Price of a Mercedes Benz car that was bought in 1975...wow! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 20 December 2015

Price of a Mercedes Benz car that was bought in 1975...wow!

In 1975, this guy's dad bought a Mercedes Benz for N5,000. In 2015, N5k can't do much for you! Hmmm

104 comments:

Do you expect the economy to remain stagnant? What's your problem?

5K no even reacch for person to go mainland come back island. Time changes things

***LIBER FINEST***

How much time has changed. Na wa o! Linda take note!

Mr 47 said...

In 1975, 5k is more like having N500,000 so don't get it twisted. The economy was very good and stable back then

SMURF said...

Wow gone are those days, u give a gal 5k sef, she would appreciate it, mechanic will not charge you 5k sef for parts.

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

Time will co¥e 5000 won't buy pure water. Signs of Endtime

5k then must be big money ,like equivalent of #10mil!!! In the next 20years,24mill won't be anything again!thats life! Change is constant

June said...

My dad bought his Peugeot 505 SR for N13,000 brand new in 1983

life was good then

asin eh Linda dz nja nawa oo

That our economy for you...

sophieluv said...

5k can't even buy original side mirror sef of a car. Tinz Wia cheap dose days n no billions were stolen.

kudos said...

It's surprising...

#Believe

eyebroxx said...

I Wonder if those days will ever return.

That's Naija for u

Change is one constant tin in life

Sarah de DIEU. said...

Wow!

As in ehn!
Our country don spoil finish.

Daz hw bad tins are right now
5k cant even prepare a pot of soup
Idi very bad

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

That's how bad things have gotten *sob* *sob* *sob*

chynwe33 said...

Ofcourse, 5k is noting now,d value/worth has reduced.
Happy sunday gud pple. Aunty linda,which church u dey go sef?

Aunty linda publish

Yes oh it shows u ow d world has spoil

Nigeria is the only country were the amount of car keep rising n fuel also. God helps us all ooo.
Seriously 5k can not fill a tank

Look at how Naira has lost its value.I miss those days of buying food with N5

Uzosafetyblog said...

When a dollar was no match to a naira. #IRepLIB

Those were the good old days....will be a long shot for us to ever get back to those days....ProudlyDeltan

But den it was a big money, b4 u get 5k den na wahala.

That is CHANGE.....ife uwa adiro easy

okopi said...

In the early 80s, Dad shipped in a number of brand new mercedes 200 and sold them each for about 40k each..How time flies

Sir benkord said...

By that time nigerian money has value not now that d money is valueless......

Sir benkord said...

By that time nigerian money has value not now that d money is valueless......

Mufliat said...

That's how valueless our money has bcome,kolorun sanu wa

#Hajia Mufliat

5000 NAIRA!! The Farher was was a Rich Guy man in that time ...Mind You 5k was very Big Money cos Our naira Was stronger than the dollar if i recall.my dad also bought a benz around 1980 check us out nah dat time

5k was some real stash back then.
Remembered seeing a receipt 4 a 504 saloon me Pops bought in 83 or 85 4 3k. The ride is still alive with its original red paint though slowly fading.

ICHAKA said...

Which way Nigeria? We need divine intervention in this country.

How time flies, and the people take every kobo for granted...

karl Marx said...

Value of naira. Small time now, 1dollar=1000naira. Buhari thanks

How many people can afford 5k in 1975, back then 5k has d value well over a million naira

waffymercyjohnson said...

Lol funny but true.

5,000 has value then! When local flight was N70

5k is equivalent to 5m currently

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Wow!

Dis truly shows money depreciate as d years goes by and Nigeria currency to d dollar is nothing to write abt.

DADDYSWIFE said...

My dad bought his Peugeot wagon for 2k as of 1980s.now 2k cant even be enough for me to fix on weave.
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

Rex said...

5k can not even buy one out of the four tyre,
too sad

Naija is blessed

wen naira had value.. now 1naira is close to 300dollars

It's called Evolution

I just pray Nigeria would b a better place soon,wish I was born dose times nig was good

Prettiyz said...

True,but then 5k was a lot of money

The value of that 5k now would still not do much for you......My Nigeria.

Prettiyz said...

True,but then 5k was a lot of money

Peror World said...

That's Change for u #Buharisworking

Imagine. Can someone remind me how much Ben Bruce said he got in 1980 to start his cinema. He should get that amount today and see if he can buy nice suit with it

Nigeria is finished.

IMAGINE !!! We are all living in the prison of our own creation.

Lmao... true !!

Linda please let your give away gets to me, have no dime on me as I type to call my own. obylee7@gmail.com

Hmmm 5k can't even give me a full tank.

Kojevspin D Realist said...

So sad. Volkswagen Beetle was 1k then. The naira was stronger than d US Dollar n we Nigerians cld just buy a ticket to London wt out a visa.

meanwhile fuel is still 160 naira. @bobby filling station,ph

TBS said...

bad country our money dnt have a value again useless country...I hate dis country with passion our leader don scatter everything

Muna said...

Prayer and plenty hardwork this coming years!

That how it is o, my Dad was just saying he bought a brand new car for 16k and my junior one is like 16k? Times have change and it keeps increasing

~FromOutOfThisWorld ~

Our leaders have killed us.

Chomsy said...

Nigeria my country...

Call me Linda's ass licker....

You really didn't have to trim my name out though.

You could just paste link to the tweet like you did the Omojuwa's tweet. You need to stop this devil may care attitude of yours tho.

Maye73 said...

The Nigerian economy has seriously changed,wonder how it will be in years to come.

Loool

5k cannot get me original soccer boots sef.

Chai ,but can I buy one 4 #10k now?...need it b4 Christmas....#sips Orijin#

Grandpa bought his 404 for 350naira. MY dad bought his 504 for 6000naira

Ben Bruce didn't start as a poor man after all when he said he started with 20,000 in 80s

Hmmm.. Was it really easy to make 5k then???

When things were good!

Then money had moved value.

Hembafan said...

My dad bought a car at N200! 5k was a lot then.
However, money had value

Marcus said...

Woooooooooowwwwwww

woow dat happened many many yrs before i was born

woow dat happened many many yrs before i was born.Bonario nd linda shld fall in luv biko

Change is constant

OKORO UPGRADED

Hmmmmmm nt anymore.......it remained me of my dad's story hw he bought a plot of land @ d rate of 1200#...d question dat came to my mind is.can 1 still buy it nw adays????hmmmmmmmm Nigeria where ar we going? which way?Niger shi ma san

My dad's 504 was 3k NGN

THAT'S WHAT IT SHOULD BE. WHEN THE ECONOMY IS GOOD.

Seun said...

5k in 1975 was a lot of money... The highest denomination was I think 1 naira..check

Seun said...

5k was a lot of money in 1975.. Check

It happened when naira still have value not now that it has lost its value in d market.

Like srzly

Don't mind then

Omg you are such a dummy. Olodo. Tufia the calibre of people on this blog. So you are happy that naira that used to be stronger than dollars is now dead. Mehn Educate yourself olodo. Your parents wasted their hard earned money on your school fees. Tufiakwa

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

He just shared it bro.. You get zenze at all?

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

He just shared it bro.. You get zenze at all?

Guys! It says credit sale deposit. Not sale. Anyways pickin when dem born for 1975 is now 40, and get children sef. In whatever country no currency has had the same value since.....

Gaddiel said...

SHotop!! it's not about economy.. It's just funny. Ode

Gaddiel said...

SHotop!! it's not about economy.. It's just funny. Ode

Invest in landed property, This is my advice to Dad out there

Wat was d population of Nigeria in 1975? 95 percent of dis blog visitors and even dis blog owner were not born then. Nigeria passport was visa free to most countries. Oil wad booming and inflation was not there and at that time we were much more our brothers keeper and capitalism hs not eaten deep into our psyche as it is now. Nna mehn forget dat thing and try to live in d present.

You obviously don't get it. This shows how horribly our currency has been devalued.

Really?? ? recieve sense

Nice.

LIB'S FINEST

5k was equivalent to millions then! Even in the early 90s 5k was still a lot of money . Naira has sadly lost its value

#5000 has more value then than now.
Most times we spend more than #5000 just to feed for a day.

Pearlie said...

Nigerian currency gradually hitting the grave..Chai

It's getting worst nowadays