See the top 10 countries with most women in parliament, Nigeria missing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 November 2015

See the top 10 countries with most women in parliament, Nigeria missing

According to this list which was collated by the Inter-Paliamentary Union and shared by the World Economic Forum, Rwanda is the first country in the world that has most women in their parliament, with 64 women to 36 men. This is made possible by the country's law stipulating that 30% of all parliamentary seats be held by women. The other African country on the list is South Africa. Nigeria is not on the list.

44 comments:

Dey no trust our women dats Y

Don't worry Linda,watch out for me.I'll start with my state before I reach the senate.#Dream

Hmmmmmmm.

Lolz am not even expecting to see Nigeria on the list when Buhari is the Head of state.

Is Nigeria flexible?

I see

Our country is sexist, especially in the North. And given that a large percentage of our leaders have being from the North, it is little wonder there has being little involvement by women in politics!

Our women are not that smart

No be men full our govt. Seat. They shld continue o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Your Original Brazilian / Peruvian hair extensions still in stock, contact 07061209332 for more info

edDREAMZ said...

America not on the list......

Not Even in the next 20years

Moniker said...

You see world power for there? We are not different. Rwanda no get money.

Nigeria is just waking up so don't too blame us.

#Dakinzz

Of course na. Women really dnt dig politics in naija

Mmmmmmm, good for them. Linda take note!

Britain, USA, Germany and other world powers are not even there. Yet na only Nigeria we Nigerians go take note of. Hmmmm...yeye

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Hiss!

Nigeria is miles away frm gender equality when it comes to politics. When r we really going to hav dis practice of gender equality in our Nigeria politics.

Biko we should agitate for GENDER EQUALITY in our political system.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Hiss!

Nigeria is miles away frm gender equality when it comes to politics. When r we really going to hav dis practice of gender equality in our Nigeria politics.

Biko we should agitate for GENDER EQUALITY in our political system.

Rwanda will top the list because all their qualified men were killed in the genocide...

Senegal is also an African country.

Toba said...

america is also missing and top 10 world leading countries

bhaire said...

So u are now the smart one ordinary driver like u ode

Nigerian women have not made a case for themselves. Look at diezani, oduah, patricia etteh. They are always more wicked and do nothing but use make up and furnish apartments with money huge enough to run a state.

EL Chapo said...

Wen we hav Alison madueke nd ngozi okonji.. Y we go dey der... tiff tiff women

We know Nigeria is not on the list Linda, we can see/read

Seychelles and Senegal are both African countries.

How many women were disqualified from contesting for being women? It's democracy, so any woman who want to represent her constituents should go through the Democratic process!

not only Nigeria even the almighty u.s the gender equality advocate, they said charity begins at home. U.S. what do you have to say now?

Dats good. (Linda's finest)

America is not listed either. Hmn, one will expect it to come first despite the fact it preaches democracy. Guess there's no need to worry about Nigeria's position. Let's get ourselves alligned economically before we start to day dream. Enough of Diezani's for now.

@Davido's driver, it is all the women in your family that are not smart. Go to schools and you will find out that ladies are the ones topping d class. I refuse to insult you but you are a vagabond.

NAIJA WOMEN ARE NOT YET MATURED FOR THAT POSITION, THEY ARE STILL PREOCCUPIED WITH INDIA AND BRISILIAN HAIR AND OTHER MAKE UPS AND MAKE OVERS ATTACHED TO IT .

WE THE GOOD PEOPLE OF NIGERIA DON'T WANT GENDER EQUALITY.

THE ONES THAT ARE THERE ALREADY WHAT IMPACT/DIFFERENCE ARE THEY MAKING FOR US TO ELECT MORE OF THEM ?

Nigeria should continue missing for some time. Our women are as worse as our men. A certain Patricia Ete did not impress when she was there.

Nigeria? Don't even dream it Linda. By the way, Rwanda and South Africa are not the only African countries on the list. Senegal is in Africa remember. Seychelles is an African island.

NOT ONLY NIGERIA,NO OTHER ISLAMIC STATE IS THEIR

Wat makes u tink smartness has anytin 2 do wit academic prowess, hw many inventions were done by women, hw many multinationals in the world are founded by, almost all d rich women in world are rich tru inheritance from der husbands. Women are good @ blogging ( digital amebo), talk show, boutique business. Catering business, nd restaurant, nd der is a limit 2 which dat can take you, even d biggset designer is a man, women need 2 tink ouside d box, nd stop d regular tins dey are known for, so they can challenge d men, must a law be made 2 favor u, b4 u can succed? Women shud step out of der comfort zones, nd stop focusing der time on der looks, rather on der brain..only den will dey challenge d men, nt by feminism. You people have d numbers, so get into politics nd vote for urselves. Mageret thatcher got her level by tinking like a man, nd acting like a lady.

Of course, Nigeria is not there

Mtchewww!

So what is now the problem,is not like those countries are the leading economies in the world