arik's fault...

They have every right to be angry and refuse to com down! C'mon, dey were kept waiting for abt 6hrs! Den dey should smile n get off, Na goat?

Blogger said...

lol naija4life....

ewu! Wetin concern us say u dey stay for abroad? Abroad my foot! Such inconvenieces happens everywhere, not only in nigeria.
I bet u re yet to take ur mornin food, ode!

#ejikebigdick

atm said...

arik air now known as arikdelechukwu airline. Laping is allowed and u can lap as many as 5 with excess baggage inclusive.

Lollllll@flying molue. LWTMB.

Bonario please don't kill me with laughter o.

The E said...

Arik Air should fix up fast.

duh said...

Even in Yankee they over book and hope people will be late or so.then the offer pplke vouchers to fly later

So what happened in the end?

Jay O said...

In a civilized country, the airline should have compensated 16 ppl, and given them either money or a free ticket so they can step down. Backwards country! Its God that is saving us. 52 yr old agbaya!

Why are dey even complainin... I had to use canoe to cross lokoja flooding just to go to benin...make una better lap ...afterall dis is y naija is unique... We take risks for fun....make some ppl lap... Others sit on d floor....

Hehehehehehe....

Ms.Bee said...

Ok for starters, this happens all of the world. The difference is in how the situation is handled.

In yankee when they overbook, the airline offers free flight and food vouchers to anyone willing to step off. If its a late flight, they'll also offer accomodation for the night.

What is Arik offering to the people? When will they reschedule them? What compensation do they get?

Dts how I got business class on aero d oda day cos I refused to alight o! My seat was already taken at d tym I got there

What u are seeing is GREEDINESS at work! How can Arik turn to Molue in d air? Where are those yeye agencies at d airport? U only see them after d crash. @ 52 years, God help naija!

tmt said...

who tell una say Then no know say Then don overbook. They sure know What they're doing. Come doWN Ko come don ni.

Overbooking is normal everywhere however over checking in is absurd. The 16 should not ve been checked in talkless of passing through security. And Arik should have a compensation plan for the extra passengers such as free rebooks, free hotel, free lunch etc

Ebenzobukata said...

Lol!!! Flynn molue

I though they give seat numbers during check-in. How come they checked-in the extra 16 without seat numbers or duplicated seat numbers.

bouqui said...

Overbooking is no deal, but how they all got on board is a different matter. Very unprofessional.

choky said...

Do u blame arik? I think they are trying to recoup d 5% d minister is collecting from dem. This is a typical naija thing. Maybe in a short while, we will see passenghers hanging @ d door of aircrafts as commonly seen in lagos molue.

Ikman said...

Linda, please the right word to use is disembark and not 'come down'.

Naija no dey carry last at all.So shameful even at 52

Bose said...

All airlines overbook, that is their standard mode of operation. The only difference is they only issue boarding passes on a first-come, first-served basis up to the limit of seats on the plane. Gross incompetence by Arik....

Morlard said...

LmAO!!! Standing kwa... Lili oooh...u no go kill me .. @morlardybaba

JAMES said...

@ ikman i know right? Wen linda is supposed to go to school, she won't go, she will be pursuing boys everywhere. Imagine she said come down instead of disembark. Chei... Nawa oooo

pinky said...

Really its not dat a big deal!!! Flights get over booked sometimes, even international flights! Our problem is we r too quick to condemn ourselves...how do we grow den?????

na peepo wen never reach airport b4 talk more of to enter inside aeroplane mouth dey sharp pass. the flight was down graded from a boeing to a smaller crj because of some technical issues. those who booked late were asked to stay behind, but they and the calabar pax held the airport to ransome that they must fly...in a more civil society we will wait to hear of the outcome before we broadcast and make uninformed comments...bt then *scratching my head* this is 9ja

This is my first time posting here. I work in the aviation industry in America as a flight attendant and my airline oversells tickets all the time but they compensate accordingly. It's no biggie. I'm sad about the state of aviation in Naija. It's a shame. Olorun a Showa.

Panache said...

One of the most sensible and reasonable comments so far.The flyt was scheduled to take off earlier but was delayed probably they don't have complete passengers then, so the way they operate, the flyt must be filled before they leave. So in the process of delaying tactics some people forgot their nursery/primary numerical lessons and checked in 16 more passengers more than the capacity of the plane. It serves Arik right! The problem our legal system and consumer protection is weak if not the best thing is to fire them lawsuits!

Panache said...

Who ever posted this should stop this defending rubbish!. Evil thrives when and where people refuse to speak up! Their system got them messed up! Be it technical or human error!

Panache said...

The issue is not overseLling of the tickets! The question is how did the extra 16get into the flight? Don't they know the capacity of their plane? Evn if the whole pax that purchased booked the flight turned up in time, if the people there are sincere and diligent they should know when the flight is full and apologize to the passenger that are yet to board instead of that show of lacklustre and shame!

No mind her, she won show her sef. Weather u like it or nt u'll surely com bak home...

na attachment o....

Aero does dat a lot ehn... Geez, dey did it 2 one corper one time like dat, I felt so sorry for d guy... Sometimes des airlines are so insensitive....

Can't U just spell "plane"??????????

inside story from a friend who works there:
The previous day the flight didn't land. Arik Air mgmt like to push their luck by trying to make flights land in Benin illegally after sunset, no runway light. As a result sometimes the flights are forced to come back, some times they sneak in.
The next day, purely due to ineptitude and corruption among arik staff, adequate measures were not put in place to ensure the stranded passengers got on the flight.
previous days passengers plus passengers booked for that day and a few others who bribed arik staff all boarded the plane. That is what led to the commotion.

Airlines do not overbook flights. If flights are fully booked, they put other passengers on standby. Those people are made to know in advance that they can only travel if the previously confirmed people don't show up

I can confirm Arik Air have an "official overbooking policy" by up to 15%.

Pilots are at times in fear as they are preparing for take off and the check-in counter is still accepting bribes after the desk should be closed. Pilots want the desk shut 30 minutes prior to take off.

The reason for this is they receive inaccurate loading sheets against the weight calculations and therefore can carry too much or too little fuel.

Another reason is the security check at last minute is either absent or of poor standard. This is the likely time a weapon or bomb will be boarded on a person or in baggage.

Fact!

It's theirmandatoryact of extortion,where they collect money from online passengers as well as on counter for the same seat.

So wht eventually happened...did they fly with the standing committee or what?

Andy said...

The traveler must check all these booking procedures before traveling with a week especially if he will travel by air.

Arik Air