Recovered looted funds: Whistle blowers may be entitled to between 2.5%and 5.0%- Lai Mohammed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 13 February 2017

Recovered looted funds: Whistle blowers may be entitled to between 2.5%and 5.0%- Lai Mohammed

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed said the Federal Government's Whistle-blower policy has started yielding fruit as it has so far led to the recovery of US$151 million and 8 billion Naira in looted funds.

In a statement issued in Lagos on Sunday, the Minister said the looted funds, which do not include the $9.2 million in cash allegedly owned by a former Group Managing Director of the NNPC (which was also a dividend of the whistle-blower policy), 

were recovered from just three sources through whistle-blowers who gave actionable information to the office of the Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation.

The biggest amount of $136,676,600.51 was recovered from an account in a commercial bank, where the money was kept under an apparently fake account name, followed by 7 billion Naira and $15 million from another person and 1 billion Naira from yet another.

''When we told Nigerians that there was a primitive and mindless looting of the national treasury under the last Administration, some people called us liars. Well, the whistle-blower policy is barely two months old and Nigerians have started feeling its impact, seeing how a few people squirrelled away public funds. It is doubtful if any economy in the world will not feel the impact of such mind-boggling looting of the treasury as was experienced in Nigeria.

''Yet whatever has been recovered so far, including the $9.2 million by the EFCC, is just a tip of the iceberg,'" Mohammed said.

He appealed to Nigerians with useful information on looted funds to continue to provide the authorities with such information, saying confidentiality will be maintained with regards to the source of the information.

The Minister also reminded Nigerians of the financial reward aspect of the policy, saying:

''If there is a voluntary return of stolen or concealed public funds or assets on the account of the information provided, the whistle blower may be entitled to anywhere between 2.5% (Minimum) and 5.0% (Maximum) of the total amount recovered."

16 comments:

Oga minister forgot that your big grammar, just give that man his cut, simple as ABC

Gosh! Alhaji Mouth Odour has lied again

Dolapo said...

For what? For doing their duty as a patriotic citizen?! God please deliver us from these dumb leaders! And another round of looting is started. How do you account for these recovered loots, when you are already planning on how to take a percentage out of it? Criminals everywhere!!!

But that isn't what the last whistle blower got, inet??

Wow...
They now get a snitch paid!?

...this administration sef

OBI LoVe said...

Tomorrow he ask us where and when he lied....

Lie lie Mohammad is at it again, nonsense.

Okay..

LIAR!!! You're mates are saying 10% you're here seeking means of extorting from them

What is happening to all the money and properties recovered? Put them back into the economy and get the country moving again and end recession. I hope Buhari and his team are not stealing the recovered loots. They should give proper account of those loots they recovered from those thieves.

Mmmh what's wrong with our learder?

Emy said...

Lie and Co, continue to confuse yourselves by your distractions u will soon wake up tomorrow when we start asking you for the recovered loot u just mentioned, and your response will be,'you were quoted out of context'.

Monemi said...

please, did u promise protection for d whistle blower. hmmmmm

Do we have any law regarding accountability and disbursement of the loots recovered by the federal govt since the do not form part of the budget?

Few days to go before the expiration of the promo......Flourish Royal Garden Estate is located about 1 minute from La campagne Tropicana along the Lekki Free Trade Zone axis in Ibeju Lekki.

it is a dry land with flat topography.

The estate is on a tarred road with electricity power poles in front of it.

The estate is 12 minutes drive from Dangote refinery and the Lekki free trade zone main gate. It is opposite the lekki golf course and 10 minutes drive away from Lekki International seaport.

Flourish Royal Garden Estate is less than 1 minute from the expressway.

Because of the fast rising presence of commerce In this area, the land will appreciate and increase in value. It has a great return on investment.

Proposed Estate Facilities:
*Swimming Pool
* Recreational centre
* Fence
* Gate house
* 24 hours Security
* Good road network
* Drainage
* Shopping centre
* Electricity

Neighbours: Lekki Free Trade zone, Lekki International Airport, Eleko Beach, Power oil company, La Campagne Tropicana, Dangote Refinery, Dangote Fertilizer, Eleganza group, Chinese Steel Industry, Independent Power Plant, Lagos State General Hospital, Ibeju Lekki, Lekki Golf Resort, Lekki New Deep Seaport. 

You can build and just rent it out and watch your bank account rise! Or buy, keep and sell later as the land price appreciate greatly. 

Plot size: 600sqm. 

Promo Price: N700,000 outright payment. Promo will end on 20th February. 

*NOTE: BUY 5 PLOTS AND GET 1 PLOT FREE.*

Price will be N800,000 per plot after this promo. 

Take advantage of this rare opportunity and invest in Flourish Royal Garden Estate today. 

For enquiries and inspection call BEN: 08112154073

may?? after risking their lives to expose corrupt and powerful people. May isnt good enough Mr Lai.Not good at all.

sholetoga said...

Double talk......Mr liar Mohammed when will you stop speaking from both sides of the mouth.....Infact, this Buhari and his sawdust brain ministers are confused........