The bridge linking Igando to Ipaja Ayobo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 November 2015

The bridge linking Igando to Ipaja Ayobo

I am more concerned about the state of the bridge. It doesn't look safe to walk on. Since this is a metropolitan city, can't the state government build something more adequate? Anyway, to the reason why this is here today. A LIB reader says people who cross the bridge are being exploited by the person who built it and wants the Lagos state government to intervene. What he wrote after the cut...

He wrote;
This is the road linking Igando to Ipaja Ayobo in Lagos state. For so many years the owner of this pako has been extorting poor citizens with it. Each passage on this road cost #30 per pass and when coming back the same amount. If you use the road 50 times a day you'll pay #30 for 50 times. Please we need Lagos state to intervene in this situation. Can't Lagos state build a proper bridge for the citizens here for free? Why do we have to suffer in our own state to have access to a road?

90 comments:

Unsafe for passage

Omg,this is terrible $ horrible, government had better come to their rescue !

Hw will †ђξ Govt. See it ??? When they are busy pocketing state money

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#IT MuSt enD iN prAise

may said...

My dear people, I live in dat area n sincerely it's not bin funny. To access d express Rd u av to cross d pako den tak a #50 bike before u board d bus of ur choice. It's bn on for yrs unending. Pls we nid help.

Ilaje things

Lool
The owner must be a millionaire now

Joor o

Whoever built it tried sha

It's not safe nd it looks like it will break anytime.

Whoever built it tried sha....buh they he should reduce the cost he's collecting

Thanks Lib I bet they would see this

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Pako road biz. kikikiki. Government oya over to una

Eya d man has to recover his money nah can't blame him what d government is meant to do

That person is evil,is it not his mates that are giving out to charity?

Yes ooo sumtin need to be done for cars plus how many people u carry and for commercial keke maruwa dey pay almost 2500 daily It is really bad Lagos state govt should Do sumthing

Linda allow the guy to collect his money, he worked for it. Same thing to Lagos State government, wr pay toll fee on Ikoyi link bridge/Lekki Ajah anytime you pass. So there is no difference..

The bridge is very okay compared to the one at Alaba international and Alabarago!!! And the people collecting money built d bridge, something the government irresponsibly ignored, so yea,they have every right to tax it if they want too,but 30naira is too much

Is a shame that government see such thing as a nothing,but the man collecting money for years the money never pass.God help us

Naija Babe said...

There is another one that leads to Baruwa. It is wider thhan this and u can actually pass with ur car. We pay #200 on each trip. We use this 'pako' because d route is shorter. And of coursen it is managed by an individual.

You can as well tell Lagos state govt to stop fares through the toll gates

Hmmmm! There is also something like this at alapere. Those ones charge #20 each time you use the bridge.

I have a story for linda how do I get it across to
her

A car with a driver and the passenger sitting in front pay 200 naira while other passengers in d car pay N30 per passenger for each trip on d wooden bridge

I have a story for linda how do I get it across to her

Death trap..... Ambode over to you and stop the media work

What rubbish? The person invested, people benefit, he even put light! Can government boast of that!?

Abeg abeg, Dis guy should be given an award, using his money earns d right to take toll. Government used our taxes to enhance Lekki road yet charge us toll!

A disaster waiting to happen. And can you imagine what it means to cross that bridge when it rains heavily? What about the health problems awaiting you if you fall into that water?

FRESH said...

Sad as it is,the person who built this wooden bridge is an investor & should be allowed to recoup his investment. Where there's absence of governance, shylocks do as they like.Where is the local govt.chairman first? Before you mention state govt.

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

I no blame d guy dat built d brigde, I blame d gvt. For d pple complainin, if u don't want to pay 30 den don't use d bridge find alternative joor. Did u pple giv him money to buy d materials he used? Instead of u to face d real problem; the govt, ur attackin d creative young entrepreneur. Some places are begging for someone to giv dem oportunity lik dat. Mtchewwwww. Anybody dat insult me for airing my opinion wil not die a good death!

Hmmm!Governor Amborde take note,and move into action pls!

tahar said...

This shldnt be a problem to LASG,they r not ready to do it for now

the one for motorist in the same place sucks too, i shudder to think about the day it will cave in, and i think every car pays 200naira.
And we supposedly have a govt.

D guy is a true business man, but how ever if the government builds 1 u will still be paying tax on the use of the bridge. On the other hand if the bridge wasnt built canoes will charge u money to cross as well. I believe the price should be negotiated than just trampling on the man for hes efforts

I tire oooo

Ms.Nicey said...

Of course he has a right to collect whatever he wants to collect. He didn't do it for charity. He used his initiative and resources to create something useful, no matter how "pako" u see it.

Father help us in dz our nation ook

olusammy said...

Yes, its very bad, the funny thing is DAT both the police, the Oba and the Local Govt collects shares from this extortion, more reason a road was tarred to the point of the wooden bridge by the govt just to allow more people to take dis route for N30. Madam Linda, there is another brigde beside it for cars where I pass, we pay N200, and u see queue of over 50cars waiting and taking turns to take dis wooden bridge. Its allows for 2 people as extra passengers in d car pays an extra N20. I wld take a snap shot tomorrow Monday, plz publish it coz as I heard, even d LAGOS State Govt gets something.

Dis is something their Local government reps are supposed to handle. Haba! Linda take note!

Eye sore

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Hmmmmm....

I hope Lagos state govt see dis and do sth abt dis asap so dat they wil b differences in d lives of those residing in dis environs.

😬😬😬 sad

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Government ehhh.. they just do the manage manage things for the people but usually go for the original for their crocked needs.

I tot they said Fashola developed every part of lagos...indeed. Only the big areas

This is way cheaper so pass and stop complaining.if you are waiting for govt to construct a bridge expect to pay more. See lekki toll for example.

It is really mind boggling that there has always been a government in place and absolutely nothing has been done about that bridge for the past ten years since I started taking that route. The fee used to be #10 per pass before it was increased to #20 and now #30;sooner or later an increment is on the way because we are at their mercy. They are planning to extend that bridge as it is evident from the new construction close to where they sit and collect money. The Government should come to our aid urgently.

The masses over there should understand that the bridge is a private owned bridge. The writer should have commend the owner of that initiative rather than casting aspersion on him. How could they have gotten to other settlement without the bridge? He should implore Lagos government to make another alternative but the owner of the bridge need to recoup his money just like lekki toll gate. LENTULUS BATIATUS

Karlsson said...

In Nigeria everything is money, exploiting the masses in any given opportunity. That's not fair at all n am sure that man ll fight against govt building bridge there

Ubanagum

Sir Ruby said...

Yeah that's true. I remember have passed through that risky road before back then in 2009. It was #20 then per crossing, I plied through it twice and I paid #40. Govt shld really do somtin urgent abt it.

Y u no go pay? Na u do am? Lekki toll gate nko? Inagine if d owner didn't do dis bridge u wld pay 3tims more. So no dey complain. I stay for lere wetin concern me sef

So sad Nigerian system of government I don tired,Ambode won't do anything I just pray that is tenure should finish,or he should change his ways. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

It's not exploit Na,didn't he pay to build it?

So sad Nigerian system of government I don tired,Ambode won't do anything I just pray that is tenure should finish,or he should change his ways. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

So they now use pako bridge for business?
Ambode pls intervene.

that bridge has been there for close to 20 years and its even better now.. used to be just 2 planks..well its not so dangerous..nobody has fallen into it.. its also not so long so I doubt if the government will remember it in years time.. the big deal is the drunk arrogant thugs who collect money.. I had personally fought one of em when I escorted someone to the exit and I was asked to pay without crossing over.. the issue is the fools collecting money not really the bridge because it has helped cut down transportation fair and time. 30naira from ayobo to igando(15 minutes) bus 250 naira (minimum of 1hr 30 minutes)

Baddest Puta said...

30/passage that's good business when government won't do what's right nko

It is unfair to say the man that has provided this service to you when your government cannot is extorting you. Yes, it may not be the best that can be done but there is no evidence that this bridge that has been in existence for over 10 years is in safe. Even the roads built with billions on Naira has resulted to many deaths daily.

What I expect from you as a good citizen is to mobilize your people to get the government to build a bridge for you.

It is unfair to say the man that has provided this service to you when your government cannot is extorting you. Yes, it may not be the best that can be done but there is no evidence that this bridge that has been in existence for over 10 years is in safe. Even the roads built with billions on Naira has resulted to many deaths daily.

What I expect from you as a good citizen is to mobilize your people to get the government to build a bridge for you.

Very very..he settles the LGC,so they have no say over the extortion

oh please,he built it and also must be paid for his stress and strenght afterall we pay on the lekki toll gate.why is it not free?

Newbie Sly said...

Realy..this looks unsafe?...abegi..we been plying this brdge for many years now..yhu should have seen the state a few years ago...yhu'll think its paved in Gold looking at it now....mm

#AmNewHere

Y won't the man collect his cash?since the mumu govt can't do anything and a citizen is building them a bridge, ndi ara

pls what is 30naira compared to the amount you would spend using public transport. someone woke up one day to do a good thing and now u are complaining. does he maintain the bridge or not? has the bridge ever collapsed? Yes lagos state can give us a better option but give the man that built the bridge some credit. its way cheaper than going through the normal route via public transport.

Nigerian are rubbish people,they can't do anything for humanity.Unless they exploit you that is our psych as Nigerian.

I am so glad about time report, i ply this road, so I can attest to it. Exploitation of the highest order is is we go tru daily. We implore the state government to com to our rescue

Its so annoying.I actually used this same pako bridge as its popularly called around 2003 ..then it was #10 box .....I wouldn't blame the initiator(s) of this bridge .This is what u get in any society where anything goes .....

Linda, there are two other bridges within that axis that are for vehicles. They charge N200 anytime you pass. It was reported sometime during Fashola' s government that a proper bridge will be constructed but that is pending. We implore the Lagos state government to please come to our aid. Thank you.

I remember i used to use this bridge to get to Iyana ipaja, coming from Festac side. There is even another one for cars, tricycle and okada. I realize the money they collect is used to maintain the bridges. They clear bush around, run lighting points (electricity) and change weak planks. its even safe security wise. I understand some people enrich themselves from it but i still commend them since the government refused to perform.

I strongly agree with you that government should construct a proper linking bridge.

Oden'Igbo said...

That's cheap. I pay a fucking 250 of the Zoo currency each time i use the Lekki/Ikoyi bridge. That is what extortion is. Linda mụrụ anya oh.

demolataiwo said...

Very funny... I ply that route sometimes and we should be lucky we pay 30 box. You know how much it is gonna coat to go through alternative routes? Even cars have their own bridge.
Since our govt has failed to provide a proper bridge, individuals took it upon themselves to build a makeshift bridge that has linked two communities for quite some time
The amount levied goes into maintaining the bridge and we should be grateful.

Nelson Nwegbo said...

Is there no local government in charge that area and what are they doing, should every thing be state.

People just want to come here and talk for the sake of it. This particular bridge is directly behind my house in Ayobo. Ask pls, it costs millions of naira to build and maintain. There are 5 of them that I know out of which 4 link igando with Ayobo. Are we now going to say govt shd build 4 bridges to replace them? For God's sake, there's a major road through Abesan estate and moshalashi and whoever doesn't want to patronise the bridge can use that. I drive through one of those bridges to and fro work everyday and it costs me 200 per trip but I save more than that on fuel, stress and time per trip. One of those planks costs more than a thousand naira to buy and we all do business to make money. Meanwhile, a bridge has been earmarked for the hotel axis of igando to link these two communities by the government and houses have been marked for demolition and as usual people still dey complain about the marked right of way demolitions. Nigerians though.Smh

Sarahblue said...

Whether it's cheap or not is not the question but how safe it is? There are two of these kind of wooden bridges linking Odo eran to Cele Express!

But srzly wat did they expect? If it wasn't done by community effort but by one man's pocket, they expect to pass for free? Wood dey cost o! It obviously cost dat man a lot to achieve it so it shouldn't b called extortion, afterall wen we pay moneys at the toll gates we don't call government extortionists for dat.

Lindaikejiblogads@yahoo.com

gab2shoes said...

We pay too in lekki.....this system was introduced by d colonial masters...

The gods are not to blame
Gab2shoessayso

Stories that touches the heart and tickles the bumbum.

kaydeeo said...

...and how's this different from people paying toll fee to use Lekki-Epe Expressway or the Lekki-Ikoyi bridge when there aren't really any alternative roads from Lekki axis to VI?! Who's to say that Government won't add a toll fee once they build this foot bridge.

kaydeeo said...

...and how's this different from people paying toll fee to use Lekki-Epe Expressway or the Lekki-Ikoyi bridge when there aren't really any alternative roads from Lekki axis to VI?! Who's to say that Government won't add a toll fee once they build this foot bridge.

No be small sth.. Never knew such a place exist at Igando. I pass the hectic traffic going towards ikotun for Sunday service at Scoan..during my short visit. Lagos as a whole needs serious overhauling. Never enjoyed my stay in the state at all; when you are on the road, you'd develop HBP.. gosh!
Pls sth should be done ASAP. And those that refuse to pay?, hope he hasn't thrown anyone down that carnal or whatever.

it is exploitation only if he does not use the money to maintain the bridge! I am not even worried about the bridge but the murky, dirty water and the fact that there are people who live around there.

Please see d pain bridge cars go through as well in the same area. It's 200 per car.

The person go don hammer

ADENLE HABEEB said...

Let me first correct the impression that the owners of the bridge collects 30 naira for thorough fare. They collect 30 naira if you are not coming back. But if you are coming back, you'll pay 50 naira for the to and fro. However, we must commend the initiative these people brought up. They just filled the white space in the society as they saw the stress we go through in moving the long and tiring journey from Ayobo through Iyana-Ipaja to Iyana-Iba. So, kudos to them. The kind of plank they set on that road is not just a 50 naira plank. And moreover, they maintain that road every now and then. Now we have electric lamp there to light the road while you toll the road by 10pm. We can only encourage and appeal to them and not tag them as an exploiter. What have you innovated to make your society better? So, let's stop whinning.

Bros, point a road in Nigeria that you can confidently say is safe.

abujakenneth said...

Fashola should carry the magic he gave Lagos to Federal. Lol

There is this pako bridge at Lanre, Ayobo too, even buses and cars pass there & they charge them heavily.