Sri Lankan maid spared death sentence in Saudi Arabia adultery case | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 December 2015

Sri Lankan maid spared death sentence in Saudi Arabia adultery case

Sri Lankan maid who was sentenced to be stoned in an adultery case in Saudi Arabia has been spared from this mode of horrific death sentence. Instead the convict has been sentenced to three year jail time after several appeals made by the Sri Lankan government.

Harsha De Silva, Sri Lankan acting foreign minister said in a statement,” The government of Sri Lanka is very happy to announce that the appeal for clemency on the sentence was successful and the sri Lankan national will have to serve a reduced term in prison”.

The 45-year-old married woman who served as a domestic helper in Riyadh since 2013 was accused of adultery with another fellow Sri Lankan migrant worker and sentenced to a harsh punishment of stoning to death while the accomplice was given a lesser punishment of 100 lashes only as he was not married. Though there were no immediate comments from Saudi Arabia on the clemency reports and the announcement made by Sri Lankan authorities.

Source: New Delhi Times

96 comments:

Chris J said...

Entertain naija recently posted... What Tuface Idibia Was Spotted Doing During Calabar Carnival

Ruthcindy said...

she is very fortunate o.

Hmmmmmm.... Thank God for her life... Next time she should go and commit adultery again.... #LIBBOO

What a harsh punishment, simply because person "share sugar"
Thank God she's got a lower sentence.
Islamic nations be forming righteousness when they're the bedrock of evil.

kelvin said...

If u know u hav neva committed adultery before, first cast a stone lol

I thank God for her life.. Even tho d death sentence is barbaric but she should go and sin no more..

Is adultery a federal crime or a religious "sin"..... Thank God for her oh..... She should sin no more....

Their judgments are too harsh...jeez!,#donjazzy's ex

Thank God for her life, those arab country law thu...

Was d adultery committed by her, what of d man. A wicked world.

oh! I thank God for her life, imagine the man who she had it with just got a tap on the palm.

Ok. Good government fighting for their nationals...

Like like th story in the bible.am happy for her.linda I don't dey commmeent

Much better

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Good for her. Linda take note!

She's so 4tunate! I hope she has learnt her lesson and if nt,there wl b no 2nd chance for her

She is so lucky...

~make I go take one bottle of star beer~

debutante aka who anonymous don help said...

cruelty

thank God for her life

high~on~zero~coke

Dats terrible

Did she not commit adultery with 'her own ' body? How is that anyone's business? Just saying...oh I forgot she is in Saudi Arabia.

Okbye.

Inequality of justice

If d govt of Nigeria try adopting dis laws,ppl go loose spouses
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

Mufliat said...

Eeya
May Allah expiate her sins.

#Hajia Mufliat

My Lady, she should go and sin no more.

CaringChemist said...

Are these people for real, death sentence to just 100 lashes. Nawa ooo. Still living in d days Moses.

Akpos said...

Small by small. At least them don dey get mercy

Laugh at funny akpos jokes, pictures and videos

Women have been facing injustice right from the days of our fore fathers. Thank God she is even spared at least...

Thank God for her life again.

#give me 1bottle#

Hypocritically Fucks.
"He who is without sin should cast the First Stone" so says the Good ol Book.

That's better. but these people are sha harsh o. so the female doesn't deserve to live abi

rachel said...

thank GOD they took out the suggestion of stoning her to death,but the mercy should be on her totally,but God will take control

lilly sammie said...

What of the man she committed adultery with? Women don sufa

Ppl still stone to death for adultery? Na wa ooo what will dey do to murderer? No sin is small in God's present but I think her husband should be the one to punish her. Which kind country be this one? Thank God she was asked to serve in prison for 3 years

lilly sammie said...

What of the man she committed adultery with? Women don sufa

Thhank God she was spared.....munachiphilips@gmail.com

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

100 lashes is considered lesser Kai this harmattan I can only imagine the pain....ProudlyDeltan

He who has no sin should cast the first stone.Thank God for saving her life

Mayberry said...

Thank God for giving her a second chance to corret her mistakes

Ppl still stone to death for adultery? Na wa ooo what will dey do to murderer? No sin is small in God's present but I think her husband should be the one to punish her. Which kind country be this one? Thank God she was asked to serve in prison for 3 years

tosisochukwu said...

Dat is dia biz

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Thank God for her....

Na wa ooo, which kind punishment be this? Na there body she take comit the adultery.

Thank God

Go and sin no more

So this people can actually have a change of hearts on issues like this. I sense change coming to this people.

@DGoldenJenny said...

Thank God that they eventually 4give.
We all have sinned against God, thou they don't believe in christianity

@least her government stood by her!

Racism against women...the latter received 100lashes while the woman dies...abegiii they should leave some punishment for God..

Lucky her. But even the 100 lashes, the guy no go siddon for one month o. Chai, these people sef..... Abeg follow me enjoy sports news here

Dat woman is lucky ooo
Nuella saiz**

mccoy said...

Effing saudi

Hummm that lady better go do thanks giving in church ooo

Cherry girl said...

na God save am

CUTE ONYII said...

LET THE MAN WITHOUT SIN BE THE FIRST TO CAST THE STONE,ALL THESE MUSLIMS ARE SO HEARTLESS, GOD WILL SOON JUDGE YOU ALL.

GRATEFUL HEART.

Eyahhh...thank God!

Why are women always @ d receiving end?

Thank God for her Life! Appeal for a Second chance granted.

Well..she should go and rejoice..Happy Boxing day Linda and LIB readers

Wot conji can cause.. She shud learn to kip her pussy in her pant #vazviz

eunymz said...

God saved her sha......

Mz EUEU

Now that's what a government is supposed to do for its citizens...

This muslims taking nd there wicked laws. I really pity anyone who is one coz they re really leaving in bondage

barensie wife said...

Mary magdalene..i can't shout.

junia said...

Good news cos u dnt deny pple d right to live.

Frantic.ifyiiokoye@gmail.com

Enter your comment...Muslims, ndi ala,and some would have stoned her to death...heartless people

Na wah o, shwo all dis muslims why una dey alwys dey harsha, evn God wen create una nor evn harsh reach una. Sm kind punishment wen una dey giv dey give me d chills kia. Abeg mk una dey fear God, fear God abeg.

Na wah o, all dis muslims, y una dey alway dey harsh sef, evn God wen create una sef nor harsh reach una. Sm kind punishmnt una dey giv dey giv me d chills.

Na wah o, shwo. all dis muslims, y una dey alway dey harsh sef, evn God wen create una sef nor harsh reach una. Sm kind punishmnt una dey giv dey giv me d chills.

Mo said...

As if they have never sinned. Mtchewwwww.

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Just Negodu

Thank your star

THANK GOD ,AM HAPPY FOR HER,THIS PEOPLE AND THEIR HARSH PUNISHMENTS ARE THEY GOD?
WE DIDN'T READ ANYTHING FROM YOU YESTERDAY,IS ALRIGHT.
GLAD TO KNOW YOU ARE BACK TO BLOGGING

No be small thing

THANK GOD ,AM HAPPY FOR HER,THIS PEOPLE AND THEIR HARSH PUNISHMENTS ARE THEY GOD?
WE DIDN'T READ ANYTHING FROM YOU YESTERDAY,IS ALRIGHT.
GLAD TO KNOW YOU ARE BACK TO BLOGGING

Wow!
Seeing death and conquering it is a world Cup

donald said...

Nawa!

donald said...

Nawa oo!

donald said...

Nawa 4 dis pple.

Okogba said...

Aiit....go and sin no more

Stoning of zoraya

Mrs Pearl. said...

Seriously? Someday women in these arab nations will protest for their freedom. Why would she be stoned to death? Well their law, their religion and their life.

#seriously who needs edikang ikong soup?#

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. Better o 2. Coz some offences don't deserve death sentence 3. #MYOPINION#

Ivyjess said...

😯😯😯😯😯😯😯

That was too harsh...But thank God they over turned it...Linda Much Love/Linda take care

These Arab countries and their Stone Age governance

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

God has intervened in her case

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

Di Mateo Xavie said...

Go and sin no more

Eyaah!...
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

Nawa o

LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com said...

I love Linda LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com

Who is without sin should cast the first stone!!! Thank God for her life!!!

Peace nwadire said...

Eyahhhhh

THANKGOD FOR HER LIFE. ARABS DON'T PLAY

i thank God 4 her life