Celebrate Your Orijins- Benin Bronzes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 November 2015

Celebrate Your Orijins- Benin Bronzes

Orijin your bittersweet alcoholic blend with the extracts of African herbs and fruits. In the spirit of independence, we acknowledge some of the greatest civilizations that have ever been seen in Africa. The Benin Bronzes are a group of more than a thousand commemorative metal plaques that decorated the royal palace of the Benin Kingdom in modern-day Nigeria.

Collectively, the Bronzes form the best known examples of Benin art, created by the Edo people from the thirteenth century, which also included other sculptures in brass or bronze, including some famous portrait heads and smaller pieces.

In 1897, most of the plaques were removed by the British during a punitive expedition to the area as imperial control was being consolidated in Southern Nigeria.

Two hundred of the pieces were taken to the British Museum in London, while the rest were purchased by other European museums. Today, a large number are held by the British Museum. Other notable collections are in Germany and the United States.

The Benin Bronzes led to a greater appreciation in Europe of African culture and art. The metal pieces were made using lost-wax casting and are considered among the best sculptures made using this technique. Follow the conversation on Twitter #liveorijinal and like our facebook page www.facebook.com/orijinNigeria.

In this season of independence Orijin urges all Nigerians to Live Orijinal. • If it’s not Orijin, it’s not Orijinal.

Remember, drink responsibly.

21 comments:

Originality

aproko manager said...

Orijin abortion drink

Issokay seen, thanks for sharing. Linda take note!

Radler joor

Mab said...

Do ppl still drink this

Benin fans enjoy.

Wonderful

When they say that Orijin is made from natural herbs, I think they are mean Igbo. Correct weed.

I love the drink jare.

Ngene Olivia said...

-#iT wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
-#It MuSt eNd In PrAise

If not orijin, e no fil be orijin

If not orijin, e no fii be orijin

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6)

"After these things, the word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram, I am your Shield, your abundant compensation, and your reward shall be exceedingly great." (Genesis 15:1)

Noted

Noted

My favourite drink of all time. (Linda's finest)

This drink you say is'bittersweet? This thing is like a agbo jedi in my mouth.

Up guiness!

Up Edo people

So u re d new bishop dammy nd royal priesthood on board abi? Kontinue!