Lagos bank manager stabbed to death for being rude | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 August 2011

Lagos bank manager stabbed to death for being rude

Kenneth Udeh, the suspected killer of the manager of Spring Bank (now Keystone Bank Limited), Ebute Meta branch, Lagos, Mr. Emeka Ohazuruike, on Monday said he killed the banker because he was rude and provoked him.

He said, “Ohazuruike had been hounding me for the money which my brother-in-law had borrowed from him. The day before the incident, he threatened to involve the police and implicate me if I did not do something about it.

“On that fateful day, we went to buy a copy of a newspaper and were reading it in his (Ohazuruike’s) apartment. Ohazuruike brought up the issue of the money again and an argument ensued.

“In the process, he slapped and pushed me. I got angry, went into my brother-in-law’s flat, and got a knife. When he saw the knife, he tried to wrestle it from me and in the process, I stabbed him.

“I did not plan to kill him but he provoked me and I stabbed him in anger. Ohazuruike is my kinsman; we both hail from the same village, Okija, Anambra State.”

Udeh and his brother-in-law, Onyeka Idemili, were arrested by the Lagos State Police Command in connection with the murder of Ohazuruike.

The Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Samuel Jinadu, told journalists that the alleged murder was carried out on Saturday in Satellite Town area of the state.

Jinadu said, “On Saturday, August 6, 2011, about 12:20 pm, Mr. Innocent Ezema of 24 Silver Street, Finiger Estate, Satellite Town, Lagos, came to the Satellite Police Division and reported that while descending the staircase in the compound, he heard a loud noise from one of the apartments.

“Being the caretaker of that particular apartment, he went there to find out what was amiss and on getting closer, he heard somebody screaming, ‘Onyeka has killed me.’ When he forced the door open, he saw Ohazuruike in a pool of blood. Blood was gushing out of his body and Udeh was struggling with him.

“Ezema immediately raised the alarm and this drew people’s attention. As people rushed to the scene, Udeh escaped from the scene. Ohazuruike was rushed to the nearest hospital where he finally gave up the ghost

Jinadu added that the police investigations revealed that before the tragic incident, Ohazuruike and Idemili had been involved in a business transaction, which had gone awry and had been causing friction between them.

He said, “The Police discovered that Ohazuruike gave out a loan of N11m to Idemili, his friend. Prior to that, they had been having series of arguments because Idemili did not want to pay back the money.

“On that fateful day, Idemili and Udeh came into the apartment of the deceased where they read newspapers and discussed. When they discovered that no one was in the compound and Ohazuruike had gone to take his bath, Udeh sneaked in and stabbed the banker in the back with a kitchen knife. This led to Ohazuruike’s death.

“Before anyone could do anything, Udeh and Idemili escaped. Both of them were however arrested at a motor park where they were attempting to board a bus to the east.

“Meanwhile, investigations are still ongoing and they will be charged with conspiracy and murder any moment from now”

Idemili, however, denied complicity in the murder and denied that Udeh acted on his instruction to kill the banker because of the loan.

Idemili said, “Ohazuruike and I were good friends even though we used to argue because of the money, which I wasn’t able to pay back in full. I used the money to import goods from Vietnam and he was aware of this. I had no hand in his murder. In fact, when I was travelling to the east with Udeh, I didn’t know that he had been murdered. I only heard from one of my neighbours that something bad had happened to him and was told not to come home.

“I admit that he borrowed me over N11m but before he died, I had paid him N2m. I feel bad that this kind of thing happened. I did not send Udeh to go and kill him.

PUNCH METRO gathered that Udeh was staying with Idemili at the time of the incident and were Ohazuruike’s next door neighbours.This, it was learnt, gave them easy access to the late banker’s apartment.

Source: Punch

37 comments:

Shakara said...

Ndi Okija. Biko hafuya!

Too bizarre!!

Just because of M.O.N.E.Y. #SMH. Are they satisfied now? They can have the world.Idiots

Ebere said...

omgoodness,whats really happening in the world ehn?kai,i pray they get punished for this act of wickedness

Good news is they no longer have to pay him...

Amaka's Notepad said...

YAWA HAVE GAS!!! okwu agwu!

Okija again???

And why e be say e no dey hard una to kill person for this 9ja of today?

May his soul rest in God.

:(

Hmm...Igbo people!! Especially Anambra people sha!

TUFIA! May God save them.

@ Anon 3.42pm.Don't b silly!!!!! Goodnews indeed!A man was mudered,and all u can think, of is making a joke about it.I pity u!!! Mscheww!!!

I swear Naija na the only place where this kind thing dey happen. Someone will confess to murder than expect people to believe dey are innocent and wan go free, and even make up nonsense story to make them seem innocent.

All of you calling ibos or okija, cant u just face the issue and leave the tribe out of it! this can happen in any part of the country!

Wat a sad story...smh

grace said...

hmmmn i hope they rot in jail o! why is it that human life is so cheap in nigeria?

Fifi said...

what is it with Nigerians and killings with knives,stabbings and chopping and slashing?????Its too bad oh,He who kills by the sword shall die by the sword...May his Soul rest in Peace,Amen.

I saw it in the papers.What is Naija becoming?

Thats the issue i have with lending friends and family huge sums of money.. because there will ALWAYS be story. and if u push too hard, the bad eggs will seek unconventional means to make it all go away.

somebody borrowed you 11m obviously money that didnt belong to him but the bank.you confidently say you returned 2million without plans to pay the balance.people are wicked.when they came begging an sure,they were licking the poor man's feet. May he R.I.P Amen.

Well, Nigeria is BAD for customer service. Why not hound the person who borrowed the money, eh? Not like the guy deserved to get stabbed, mind.

Dith said...

Very sad situation!

@igbomarriage- 11 million is not 11 naira. Your comment is in absolute bad taste and makes no sense.

samdmil said...

Na wa oooo... No wonder the Bible stated that the love of money is the root of all evil ~
R.I.P. Banker!

The murderers should be hung by their necks until they die. They took a human life over money and now want to make up stories about being provoked and shit. Please, give us a break. The public is not stupid. This is cold blooded murder and the killers should forfeit their lives and see how it feels to die a violent death.

The deceased in these hard times, was kind enough to borrow 11m to a so-called friend, only to be repaid with a knife in his back. This is why when it comes to borrowing people money, I only give money I don't expect back. Borrowing people money and expecting it back is a universal problem. When the borrowers need it, they are your best friend, but when it is time to pay, they hate you and plot to kill you. My advise to everyone reading this is DON'T BORROW ANYONE MONEY UNLESS YOU DON'T EXPECT IT BACK.

fuck you folks talking about Igbos in here. typical typical. where are the folks with their one Nigeria speeches now? as i said, when its something bad, the person is Igbo, when its something good, everybody and dem mama wan claim am as Nigeria. ABSOLUTE RUBBISH.

Yoruba Parents said...

I don't hear any body mentioned Yoruba here, is he not an Yoruba man.
If this is an Igbo man, all that you will hear is omo ibo, omo ibo, why other tribes do same thing, WHY?
As an Igbo man that i am, who leaves in Logas for many years before traveling out of Nigeria, we are not one hoohaa. Am sorry for the boy and the mother but for that Yoruba man, let him leave the rest of his life in jail. LET IT START.

Yoruba Parents said...

@Alicia, Am with you Alicia, we are not one especially Yoruba's..

**sideeye** said...

The people who are going Nigeria,Nigeria are dimwits. Don't you read the world news? Nigeria is tame in terms of murder. Premeditated or otherwise so STFU and grow a brain. Titi's husband was not Igbo,neither the is the husband of the other lady who died from poisoning so why are Igbo's now being insulted on here because of this? Educate yourselves people alot of you come off sounding pretty retarded with you Naija complexes and petty tribalism. Mschwww!

Yoruba Parents said...

Can someone stop saying Igbo people before i go vex now,, Please God help us to punish this murders and let the gentle man soul rest in peace.

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

Trully so sad. Me o,I have learnt looong time ago never to give out money i cant dash.Most people see loans as free money.even if it is borrowed from the banks,they use half of it to upgrade their profile,new house,new car n even New babe sef before even thinking of the purpose for which the money was borrowed in the first place. The Bible says 'the heart of man is desperately wicked,who can know it?'. Abeg o. *SMH*. Hmmmmm

Bombchell said...

the title is a bit misleading though the story is still extremely sad. From the title one might think some manager got stabbed for being rude, but i didn't find that anywhere in the article, I found more of a loan gone bad, a betrayal of friendship, and a story that's really unfortunate and heartbreaking.

for the records, spring bank is not keystone bank but enterprise bank ltd.

Ade_Cool said...

Poor sod..did two things wrong lending huge amount of money to kinsmen\family..and probably used his good stead with the bank as Collateral..hence the pressure he put on those villians to pay back..
Lesson learnt all the same shame he had to die in the process
This is becoming popular in 9ja..give to pay back na wahala!!..family/friends always trying to use silly sentiments..haven't they heard the saying..Business is never Personal..moreso unless you share the same vision and both commited financially you should never employ family/friends either..

i agree with bombshell: the heading is totally misleading. And for those who sayin watever bout igbos...2 word INFERIORITY COMPLEX!!

The guys talking about Igbo this Igbo that are all from nairaland. That seems to be in the thing now over there. Linda, Ill advice you do not allow your blog to be swamped by these low lifes who have no other form of livelihood. It makes us all (the commenters) looks bad.

eeeya the love of money is the root of evil...may the Lord console his Family.....RIP BANKER

www.sportdivang.blogspot.com

Well, may his soul rest in peace. This is a lesson for naija people not to borrow money to anyone unless you don't want the money back again, but I know there are some innocent ones who may not react that way to people that helped them. It is a pitty.

pples pls dont give what u cant let go.ds is a great lesson.

Its a pity u have to leave this world so soon' rest in peace. for those Igbo hates ' I am not suprise at all ' no matter what Igbos is still the best tribe to be in Nigeria' I love Igbos Long Live the Igbos you are wonderful and kind
creature

Anon 4:11pm, please step out of your ignorance! hisss...

HATER said...

BEST MY ASS!