The extradition of Olaniyi Jones Makinde | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 April 2012

The extradition of Olaniyi Jones Makinde

26 year old Olaniyi Jones Makinde is a wanted man in the USA for being part of a 7-man criminal gang that stole $3.2 million from payroll companies and banks between 2009 and 2010, by using fake websites to trick people into giving up their online usernames and passwords. The other six are: Karlis Karklins, Charles Chidi, Waya Nwaki, Osarhieme Obaygbona, Marvin Dion Hill and Alphonsus Osuala

When the activities of his gang was discovered by FBI in 2010, Olaniyi escaped the US and returned to Nigeria. Unfortunately for him, the US police informed the EFCC about his activities in the US and his wanted status there. The EFCC tracked him down in Nigeria and arrested him.

He's been in Ikoyi prisons since January 2012 where he will be until May 30th where a Federal High Court will hear the extradition request filed by the office of the Attorney General of the Federation against him.

According to the FBI report, aside from stealing from companies and banks, Olaniyi also stole from individuals by assuming the false identity of a sexy white chick named Brenda Stuart, and tricking men into sending money and their account details to him.

63 comments:

I think it is wrong for this dude to be extradited. America will protect their citizens at all cost regardless of whatever crime they commit. Although, the state of Nigerian Prisons is vile, this boy should not be made to spend more than 6 months in jail like Bode George, Cecilia Ibru and co.

Ejyk said...

Nice job bro....

Ha ahn!, sharp guy no b tiff nw, d boi no put gun 4 doz men head nw, na wa oh

wemimo said...

u see wt yahoo yahoo has turned ur life into?? now are dy goin to send him bk to d FBI or leave him in kirikiri??

These are the people that use crooked skills to con others. These are the reasons why I am ashamed to identify myself as Nigerian where I live

MINE said...

With all d money dem still catch am..E for travel go another african country or so. I sure say e dey pose with d money na him e ex-girlfriend wey him leave for naija go report am..No mind me n nigeria movie i dey summarize.....lol

See fine boy,wasted talent!smh!shame on our leaders!u see what ur turning our youths into!#verysad!
Princessifo.

Dont blame your leaders for everything but for him to be able to travel out of the country then he chooses this wrong path so stop putting blame on anybody but him

Oj said...

You very right they protect their citizens no matter what crime. Here I'm korea a US has stabbed a Korean. En got a away with.in Afghanistan Us citizen killed about 16 innocent people went Scott free

Yahooze, Yahooze!!! 2 much money, d problem is how to spend it, sorry, how 2 hide with it....still singing...

thenigerianexperience said...

FBI will getchu! they dont play sha...the love of money...hmmm

nemeis

Dee dee said...

If he stole the money then he deserves everything he gets. You don't have to put a gun to someone's head whilst stealing to become a thief. Fucking disgrace. Everyday for the thief, one day for the owner.

I agree with u jor!!! The people that send the money to the "sexy" lady are the real thieves, because they had bad motives in their head when they were sending the money. Maybe he should have hide in a village, no one would have been able to find him :(

SEE FINE BOI OH;-) HIM NO KILL PERSON SO MAKE DEM FREE HIM JOR...

OKPOTOKPO TCHIDI said...

BAD SHARP NIGGA!

abeg make dem leave bobo for us jor mschew efcc only with small change you would see them dancing up and down. EFCC go after the bigger thiefs nonsense

WoW!!This dude needs to hire a damn good lawyer ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hire ME.

NaijaTechZone.com said...

The guy go dey use JuJu I swear! I know what I'm saying o! ...and why are people hailing him? What he did is bad although one can admit that there are bigger thieves up there.

cynosure faces said...

*singing* yahoo oh oh.....yahooze...*stops nd thinks* bt d boi is cute...*stil singing*

LOL LOLL... YO, bUY SOME pAMPERS ON your way back.. your Gonna need it in that Jail.. Pele..

Angelo Xpression said...

IF YOU DO THE CRIME, BETTER GET READY TO DO THE TIME. CASE DISMISSED.

Some of this comments make me sad. Some people are saying he should be freed because he didn't use a gun or because he's a fine boy. That's so very stupid. You don't need to use a gun to be a thief. I bet none of these people will make such comment if they were victims of his tricks and he had robbed them of their life savings.
This is the attitute that's holding Nigeria back. If this is the way the youth of this country thinks then forget the popular sentiment "Nigeria go better" because it never will. That's why our politicians have no shame stealing public funds. Stupid sense of entitlement. They and apparently many young people in Nigeria have the mindset that simply because the money's there and they have access to it means they can take it. Go work for your own money.
Now we depend on foriegn countries prosecuting these criminals- just look at Ibori, no court in Nigeria would have sent him to jail. Let this one get extradited and prosecuted, if found guilty, let him be punished.

Chei, see the very fine boy. Na wa o. Lemme just start warnin all my yahoo yahoo friends over there. everyday for the thief, one day for the owner. EBUN

Perfection said...

He didn't put a gun to anyones head to get the money. America u cannot govern ur country n force us on how to govern ours. If it were to be one of their own their judiciary system will give a reason why he should probably serve few weeks n then visit a psychiatrist for evaluation n counselling, community service too oh but here they want us to kill him n lock him off cos its a shame a Nigerian beat your intelligence . For those that paid cash cos they thought it was a lady , they got their own fair share. As long as he didn't carry a gun pls a warning befits him , yes o its even in their law.

C handsome guy oooooo.

Chikito

How did this one get to travel to US with all the hardship someone go through to get a visa,na wa o. Onye oshi! Ur time is up, i don't know why people like taking shortcuts to make money, work hard,suffer, and be truthful, God will definitely bless you

Na way ooh,Lind u no dey post my cooments sef as i loyal reach.

He should face justice here jor, why should US dictate to Nigerians?! After all Dick Cheney wasn't extradited to Nig after Halliburton scandal broke in the US! Furthermore what about ex gov Alamaseigha isn't he wanted in the UK? Why doesn't the AGF work on having him & others like them extradited instead of focussing on this 'small fry'? Just sayin.. * kanye shrug*

this guy should flee from nigeria if he can. this our useless country. everytime america or western world says jump they will jump. so what? he stole. ehen wetin come happen. sorry bros.

Igbo boy said...

Kai Yoruba guys, dem sabi thief pass ibo boys but their own be say Yoruba too greedy.Gbenga I hope u r taking note

Yahoo-yahoo le eleyi nse o. If na politician now dem

no go fit catch am o. Abeg EFCC go sit down jor!

But really, desperation is written all over dis guy. Guy

u nid to stop thinking how u will sleep and wake up to

meet millions of dollars beside you and start thinking

how to be hard working cos it seem u r smart already.

More lIke shame on you....this can not be a good reason. I live in place where Nigerians do what he did but that would not make me think less of my country or even deny to be Nigerian.
You should think again oh, the reason you are where you are in because someone stood up. You are one of those Nigerians I meet who say ill things about that country feeling like you are on top of the world, where you are is not your country oh.
Yeye

ONOME says..............
The boy is fine o chai!too bad!
If he is smart enough to think up this con game why couldn't he put that same intelligence to good use and create a profitable and honest business venture?
Silly child.You will be dealt with properly o.This oyinbo people no get mercy o.They go fry your black bombom no be small.Where ur mama?Better shame u bring for your family so o.Chai.
For those saying the USA and those other countries take care of their own,sofry sofry o.This guy duped their person o,that one na big offence for them o.And please what is bad is bad is bad is bad is bad.

THIS GUY SHOULD BE TRIED HERE AND NOT EXTRADITED.

@ Anonymous 10:17 AM if you like die and rot wherever you are. Is America OR Americans any better?

They blatantly invade other countries under whatever disguises, carry out atrocities and no one can stop or caution them. Thunder fire all of them.

sarafina said...

All these 'anonymos' writing nonsense about the guy been innocent en, una go fall inside d same trap where e go pain una well. If i slap una en...if he was ur brother will u be proud of him right now? Mumdes!

Sharp boi.Maga paid big.Now magas are back 4 vengence.Anyways,relatively,Yankee jails are holiday resorts.3 mill 4 real,I wudda gone completely underground.Flauntin off 2 pussies ain't worth it.I'd b smokin cohibas in ivory coast.Guy,U got caught,man up.

AmeboGist said...

I actually know this dude!!! like seriously, he is a nice dude! i knew he was a yahoo yahoo guy, but didnt know it was that serious!! he is actually ment to be doing his NYSC in abuja!!

I like ur style joor. Ure following ur leaders footsteps. Tumbs up. I kno u will definately find ur wayout.

good for him. Activities like this make life difficult for everyone.

Ehya why dey come catch dis guy na...na hustle d guy dey hustle o..man must survive..he ddnt put a gun to dia head and demanded for dia acc details or names..make efcc park joor.na normal parol

Str8FrmDaHips said...

This is so funny coming after the JJC interview/video..hope the Police don't come after Dbanj o!!..the way they came after Makinde or Ibori!!
Nigerian leaders/EFCC are pigs and stupid...how many US Citizens that defrauded..exploited and abused 9ja and other mineral rich parts of Africa have been deported...
Pension fraud and NNPC fraud into the billions no one convicted..but see..awon oloshi..
slaves 4 life!!..I trust Mugabe!!

Why is he in prison in 9ja?? He shd be in d US were he did all his yahoo stuffs, not 9ja.... If our country is a good 1 with gud jobs... Why ar we coming over there to make it?

I wish U.S will get more serious about the Nigerian scam in places like California, Texas, Chicago, it's a lot of them there. God bless America. And, I wish U.S will go after the big criminals in the Naija government since Nigerians won't do it themselves bcos they want to keep stealing money.

why is that nigerian lawyers always carry big files?

Please! Say something else! Are the americans any better?why send a young girl money?? For what???? Or why pay for a lottery you nor your great grand father ever played? They are scam artist too! Even worse!nobody holy pass abeg!no matter what!I'm a proud Nigerian and would always be proud and I thank God for making me one!u should think of ways of making Nigeria better and not denying your father land!not good...Nigerians are good hearted and blessed people and very soon God will intervene in this country!so I say,I'm PROUD TO BE NIGERIAN TODAY,TOMORROW,FOREVER!THANK YOU JESUS!GLORY!

This has nothing to do with the leaders...Youths beware of bad friends that would bring shame to u and your family!Be creative,do something that would make u raise your head high and stand out,using your intelligence negatively will only bring shame and disgrace..pray and God would show you your path with him!nobody was born empty,we all have something the world is interested in and would pay for!never blame anyone for your misfortune,there are pple that came from worse backgrounds and still made something out of their lives eg,Linda ikeji,basket mouth,AY, and lots more...Be wise!do not let the devil waste your youth,if he gets this stage of your life,he has gotten you forever,pray and God would glorify himself through you as we were all made that pple will see us and give glory to his name!BE WISE!

Please! Say something else! Are the americans any better?why send a young girl money?? For what???? Or why pay for a lottery you nor your great grand father ever played? They are scam artist too! Even worse!nobody holy pass abeg!no matter what!I'm a proud Nigerian and would always be proud and I thank God for making me one!u should think of ways of making Nigeria better and not denying your father land!not good...Nigerians are good hearted and blessed people and very soon God will intervene in this country!so I say,I'm PROUD TO BE NIGERIAN TODAY,TOMORROW,FOREVER!THANK YOU JESUS!GLORY!

If it was the reversed US govt would have protected their citizen but over here in 9ja we can't protect our own. For the foolish people that willingly gave their money to the boy abi girl hw does it make it the boys fault and for the stupid companies that lack efficient security system is it the boys fault that he's smart and they are dumb? Abeg they should just let the boy be.

De moni wey fbi don spend go don pass de one wey mi guy steal. Killers are pn d rampage make den leave sharp guy alone o

EFCC can catch and arrest and jail the ones that America wants. If we ask them to catch and jail corrupt politicians now...na dere wey nepa take light. Mstcheeew.

By the way, was Nigeria able to extradite Dick Cheney to Nigeria to answer questions regarding the Haliburton scandal???

The sage said...

Keep living with ur shame then. It doesn't affect the price of fish over here in nigeria.
Oh by the way, we r also not particularly thrilled by d actions of d likes of u and others like those called above too. So its all well that u keep ur shame to urself.

Lasaki said...

I look at his face and all I see is fear!

Linda....you've started with your Yoruba victimization again!! Why is it only the Yoruba guy that was caught? After all he's the only Yoruba amongst the lot. Mschhew!! You need to do a bit of investigative journalism..... find out where the others are and why they are still at large.

Ada said...

for anyone hailing dis guy as 'badt sharp guy' u must be seriously dumb! people like dis are d reason why our country isn't moving forward...keep decieving yourselves. if he was so sharp why has he been caught?? well he can look on the bright side, he doesnt have to hustle a visa for this trip!....*HISSSS*

D US dat i knw will never allow there citizen b jailed. Rather utilise his brain for d development of there country. C naija, na to go rubbish ds brain 4 kirikiri. Idiot leaders. Where is Bankole (10bn)? Where is Debo Ajimuda (61.6bn) Ondo state OSOPADEC chairman.

joan said...

Ssshhaarrraaapppp, nonsense fellow. If I catch u eh, u go use ur tongue count ur teeth. Mttccheewww,

no be American visa wey people they find at all cost. U mean he blew that opportunity he had in the land of opportunity. So at the end of his prison sentence and deportation to Nigeria, what will he have gained.

Him eye come resemble teef own!

sam said...

Shame. Vanity upon Vanity

Crime doesn't pay.

oven said...

after d court case,abeg my guy use d remainin money to develop our country.becox d white av stolen 4rm us in time past.buide shelters 4 d homeless and provide oda basic amenities.den live a comfortable LIFE with d remaining bar.GOODLUCK SAMBO 4 u.bro

No mind d ewu. Keep being ashamed. Asif d mumu sending money nor get wife 4 house.