What in the world is going on in London? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 August 2011

What in the world is going on in London?

Violence erupted in broad daylight this afternoon as rioters surrounded police vans, looted lorries and targeted shops in a series of attacks across London.

Scores of police raced to Hackney as a mob of hooded youths began hurling missiles at the officers. There was also sporadic violence in nearby Dalston where shops and businesses were attacked and youths clashed with police and set fire to cars outside Lewisham Town Hall.

In Peckham Rye shops have been attacked, including Clarks and Primark, and buses are not currently running through Peckham and Lewisham. Other areas of London were braced for violence with workers barricading their shops in Stratford and Islington and barriers were erected outside Westfield Shopping Centre. 

Kilburn High Street has also been closed off and police are currently on the streets in Harlesden.
On Twitter, users posted that the violence was rapidly brimming out of control with one person tweeting he had seen 'at least 30 riot vans and three helicopters' in Hackney. Youths were seen setting fire to cars, rubbish bins, and were also spotted setting off fireworks in the direction of police.

Read more

31 comments:

kunle said...

This is really insane mahn!!!

Super-Ego MY Id said...

It is ridiculous, but not to be taken with a pinch of salt. Things have escalated since violence and theft which began in Tottenham on Saturday due to a man being shot by the police and no evidence being provided as to why. However, since then 'opportunists' have taken to the streets of London raking violence, mainly criminal damage. People's homes have been destroyed as well as businesses.
It seems it's mainly young people, but there could be people from other back grounds.
Some say at a time of recession crime goes up and there has been a cut on police jobs.
Many government officials are on holiday and are coming back...minus the PRIME MINISTER!!! Who seems to still be enjoying his holiday.
It is all so absurd, the news is now referring to copy cat actions in the city of Birmingham.

The police shot a 29 year old man dead last week in Tottenham, North London and on saturday his family and friends tried to stage a peaceful protest against the killing. The protest was hijacked by hoodlums on saturday night in Tottenham and shops, police vehicles and buses and houses were burnt. The fight just spread today to the other areas. The guy that was killed is black, guess this is the reason the violence has spread to hackney, peckham, lewisham which are predominantly black peoples areas.

CLF said...

You've been so busy with Mercy Johnson's story that you refused to report this since Saturday. Today is the third day and London is still burning.

To all fellow Londoners, please keep safe.

Poverty has no barriers...

This is not now about Mark Duggan who was killed last Thursday. Serious criminality.

Jolade said...

Help oh! heard the riot is on its way to Woolwich.

They robbed KFC and stole hair weaves. Yup! Definitely got their priorities right. Stupid youths. Where are their parents? They need to send them to Afghanistan just for a week and it'll teach them a lesson.

Where is the army when u need them? The Met police cannot cope with their stupid batons. Pssschewwww

Primark? Not Primark! Oh NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!v

R4 said...

Black people are fed up of police attitude to black people. When is it going to stop? Things needs to change. The next prime minister of the United Kingdom should be me - a black person with black face - not some uncle tom. I mean it. My cabinet would be black. I mean it. Plus, I want my black face on £100,000 notes, Downing Street renamed - to my Naija names, and I want the the password for the nuclear weapon. I mean it :)

seyi said...

Linda parts of London is burning oh! This is scary oh.....

This kids are just insane...i work in westfield and it was scary coming out to see lot of police,the atmosphere look like a war zone...hungry idiot,i cant imagine them vandalizing westfield shoping centre..OMG...i wil die.

part2 is for me to get home now still stranded in central london.
if u re protesting of police kiling a black guy so why re u attacking private business. already the economy is in crisis and doing all dis is not even helping us.
the news is saying it as if is only black ppl re making trouble bcos all the affected area is black community but i ve seen Asian,white boy joining on d street.
op i gt home safely....Amen

Ade_Cool said...

As always the trigger happy Police just executed the chap(though he wasn't quite innocent himself and carried a gun).but not enough reason to slay him..
Now the Youths have hijacked the whole thing coupled with a general dislike for Police by youths of all ethnic backgrounds living in the inner city...
Also because of the Police cuts..the Police are not breaking their necks to curb the unrest..
BB..FB..and Twitter is now the tool of choice for organising this sort of social unrest..got enough people I know in some of those affected areas..

It has gotten to Croydon, Clampham junction and Birmingham. it is really pure criminality perpetrated by mostly teenagers, may God deliver us.

If the riots enter Woolich, yawa go gas big time. All the "Alaye" boys there will show them what rioting is all about. Abeg, Nigerian parents, call your children in london now and ask them where they are. Once a Nigerian face shows among the rioters now, the British will forget that it is their people that are criminalizing the protests and now blame it on us.

What is going on ke??? Recession of course. people are out of job and the credit is so bad right now, so they are venting their aggression on innocent shop owners in the name of fighting for the unlawful killing of a major cocaine dealer who shot a police officer. imagine?
if you notice, they loot the shops before trashing and burning. Hooligans have hijacked london and until force is used, i doubt if it would end soon.

Mark duggan (a black man) was shot by police on 4/08/11
Just moments earlier Mr Duggan had sent a message to friends revealing that he had spotted men from Operation Trident, following him in a green unmarked Volkswagen van.
In his last message sent from his BlackBerry, Mr Duggan told close pals: “Watch out 4 a green vw van its trident dey jus jammed me.”
Only minutes later Mr Duggan, 29, was shot. He died at the scene.

It is understood two shots were fired by officers after they stopped the cab in which he was a passenger to carry out a pre-planned arrest.
According to Met sources Duggan died after firing a handgun at an armed policeman, who survived after a bullet hit his radio.
An officer returned fire with a Heckler & Koch MP5 submachine gun – hitting Duggan twice.

But it was reported last night that initial scientific tests showed the bullet said to have hit the radio was a police issue round

But the really big news is this: that bullet that lodged in the police radio – the one that we were told could have killed an officer was fired by another and police officer duringing the operation.

a peacfull protest was staged in fort of Tottenham police station on Saturday 42 hours after mark duggan was shot to demanded answers about how and why mark duggan was killed. For three good hours no police came out to address the issue. The peaceful protest eventually turned into a full-scale riot at the weekend when one of the protester a 16 year old girl was mob by the police.

Mark Duggan was a loving father. He had six children he loved dearly. Those children have been left without a father.

its high time black community fight for them self. im so tired of being stopped and search by this so called police just cause of my colours. as long as you are black and tall and well body built then you are doomed by the police....

the best way to do this is by going to 10 Downing Street or better still Buckingham palace and set it at blaze. that way you can make a point and stop burning everywhere(your place)

I hope this is not London revolution like the middle east.

Na Hunger oooooo. Things are really bad economically in the UK. They have seen opportunity to steal and are taking it. It has escalated to Birmingham and Liverpool. God help us!!

black people r useless all over the world. if not why will they do stuff like this? make una stay for london, new york, malaysia ehn. no come back abeg. na so una children for foreign land dey give us bad name pass the woman we dey do for naija. rubbish black people abroad who hate us in africa meanwhile na una own pass.idiots! abeg make una continue ehn. why police no go search black man? no be gangsta all of una dey do?rubbish?

I have to agree with anonymous 10:07am. What does this mayhem have to do with either the recession or the shooting? The guy who died was a known thug, we are yet to find out what did happen. Is that an excuse to harass people in their homes and destroy businesses? Set fire to homes so people have to flee at night in their pjs? As for the recession, yeah right, they are criminals, never done a full days work in their lives, live on handouts and don't know the value of anything. At least when things like this kick-off in Africa, well you know that some of these people have been pushed to limits no human should endure! The big shame is that the police aren't being hard handed enough. The army should be on the streets. This is just plain ridiculous.

Its a very heartbreaking situation..d cuts are needed for d economy 2 grow but it was done irrationally and d youths are taking it out on the common man which is not d best way 2 go about it ...but dialogue is not an option for dis present goverment...its so not abt duncan

Its a heartbreaking situation....the cuts are needed for d economy 2 grow but it was done irrationally...its not a racial thing it affecting both the white and Minorities...and dialogue is not an option for consevative government....as a youth in london d violence is so not neccesary....God help us

me said...

lmaoo im in london too but isnt it funny how all these white people are scared just because they broke into their home and took nothing...they should come and see the way robbers threaten, kill and steal from people in nigeria. lol by the way any naija person that joined in this riot, God will purnish that person oo! Thank God nonoe of my fam members will need a Uk visa so any nigerian that joins them would only make things worse for himself and other nigerians intending to study or come to UK

at the royal wedding there were 5,000 police and now they are saying they are short of police and can only provide hundreds of police. what a big shame

CLF said...

Anon August 9, 2011 10:07 AM; does your statement resonate with Obama, Jesse Jackson, Colin Powell, Oprah, Idris Elba, Chiwetal Ejiofor, Kanu Nwankwo and in fact all the Blacks who are ekeing decent, honest and legitimate lives in different parts of the hemisphere?

Just to point out, that you have to watch the news and look in the papers to see that it’s not all blacks. Please don’t get it twisted.

The yobs are all chavs of every colour; black, white, Asians and are as young as 7 year olds.

Black youths shouldn't be a catch-all term, because there are distinctions. There are African youths who come to this country purely to study, and they're industrious, serious and studious. Then there are the African youths born and bred in this country, some of whom are working class and get involved with the general disenfranchisement of the working class; whilst many are middle-class and live away from the inner cities and fulfill their parents’ expectations by being professionals.

Then there are the working class Caribbeans/West Indians, most of who are responsible for the initial riots and can be found at the bottom of educational achievements etc. The well-bred middle class Caribbean youths who are as studious as their African counterparts make up the rest of the Black youth populations.

I doubt if any Nigerian will be involved in these riots. If they are, they are the ones that are now like West Indians and are difficult to differentiate except they tell you their names!

I for one have never been stopped and searched by the Police while driving, in the train, on the bus or anywhere in the UK.

moral decadence. when parents discipline, child will call police 4 them. now they're asking parents to call their children and find out where they are. absolute rubbish. they caused it for themselves. and pls no one shud tell me anything abt economic all what not. have those people every worked in their lives to feel the pinch? are they not all teenagers or mostly? did they even agree to finish school sef. criminality is criminality. a pity at such a young age too. the thing dey boil me

How to Check JAMB Result said...

You can go over here and read more news as they come out! Read More Hot News Here

Police jobs said...

The police force plays a vital role in the maintenance of law and order in society. It is a source of moral strength, confidence and happiness to all individuals who seek to live a good life in society.