Shehu Garba writes on Buhari and his alleged involvement in the Dasuki arms deal scandal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 December 2015

Shehu Garba writes on Buhari and his alleged involvement in the Dasuki arms deal scandal

In a piece title "BuhariGate, as the limit of obstructionist politics' Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Shehu Garba, distanced President Buhari from the ongoing Dasuki $2.1 billion arms deal scandal. Read the incisive piece below... 
As the war on corruption heightens, the political battle-line between the governing All Progressives Congress, APC and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has sharply been drawn.
While leaders from both parties voice out their support for the clean-up of the country by ridding it of corruption, the National Working Committee of the PDP seems clearly to be working contrary to the anti-corruption rhetoric of their Board of Trustees. Their public communication organs have, in particular, become increasingly combative against the exercise. All that the President, leading the APC change orchestra is trying to do is to revamp a moribund nation with growth, jobs and recovered looted funds. Sadly, only a few, if any in Wadata House are treating the war against corruption as the extra-ordinary event which it is. Instead, when they speak up, they do so most ardently against it. In a clear demonstration of abstructist politics, they challenge the government in every move it makes, but fail to spell out alternative roadmaps to curbing the monstrous corruption that threatens to consume the country; they rush to condemn and dramatize even the smallest of measures which, given time and patience will manifest through positive outcomes. 

Doing this gives the PDP the illusion of being an effective opposition party but taken in the context of national interest and the mood of the nation, it is doubtful it it is yielding anything beyond limited political returns. To most Nigerians, the cacophonous opposition is just a media spectacle to distract or mellow the President.

After an historic loss in an election to the opposition for the first time in the annals of this country’s political history, PDP has not looked inwards in any serious way to seek its revival. The first and major leap at reform ended disastrously when first, the party establishment rejected a well-timed apology tendered on its behalf for their past failures. Then, the leader of the reform movement got himself mired in allegations leading to court charges of the theft of billions of Naira voted for weapons purchase to fight terror in the North East. Chief Raymond Dokpesi's trial ( and Col. Dasuki's) is no doubt a serious blow to any prospects of a turn-around in the PDP. 

The party did not seek democratize their internal organization, a major reason for their implosion leading to the loss of the election or began thinking innovatively about the challenges of modern day Nigeria, nor have they got a "Plan B" that is inviting to the voters.

It is this failure to reckon with, or look at the real issues confronting the party and the nation that led to their call for an investigation of President Buhari for having been supplied two jeeps by the erstwhile Jonathan administration after the personal bullet-proof jeep he owned was bombed by yet unknown assailants. 

As the Special Adviser to the President, Femi Adesina said, issuance of the cars,soon after this incident was merely a face-saving move, intended to cover the government's failure to keep its duty to this particular former leader. The law, cited as the Remuneration of Former Presidents and Heads of State (and other Ancillary Matters), entitles former Nigerian Presidents including General Muhammadu Buhari to “three vehicles to be bought by the Federal Government and liable to be replaced every four years”.

Cars are just a few in a litany of entitlements written in that law although it is contestable to say that General Buhari had been given his due entitlements by successive administrations as provided thereunder. Regime after regime treated him as if he was not a former Head of State.

General Abacha came on the saddle and wanted to throw everything at Buhari who, knowing his very nature declined virtually but his military pension. The military in particular treated him so badly that its leaders kept silent when the PDP charged that he didn't have WAEC papers. One shameless Army Records officer said that the former Head of State had no records at all under their system. General Buhari went without a full compliment of armed guards from the army he served at the highest level until the dastardly bomb attack on his convoy in April 2014. It was at this time that the Chief of Army Staff at that time thought it necessary to reinstate the armed convoy to protect him. When they brought the two cars within a few days of his being bombed, the staff of the General were merely informed that this was from the Federal Government in fulfillment of its obligation to him. Since this was an entitlement long-overdue, not minding that it came short of what was expected, there was absolutely nothing wrong on the part of the General for accepting that which was due to him.

This hashtag “#Buharigate” was intended as a counterpoise to "Dasukigate," the phenomenal corruption scheme by which money intended for weapons to fight terror was shared among PDP leaders. It was a fake intervention and a malicious propaganda against the president, obviously intended to detract from his enormously huge reputational capital, the basis on which the APC nation-wide victory was founded.

The #Buharigate failed to gain traction because was seen as an opposition overreach and a desperate attempt to tarnish his hard-earned name and nothing more. No serious blogger therefore paid a serious attention to it.

This baseless allegation that the President had benefitted from the diversion of money intended to fight insurgency under the former National Security Adviser equally underlines the cruel nature of today’s politics, that even the best personal examples cannot keep a leader from the tar brush of the opponent. 

Apart from seeking to mellow the President, I suspect that the opposition had thought these attacks would revive the collapsed fortunes of the PDP while at the same time projecting their leaders as victims of persecution in the hands of the APC administration.

What however is encouraging in the country today is that Nigerians have thrown their full weight behind the war on corruption. This itself is an account the constructive nature of the government’s engagement against the vice and the determination with which it is being fought. Adding impetus and flavor is the frustration at the routionisation of corruption by the last administration and their inadequate and impotent efforts to curb and punish high-profile offenders.

My concluding augment is that President Buhari’s election and war against terrorism and corruption have become a template. In Niger, Chad and Ghana where there will be elections next year, opposition candidates are parading themselves as the “Buhari” of their own country.

President Buhari must have himself been embarrassed by calls, through newspaper articles, posters and banners in the course of his visits to these friendly countries, saying “we want Buhari type elections; we will wage Buhari-type anti-corruption war”. One Chadian political party published an advertorial asking their government to procure and issue permanent voters cards as well as the use of card readers in the coming election and if the funds were not available, “let us borrow from Nigeria” for the coming elections.

President Buhari was and is far, far away from, and remains untouched by the “Dasukigate”. “#Buharigate” is therefore a fraud and an unbecoming spectacle designed to tarnish the illustrious record of the President so as to mellow his anti-corruption drive. It failed because it was born out of desperation to gain sympathy by an opposition that can’t heal itself unless it comes to terms with the danger of corruption they thrived in, and the party's internal structures are overhauled and remade to meet the minimum requirements of a democratic organization.‎

152 comments:

We must blame GEJ's administration

I AM SELFMADE said...

buhari follow chop d money!

Seen!!

I dont like long stories

Ruthcindy said...

story for the gods

Dis is lengthy na
Can lLIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?

If fighting corruption is all PMB has done in hid tenure ,he would have still done more than any other Nigerian president in history cus a corrupt country cannot grow as independent country but as dependant! Corrupt nation favours few ,affects many!
Somuch love for PMB.

*yawns

If fighting corruption is all PMB has done in his tenure ,he would have still done more than any other Nigerian president in history cus a corrupt country cannot grow as independent country but as dependant! Corrupt nation favours few ,affects many!
Somuch love for PMB.

debutante aka who anonymous don help said...

politicking

Normally I read this kind of article but right now enjoyment won't let me. I'll let it pass

Hmmmmmm

I no read am oo

Meenah_wakil in instagram

Hmmmmmm

I no read am oo

Meenah_wakil in instagram

Mind Treasures said...

We know corruption ll. Always fight back dont bother yourself

Normally I read this kind of article but right now enjoyment won't let me. I'll let it pass

Omo....I no understand all this long talk...when is 1$ equalling #1?
#Linda about to hit one million followers on Twitter#
#sips OriJin#

NOT INTERESTED PLS.

trash! Trash!! Trash!!!

Another BS. I'm tired of reading all this cock and bull statements.. I read it all like it's an obligation. That's it I give up. I'm done with long statements. I ain't reading this shit

Uzosafetyblog said...

Couldn't finish the story cause it's too long. #IRepLIB

Golda Awosika said...

Hmmm...... So long a letter about thieving and shii

Who is he trying to decieve, the gullible who they have brainwashed. When he mention Buhari they quickly grant him bail to avoid him saying more. Who is decieving who?

Pls tell those children of perdition to shush. We are behind the president on this. Next plus.

it is well.

it is well.

Trash

it is well.

I already know the tone of this melody. Can't waste my time reading a piece a servant is writing about his paymaster.

moss said...

Who as time to read this. I want my comment to be ahead of d rest jare. Asap

Stop deceivng urselves, saint buhary is nt a saint aferall, he's very corrupt.

Na dem sabi.... Anyi anugo!!

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

He has said what's expected of him.. Before I wasn't expecting him to say otherwise.. Next plzzz!!!

rubish writeup. he has not even stated if the certificates have been found now that he is in power. the fact remains that it was not dasukis place to replace his vehicles.
so the moment he collectec those vehicles, his hands became soiled.
on anti coruption fight, why is there no corrupt person from apc charged?
excuses all !!!!

Make una d praise buhari na so them praise GEJ

Buhari is coruption fighting coruption

Abeg who get BlackBerry charger?

babybanker said...

Too much story! May God save us.......

2Face said...

Una done hear APC people. ..

renieccc09@gmail said...

God will strengthen him

The truth will reveal itself with time#dope president# linda I don dey comment.poooosssttttt

Eddee Baba said...

wahala de

Shehu garuba stop wailing...everytin abt afiicii(apc) is fables

Our honourable president....

Hmmmmmmm lord have mercy on us.....pmb we av trust in u

#Itmustendinpraise

~PICK UP D CALL~

Story for the masses.

Gbam!

You this useless wretched boy, you are very STUPID. What the hell are you saying? Wasn't the country corrupt too before JONATHAN stepped into administration? YOU LACK WISDOM. MAY GOD PUNISH YOU.

Okogba said...

I can't deal abeg...anything that does not bring rice and chicken to my table at this time of the year is postponed to Feb 14 2016

joyous babe said...

Too long,I will come back to read comment

Okogba said...

They should tell their cock and bull stories to those who believe that the sun shines just once in a week...what do they take us for?? Boo-hoo the fool abi?? Punks

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

Old testament buhari and davido's driver..... e do for u na u have win won't u give me space to win too....... strolls away

Enter your reply...davido's driver, ur sickness has no cure! A fool at 40. Its guinness malt all d way.

Enter your reply...aboki ur foolishness is becoming something else! Its guinness malt all d way.

phew! Odimma o

LIB ROCKS!!

Sometimes I jez feel like the leaders we get ar d ones we deserve... All dis Buhari Is corrupt, buhari is corrupt but at least he is not throwing it at our face like someone we all...

#lobatan!!!

I'm sure the reason some young nitwits are produced in this blog is because they have no contact with anything of any use in everyday life.smh

I'm sure the reason some young nitwits are produced on this blog is because they have no contact with anything of any use in everyday life.smh

mr sheddy said...

Noted

Too long

#linda give me 1bottle#

Don't be scared to tag my name. I won't eat you, I'll only bury your bones. IDIOTIC BLIND SUPPORTER. It pains me to see how foolish people like you have grown to be. When last did you fuel your tiger generator? After he promised you fools job opportunities, you dont have a job and a fool like You will come here and shout SAI BUHARI. This is how you people will keep suffering in silence. AMADIOHA BLOCK THAT YOUR MOUTH THERE IDIOT! Useless boy!

Lies are covered basically with long story. Yawn !!!

For realio dealio?...
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

Mumu.

WORD!!!
Poorly written though.

Amycool cyril said...

Too long to read, just passing

not tasteful....

Na waoo. This kind media trial though. Dokpesi is already guilty, just bcos he is a suspect.

CEO (MDI) said...

Was here

Hw can u be so dull. Wat certificates, dis man was head of states of cryin out loud. Hw did he get ther

Nyc piece

APC will continue to find makeshift excuses from past administration as reasons for their failure until they run out of complains. Watch out!

I.C.T Scholarship: http://siitglobal.com/newapply.php

I.C.T Scholarship: http://siitglobal.com/newapply.php said...

hmmmmmmmm

Davidor drive dey enjoy his lid way bonus, he can talk anyhow, the money go soon finish, them he eyes go clear.

Politics, wat a joke

Na your mama follow chop the money. Idiot illiterate. Cant u read? Goat!

AbokiDaWarriBoy stop explaining to these PDP idiots on this blog. They know the truth. They are only desperately trying to cover up by wailing. Nigerians cannot be deceived by PDP desperate moves to cover their corrupt acts

@STERN How will u be interested when you know they have said the bitter truth. The devil trembles at the truth

You are a fool because Dasuki is in prison right now spending christmas there. He was picked up again. So get your facts right. Idiot!

The devil trembles at the truth. Hahahahahaha

Main looking at it is boring. Lindy you didn't treat me well this year o!My wife is jealous of you cos I spend time on my phone browsing your site and I have nothing to show for it,well I understand you can't give everybody money.

He was not in government then so how was he supposed to know where the money was coming from? So if legal dept in your place of work decides to pay you your entitlement instead of finance dept, will you not collect the money as long as it is coming from thesame company?? Pls stop being dumb and stupid

In a developed country,everyone who collected money from dasuki must face the music . I guess we are still developing in Nigeria.

The big question that we are not asking ourselves is this; if Dasuki claims he used the money for arms to pay for Buhari's entitlement, what happened to the money for Buhari's entitlement? Is it that PDP ate the money for ex-presidents' entitlement and now used the money for arms to cover up the shame?? PDP i leave the question for you to answer because Nigerians are not fools.

sassylicious said...

Too long a story

Can u imagin the way Buhari was treated? It was totally unfair. Tears rolled down my eyes as i read the post. Buhari may God's judgement be upon all those that treated you badly before you became president. It shall never be well with them in Jesus Name.

PDP thieves and wailers give up. The world now knows all your tricks not just Nigeria alone.

Blog full of illiterates what a pity,if it's to post stupid comments they have time,but to read they don't have time.Well done my President,the Lord is your strength.

Buhari was not in power at that time. So how was he supposed to know that his entitlement given to him is from the money for arms? I am sure it was a deliberate act of PDP to use from the money for arms to pay for Buhari's entitlement so that in case Buhari wins election and probes them, they will rope him in. Nigerians are not kids. They are wiser than you think. This is not 1960s politics. So PDP try harder!

I can see some dumb PDP supporters here saying why did Buhari collect his entitlement from Dasuki's office when Dasuki is not in charge of entitlements. If you resign from a company and the legal dept pays you your retirement entitlement instead of the finance dept, wont you collect the money? As long as the money is coming from thesame company, who cares which dept pays the money??

Since Dasuki claims he used part of the money for arms to pay for Buhari's entitlement, then use the money for Buhari's entitlement to pay pay back the money for arms. Where is the money for Buhari's entitlement? Return the money for Buhari's entitlement since u did not use it. Chikena!

Dasuki gave Buhari only 2 cars instead of 5. Where is the money for the remaining 3 cars? And how come Buhari only just got his entitlement in 2014 since 1983 when he left as head of state??

I JUST HOPE BUHARI WASN'T SET UP OO

Here politics is just like a game of two. Ruling party must lie.opp partiy must wail and life goes on.

Nwachukwu Richard said...

This is really like a letter with a written by an 'Uneducated Aboki' -- Mr. Shehu Garba... This is visibly a political-party diss construction not a vouch claimed as the headline depicts. Nigeria is no doubt a country with a corrupt administration -- PDP as a party failed at upgrading their performance management proces, and so, GEJ sat and ruled with that same old-fashioned + personal political office mentality platform, hoping he could make a little difference...

The endpoint is not farfetched from GEJ being in seat as a picture bodied by a political-party frame governed with d same imprints. APC as rivals, found an opportunity in that governing-style upgrade weakness and utilised it.... blah blah blah, opportunity well utilised...

25th December, 2015 marks a hunger-striken Christmas for citizens of this Great Country. -- Poor cash flow, increased death rate since May till death, budget deficit, fuel scarcity (caused by subsidy debts, not by GEJ)..... and countless other mishaps under PMB APC administration.

This nation has experienced what I call National Malnutrition since day 1, PMB - Mr. EGNAHC got official. And if this is a future, (#Change), for this great nation, in just half a year (2015).... I enjoin every citizen of this nation to pray for financial security, Unity... Cause this is a remix of a devious government, this time, platformed by rivalry and party supremacy...

God Bless Nigeria! !! Season greetings LIB. Good Article!

Too much shit talk. Did he chop or not?

naijahotgist247 said...

Well said

Middlebelt Voice... said...

Enough of all this PDP-APC fisticuffs please. Ya'll save your energies into fighting dwindling ecoonomy,devalued naira,unemployment,anti-masses policies,etc

May thunder fire ur mouth for calling a serving army officer names cos of ur stupid president who didn't have certificate. U tink u can ever be an army officer? Dis boy boy

Teepee said...

lng story......anyway change has come 2 stay

As in ee my brother, no be small long story.. A useless one for that matter!

Lol, my brother STERN, pls jiri ya nwayo inugo?

Who won gree b4??

Really? U call others stupid n what point did u make exactly?

bokiboki said...

So na Dasuki suppose send the jeeps to Buhari, hmmmmmmm

Crystal clear said...

Gone were those days when we hardly knew what was going on in the corridor of power, if PDP like let them make #anything gate# it's not going to work, no one can convince me that PDP meant nothing good for this country besides the party's stakeholder. After spending 16yrs in government and no single person among them was prosecuted and jailed not even among the opposition. It's crystal clear that fighting corruption is never in their manifesto believing that they will always have their ways during election.PDP should APOLOGISE to the masses for several lifes that were lost, several hopes that were dashed and trusts that were breached, any right thinking Nigerian should never politicize anti-corruption crusade because it is the beginning of the new Nigeria we all aspire......#just be just#

PMB should not mind those greedy PDP touts,he should continue the good work. Am sure most of them will soon be releasing press statements from Kuje......Whykay

Lee said...

Lol@ I must win Linda giveaway, menh!! D hustle is real ooooooo lol...

...#Am Don jazzy's wife!!

@ stern oil dey ur head.

See the way other African countries are using Nigeria as an example to also fight corruption in their countries. Nigeria is popular and blessed. This is why we should keep the Name Nigeria because Nigeria has already made its name even though the devil is fighting Nigeria. To hell with Biafra that is not known anywhere.

Thank you our able president Buhari for reviving the name Nigeria to the extend that other African countries are using Nigeria as a yardstick to fight corruption in their countries.

Pascal said...

Wonderful and very intelligent write up. Wao!

Sam said...

Well said. PDP wailers una don hear?

Ilaro said...

Well written. Nice piece!

princess said...

Bless u Stern! How sad that pple r yet to snap out of their stupidity and foolishness.

Native Doctor said...

See this child oo! STERN!!! Who permitted you to mention the name Amadioha?? Do you want to wake up tomorrow morning with elephantaisis of the scrotum???

Young man, Aboko, just like every one else on blogosphere is entitled to their opinion. Don't force anyone to share your own sentiments. You hear???
Good! Now shift make other people waka pass.

The undeniable truth is that Buhari is also a thief! Simple!

And all apc members are not corrupt, the day efcc starts arresting corrupt apc members i will start having interest, right now buhari is only fooling his forefatherz

omidan abby said...

Stern, how painful would it be to see u in the incoming year still without brain? U lack common sense, u only open that pit on ur head called mouth to yarn dust. SMH! I pity u, I pity those that own u. Always barking lik a dog with rabies...grow up u lad, go feed on yo mum's Breast and receive brain. Nincompoop

Aboki warri fool.....4 ya information som hausa people no dey take ear hear sai buhari cos. Hunger don knack their malam sense comot

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. This wont be the last we hear about GMB's involvement in the arms deal. 2. Take it all leave, no one is a saint in this country 3. All we ask for is moderation in the d stealing if it should happen at all 4. #MYOPINION#

Enter your comment...hmmmmmm so d mentiin of voters cards &card readers is bcoz of Buhari...now listed among his acheivements or wat????

Buhari's boy said...

That's my father. Integrity-personifiefIntegrity-personified

All these just to paint Buhari clean and Jonathan dirty? Its uncalled for..

Dr oma said...

Enter your comment...hmmm.is well.

Buhari's certificate was later found. Go and google it. Fools

Infact virtually everybody that has passed through government is corrupt

Social Therapy by Babatunde Scott said...

What did ur hero GEJ did, apart from embezzling money. Think, its not iligal

warri rufcombs said...

Enter your comment...i wonder wat a weapon money could cause a whole country neva ashame to fool theirselves

so sad

Sir Vin said...

But the man ended up not saying anything...the question is..did he collect all that were alleged? this media aids are not helping matters...because I can remember vividly that our presido said he has not been collecting anything as a formal head of state.

@Sir Vin if u read the post very well. You wont ask this stupid question. Buhari never collected his entitlements after he left office as head of state. They only gave him two cars out of his entitlements after he escaped assasination for security reasons. I wonder how u passed your exams if you cant read and understand a simple post. Dumb head!

His certificates have been found. Go and google it. Dumb head!

Uche Iduh said...

Excuse me!!!! Shehu Garba. Tell that to the Birds. Those that sponsored Buhari's Election must be probed and charged to complete the Circle of Transparency. Buhari had less than 2 Million Naira before his Election. Tell me the Money's spent to get him into ASO ROCK may have been donated by the Future. #probeapcleaders

God is in control