OMG! Whitney Houston dies at 48 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 11 February 2012

OMG! Whitney Houston dies at 48

Such a sad sad sad day. Whitney Houston, one of the best singers the world ever saw, is dead. She died this afternoon Saturday February 11th, 2012. She was 48 years old.

The singer was staying at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in California  preparing to go to Clive Davis pre-grammy party before she was found dead.

No one knows exactly what killed her, but some media houses are saying suicide, others - drug overdoes. So so so sad! Was hoping she would one day overcome the drug addiction...

Goodbye to the greatest voice of all time. Sleep well, Whitney! So so sad...

79 comments:

Uche said...

linda ur fast o!uv already posted this sharp sharp all d way in vegas.hav fun baby!

too bad shes dead,may her soul rest in peace!

Soooooo sad... Tears crying

Too saf,she was wrecked emotionally and physically,may God grant her eternal rest,linda its oerdose not overdoes.

Just heard about it few a hours ago. Its so sad. I would really like to know what killed her.
http://giftemezu.blogspot.com

OMG!! may her soul RIP!

Linda A. said...

Really sad. RIP Whitney our Diva! We will always love you !

this is just too sad.. ve never bn in shock like diss.
i was watching tv wen it come up on sky news,am absolutely devastated rite now. am so luking forward to her performance 2moro. she was @ grammy rehearsal on friday was meant to perform on sunday @ grammy n she died on saturday....we need to be grateful 2 every morin we wake up.
Amazing singer, i hope some1 is gona luk after her daughter n put her in rite direction...
it 3am london time n cant sleep,am in total shock.. SAD SAD SAD

Nobody ever dies before their time. It was her time to go! May her soul rest in peace!

ms cookie said...

rip so sad

Sunrise-Sundown may God Angels receive her soul. May she join the heavenly choir and continue singing with her beautiful angelic voice...Amen RIP Whitney

Whitney, I will always love you. RIP.

Chimezie Njoku said...

Wow, I'm shocked.

A wonderful singer,appreciate er voice alot! Goodnight Whitney Houston so shocked tho!

Whitney i will always love u God bless u may ur soul rest in perfect peace

So so sad , RIP Whitney

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

I HAVe MADE A VOw!no rip ds 2012,she's AliVE In my head.but its Not right,but its ok,When i Believe coz,I LOOK to you lord,and am still Waiting to Exhale.

THAT'S A REMINDER TO US ALL. THIS LIFE IS NOTHING AND WE ARE ALL STRANGERS. THE REAL LIFE IS THE NEXT LIFE WHICH WE ALL HAVE TO PREPARE AHEAD FOR BY BELIEVING IN ONE GOD, OBEYING HIS COMMANDS & LIVING A GOOD LIFE WORTH EMULATING. DO AS MANY GOOD DEEDS AS YOU CAN BEFORE YOUR TIME ENDS. LIFE IS GOOD BUT DEATH IS SURE & THE JUDGEMENT DAY IS REAL AND SHALL COME TO PASS. REMAIN BLESSED EVERYONE.

I pray she can now have eternal rest, drugs will torment ur body and ur soul and not live till ots finished with u. Bobby Christina - pls give ur life to Christ.

Bloomandgrownaija said...

i grew up loving whitney; with all my heart. loved the aggressiveness and soul in her music. i was just listening to i look to you remix with kim burrell and wondering how nice it would have been to see her finally live beyond the drugs.
i guess that never happened.
goodbye- and thank you,THANK YOU for offering urself, your music to us all.i will always love you
#sobsssssssssssss

RIP Whitney Houston... Always one of the Most Beautiful! Maybe now u will be at peace....love you.

Sunset at dawn so is her case,
d sun didnt shine till late,
bt it shone all the same,
ur shining hs blessd many, healed many and touched many......."you can look back nd say u wer lovd" RIP ma music idol....

kcee said...

She has been living a troubled life of drugs and bankruptcy coupled with her rocky marriage with booby brown.
All these wahala must have taken a toll on her mentally and physically.
May her soul rest in peace.

So sad!!!!! Hope you find the peace in Heaven that you never seem to find here.
RIP Whitney Houston.

wow,so so sad,RIP

That's Life for You, so we should all live alife as if we are going to die 2morrow and face Judgement, RIP, whitney.. Help me grit 2 Pac Shakur Oº°˚˚°º

RIP Whitney-A talent, a legend, a loss. A lesson.

When i heard your song ....where do broken hearts go and i look to you...it was like u talking to me directly rest ......well my Earth Angel

babeontop said...

You sef dey correct person, you can't even spell it right afterall...Teacher!

CredoWorld Media said...

"Martyrs for Love " Special Dedication to Whitney Houston

Finally she died for love or is it for lackbof love? One of the sweetest women to ever walk the streets of entertainment whose songs were all about love, non of her songs depicted violence, crime or nudity. The lyrics of her songs electrified love but more for the cries of a lover in need of love.

Her ending years are some sad episodes of what love gone bad can do to sweet innocent people. A soured love can criminalize the lover especially who is on the receiving part.

'Finest voice' as the BBC describes her, Whitney's background was steeped in soul and gospel music. Her mother was gospel singer Cissy Houston, she was cousin to singer Dionne Warwick and goddaughter to Aretha Franklin.

Before the advent of CDs, DVDs, I tunes ,cable TVs and internent in this part of the world, Whitney Houston's voice filled out televison sets, FM radio and cassettes. From fantastic choir perfomances the queen took it to the stage and studio to become one of the greatest female singer of all times. Her adaption of Dolly Parton's 1973 song " I will always love you" went double platinum and became the greatest selling song of all times. She won six Grammys, thirty billboard awards and twenty two American music awards and sold 170 million records.

From the skies came Bobby Brown, one of the members of the Boy's group New Edition. Whitney loved Bobby in a way we as kids could not understand. Whitney was more polished, taller, sweeter, older and even richer than Bobby so we always asked what she saw in Bobby. We were kids and so could be forgiven for we knew nothing about love. Whitney saved all her love for Bobby and gave him that sweetness to be his wife. She must have promised to love him always and was ready to go all the way, which she proved. Love must have blinded her because even in far away Nigeria we saw Bobby as a bad boy and kept asking why will Whitney marry him?

She loved him and did everything to make it work. When Bobby started his domestic violence many people expected Whitney to evacuate and leave but she stuck until when it was obvious that her life could be in danger. After much trial and tolerance she left but not before getting involved in drugs to hide her pains, frustration and disappointed from the love she once thought will take her to heaven.

When in the late 2000s when pitcures of a worn out Whiteny circulated after her divorce in 2007 , it was heart breaking and sorrowful to see what drugs, heartbreak and frustration did to this one beautful sweet lady. She fought seriously and got rehabilitated and came back to music. All her songs during her trials in marriage depicts someone who was hurt and even after her divorce and rehab, the songs always speak of wanting to come back (to her man) like she never left. In her songs you could hear the cries of a lonely woman, sad woman, a woman who still loved her man.

Unlike other music stars, Whitney was not known or connected with any man since Bobby Brown. the saddest thing is while whitney suffered for love or lack of love by the callous action of a man she loved and married , Bobby remain unrepentant, unapologetic and never made any attempt to reach the soul of this diva.

For love she left others and followed a man who didn't not appreciate her, for lack of love she lived her remaining years even craving for it. It may not be just a coincidence that she died just three days to this year's valentine ; in the season of a love, her heart and life has been deprieved for long and as one of her songs asked, "where do broken hearts go"

Whitney, if yesterday was your judgement day and the lord asked you what did you do with your life, please tell the dear lord that you spent it with us.

Adieu our power of love.

Wakdok, Samuel Stephen...12102012

Credoworld.blogspot.com

It's really goodnight Whitney!
I am not going to say anything if not this page will be full...
She will be missed another legend like MJ...one of my best 3 "GreatestVoiceofOurTime-Female"...
She will surely be missed,now I can hear her voice echo in my brain,oh God I'm feeling d goosebumps now....
Awwww,such a voice,different on it's own,unique in it's way and one of it's kind...
Hey Miss Houston,you are now free now.
Rest in peace!

What sad sad story we all lv her she is well know singer may the soul nd anglic spirgt Rip may almight God take care of her little angle baby.

Real sad nd trgedy she found death know unbelieveable there must be something behand it .

May hr soul rest in peace.ameeeeen

may soul rest in peace

Omg so so sad

RIP Whitney

coincidentally, was home and the radio was playing 'I look to u' when I saw this on LIb. thought she had overcome d drug addiction. But what's d autopsy said? what' bobby brown said? how's her daughter Bobbi feeling right now? Her songs' been very inspiring through d years. We'll all miss her so. May her soul find rest. (radio playing 'there can be miracles when u believe').

We will always love u whitney

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Wow Whitney..devastated..wasn't drugs...as someone said she was wrecked emotionally and physically..bottom line the body is very unforgiving once you abuse it..no matter the years after overcoming your demons..
I got Asthma because the central heating broke down many years ago..and still have yearly respiratory problems..talk less of someone that had substance abuse for years!!.R.I.P..Beautiful..MegaTalented but another one that let her gift overwhelm her!!..and Hollywood embraces those excesses!!

And I will always luv Uuu...Goodbye Whitney

@anonymous 6.48. It is overdose not oerdose. Miss correct. Whitney,if u really died naturally ,I hope u had Jesus,but if u killed urself,am so so sorry. All these condolences are a waste. You are eternally damned. As we mourn whitney,let's examine our lives$be sure our lives are surrendered to Jesus. If not,when death comes likes this,itz hell fire,whether u believe it or not. D bible says it all.

Sleep on great one,will miss u

May she rest in peace. This goes to show that Money can't buy happiness. The grace of God is needed

So sad, I actually shed a tear. RIP Whitney, we love you regardless of your flaws.

RIP Whitney :(

Greatest love of all.May your soul RIP.So sad she's now a WAS.
-@saucekiz_SMILEs

Jesse's wife said...

her last recorded performance was her singing "yes jesus loves me" to Kelly Price at Kelly's pre-grammy nomination party! Rest in eternal peace girl!

Ossy said...

Wat a big lost R.I.P whitney

Priestess said...

Wow, really shocked! RIP greatest diva.

So so sad, we wȊ̝̊̅ℓℓ miss ‎​Ɣ☺ΰ whitney. RIP

I never understood what you saw in Bobby Brown.RIP Whitney.i hope you are in a better place.

ME said...

Awful
May she RIP
She will always remain a diva for me
Drugs and alcohol....smh
Give us all a lesson

angelfalese.com said...

Barely 6hrs after writing about the woes of riches in my recent blog 'Symptons of once i was rich syndrome', I learnt the beautiul legend died. This is a wake up call to you and I, that death knows no bounds, ask yourself 'am I on the right path'?, if you are not, reverse, do a turn around and start again it is never too late!. May her soul rest in peace. (www.AngelFalese.com)

pOLYmAT said...

Drugs!..drugs!!..drugs!!!..--flee frm drugs & dey wldnt listen..***as 4 me,i only take depressants,fentanyl, a lil inhalants and katamine..& dey make me go--WOW!--.

i il continue 2 mis u diva. Rip

ONYEDIKING said...

RIP Whitney Houston www.gideblog.com

Pamela F. said...

Its really sad. The year is barely 43 days old and Hollywood's lost four its own already. Tonight is going to be music's biggest night I'm wondering how the nite will turn out when this darkness has just been put up. That was about the same issue with M.J - looking forward to his big show/performance. I think these is all a message - death is lurking around the corner.

Her death is a lesson to all the crack addicts and idiots who believe that a woman must marry at all costs.

Her marriage to Bobby Brown drove her into drugs and she never recovered from their bitter divorce and their daughter is on drugs too.

It is better to be childless than have a daughter that the media show taking drugs.

If she had remained single and childless, she may have remained alive today.

May God Bless you soul Whitney RIP....Tonia.

Splitting Issues said...

May God grant her the rest she so desired in this life.
Thank God for giving her such a wonderful voice that she shared with us.
RIP Whitney...rest in the bosom of the Lord

Splitting Issues said...

May God grant her the rest she so desired in this life.
Thank God for her wonderful voice that she shared with us all.
RIP Whitney...rest now in the bosom of the Lord

What a loss! D grave has stolen another talent again.slp well whitney.

Freesmszone.com said...

May her sould rest in peace, Where's the hubby bobby?
freesmszone.com

Chai! Diz ‎​Ȋ̝̊̅§ crazy. May her soul RIP.....Amen!

Thank you Whitney for all your wonderful songs, dy 'll live on. You were a legend n I'll always love u. She made it without having to dress nude or sing nonsense. The likes of gaga, nicki minaj n rihanna shd take a cue frm Whitney d Great.
All Whitney's inspirational songs were great hits.
RIP n adieu dearest one. U'll be missed

its so sad, because she used to be my fav and all time best female artists, pls her daughter needs prayers because as of last year she had started using COKE also,
pls God help this Generation

Dear Whitney 'its not right but its okay'.we will always love you.first MJ now you. you were indeed a legend 'the greatest of all'. words cannot express how i feel. you showed us what music really is....your talent and grace sold millions of records. i only hope that your kids grow to know the great legend and icon that was their mother. in MJ's words the world is speechless.
You made ur mark on the world which many people never get to do. My legend, My icon, My idol....may you find peace in d Lord. RIP Whitney....i'll always love you,its not right but its okay. *still crying*

Anon 6:48 you be I.T.K you are correctn some1 n giving us your own 'oerdose 'version.those who live in glass houses should not throw stones ... Whitney I will go buy all your albums this week. R.I.P Barbara

Bobby brown you have a hand in this.choices or not (rest in peace)

lynnpope$ said...

God be with you till we meet again..

"I luv Bad Boys"Ladies,Go ahead!!! thats one of the implication...u wanna date or luv wht ll lead U into destruction and death...Very Painful and really pitiable.RIP.

You could not buy her voice in the market. Magical. RIP Whitney Houston.

I THINK SHE SAW IT COMING...

http://lynnville.blogspot.com/2012/02/good-bye-whitney-houston.html?spref=fb

Bobby was Whitney's greatest undoing, in as much as life is a choice, the choice to keep her marriage even when she knew it was abusive is what has sent her to an early grave. He was never her man. She went down after she married him. It is true, marriage can either mare you or make you.

Edson said...

RIP, diva of songs. We will miss you loads. May The Lord accept your soul.

All these people are going to morn her death, where were they when she needed their help? The entertainment industry watched this disaster happening and sat on their collective hands and didn't intervene. What a bunch of hypocrites.This message is for all the other celebrities saying trash on my black & white tv! wtf! RIP WITHNEY HOUSTON.

I was so sad when I read this. She is just a little bit older than me and she's gone already because of drugs! Our local champions in 9ja, a word is enough for the wise. Stop smoking all your ganja and stuff oh. See the end result live!

sleekreek said...

Good night,,Whitney.......ur death was so soon and sudden,,,all the same R.I.P...

benderchardsfat1970 said...

Here you will find best lace wigs at wholesale prices in http://www.vohair.comIn addition to offering hair wigs online, we also offers best human hair wigs for sale to give an even more genuine, silk top wigs human hair nature look and feel to your fashion wigs in minutes bringing into a new life. You can buy wigs everything in our store online.Our price is lower than the manufacturer's minimum advertised price. As a result,malaysian full lace wigs we cannot show you the price in catalog or the product page. You have no obligation to purchase the product once you know the price. You can simply remove the item from your cart.