Customs
officials impounded Sokari Douglas Camp’s sculpture, in the form of a
steel bus, when it arrived at Lagos port on 8 September, on grounds of
its “political value”. Leaflets and reports sent by courier to
commemorate Saro-Wiwa’s life and death were also seized.
Subsequent efforts by the Movement for the Survival of the Ogoni
People, Social Action and other pressure groups have failed to secure
the work’s release and a memorial vigil in Bori-Ogoni may have to go
ahead without it.
Celestine AkpoBari, national coordinator for the Ogoni Solidarity Forum-Nigeria, has spent the past two months working to secure the release of the sculpture, called The Bus - Living Memorial, from a secure area of Lagos port and remains determined to get it to Ogoniland, nine hours’ drive from Lagos, next week.
"I have been fortunate to see the bus in London but it will be so
exciting to see it in Nigeria, I don’t know if I might faint," he told
the Guardian. "It will give so much happiness and strength and every
Ogoni will want to come home and see it. We are still looking forward to
hearing the good news, we need the bus because it is the symbol of our
struggle now that Ken is not with us. We will use the presence of the
bus to begin another era of our campaign for justice."
The Bus was commissioned following a competition to mark the 10th
anniversary of the executions andfirst exhibited outside the Guardian's
London offices in 2006. The artist described her work as a “spectacle”
and symbol of the importance of transport to environmental debate. It
was given to the Ogoni people by UK campaign group Platform, to show
solidarity with them.
The Bus spent four days at the bottom of the Thames in August, after it was dropped while being loaded on to a ship at the Port of Tilbury in Kent, and was repaired before leaving the UK for Lagos on 19 August. The plan was for it to make several stops in Nigeria en route to its final destination in Ogoniland.
Source: The Guardian
43 comments:
No comment
This thieves...dats how dey buried frozen chickens...
Maka why?!
For why na?
What's there prob na
Also Check www.vabadon.com
BUT Y?
May be they are just doing their job though......
Na wa oh.How this country continues to survive inspite of all the political,cultural,social and religious differences is still a mystery to me.
Not fair. What's up with the Winners of September Lib_GiveAway oh madam? Hello...
I hope dey resolve it soon enough. Linda take note!
Cause u read and didn't fathom it..its too big for u bush brain.
Make dem free am abeg!
Ogaju
Dis silly prove dat u r not a robot hav started again.
Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com).
Make dem try...
Victoreke.blogspot.com
Political value my foot...
Biko they should come up wit better excuse and stop fooling wit themsef.
They have no reason to do that. Will they continue to hunt them even in death.
Nawa oo
Nnenna George.
#Dakinzz
Dis is serious ....+ Linda am a very huge fan of ur creativity en u inspire me a whole lot### tnx for bin a role model to younger pple...
Onyx, you're so right there.
The guy didn't understand it at all.
This is actually a misuse of power. We complain that we don't know our history in Nigeria, but now this is another attempt towards burying history.
Nawa oo
If this kind of seizures keep taking place, The government will only be causing more harm than good. Why do this people keep wasting all the efforts that are being invented to make peace and heal old wounds totally. trying to conceal history would be the worst undoing of the current government in power because a lot of hearts are still smoldering with anger from carnages perpetrated by previous regimes. The only way to tackle this problems to avoid recurrences are by making everyone and generations to come know the truth about their people and how we all finally came to become (hopefully) a one united front that not even tribal differences or religious ones can ever break apart.
Secondly, the national coordinator for the Ogoni Solidarity Forum-Nigeria,Celestine AkpoBari must avoid using the kind of words he used if indeed those sculptures are being brought down here for positive motives and not using the presence of the memorial arts to begin another era of any group of people's campaign for justice as he revealed.
If this kind of seizures keep taking place, The government will only be causing more harm than good. Why do this people keep wasting all the efforts that are being invented to make peace and heal old wounds totally. trying to conceal history would be the worst undoing of the current government in power because a lot of hearts are still smoldering with anger from carnages perpetrated by previous regimes. The only way to tackle this problems to avoid recurrences are by making everyone and generations to come know the truth about their people and how we all finally came to become (hopefully) a one united front that not even tribal differences or religious ones can ever break apart.
Secondly, the national coordinator for the Ogoni Solidarity Forum-Nigeria,Celestine AkpoBari must avoid using the kind of words he used if indeed those sculptures are being brought down here for positive motives and not using the presence of the memorial arts to begin another era of any group of people's campaign for justice as he revealed.
Is harmless
But why!
They dont know their responsibilities at all
Welcome to Dictators
Saro Wiwa, an icon of democracy to be so disrespected by the buhari regime shows that this man buhari is still operating under the military style tactics but this time putting on Agbada. Buhari is not really interested in democracy, he just want power to be in the north. If not, why would he dare stop the transfer of the statue of Saro Wiwa to be placed where his people would remember him forever? The PDP has been too soft on this regime, they need to attack APC vigorously to keep to the tenets of democracy.
It is because the hand of the Almighty God is in this country. And because of this nation's destiny.
These hopeless people should release this art. Ever since they denied the freedom of the Ogoni people, there lives have not been better in anyway. Nigeria is a curse, they play dirty politics with everything. One day doom will before whom ever is holding on to this art.
Buh were the chickens contaminated or wat
Na here u wan scope babe???..her email address dey dia u no message am...u dey here dey nnenna George ..agbaya
Lol... no mind d useless ppl
These mad pple and their wahala
Hmm,,political value ko wetin? They shouldnt have don that.
>>==SIGNATURE==<<
I Love Lindasblog.com
Shameless Woman Caught in Adultery! See What Happened to Her (Watch Video/Photos)
Female Student Caught Watching Porn Inside Class - What Happened Next Will Shock You!!
Port of Tilbury is not in Kent.
The current Customs boss Hameed Ali was on the military panel that passed a death sentenced on Ken Saro Wiwa so what do you expect? Also Buhari is not a democrat and doesnt want any voice to rise from the south for any reason thats why you see the clampdown on massob, etc incl now Ogoni people whom Ken influenced and who may rise if reminded of the Ken's struggle and the fact that same situation he fought persists..
God bless you