Anambra State Governor gives N1m to wives of Boko Haram victims | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 February 2012

Anambra State Governor gives N1m to wives of Boko Haram victims

Anambra State Governor Peter Obi yesterday Sunday February 5th presented one million Naira cheques to 14 women who lost their husbands in the Boko Haram attacks that killed at least 20 Igbo tradesmen in Mubi, Adamawa state.

The men had convened for a town hall meeting early last month, when members of the Islamic sect opened fire on them, killing at least 20. They were all recently buried. The Adamawa state government have also promised to compensate the women.

37 comments:

Gosh this is so sad
May they rest in peace
Good job Gov Peter obi
But we need tO do more for these widows
They need to be empowered
1 million iS Ok mOney but after paying school fees for my kids, buying provisions and food into the house with some bills I spent almost 1 mil this January
How will a mother of say 5 kids cope with 1 mil in a year alone not to talk of till they are grown ups
I say empower this women give them jobs or start a business for them where they can earn a steady income
My 2kobo

Priestess said...

1 million naira to 14 women? 2 small jor, it shld 1m each. Pity d women n children, wit dese u wil c their inlaws comin 4 their own share or refuse 2 help them later.

@priestess,read well b4 u talk. It is 1million each and they can start a bizness with it if they are prudent enough. I pray they get over the grief. What a way to loose a husband. God bless Nigeria.

Payme said...

The pain men cause each other :( RIP to the victims and may God be with their families

http://payme-my2cents.blogspot.com

Wat hav u done to help from ur livin rum dat ur complainin..1m for each woman is ok,odas shuld do more..dis is just a donation,he wasn't compelled 2 do it,d bomb blast wasn't even in his state..must u condem..hater oshi

It is very sad to lose your partner! However, I will like to know why these Chief Nigerian criminals a.k.a leaders always give victims N1 Million. Is that now the standard victim fee? We all know that amount is nothing compared to what they steal often.

I mil?....thank you. Now get to the business of joining forces with the authorities to get rid of the cancer of boko haram.

This foolishness persists because it is not being tackled head on.

U can't read? Or ur brain can't comprehend properly?

Dat money too small dis tight fisted governor God will take care of dem with children

God Bless You Gov Peter,n may d souls of all dos victim rest n God's perfect peace amen.

linda read dis....i thought u would post it...http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fnetworkedblogs.com%2FtAHl3&h=bAQGn8qH3AQGw-JbbGbaUnoRQfQrppY4JjUCpzoJ9RG6Vgg shocking confessions of boko haram member

At this point I would have to applaud Gov.Obi for this giant stride.BH has been a national menace and has spread across many parts of the nation, How many governors have made any conscious effort to help those affected?Nigerians are ingrates. we should be thanking Peter Obi for helping these widows rather than sit down there and rant nonsense. In our own little way, we all can help.@Anon 10;57am, that's a really shallow comment from you what kind of "business" do you want him to set them up with? A shopping mall?. If you can afford to use up to 1M a month, that's your freakin' business,not ours. The average Nigerian barely earns a million a year, i'm sure it means good money for them @Priestess, you're just an ingrate!!!Peter Obi has donated 1Million each, for you that're raving he should've done more, what's your contribution???

nana said...

kudos to the govnor, but 1mill is too small. my opinion

It is ok but it is not enough. Its mandatory dat they must have left mubi. If they have children they need 2 be enrolled into a fresh school and pay their school fees. What of house rent and its furnishing. If she is going into a business, buying or renting a space is from 200k, then she need a shelter or buy a container. What may be the remnant, may be 500k. Then what kind of biz will she go into. If i were govt i would've placed the kids on 10 yrs scholarship and empower her in any biz. And settle her for life.

ugo frank said...

Its 1m each for 14 widows = 14 million.

Anambra state gov. has done well.However, I'll like to suggest that it should be made a law that when one is killed in a state due to religious reasons, the state and local govts involved must be legally mandated to pay a reasonable amount e.g one million naira,to each victim's family.Then more importantly, the children of each victim must be given scholarship up to university level.These measures will prevent these attacks, as the money must be taken from the budgets of both state and local govts.Charles

gene said...

Thanks to our Governor, at least someone is making effort, we hope other governors will follow his foot step. We know some other governors who want to introduce some different method of stealing our money. But the 1million naira is it for per person?

Jamb admission said...

Rest in peace. And i wish 1billion will bring back joy to the families involved. Jamb results released

tio amukan said...

Its only reasonable if the widows were set on businesses that will take them through the remaining years left after the bokoharrasment.After settling the widows, its yet time to fashion outways for the taming of wild beasts in our midst.Yoruba says a household remains peaceful until the bastards have grown up. a round table jawjaw will solve this unwarranted bloodletting in peace time time.

Browse free with etisalat said...

This is really painful, hope thunder of confusion scatter the heads of the boko-haram's

Ceejay@ Mtn free calls said...

May they rest in peace. Amen.
But 1million is not enough to support them?

Use 100naira and make 15 minutes on mtn- Make 15 Minutes MTN to MTN Call for Just N100

Igbo- Oh! my beloved tribe. I guess its getting pretty obvious to all that we bear the worst brunt of most evils in this country. I've never believed in this Nigerian Project, and I still won't. Nigeria keep fooling yourself- we are just too different to be together. Like Ex.Gov. Ezeife said- Igbos, defend yourselves. A Word Is Enough...

At least,N1million is better than the miserable N250K dat stupid good-for-nothing bornu state gov gave as compensation.I pray these widows find solace in d Lord cos God is the husband of the widow.☹

Truth is ‎​​№ amount would be enough..may God help them. Send more helpers to them. Amen

welldone said...

God really bless this governor and his entire cabinet that agreed to do this. Better than those bastard northerners who compensated bokoharam spokeperson or watever the heck he was.

Please make long term provision like scholarship for the innocent children or set the widows up in trades the will last them a while. How on earth will the family survive LT on one million Naira.

Mambi. A said...

RIP to the victims...this is the problem with africa...this hold attitude of giving aid that have short term outcomes instead of setting up programs that have lifetime implications...i would rather that money was invested into programs or something that will continue to generate money for social, academic, technical and psychological support for family members of victims of war and etc

computer digital world, creat your own websit and make money online said...

can thatbring back his life she need more than that.

computer digital world, creat your own websit and make money online said...

That money is not ok fo mw i think thay need some more that to say.

MAY GOD BLESS OUR GOV.

really sad. And GEJ doesn't have the balls to act fast. And no1 cares about this story. cos it's about slaughtered igbo men or what? Nawa o. show fashion now and every1 rushes to comment. are we losing our ability to care and love in this society?

valushi said...

This is so painful,but is it not suicidal to still remain in the North,with this rubbish? May God help us.

This is a very sick gesture.Surely Peter Obi & the wife can do better.Two couple with superglue hands.The picture makes me angry.This is exploitation of the poor widows for cheap popularity.

@Anonymous 5.06pm.
You are sycophant.Mr Obi is an idiot.How much money has he stolen from Anambra state.if any of his family member was killed by Boko haram, he will surelly spend millions of Naira on casket.People like you have no place in modern Nigeria.

peter said...

1 million for 14 full grown family women? to buy wat? akara or biscuit. Is the money from the gov. pocket? or state funds? that man no try at all...

peter said...

1 million for 14 full grown family women? to buy wat? akara or biscuit. Is the money from the gov. pocket? or state funds? that man no try at all...

Monblaze said...

ok, i had to re-read the article: the women were given 1milla each n twas by the Anambra Governor. He deserves an applause he has done so well. Unlike GEJ who gave the slain boko haram's members family N100milla compensation. He might as well sponsor the sect. kmt. compare with this http://www.todaysgist.com/2012/01/jonathan-gives-family-of-slain-boko.html