The General that was killed on Lagos-Ibadan Expressway | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 July 2012

The General that was killed on Lagos-Ibadan Expressway

General Sylvester Iruh, pictured on the left, was attacked and killed by suspected herdsmen on the Lagos Ibadan express way on Saturday July 7th. The General was returning from a burial ceremony of a member of his church on Saturday evening when he stopped on the long bridge to change a flat tyre. Before anyone could stop it, two men came out from under the bridge and shot him with an arrow, after which they pounced on him and stabbed him to death. The attackers later robbed and injured other occupants in the vehicle the general had been traveling in.

General Iruh was the commander, Army Records, Lokoja, Kogi State and was at a time the Chief Security Officer of Kog State. He retired in 2009. May his soul rest in peace.

Dear IG of police, please make our roads safe, please!

30 comments:

he was a member of my church. soooo sad. he is resting now in the bosom of the almighty. :(

At least,he should have a service pistol.May his soul rest in peace.

may his soul RIP

d owner of solutionswap.tk d general happens to b is father cousin rip sir

Fast Writer said...

This is turning to something else SMH

so Fulani herdsmen are now targetting Lagos-Ibadan?? Why do we allow these nomads roam around so freely? They are already going around causing problems in Benue, Rivers, Cross Rivers, Plateau and Kogi

WHAT IG? The Ogun and Oyo state govts should pull efforts together and build a formidable local security or vigilante that is willing and ready to kill the fulanis read my lips willing and ready because the hausas and fulanis are penetrating small small and we dey watch. All they know is only blood sucking and that is what we are seeing today. Den go wait for IG tire unnnn even if they arrest any, law go set am free did i even say arrest who dare arrest a violent fulani or hausa man and note that 98% of the nomadic fulanis are thieves and murders

May his soul rest in peace!!!

Naija forever safe !! Diaspora's u r missing a lot oo

What again???? There are lot of sad stories attached to this long bridge. Some stories about ritual killings, kidnaps and child-market on top, around or under this particular bridge and there seems to be nothing the Security Agents are doing about it. My brother inlaw was stabbed and robbed on this same bridge like a year ago but survived by God's grace. He reported to Police but nothing was done, to those of us living along this expressway like Mowe, Ibafo, Arepo, Mogboro etc .. we are calling on the Security Agencies to kindly look into it this time around especially when it'd taken a life of one of their own. I have seen a family of 5 running towards the end of the bridge one night just because the car broken down on this bridge, I had to guide them with my headlight. Its sad.

WHAT IG? The Ogun and Oyo state govts should pull efforts together and build a formidable local security or vigilante that is willing and ready to kill the fulanis read my lips willing and ready because the hausas and fulanis are penetrating small small and we dey watch. All they know is only blood sucking and that is what we are seeing today. Den go wait for IG tire unnnn even if they arrest any, law go set am free did i even say arrest who dare arrest a violent fulani or hausa man and note that 98% of the nomadic fulanis are thieves and murders

To actually think, that i have stopped and taken a piss
on just by the bridge on Lagos Ibadan expressway..
I no go dey stop to piss there again o...
Dear General,
Rest In Peace.
That aside, dont they travel with armed escorts, after 5 bullets may have been shot in the air, wetin herdsman go they find there again? - or was it at night?
So sad. As sad as the sketchy.

SUE JORDAN said...

IG IS WATCHING HIS OWN BACK...

may his soul rest in peace

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

wat rubbish is dis do we have cattle herds men in ibadan for Gods sake a general does not travel alone even during retirement they still have two service military men attached to them
that is armed forces protocol once a general always a general by the way the general wat was he doing traveling with out escort or driver

Well well well the COAS has to answer that.He'll retire too someday and grow old.

Wht a pity on dis General. May his soul rest in peace. Also, wht a bad govt, if our rd is gud d man wud av got 2 Lag. Pls govt do our roads

Read the article again,he was not travelling alone.

Chisco said...

Air travel unsafe, Road travel, same thing...

May his soul RIP.

Ma best friends dad....I've cried sooo much

You guide them with your headlights! How? You couldn't give them a lift?

Fulanis are always causing trouble every where they go. My uncle was butcherred nearly to death when he questioned why a Fulani herdsman released cattle to graze on his corn farm. It is always their way or no way. see what they are doing to Christians in Plateau,Benue,Taraba,Nasarawa, Kaduna, Rivers etc. General may your soul rest in peace. The Fulani men that kill you will ever be hunted by your blood. They may run but they cannot hide.Reprisal time is coming, they will be pushed to their geographical origin.

That's my classmate's Dad dat was murdered.....terribly sad

Merinoz said...

He was the Commander, Head Quarters Command Army Records (HQ CAR) when I was serving in Lokoja 2009. I was part of the team that ushered his pulling out parade from the barracks. May your soul rest in peace sir. Amen

Merinoz said...

I was among the team that ushered his 'PULLING OUT PARADE' from HQ CAR, Lokoja in 2009 when I was a Youth Corper. May your soul rest in peace sir. Evil shall slay the wicked. Amen!

It is very sad that nothing is being done about this long bridge. Even if they refused to put up security personnel , at list light up the area. I think even our military is weak. The death of this innocent man is an evidence. Am still waiting for their action. I grew up to know the military as no nonsense bunch.

i think govt should allow Nigerians,access arms 4 self defence;rather than watching helplessly

He did't have a fire arm,so sad, may his soul rest in peace.By every means necessary,the military should try and get hold of the people responsible.

my friends dad. RIP Sir. My condolence to Sly Iruh Jr