They're all out: 33 miners raised safely in Chile | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 October 2010

They're all out: 33 miners raised safely in Chile

The longest underground nightmare in history ended safely — and faster than anyone expected.
In a flawless operation that unfolded before a hopeful, transfixed world, 33 miners who were trapped for more than two months deep beneath the Chilean earth were raised one by one Wednesday through a smooth-walled shaft of rock.

The last man out was the one who held the group together when they were feared lost, a shift foreman named Luis Urzua who enforced tight rations of their limited food and supplies before help could arrive.

5 comments:

This has to be the story of the year! God bless Chile!!

Banky said...

If It Were in Nigeria...

Last night I dreamt that 33 Nigerian miners were trapped underground and the government decided to send a capsule down to rescue them one after the other.
When the miners knew of the rescue plan, they began to argue amongst themselves on who goes first. Zoning was suggested but they could not agree on which zone will go first. Eventually in a struggle to determine who goes first, several of them got injured and MEND issued a threat message warning that they would set off a bomb if any South-south miner was critically injured.
Meanwhile, the FEC had awarded the capsule contract to JB and we are still awaiting delivery three months later. There is a probe going on to unravel this and retrieve the award sum before we get to the issue of what formula to adopt for the rescue and which miner comes out first.
In the mean time, traditional rulers from the miners' towns are paying solidarity visits to the president to thank him for his efforts to rescue the miners.
And the first lady had just invited the wives of the Nigerian miners to Abuja for dinner at the Hilton! The first ladies from the 36 states will also be in attendance. All including the wives of the miners will wear the Goodluck for President ankara.
CNN reported early this morning that after 10 months underground all the 33 Nigerian miners have died and the Nigerian government has declared seven days of mourning during which the Nigerian flag will be flown at half mast to honour the dead.
Meanwhile, JB has sued the FGN for the balance of the contract sum.

•Author unknown

Banky, you are hilarious.... I don laugh tire. God bless naija!

Banky;this qualifies as the joke of the year.God bless you for puting smile on my face......free of charge.

Banky said...

just to add that i lifted this from today Thisday newspaper and decided to share it, i do not want to claim credit for the authorship.