Fashola signs law against abandonment of pregnant women | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 August 2011

Fashola signs law against abandonment of pregnant women

GOH! What kind of law is this? lol. I kinda like it tho...

Governor Babatunde Fashola yesterday, signed a bill into law, which allows for the prosecution and jailing of any man who impregnates and deserts any woman.
The bill presented to the governor by the state’s Commissioner of Justice and Attorney General, Mr. Ade Ipaye, at Government House, Ikeja, was among three other bills presented for the governor’s assent.
Other bills include amendments to provisions of the Emergency Management Agency, EMA, Law and the Administration of Criminal Justice.

Fashola, while assenting to the bills, said the various amendments to the laws were needed to tackle the problem of crime and delay in administration of justice in the state.

He said the enactment of the laws represented the commitment of the state government to building strong institutions, that could tackle crime and corruption, which had crippled the country.

He added that the country needed strong legislation to fight corruption and moral laxity.

Fashola explained that the Criminal Code Law, used in the state before now was enacted in 1914 by the colonial masters, saying that such laws and their provisions had since become obsolete and could not address challenges posed by present realities.

Culled from VANGUARD.

27 comments:

Galore said...

I hope it work shaaa

I hope it works as it will help to curb the excesses of our men out there when they know that they can go to jail for being randy little devils and making babies they have no plans for providing for. On the other hand, this is license for some of our womenfolk out there who make it their life's work to have kids for loads of men in hopes of getting lifelong child support..Lets not forget the fury of a woman scorned?! A woman who set out to trap a guy with a pregnancy..In the event that the guy doesnt fall in line, she now has the law on her side to be as vindictive as possible..lol.Its a thin line to walk if you ask me as theres room for abuse...I'm jus' saying!

well at the end of the day, the ball is in the mans hand, use a condom if u don't want some one having your kid, this will also help stop the amount of STDs and HIV in Nigeria, as d men will start strapping up.

Soul Sista said...

Fantastic news! Guys, no more hit and run!

crys said...

i so agree wit anon 2:13.mehn,,dis law get as e be o!!!!!hmmmm

moeajet said...

this is too funny but it's kool tho...although, i do commend him on his past accomplishments as a governor but he needs to concentrte more on how Lagos can keep getting better as the economy hub of the nation,

Yall, don't lemme be last to tell you, Fashola is a communist... With this law he's interfering in the personal life of people, n that's communism! Same guy signed tenancy bill, na him get the house! I'm telling yall abeg vote wisely next election, this guy taking it too far over state government what if its federal?

Tess said...

No more Fire and Run - Good one. How does he plan to track the men though? Let's see how it works sha. Hahahahahaha

lagos law makers are dumb did they even debate this law before approval..what kind of law is this, how would it be enforced,hw bout the women that poke holes in condoms to trap a guy..so many holes in this law and it makes no sence

Morenike said...

I love Fashola! Linda, thanks for making me smile everyday :-)

Renée Anastasia Davidenko said...

now, that's the dilly men!!!!!!!!!!! no more shagging and beating. u can't poke ur wand anywhere just because u need to be transformed and elevated into cloud cockroach. not only that, some pockets of the single n married will run dry!!!!!!!!!!

CCL said...

How will the they find the offenders if a report is made? What are the consequences? I think they should put child support laws in place while they are at it, there are too many children out there with fathers who are NOT doing their part to support them. Nigeria has so much more important problems that should be tackled, I think before morality laws and clauses but at least the government is trying to something.

Work on stemming the flow of people leaving the country for greener pastures due to unemployment.

Work on over turning the police force and legal/justice system. Bring people from countries with great polices forces to TEACH our police officers basic procedures.

Work on the changing the old grids so we can have light, we are still managing on what the British left behind FIFTY years ago.

Not to knock Fashola but abeg abeg abeg...

Setting woman up for a lot more murders. Imagine what a man will do if you tell him that you are pregnant when he doesn't want you? and on top of it he has to take care of you to avoid jail time? fill in the blanks......

Joiedevivre said...

@ everyone knocking this bill: I take your comments very personally. What is a man doing sleeping with a woman he does not want to marry, without protection? And contrary to your insinuations Fashola has not said the man should marry her, he should take care of his responsibilities! Period! Consequently, I also agree about the need for child support laws as well.
I feel very strongly about this because I am in this situation and I know several women who are. And believe it or not I had no intention of 'trapping', him -I used protection and contraception and this pregnancy defied both! (My story is on my blog.) I am ecstatic about this law (I was already researching on how to make our Abuja lawmakers pass a bill to prosecute dead-beat dads). I am going to find out about this law and see how to use it to my advantage for the sake of my dear daughter, abandoned from the womb by her dad. And even if it doesn't function now at least it gives our children a fighting chance in future. God bless Fashola and whoever else was responsible for this.
Thanks Linda.our comments very personally. What is a man doing sleeping with a woman he does not want to marry, without protection? And contrary to your insinuations Fashola has not said the man should marry her, he should take care of his responsibilities! Period! Consequently, I also agree about the need for child support laws as well.
I feel very strongly about this because I am in this situation and I know several women who are. And believe it or not I had no intention of 'trapping', him -I used protection and contraception and this pregnancy defied both! (My story is on my blog.) I am ecstatic about this law (I was already researching on how to make our Abuja lawmakers pass a bill to prosecute dead-beat dads). I am going to find out about this law and see how to use it to my advantage for the sake of my dear daughter, abandoned from the womb by her dad. And even if it doesn't function now at least it gives our children a fighting chance in future. God bless Fashola and whoever else was responsible for this.
Thanks Linda.

lolo uno said...

i agree with CCL they shld put a law in place for child support not this stupid one they just passed.

So the man crosses the border to Ogun state, and then what? SMH

i dey vex jor said...

Please this governor should concentrate on making the state better rather than poke nosing into people's affair; soon it will be a bill to say dont sleep with your wife,,nonsense!

Joui or whatever. Sorry I feel you but there's a reason u used protection and contraception - cos you both didn't want babies. So what's with the angst?

Dont know why, but this aspect of life has always given me so much concern and thoughts........I can say I am totally happy about this law. I am not a single mother neither have I been pregnant in my life and had to abort the child, but I have friends who are single parents........a pleasure enjoyed by both suddenly becomes a burden carried by one.....its thoughts provoking isnt it?

Its high time a law like this be passed. Guys these days perceive a lot of ladies as a toy to play with when randy. Date a lady for so long, you dont want a baby yet you detest condoms hence forcing them to have abortions which eventually might ruin their futures when they cant have babies again then the same scoundrel dumps them for maybe a Virgin or a younger lady who is just starting up her life........its preposterous.

Personally, I think this law will make many 'male species' more responsible and cautious of their attitudes........If you never ready to make babies and you dont like using condoms.....strap up son.

About ladies putting holes in condoms, the guys must be silly, where does she bring the condom out from? underneath the bed??????

Besides, this law does not state to marry the lady in question, just accept responsibility for your action. If we want to adopt the western world's culture of making sex a sport, then we have to accept the culture of taking responsibility for our actions...Period.

Its not about the lady because more often than not she is equally as irresponsible and promiscious as the man, it is about the child.......they are innocent and deserve to call someone 'Dad'

Eigengrau said...

I agree with the person who said Fashola is a communist - his recent moves meen . . .

Firstly, this is senseless male bashing - what she tripped, fell and landed on his phallus?

Secondly, how would you define "abandonment" - lack of financial support or physical proximity? You cant force me to live with s...omeone if I dont wanna.

Thirdly, who bears the burden of proof? hapless males?

Lastly, if the copulation took place say in Sagamu, would jurisdiction extend to Lagos - or if the Man sef does not live in Lagos - that would be akin to me being charged in Texas (where I probably reside) for smoking pot in California (medical reasons)during my last vacation in the latter.

Abike said...

Hahahahaahahaaa!!! Nice one! I like!! But please what if the father is oyinbo? All dem expatriate people. Would they hold him here for me??

Yesco no ni said...

I respect Fashola. He is a real man with a spine brought up by a good mother and nutured by a good wife.
We need more MEN stepping up for we women not penis containers

sleekreek said...

sound funny to me.......FASHOLA IS WORKING,,,LAGOS IS WORKING,,,, RANDY GUYS DON ENTER TROUBLE.....

CCL said...

JoiedeVivre - Sorry that this happened to you but your vent is a very personal one.

My question is still this - yes, a man impregnates a woman in Ogoja and flees to Kaduna to start a new life, who will find him which then leads to this question, how is this law going to be enforced? How will the police from Ogoja call the police in Kaduna to report the incident without working phones, faxs or computers?

Let me use where I live as an example, in the USA everyone has a social security number which is in the computer system which is how people can be tracked if they commit a crime along with the use of credit/debit cards.

In a cash and carry country like Nigeria, in a country where no SSN is assigned, how is this man going to be tracked? Unless he uses his passport to travel but then again, I have travelled from Nigeria to other places and they don't swipe the passports electronically which would carry an alert so HOW WILL THEY FIND THIS MAN TO ENFORCE THE LAW?

Where is the law to prevent pervert senators from marrying 13 year old girls? I'm still waiting for that one if we are going to start writing morality clauses!

this law is not a good one, because one can run after all deal has been done, boys many for street, and they need courl

Very good article. I'm facing some of these issues as well..

Feel free to surf to my weblog ... how to get rid of stretch marks

Very shortly this web site will be famous among all blog visitors, due to it's nice posts

Also visit my homepage http://wiki.ailab.ifmo.ru/index.php/Index.php