Will Smith describes 20 year marriage to Jada as grueling and excruciating | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Will Smith describes 20 year marriage to Jada as grueling and excruciating

47-year-old actor Will Smith opened up about his 20-year marriage to his wife, Jada Pinkett at the Nov. 23 premiere of his new movie, ‘Concussion,’ where he said despite their refusal to split, their relationship is both ‘grueling’ and ‘excruciating.’ He said this when he was interviewed by Entertainment Tonight, when they asked him how they keep their relationship so strong.

“We've been married 20 years and we've been asking ourselves [what’s the secret to marriage] and really at the end of the day it’s just not quitting,” the 47-year-old actor said of Pinkett Smith, who he first started dating in 1995 and then married two years later. “You can’t expect it to be easy, it’s like our marriage was the most difficult, grueling, excruciating thing that we have ever taken on in our lives. And you know were just not quitters.”
“If there is a secret I would say is that we never went into working in our relationship,” he continued. “We only ever worked on ourselves individually, and then presented ourselves to one another better than we were previously.”

42 comments:

Dey should keep it together biko, I hate to see them split. Linda take note!

KWEEN said...

Linda, though he did use those words, your headline is still scary.

Dey should keep it together biko, I hate to see them split. Linda take note!

I am happy for them.

3 tricks for women to drive their men wild

5 reasons you should have sex daily

Hmmmmm. No marriage without pain... Marriages split apart cos either of †ђξ party or both are not ready to suffer. Without suffering, no one can be a true Christian in reality

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Lovly people

Amidst all the breakup rumours dey were able to pull through. Keep up the good work.

Marriage isn't easy, and it takes the two individuals involved to make it work if they really value the marriage. No ones marriage is a bed of roses...

wishing them more years of marital bliss.

Ok I get sensationalizing your headlines but outright distortion is another thing.please read the article again Linda

some people wanted marriage to be a bed of roses hence quitted when hitches started coming.....but yes I think endurance and tolerance is what keeps it going... every marriage is tough at a point.

GET FAMILIAR WITH MY NAME!!

I'm happy dey r happy

Ok..read and understood

Marriage is not a bed of roses. They both figured out how it works for them.

Deep words! Takes wisdom to decode.

Its it the bitter truth. God knows when I get married too,divorce isn't gonna be an option.If we get angry,lolx we sit our butts down & iron the shit together.

Keep growing in love

These people can twist someone's words eh!! Haba!

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Wow!

He spoke well and nailed it all thru...
Wht else to say other than all d best to them and I wish them their heart desires.

BELOVED LINDA&LIBER'S:
Kindly disregard and ignore ANY NEGATIVE&VINDICTIVE COMMENT'S frm IMPOSTOR'S dat use(d) my google ID name/Email address on dis blog.
NB: May d Lord bring judgement upon d person trying to tarnish my personality on dis blog - Amen! Who so ever u r, kindly desist frm dis act!

Seriously babes! Out of all the positives you saw and read in what he said about his marriage, you decide to caption the negatives as a headline?!!!! Doesn't good news sell again ni?!!!
Incase you are expecting marriage not to be hard work! It is... So prep your mind weeell!!!

Charles White said...

Sharrap. The whole knows you have an open marriage

David Daudu said...

Well said

*the Naija photographer*

andre kelvin said...

Legend

Shine your eyes before you marry.

Hmm, r u serious?

Sylvester Isaac *aka Newbie Sly said...

Black people don't quit easily

#AmNewHere

Sooo genuine! Means there's little we can really understand by the lovely pictures and loving up of celebs that we see on the Internet. I hope you guys keep managing it together and never take divorce as an option.

Good one! Well said.

Okay ooooo issorite, his reply sounds like that of an unhappy man

wow and datz the secret. Working on yourself

lami said...

Nice one.

Controversial said...

That's the way marriage is. Who ever said it was going to be a fun ride all the way? Lol. It never is. God bless you for your comment, @Bonita Bislam. That's the way forward!

Y'all in it For Better or Worse!!#Together Forever!! All The Best!

aproko manager said...

Ok I don hear

And that is the beauty of marriage, not giving up.

They sound miserably married. Divorce exists for people running around calling their marriages grueling and excruciating.

Marriage is not an easy thing not to mention they're two popular figure.

Soda Queen said...

They've really tried. E no easy to be American celebrities and still married after 20 years. A rarity.

All the best in ur marriage

etochi21 said...

That's marriage for you dear...takes two mature minds to keep staying married.

Well, at some point, marriage can be excruciating. Its not easy staying married and in love for a long time na.