Eric Arubayi's brother reveals consumption of expired drugs caused his death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 13 February 2017

Eric Arubayi's brother reveals consumption of expired drugs caused his death

On Saturday Feb. 11th, West African idol 2nd runner up, Eric Arubayi died after a brief illness. His brother, Derrick Arubayi has revealed that he took expired malaria drugs which led to his death. Speaking to Vanguard, Derrick revealed that Eric had been sick with malaria and typhoid and things got worse after he took the expired drugs. It led to liver failure which eventually led to his death.
“He had malaria and typhoid, which was untreated. It later became worse after he took a medication that had expired and this triggered his liver ailment and afterwards, every other thing just followed at a fast pace before his death.
“The only thing that we had to say is that he lived for Christ. We just want the world to know that the name Eric Odafe Arubayi was for a reason beyond the West Africa Idol show. For that reason, God would make manifest even beyond his glorious ascension." he said

34 comments:

Rip

Chai!!! Rip🕯

nawa

Expired drug huh?what a shame.no wonder i no dey take Nigeria medicine cause i no wan die now..AT UR LEVEL U NO FIT TRAVEL FOR TREATMENT HUH?imagine IS HIGH TIME THESE YORUBA PEOPLE THAT DEAL ON THIS EXPIRED DRUG BE TAKING AS TERRORIST BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT DIFFRIENT FROM APC BOYS CALL BOKO HARAMS.no wonder terrorist buhari decided to die in London hospital than Nigeria hospital.
May the soul of DORO AKUNYILI REST IN PEACE NO ONE WILL BE LIKE U MA IN NAFDAC OFFICE. Freeborn wept.

RIP Eric...

Nma Lib said...

Na wa oo this Nigeria don tire person o! Medicine wey u buy with your money na im come kill you.. It's terribly sad..

Its sad. We have just one life. Take every sickness seriously and treat it immediately. Wonder what nafdac is also doing about expired and fake drugs. Hope that hospital gets sued. So unfortunate. RIP

Long live LIB

Oghenetega said...

May his Gentle soul RIP

Oghenetega said...

Naija & expired drugs

But guy you know you have problems right? Must you be abusive? I can bet you are a woman beater!! For the love of God be reasonable for once and you don't always have to comment. So he should travel abroad just to treat malaria? You are such a bitter person I pray for God's healing for you cos you are sick.

It's really sad but we are talking about expired drugs here, not fake drugs.Nafdac isn't supposed to check that one too...We owe it to ourselves to check the expiry date of anything we consume, especially drugs. If there is no expiry date, don't consume it!

Do we now blame Eric or his relatives/caregivers for the expired drug he consumed?

The liver is a very resilient organ and it must take an overdose of such medication to shut it down. And we are talking about an "apparently fit" young man.

The story begs for more...

Most likely fake medication not expired drugs would cause the hepatic failure

Omg!....dats why I buy my drugs from reputable pharmacies...as small as paracetamol....so u can trace ur ill health....some people buy drugs from commercial buses...it's not good....

Still very Hard to believe....IT IS WELL...............(1 Thessalonians 4 Vs 15- 18

It's amazing how dumb you are Mr freeborn (whatever) like you are so stupid, it just had to be said... Keep in mind sir that you are stupid, never forget this even while you sleeping.

It is well.. rip bro

TOCHI said...

They don't treat Malaria abroad cos they don't have the malaria parasite there.

TOCHI said...

They don't treat Malaria abroad cos they don't have the malaria parasite there.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Freeborn abi na freelost may God forgive you for your senseless comment. Ewu

www.ckjacob.com

Angel said...

Rip dear

Linda please do your research well before posting news , you must not post everything you hear, expired drugs will not kill someone instantly. You have workers . Send them to the hospital to ask what actually killed him. Possibly he had a long standing illness. Rip bro.

Linda shame on you too for always posting the idiotic freeborn's comments. You are being just as irresponsible as him. When a family looses a loved one, none of us have the right to come here passing judgements on the family. This is real life people! It's not a drama script! The wife n family are going thru real pain n here we are making comments that dig the wound deeper. Noone would knowingly take expired medication, it must hv been after the death they started investigating and found out this fact! Linda u hv to become more responsible about the comments u allow to be posted on ur platform or u too will be guilty!!

Rip dear

Angel said...

Rip

Basra Hamza said...

Na Linda I blame for saddling us with Freeborn #SMH
On Eric, so many things were left unsaid "he had malaria and typhoid that were untreated"
Untreated by who? Did he go to the hospital? Where did he get the expired drug that he used?

My people, lets look well before we leap and take care of ourselves.
Until we know the full story, may God help us.

Petro... T said...

May his soul find peace in the Lord. This reminds me when I went to buy malaria drug from a patient shop around me for a friend of mine who was sick, and I was given an expired drug, the one that has mucor on it, I noticed that when I got home and returned the drug, could you believe that the boy in the shop instead of him to ask for apologies he rather told me that's the way they bought the drugs and he was very reluctant to take the drug back. Meaning that they knew that the drugs has expired and still selling it to people. What a world!

Petro... T said...

May his soul find peace in the Lord. This reminds me when I went to buy malaria drug from a patient shop around me for a friend of mine who was sick, and I was given an expired drug, the one that has mucor on it, I noticed that when I got home and returned the drug, could you believe that the boy in the shop instead of him to ask for apologies he rather told me that's the way they bought the drugs and he was very reluctant to take the drug back. Meaning that they knew that the drugs has expired and still selling it to people. What a world!

Yes, there is more to this story. The problem is they don't do autopsies...they just rant about whatever as the cause of death in Nigeria!!!

Daily diet tv said...

His death really knocked me off balance. I only take solace in the fact that he is in a better place. Rest well brother!

My abrakarian. Rip

People need to STFU already. It's not like yalls knew him or was there for him while he lived.

We're all gon die someday.

Make the best of life while you still gottit

Wow..lies lies lies. You know what really killed eric , why cook up a bull story to deceive d public.Anyway since d family wants it a secret so be it. Rip.

RIP ERIC....HE WAS SUCH A GREAT PERSON