I did not say rice is expensive because Nigerians eat too much rice - Min of Agriculture. Audu Ogbeh | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 15 September 2016

I did not say rice is expensive because Nigerians eat too much rice - Min of Agriculture. Audu Ogbeh

Minister of Agriculture and Rural development, Audu Ogbeh has dismissed media reports quoting him as saying 'Nigerians eat too much rice, that’s why it is expensive'. Some media platforms quoted him as saying this yesterday. The minister dismissed the report in a statement signed by his media aide, Aishat Ayijimoh Onusi. The statement reads;

The Hon. Minister of Agriculture and Rural development – Chief Audu Ogbeh has dismissed news report quoting him as saying 'Nigerians eat too much rice, that’s why it is expensive'. "This is totally false, misleading and a sheer display of irresponsible journalism, reckless sensationalism, and poor ethics," the minister said.
He noted with disappointment that the mischievous headline in question was completely at variance with the content of the news story. The Minister decried the deliberate misinformation by the media which has become a frequent occurrence and calls for caution, self-censorship and ethical compliance by journalists and social media activists.
For the avoidance of doubts, the minister stated that during a recent meeting he held with an indigenous Agro Company investing in the production of Irish Potato in Nigeria, he did talk about the health risk associated with the excessive consumption of rice and advised Nigerians to occasionally substitute rice with potato for improved diet.
Chief Ogbeh wondered how the statement attributed to him in the headline came about when no supporting statement or quote was provided in the content of the news report. He advised Nigerians to beware of misleading headlines; pay close attention to media reports that come with such and should challenge the Press to abide by their professional ethics.

44 comments:

The amount of unverified information circulating lately tho!😂😂😂

But seriously tho, we too dey eat rice! Its like the standard food here

so what did he say that is different from what was quoted?

Most of dis guys dis man appointed as his ministers ar mumus..dere sense of reasoning ar dead..

Wailers always find their ways to twist headlines,agents of distraction.

Lol I prefer Amala sha

WE NEED OUR COUNTRY RESTORED BACK TO HOW IT WAS BEFORE! Our economy use to be the fastest growing economy in Africa.. A bag of rice was sold for about 6k or 7k before..even Dangote wey be richest man for Africa before don fall..
WHAT IS ALL THESE PLS??? IS THIS THE CHANGE YOUR USELESS FOLLOWERS ASKED FOR??
BASTARD IS WHAT BUHARI IS.. BIG BASTARD!!!

hahahahhaha this dude is jus a joncer!

he has so much energy to reply comments yet he can't sit down and think up ways to mk Agriculture in Nigeria lucrative. SMH

Those are his own words. Fact still remains that rice is expensive cos of govt policy...importation of rice has been banned,despite the fact that we cant even boost of producing enough rice that can feed about ten families talk more of billions of people...

Mmmmmm

IG:Tamara_Splash

And this one na minister or manister huh?
FREEBORN WEPT!
HOW WILL NIGERIA ECONOMY IMPROVE WITH THESE KIND OF MEN THAT SPEAK AND DENY HUH? VERY SOON TERRORIST BUHARI AND APC WILL DENY THEIR NAMES OR DICK.
he is now denying what he said in tv aw FREEBORN WEPT AGAIN.
Mr man stop fooling ur self and resign.
When they lie they blame media why they are the ones paying media to be exaggerating their lies and scams.

And this one na minister or manister huh?
FREEBORN WEPT!
HOW WILL NIGERIA ECONOMY IMPROVE WITH THESE KIND OF MEN THAT SPEAK AND DENY HUH? VERY SOON TERRORIST BUHARI AND APC WILL DENY THEIR NAMES OR DICK.
he is now denying what he said in tv aw FREEBORN WEPT AGAIN.
Mr man stop fooling ur self and resign.
When they lie they blame media why they are the ones paying media to be exaggerating their lies and scams.

Old man telling lies

Hello Everyone,

My name is Marymadalin Chichetam Nwamba from Anambra state. Please I really need a job so I can take care of myself and my mom. I live in Lagos. Anyone willing to help should call me on 08179660676 thanks.

Dats naija for you. Linda take note!

When another minister can deny her own twitter account denying this statement will be a piece of cake for this minister

I just weak

A man that studied French is a minister of agriculture...can he even define Agriculture? Nigeria is so sick

KrisYenne. said...

Seriously!,am tired with this government,going 1 step forward and 5steps backward on issues,even us that statement was quoted wrongly,there is no smoke without fire I still dare to say, "One day bush meat go catch the hunter".

OBI LoVe said...

Kai all this people that followed APC re. Still talking even when their grandmother will confess that they have failed.... Y defend ur self Mr MAN... please where is the formal minister of agriculture we need him now

As in ehh.. I don't know who to blame again

Nakky the Primitive Geologist from Mbaise said...

Stupid man

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

all these old men that suppose go on retired them no wants go,what is d difft from what he said b4 and this one now, foolish old men that reason from their auns

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

all these old men that suppose go on retired them no wants go,what is d difft from what he said b4 and this one now, foolish old men that reason from their auns

Whatever! You all have been failing..

Still what has he done to remedy the situation

IFY said...

Today Kemi will talk n say she did not talk, , Dallas will talk n deny it, August will talk and deny, Lai will lie n deny.... Na wah ooo

Dark Brown Chocolate said...

Exactly what I told my colleague when I saw this. Alot of the minister's are just retards and empty.

what did u say? Ancestor Audu

Hmm

Hmm

Enter your comment...

sholetoga said...

Biko, where did Buhari got all this his sawdust brain incompetent ministers from. They are all a bunch of mofos.......

How can a man who studied French be appointed a minister of Agriculture and you are expecting a good result. Buhari actually appointed his primary 1 class mate as ministers according to Freeborn2016.

but y is dis man always talkg n denying,its in his family sha,they lie too much

Audu ogbe is huge disaster, minus and a set back on achievements from Akinnwumi; Another reason Buhari should resign; inability to assemble a team.

God will help us all in Nigeria, atleast i ve been hearing of this man for decades being in government especially as minister right from my primary school days, now i have graduated from higher institution 5yrs before now...he"s still there. What is he looking for when will our future starts to manifest? 2019 should come quick and lets feel new breeze of government...enough of clueless and brainless govt

*This is Nigeria of 2016*
The Minister of Agriculture studied French
The Minister of Education studied Accounting
The Minister of Solid Minerals studied International relations
The Minister of Power studied Law
The Minister of Communications studied Law
The Minister of Transport studied English.
Minister of Labour and Employment studied Surgery
Minister of Budget and national planning studied law
Minister of Foreign Affairs studied Medicine
Minister of Petroleum studied Law
IGP studied Agriculture
I didn't say anything o...God bless nigeria

Enter your comment...u see is that what he will say

***********************Oga u sed it.... Jux kuku admit it was a slip..... Ebe fa ga na asukasi oyibo to defend Fulani cow. Dem no go no wen dey go vomit one..... Trust d media to awaz pick on awaz awaz

Wow..thanks for this comment. #Copying#

Clueless president!
Clueless ministers!
Clueless party!

Emy said...

Awuduu! ok. na wetin u talk? so u don become nutritionist, wey go dey tell us weting we go eat. prophet of doom, wey they tell us another locust we go destroy our crop. chai! e be like say na una be the real iluminati govt.

ESTHER JOY said...

Buy Good Quality MaMa Gold rice for sale at give away price of #10000 buying above 150bags. sizes 50KG, 40KG, 25KG available... call now for more information on our product and service........ we also deliver to all part of Nigeria 09066579253 or email; rosieaney@gmail.com