According to the statement which was posted on the state governor, Ibikunle Amosun's Facebook wall, the governor said his administration is responsible for the ongoing repairs on the road despite the fact that it is a Federal government road and is meant to be repaired by the FG. The statement and photos of Governor Amosun inspecting repairs on the road after the cut..
Our attention has been drawn to a report titled, Gridlock: RCCG Repairs Lagos-Ibadan Expressway, published on page 5 of the Punch newspapers of Thursday, November 5, 2015. The report, quoting an unnamed source at the Redeemed Christian Church of God, RCCG, had claimed that the ongoing palliative work being done on some bad portions of the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway was being handled by the revered church.
Contrary to that claim however, I will like to state that the ongoing palliative work on the Lagos Ibadan expressway is being handled by the Ogun State Ministry of Works and Infrastructure. Concerned about the plight of commuters on the ever busy Lagos-Ibadan expressway, the Ogun State Government, on Tuesday, embarked on palliative work on some bad portions of the expressway.
Not minding the fact that it is a federal road, Governor Ibikunle Amosun, worried about the plight of commuters who spend hours in traffic gridlock on the road, directed the state Ministry of Works and infrastructure to immediately fix the bad portions of the road and also construct drainages.
In giving the directive, the governor was particularly concerned about the need to immediately bring relieve to the road users especially as the Redeemed Christian Church of God and other churches on the ever busy road are also billed to hold events that will attract millions of worshippers this weekend.
Speaking during an inspection tour of the ongoing palliative work being carried out by the Ogun State Ministry of Works and Infrastructure on the federal road at about 1 am on Wednesday, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Ogun State Governor said, “In the real sense of it and for me there are no federal people, the people plying this road and other affected Federal roads within our axis are our people.
We are all Nigerians and we are already collaborating with the Federal government to contribute our own quota to ensure that this road is fixed.” It is surprising, therefore, for any journalist to claim that the multi-million naira job being carried out by the Ogun State government is being done by a religious organisation.
The intervention job on the ever busy expressway is an initiative of the Ogun State government to rescue millions of Nigerians who spend hours in the gridlock occasioned by some bad portions of the road. It is also on record that the Ogun State government had carried out similar palliative measures on the Lagos-Abeokuta expressway, Sagamu-Ogijo-Ikorodu road and other federal roads within the state, because the state is strategically located in such a way that goods and passengers going to all other parts of the country have to pass through the gateway state.
34 comments:
They did well for the clarification.
Y the church come dey lie like this
God bless Nigeria
One day e go better
Anyways, very thoughtful of the Governor. Linda take note!
Hmm no comment
too many lies.....abeg mk ona focus dy worship god nd ignore lies...
This man is an he goat.
Good thing him came out to clear the air, correct the wrong impression and set the records straight.
Watched it yesterday on Channels when he was on the site of the ongoing palliative project.
Igwegwegwe. Toriooooooo
Noted
Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.
You need deliverance
Niyi..hope u have discarded the thought of commiting suicide from your head...old don't..ur sister just called me
Ooh
Lazy ass governor ever, they can fool the public, what has he don in his state, pour sand for road na he dey drag
N.K- Very funny how the Ogun state govt came out to deny the fact. People have forgotten Punch Newspaper has their main office in that axis and is aware of the difficulty people and motorists plying that axis face on their way home. The church did not call the newspaper to report it, Punch saw them at work and reported it. Is it today the church has been patching potholes? Ogun state government is aware of this fact even though it is not the direct responsibility of the church to do that. I am sure all year commenters still have brains to think through that the church did not do that Bcos of an impending election or expecting financial vote from the govt. They only poured granites on bad parts of the road to ease traffic, period!
Who is lying here? Maybe the church started it and Ogun state Govt decided to take over from the church. The Ogun state govt I know will not Fix that road if not for the intervention of the church.
Good step..
Good step..
He should fix the roads in Ijebu Ode, just because they didn't vote him there doesn't mean he should allow infrastructure there to dilapidate. He bulldozed people's homes for pete's sake!
Why is he attending yo federal roads when state roads are in dilapidated conditions. Come to the bother town you will hate this man call Amosun. Agbado crossing, ope-ilu, ijoko, Mowe, ibafon, matogun, iju-shaga, magboro, shashi near Berger, oke-aro, Akute, anjuwon etc. You aren't doing your job Mr governor. I will advise that if you don't have the financial muscle to fund these boarder towns, please info the surveyor-general to ceed us to Lagos state where they know our to govern. We are tired of your inefficiency.
The church is not lying; the government is trying to cover up it's mess;take note
RCCG would NEVER spend their money on a noble cause like that. Their dough is for "daddy's" balling!
So the roads within your state are beyond repair?Place your priority well "Mr Governor". The roads in ijebu ode are extremely bad. Just by mentioning or seeing his name I get annoyed cos I don't see him as a leader
Not that that would be bad!
Hes there struggling for federal while his state roads are bad ... 99% of roads in ogun state are very bad pls who has buharis no let me report dis governor????
Today, i know believe government do lie, This bad road is just close to my office, I saw RCCG engineers on site working on the bad parts of the road in the morning while going to work, the next thing we later in the day was RCCG engineers moving their equipment away because Ogun state government engineers started work because RCCG was asked to stop that they will take over from there. Its a big blow to me because i had a big respect for the ogun state government, now i can see how lies fly in government. Shame and shame again on ogun state government. I wish all this place belongs to Lagos. It is well
People, dont be deceived.Amosun is a big liar.
tell him to come and finish roads in ota he spent four years not completing
Nice one.
All dis na story, pls amosun help complete toll-gate road, keep sango-ojuore-iyana iyesi clean nd also repair alagbole n akute roads. Thanks
some of you need to wear thinking caps...I use that road everyday so I have a clue...look at it this way...gov was there on Tuesday night (that night the traffic was especially bad because there were workers there with machinery, actually fixing the road)...Wednesday, no trace of any worker or equipment, and traffic greatly improved...Thursday evening, the traffic got really, really horrible (because there were men, and machinery again working on the same portion of the road), during which the governor chose to 'debunk the claim' that a church was responsible for fixing the road...put in the picture the fact that the publication that 'caught his Excellency's attention', was in a tabloid that had consistently published the horrors of the situation for nearly two weeks,...you should get it by now if u take a moment's thought, but for those who are incapable of thinking for themselves, ask yourself...Why did the governor not show up until the night when work began...why did he find it necessary to show up (in the middle of the night), when work had already commenced...why did the workers and machinery disappear on Wednesday...why did the governor choose to issue his statement, after the reappearance of the workers...most of all, how did this one article get his attention when all the others, that really should have caught his attention, manage to remain elusive?...just think a little, if that isn't too much to ask!
RCCG should state their opinion about this