Breaking News: Veteran actor Sam Loco Efe dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 August 2011

Breaking News: Veteran actor Sam Loco Efe dies

Veteran Nollywood actor and comedian, Sam Loco Efe is dead. The actor died today in his hotel room, Room 204, Rapour Hotel, Amakohia, along Orlu Road, Owerri, Imo State, shortly after returning from location. He was 71 years old. So sad! May his soul rest in peace...amen.

115 comments:

Oh noooo....Nollywood has lost one it's finest *sad face*...

Stunning said...

Rip Sam Loco. Nollywood has bin hit did yr oh.Sooooo sad!

nkay said...

awww..ds is so so sad. rest in peace sam.

cuulgee said...

too sad.. R.I.P sam, you were a rare gem. BTW First to comment

Rest In Peace Sam Loco

Adebola said...

RIP. TRUE NIGERIAN LEGEND. GOD BLESS YOUR SOUL AND GIVE YOU PEACE. :(

oscar said...

we've lost a lot of talented people this year, Is this normal? #justsaying

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

Wow...may his soul rest in peace

it is well,folks pls let us get close to God.

Annbela Ohakaba said...

may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace...AMEN

RIP Sam loco,you made millions of people laugh.

hot N cold said...

Really sad...Death is painful.

Oh my God wat is really happening in our movie industry,and d world at large. Wat a great lost. May is soul rest in peace,and i pray God gives d family d heart 2 bear d lost. It is well

may his soul rest in peace

Anonymous said

OMG this is sad,may his soul rest in peace

MSA said...

I will miss you Mr. Loco. Your films brought me so much laughter.I will remember you advising Ini Edo (your daughter in the movie) to marry Hanks Anuku "bcos he is tall, very very tall" Lol. And your role in Alice my first lady, Old School. Those are just timeless.

May God be with you on your journey. You are greatly missed. RIP.

Jos Girl
This is so sad,may his soul rest in peace. amen

RIP one of the very best is gone

what a loss sam rest in peace

may his soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

NOOOOOOOOOO!!!! IM GOING TO CRY! I CANNOT BELIEVE IT! I WILL NOT BELIEVE IT! I hope most of his co-stars will attend the burial.

and to think i was watching him just two nights ago. :(

dj lee said...

We love you dAddy Efe..... Nollywood no one can replace him..

Solemn Face said...

I not sad. This guy has gone for a concert on the other side. This side is getting crowded sef.

He is off to see Micheal Jackson rocking the other world and the Pope doing his thung and the rest of the entertainment crew.

All together now......

Sam Loco, RESPECT!!!

'tion Sir!!

This reminds me of high school days when we went to bury our Maths Teacher who made it easy to love Maths. Everyone was so sad in the bus and one of the most hilarious girls in the class started 'mimicking him' and we all attacked her and ended up laughing out real hard. That was some sort of 'healing' /consoling some of us needed, cos that was the first burial ever attended in my life.
He was so loved which is why our parents 'allowed' us to go on a school day.

No comparison though, just my way of dealing....

Only 66......

Rest in Peace Sir:(

NaijaScorpio said...

This is sad news. I can tolerate most of his movies because he is funny. Sad, sad, sad. May he RIP.

solaye said...

R.I.P......WISH U ETRENAL BLISS

eeeyyyyyyyaaaaaaaaa.......so touchn..RIP sam loco efe........:(

what a loss, RIP MR SL EFE

I remember the movie picadilly, another talent has departed this world

OMG! How much it hurts.

What a great lost to Nollywood, May your gentle soul Rest in Peace

RIP.

G....

raymond said...

If Heaven wasn't so far away
I'd pack up the kids and go for the day
Introduce them to their grandpaw
And watch them laugh at the way he talked
Find my long lost cousin John
The one we left back in Vietnam
Show him a picture of his daughter now
She's a doctor and he'd be proud
Tell 'em we'd be back in a couple of days
In the rear view mirror, we'd all watch 'em wave
Yea, losin' them wouldn't be so hard to take
If Heaven wasn't so far away. r i p sir.

R.I.P sir. This is a call to all of us to get closer to God. Lord, please have mercy.

Kemiismyrealname said...

The great Picado Suberu of hotel de Jordan! Rest in peace.

soooooooooooo sad. RIP

the way celebs are dying in nigeria is a great concern pls joh whether u believe or don't you guys should go for prayer and fasting against death like some did at pastor adeboya's church...let the blood of Jesus cover u. So sad...by the way not trying to cause wahala but wat was sam loco efe doing in a hotel room? Niger has really lost a great actor RIP Sam Loco Efe I pray you are resting in the bossom of the Lord Jesus Christ.

OH MY GOD.ashley, now sam..my est actors are dying. please nobody shud die again please.please.RIP. we have lost of one nigeria's greatest and versatile actor and comedian.

omg,this guy acts so well. One of my favorite actors.... RIP SAM LOCO EFE

CLF said...

May he RIP. Amen.

Hot Nigeria News said...

I wish all this is just a rumour! But alas life must go on. Goodbye Sam Loco Efe good bye sam loco ife'

sam RIP.....@7.23PM didnt u read dat he was coming from the location.

sam RIP

so sad, to think that i watched one of his movies just this afternoon, life o life, the lord knows best.REST IN PEACE.

Linda am reading on twitter now dat he didn't die,dat he ad an heart attack Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ is rrecuperating. Can Ʊ pls confirm dis?

Dlapikin said...

He was such a great act to watch... :( :( :(

RealTalk said...

Mynnnn so it's true. Life oh life.. Rest in perfect peace Sir Loco...

Ade_Cool said...

R.I.P...Mr Sam Loco..such a funny dude and his big big grammer..
I did notice his eyes were always discoloured and that's never a good sign..should always have a check up..the eyes are a good giveaway that something ain't right..actually happens to be one of the first things a Doctor would look at...

oh nooo..... this is really shocking may your soul rest in perfect peace Amen

I tire for rumour another bc came in tonite now that veteran nollywood actor,sam loco efe,is alive,Our sources have revealed that though he suffered a heart attack on location earlier today he is gradually recuperating in a hospital at the Imo state capital Owerri, pass around the message don't allow the bad one to continue we all love sam loco efe... Let us all thank God 4 his life.... Wana knw the truth _____u"inda always check ur story before u write haba!!!

Guys some people say he is alive ooo. He suffered a heart attack but he is becoming better gradually. Lets chill out before accepting this kind of news.

I can't believe this guy is gone!! He was a chain smoker and he drank a lot, so maybe that's caused the discoloration in his eyes. RIP MR EFE.

Sam Loco died at a ripe age of 71 as sad as it is to see him go...its not alarming about his departure...so pls pple stop trying to brew concern in Nollywood...about pple dying...the artists that makes up Nollywood is enough to form a state on its own...so therefore...pple will always die...RIP sir

Blog-Lord said...

LINDA RECCONFIRM...he survived...was heart attach early ds morning but recuperatin at d hosp

Just heard it was announced on NTA news revealed that sam loco is still alife. Linda pls confirm....

fannie said...

i also heard he's alive, that it was a heart attack and he survived it.

linda you don mad he was 66 three hours ago now he is 71 nice one sha

he is not dead

LUCY said...

Its still unconfirmed though. Sahara reporters did report this news first at least on my timeline on twitter. There are talks that he didn't die just sustained a heart attack and slipped into coma. Reports sauntering in claims he is recuperating and um while its still not authentic its better we stay on the safe side and stop further RIP messages until it is confirmed further. It will be sad indeed if he does pass on now. The man lit up our big screens. Further update is awaited in this case!reporters did report this news first at least on my timeline on twitter. There are talks that he didn't die just sustained a heart attack and slipped into coma. Reports sauntering in claims he is recuperating and um while its still not authentic its better we stay on the safe side and stop further RIP messages until it is confirmed further. It will be sad indeed if he does pass on now. The man lit up our big screens. Further update is awaited in this case!

rip Sam Loco--YOu were funnny funny funny!!!!!! You'll be greatly missed. Go well sir.

he has been confirmed alive......May his days be long.

Linda Check your news well o... He is alive!

He may not be dead. Other news sources are saying he is just in the hospital

Biko Linda,The News making rounds now is that Sam had heart attack but still alive...Can you update us

He didn't die! He had a heart attack...

Sue's corner said...

he's dead, he's alive. he's dead he's alive!!!!! whew!! someone confirm for us pyyuulliizzee!!!

Linda, get your facts right....he was 66 not 71, and may his soul rest in peace!

Sam loco is not dead oh he just suffered a heart attack after doing Igbamgigba with college girl!!!!!!!!

Nkaytchee said...

linda, Genevieve nnaji says dat Sam Loco's death is just a rumour... she says she contacted 2 of his family in warri and they said he slumped but did not die.... U can check out her tweets to confirm dis

its a lie.....Sam Loco isnt dead ohhhhhhhh......it was announced on the news that he had an heart attack but is in hospital in Owerri Nigeria. Linda get ur info right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Femiluv said...

So sad, RIP

Loudmouthed said...

Sam Loco is Alive Linda please update your blog. Even Genevieve tweeted that it is false rumor. He had a stroke, but he is still alive

You people should stop forming familiarity the guy is alive. Linda update your blog....shior.

nollywood is less funny with this loss

Rio of informationnigeria.org said...

"Rest In Peace" Dearest Sam Loco, your jokes will be sorely missed.

uhnmmm he's not dead o-the guy dey hospital

May his gentle soul rest in peace.

HE'S ALIVE OOO HEARD ON NTA AM NEWS THIS MORNING CHOI NAIJA SHA I'M NOT HAPPY COS MY FWEND MADE ME BROADCAST A FAKE NEWS ON BB YESTERDAE JOR

Opeyemi Oni said...

hey just heard now that Sam Loco is not dead... he had an heart attack.. n he is awake now

he was 66 years old. get your facts right madam

yea me to i read that he is not dead but suffered a heart attack (NTA + Genevieve Nnaji 1 twitter) pls confirm so we don't RIP a man who is still alive and need prayers to recover....

So so sad! The things i love about him were his sense of humor and his mastery of English language. He was indeed great at acting. BUT i hope he was born again.

Chiichii said...

hi Linda,i believe in what you are doing (i mean this blog) but please news is sacred,confirm this story well (i mean his age).News everywhere says 66years but you wrote 71.Please be sure .RIP SAM lOCO!!!

Rest in perfect peace Uncle Sam.@ Anon August 7, 7;23 is it that u have ears but cannot hear with it or you have eyes but cannot read with them. Did u not see or hear that he was on location?

the white enchantress said...

will miss you greatly Uncle Sam....R.I.P.

Kay said...

Read this please and confirm :

http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-729935.0.html

Berry said...

Rest in Peace , Sir. We miss you already.

www.berryfeistypen.blogspot.com

Linda, please follow my blog. Thank you.

Lindaaaaa, he was 66yrs old and he dies yesterday! haba, i always thought you got your facts right. if you like no post am. just rectify the misinformation.

Ayorinde said...

egbele ooo..woo dey tlk tru?Geneveive twitted his death dat was ow i comfirmed before spreading, some hours l8a she twitter it wasnt true and dat she was sorry abt it false spreading. Abeg woo make we believe ooo, Linda authenticate ur fact abeg(cos i bliv too mch in wat u blog) cos even in punch dis morning dem say im age na 66.. c d age wey u write for am again. ejoo ema dawalori ruuu. AUTHENTICATE UR FACT

he was 66 not 71!

i feel lyk crying now.........he is such a nice actor full of comics. i will 4ever miss him. adieu sam loco efe

SAM LOCO IS NOT DEAD, GENEVIEVE CORFIRM DIS MORNING!!!

yehni djidji said...

RIP! Sam was one of the best!

sleekreek said...

RIP,,Sam.....Nollywood has lost a great talent,,,

valushi said...

Please NTA said that Sam Loco is alive and recuperating in a Hospital in Owerri.

pls Linda update your message because Sam Loco Efe is very much alive.

Kemiismyrealname said...

The great Picado!!! Na wa! Only you could have pulled this off. Lol! You will certainly live long!

Leo said...

Rest-In-Peace Uncle Sam

KELE GOLDMIND said...

My Loco Loco, ...May your soul R.I.P, ....you were one of the best thing that happened in Nollywood revolution, .... Sleep well!

KELE GOLDMIND said...

My Loco Loco, ...May your soul R.I.P, ....you were one of the best thing that happened in Nollywood revolution, .... Sleep well!

ChiChiLuv said...

May God Rest His Soul! Uncle Sam go find Richard Pryor and you two should team up and crack heaven up! God bless you for the years of laughter:)

Such a lost; he died on active duty, he died very strong, he is blessed;God bless his SOUL

Patricia Maur said...

Sooo sad,Uncle Efe we'll miss u greatly.The talented ones are leaving,what is happening?

wow! so sad.. Pray he's in a better place.. RIP!!!

Ok so Naija movies officially has no more use to me now that the only person i watch it for is dead!!!! WTH?!

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE CONFIRM IT DAMN IT!!!

does linda even read the comments on her blog or just adds them cos if she did she would confirm if he is dead or not or atleast his age...pls 4 the sake of ur dedicated bloggers pls conform linda.

Linda Ikeji said...

Unfortunately it's really really really really true. Sam Loco is truly truly truly dead.

Also, his official age might have been 66, but he was 71...from family members.

R.I.P Sam, your a legend and one of my favorite nollywood actors of all time. When i heard of your death i was hoping it was a misup but i guess it's true, i feel so sad. Naija make we dey show our legends love and respect they deserve while they are here, i will definitely miss your humor in movies

NA WA FOR PEOPLE OOOHHH! GENEVIEVE DID NOT CONFIRM ANYTHING HABAAAA! NO BE THE SAME TWEET ALL OF US DEY READ? SHE WAS RETWEETING WHAT PEOPLE WERE TWEETING THAT'S ALL. ALTHOUGH I THINK HE IS DEAD FOR REAL SHA?

Now, i know not to believe anything people blog about. Yesterday, Sam Loco was dead and was 66 years old. Today, Sam Loco dies at the age of 71 and people will be reading other things you blog about, believing, judging and drawing unnecessary conclusions.

Please get your facts right...if u like dnt post it. This message na for u sef. As long as you don read am, thatsall....