Northern Lawmakers kicks against birth control, says it is anti-Islam and a direct attack on their religious beliefs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 November 2015

Northern Lawmakers kicks against birth control, says it is anti-Islam and a direct attack on their religious beliefs

A member of the lower chamber of the National Assembly, Babatunde Gabriel Kolawole on Tuesday, November 24, moved for the motion titled "Need for the federal government to curb population explosion in Nigeria." Kolawole in his arguement urged the Federal Government to come up with a policy to check the alarming rate of population growth and to educate Nigerians on the importance of family planning through the National Orientation Agency (NOA).

The Lawmaker based his arguement on a recent report by a United States Population Reference Bureau which projected that Nigeria's population will increase to 433 million in 2050. However, the motion was strongly objected by some members of the House from the north who said it was a direct attack on Islam. In particular, Sani Abdul, from Bauchi State noted that the motion was unnecessary and a waste of time.

In his arguement, Abdul suggested that Nigeria's resource and landmass can carter for any population explosion. Zakare Mohammed in his contribution pointed out that though he was not against the motion, he advised that the country’s culture must be preserved. Adam Jagaba argues that the motion is within the ambit of the constitution and did not contravene any part of the House’s rule.

Speaker Yakubu Dogara intervened and advised members to be guided by national interest. "I don't think there is an attack on any religion," Dogara said. "The motion is looking at a policy on population in ensuring planning. It is calling for the development of a policy on population. So i don't see how it attacks any religion" he added.

The controversial motion was later referred to the House Committes on Justice, Population, Rules and Business for further legislative contribution.

129 comments:

They want to flood Nigeria

Dey won't agree nah, everything is an attack on their religion. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

S

E

E

N

That vuvuzela P guy

That is why we can not be one Nigeria. Go to your Islam country and do as u like

They shld pls get out

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Your Original Brazilian / Peruvian hair extensions still in stock, contact 07061209332 for more info

Even catholics too na. Abi?

Fools!
No wonder beggars full north like fire flies

We must divide

aproko manager said...

Ok oooo

Ms.Nicey said...

JUST NEGODU!!!!!

diamente said...

When he talks of Nigeria having enough resources to cater for her population, I'm sure he means the oil from the Niger Delta area. The reasoning of an animal.

edDREAMZ said...

So we should continue keeping population ryt..... Nansance... #NowPlaying>> weekend: wande coal...

The northerners will disagree whn most of them still have 12 years old in mind to marry

soxy said...

Make quick cash here!! http://GetPaid4duty.com/?rid=57338

What constantly alarms me is the way muslims always complain about serious and valid decisions being anti Islam. These people constantly act like illiterates. Maybe Nigeria should really divide. I see the North dragging us back.

Stupid Muslims and Northerners... Even the whole world is not enough to curb population explosion... Talkless of Nigeria.

Ladun Liadi said...

That's okay but y'all can fend for them right? Until every region in this country shoulders its own burden, profligates will keep counting on 'national cake' to clean up their mess. I want to know El-rufai's take on this, he only recently complained of the unemployment in Kano state, does he want his pple to also 'go into the world and multiply'? You can't take religion to the bank, can't feed on it, it can't shelter you, can't educate you else northern Nigeria should have no problems what with the compulsory Islamic education. Guys y'all need to wise up, when the other regions in the country cast aside petty tribal sentiments and band together as a force for Nigeria's progress, it will be too late because those who wish to keep us as perpetual chattel will be able to decide an election without canvassing for votes outside their region. Politics is a numbers game. They just wanna breed more soldiers of the caliphate.

Must everything be about religious beliefs. Can't somethings be done for the country without any strings.

This people don dey craz o,is it not in the bible to multiply according to riches in glory,not by everybody only to people who could train them well. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Please God divide this country peacefully. In jesus Name

Now I support my husband when he say that we and the northerners re not suppose to be in one country....

These backward northern Muslims are going to be the end of this country. They are always pulling us back developmentally. Education, they don't want: immunisation nko,mba, now contraception is an attack against their religion?? Getouttahere! Ish! God help us.

This muslims don come again o.

I have a driver that has two wives and 14 children. Is that not madness? So because it is anti-Islam, you cannot do birth control? Later, these children will turn to beggers on the streets, armed robbers, destitutes, amajiris and prostitutes just because you cannot take care of them. Illiteracy is what is killing this country today. Why give birth to children that you cannot pay their school fees? I will rather have one or two children and spoil them with education than have seven children that i cannot pay school fees for. Did Islam also say that you should not control your penis when you have the urge for sex?

To be sincere, we dont need population control as I believe we have resources and territory to cater for them, what we need right now is to make use of our population in productivity and development. China is the most populated country in the world, they become great by making use of their population. A country with big population suppose not to be more productive and develop, not poor. The countries who make no use of their population are India, Nigeria, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

sally said...

How ignorant of them they claim to know their religion n yet so ignorant of what it entails. U can have as many children as u want but even Islam says space BTW births if only we know what we preach and fight for all this would have been unessary. Phewww

Mabel Naija's Blog said...

well they will be against it because they are the one causing major problem in this nation with children without proper education

Maybe we should stop giving beggers money then people will stop giving birth anyhow to chidren that they cannot take care of. Maybe it is because we give beggers money that people are saying it is anti-Islam to do family planning. When hunger wire them and their children start dying of hunger, they will stop giving birth anyhow and control their penis. It is because of too many useless children on the streets that boko haram is having mouth today because these kids can easily be brain-washed and used by boko haram

Illiterates ...is terrorism also part of ur religious belief

Who didn't know they were definitely going to kick against it? Bunch of religious bigots. Religion keeps blinding people from sheer truth that will help bring solutions to tomorrows impending travails. This is the 21st century and some people want to keep reasoning like they are in the stone age.

A man that cannot take care of his wife and children is worse than an infidel. It is lack of birth control that is causing high rate poverty in this country today. Why should u give birth to children that u can feed? Pls if we have to move Nigeria forward, lets do birth control

That's problem with Nigeria, Any good idea North will kick against it, they Kick against child marriage , they kick against Fiscal federalism , They kick against resource control , they kick against Birth control, virtually everything good and civilization north will kick against it.

shescute said...

Lamo! Mk una allow them born plenty the way them like na.....we get plenty almajiri for street

I have a friend that always call on me to come and help her pay hospital bill each time she gives birth. She is a teacher and the husband is not working. So i told her to do family planning or the husband should try and get a job. It is a case of monkey dey work bamboo dey chop. I am sweating and working and you are using me to pay your hospital bills while you keep giving birth and your husband is sitting at home doing nothing. What kind of life is that all in the name of Islam. Stmchew

Oh shut up already! All these abokis with this their demonic religion crap. They are talking about national interest here. That's what you get when you get mixed with myopic tribe. *spits *

Anonymous Personified said...

Yes, there's need to control Nigeria's population especially in the north.
It's only IGNORANCE at it's peak that would make people give birth to more number of children considering the economic situation of this country.

How can family planning be anti-islam? Na wah oh. This country is finished. So muslims are allowed to fuck anyhow and give birth to children that they cannot train or feed? Omashe oh

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Hmmmmmm...

Birth control in Nigeria can never and wil never b wht Nigerians wil b faithful to even if its passed as law of d land.

Otaswifey chat me up for your classy traditional marriage aso - oke at the most affordable rate said...

Northerners ever backward

I keep wondering how these illiterate politicians from the North managed to sneak into power.Because of high level of their ignorance,they bring-in religion in every issues of national development.This is why Northern Nigeria is another name for poverty.Can't these idiots bring something meaningful on the table at least to help their people.
#North#Poverty#Illiteracy = Boko Haram

Let them continue to multiply like idiots without providing basic amenities for their people...they are the ones suffering the consequences...i am glad to come from more exposed and educated Southern Nigeria,indeed we are blessed.

Kourtney said...

These people need to get over themselves... Even if birth control gets approved today nobody is saying that muslim women must take it, they can carry on their lives without taking birth control and let those that want to use it use it. It is against your religion beliefs so there should not be a law permitting it, lol but some of your women are currently taking it. Abeg enough with all these jokes

If u are rich, fine. You can give birth to as many children as you want. But if you are poor, why should u give birth to children that you know you cannot take care of? Who are u expecting to take care of them for you? I think its a sin to give birth to children and make them suffer. If it is Anti-Islam to do family planning or birth control in this country, then we can never ever eradicate poverty and illiteracy completely

Does our religious believes in any way say we should not be reasonable, we should remember that before the advent of religion GOD gave man the ability to think and reason, attacking a motion like population control goes to show you the level of insanity of some of the people sent to go and make laws for nigeria.too sad.

foolish muslim bigots,thats how they are in every part of the country,mtchew,what has religion got to do with this now?are there no muslims in china?Nigerians dont need that bill,we are already using our head to control birth in an economy like Nigeria,mtchew

Attack what, any small thing they start claiming religious people why on a low they don't actually do what that religion teaches them to do.

#Dakinzz

No surprise here but Bauchi and similar northern states who believe in simply procreating without much thought or planning for the human being, should self generate finances to cater for the rising population. Dwindling oil revenues means the center can no longer hold and its certainly, not business as usual. These are the groups/minds that keep naija from moving fwd, talk about baboon dey work, monkey dey chop. QED@atm

Swiss said...

Abeg these people should Park well... So they want to claim they don't also use birth control
It's a personal choice, they can decide to not use nd y r they always putting Islam first for their selfish gain

Learn how to read, they are talking about housa's not muslim,

Hon Abdul, is a fool for saying the motion is attack for their islamic religion. This is a good motion that this Hon Abdul u re a mad man.

Northerners and their useless mentality... thats why poverty is high in the north

Thank you.Gbammest.

Are these Northern lawmaker dense? Birth control is the way to control population, or they think we are talking about 2million voters in Kano! They must have taken leave of their senses

COS I SAID SO said...

1st, catholics don't believe in birth control but you didn't see the Catholic senators fighting it. It's an optional thing.

This isn't what our senate should be talking about right now, Kai # wasteful sitting allowance

Northerns are the reason nigeria is not growing, any useful ideal, they we kick again it,

Golda Awosika said...

This people are our problems in Nigeria

This matter is of significant strategic importance. The population of a country determines it economic potentials. Think of China, India etc. They represent the biggest markets in the world and everyone wants to trade with them. They United State every year artificially grows it's own population through Visa Lottery because it's citizens no longer have more than 2kids on the average. American understands the role of population in predicting the future countries of strategic economic and political importance. That is why they have carried out this study in the first place. So my people please allow the northerners and catholics to have as many children as their faith can carry. Nigeria needs it. If our population grows as predicted we would become the largest import dependant economic in the world. Like it or not every country in the world would want to be in our good books!

H

Bunch of Olodo's keep ova populating Nigeria

I truly wonder! My driver has 4 children and his wife recently gave birth to the 5th. He came to me asking for assistance and what not ( I have 2 children and that's it for hubby and I cos we dey check our pocket). You now want to put your own agbako on my head like I forced you and your wife to born pickin you can't take care of. Rubbish and nonsense!!

And the religion mentioned is what? Islam is practised by Buddhists abi??

We are not suppose to be in thesame country with these northerners...great Britain made a terrible mistake by joining us together...its Chad and Niger that's suppose to be their nation..! these stupid islamic northerners would keep pushing us back! And when he said that Nigeria has enough resources, am sure he meant the oil in our Niger delta region! God....please help us separate from these bunch of islamic idiots!

even in Christianity it is prohibited

Is u who should learn how to read.which Hausa

BUT NNMADI KANU SAID IT B4 THEY LIKEWISE NEED THEIR OWN ISLAMIC STATE TO PRACTICE WHAT THEIR FAITH PERMITS

please point of correction Northern muslim Leaders, imagine a member saying that his goal is to have 45 children. Northern muslims are d problem of Nigeria. the motion was suggested by a yoruba muslim, Northern muslim feel dat Islam belongs to them, their strategy is to keep multiplying so that they can enough people when its time to fight. they are very very horrible ppl wid wicked nd demonic agendas. that is why u see their children on the streets of Nigeria begging, they wont let one drive in peace

U can control ur own birth now. Limit it to 0 if u like, no one will arrest u for that but if God blesses me with 30 children, and it's not ur vagina I will use then I will give birth to them weda u like it or it kills u

Like u don't put ur religion first. Let me educate u coz u need it. It's always God first then whatever sorry as thing u hv got going on

EXAMPLES ARE BETTER THAN PRECEPTS, they say.
IBB had a wife with FOUR CHILDREN, set the ball rolling!!!
ONE FAMILY 4 CHILDREN!!!
COMPANIES PLANNED with this policy to date!!!
They cater for ONLY FOUR CHILDRERN AT A TIME TILL YOU RETIRE.
There was no religion ATTACHED to it then!!!
If you have 4 wives with 16 children, no problem but there MUST BE CONDITION TO NOT BEING PUBLIC NUISANCE, PERIOD.

As a matter of fact yes we are allowed to have as much sex as we want with our spouse. Is the a limit in ur religion concerning your sex life?

In case u r too dumb to realize this, it's God that is putting food on ur plate and not your hard work or the government. There are pple who work harder than u and earn less and the r pple who do just little but can buy you

Human Being said...

Now I can reason with Biafra. How can one say a warning about population explosion is anti-islam. Can't you see what joblessness can do? cant you see the increased rate of crime and terrorism because of lack of employment, literacy and good governance. When people have many children that they cannot train, the streets train them the street way. So to give out education on family planing is now wrong ?

Human Being No Be God

Ok even if you dont want to use contraceptives or pills to prevent unwanted pregnancies, then control your sexual urge instead of giving birth to innocent children and allowing them to suffer because u cannot provide for all of them or did Islam also say you cannot control your sexual urge?

Aj Gabriel T said...

How did we even become one country with this people bikonu? Most of them reason from thier anus walahi,wetin concern religion with birth control? Ndi isi ngbaka!

Ok even if you dont want to use contraceptives or pills to prevent unwanted pregnancies, then control your sexual urge instead of giving birth to innocent children and allowing them to suffer because u cannot provide for all of them or did Islam also say you cannot control your sexual urge?

Nd dy also said itz an attack on dere religious belief,mybi u shuld read wel. Cuz d nly religion we both knw dy re tlkn bout is Islam

Let me come across any Islam begger on the road again, i will not give them money. I will tell them to go and meet Islam to give them money since it is Islam that told them to be giving birth anyhow without being able to take care of the children thereby turning them to beggers

You can use safe period if you dont want to take pills to prevent unwanted pregnancies. Abi is Islam against safe period too?

Northern region is not supposed to be in Nigeria but in Afghanistan.They think like animals.

Doyinsola said...

Shup up mutiu, u are d one who's wrong here ode, son of trouble makers

Part of the reason China became great because they controlled their population growth. It was against their law for a couple to have more than one child expect in some specified cases,they can have two. It was not quite long that they increased the number to two. This is as a result of the gap between the youth and the aged.
Right now, their is disparity between the the growth of population and the growth of means of sustenance.
A country can't develop if the resources cannot sustain the population and right now, we dont even know if we have the resources that can carter for the populace since Nigeria does not invest in development mapping to accurately ascertain the resources we have.
Abstinence, birth control should be recommended in this country until our leaders factor in the state of population growth in development planning.

Is hausa a religion? Mumu didn't you read the part your fellow goat said it's against your religion?

all these useless "lawmakers' that still live in the stone age... if there is no availability of birth control and the women keep giving birth like chickens...are they the ones that will take care of and raise the children?? such backward thinking smh God help Naija

No wonder boko haram had up to 80000 soldiers, all bcos of these stupid anti Islamic nonsense they always say in fundamental issues! Muslims need to have their own country. We don't belong together, they are too backward.

CAN NIGERIA DIVIDE AND LEAVE THIS YEYE NORTHERNERS? THIS PEOPLE SUKCS, I JUST DISCOVERED LATELY SOME NORTHERNERS MARRIES THEY COUSINS...THATS HELL OF ABOMINATION

U sound so dull....can u take proper care of ur self?...30 kids indeed

Stupid pipu,have dey finish takin care on their children in d name of alimajiris?fools

It is real madness. How can your Oga have only two kids and you that is his driver have five kids? Now you want to put your responaibility and load on your Oga. Do you think your Oga that gave birth to only two kids is a fool? Or do u think he doesnt know what he is doing? When you were sleeping with your wife, you enjoyed it alone. Now that baby have come , you now want your Oga to share in the responaibility as if he forced u to sleep with your wife. They really need to teach illiterates birth control

U are the dumbest.prove how religion or god puts food on your table or shelter you?

Which kind 12 years old? You should have said they still have 9 years old in mind to marry. Stmchew

Contraceptives is an attack on their religion but getting married to kids n makin them suffer is a religious tin to do....God is watching oooo

Ladun Liadi said...

Pele ooo. Shebi God dey but una dey cry poverty plus almajiri full evriwia? How can a rational fellow reconcile that?

kings11ng said...

This people keep dragging us backward... The almajiri scourge is as a result of them sowing wild oat everywhere yet they don't wanna learn. Real federalism or confederation is the solution to our problem. They will keep giving birth as long as the resource is shared base on numerical strength... Even though we know how the figures were manipulated in their favour since 1960

Thereby overpopulated the nation. After they'd come and cast 5 billion votes for just kano. Pls there shd be a strict law on child bearing they shd goan edit that qu'ran or use common sense in translation even God/ Allah would be disappointed at the continuous delivery because eventually, it'd result in loitering, unemployment, increased hazard in the nation but to list a few. There's just no advantage at all.

@Anonymous 4:16 PM i hope you will be able to take care of the 30 children because we are going to pass a law in my area that will stop beggers from begging on the streets and embarrassing Nigerian. They should go and meet the vigina that gave birth to them to give them money. If i catch them on my street again, i will beat them. Be warned!

Popcorn time said...

U are a fool nama, akuya, ewu , ebot. I don't blame u I blame ur father for bringing u to the world with 18 siblings . and u grew up with food like water n tuwo, miya kuka filled with. Potash or omit obe one idiot anti Islam my ass. Gereway.

God will not come down from heaven to put food on your table. You have to put your faith in action by working hard then God will back you up. Heaven helps those who help themselves.

You can as well not read your books when preparing for exams. Just pray to God to make you pass the exams without reading and see if you will pass. Ode!

@Anonymous 4:24 PM since u are allowed to have sex as many times as you like and u end up giving birth to 40 children, pls endeavour to take care of the 40 children yourself. Stop turning them into almajiris to be used by boko haram or stop sending them to the South to beg for money because they litter the whole streets in the South begging for money and making the streets urgly and full of destitutes. We are going to pass a law in the South to drive all of them back to the North. The vigina they came out from should be ready help them abeg

Nobody is saying you should not have sex as many times as you want but stop using your penis recklessly. Subject it under control so that you dont go and have plenty children that you cannot take care of. Dont give birth to innocent children and make them suffer poverty with you. 5 children is ok for one family.

If you are very rich, i dont mind you giving birth to 30 children but not when you are poor and cannot take care of them. This is where family planning comes in.

When a poor man gives birth to 30 children, half of the children will turn to almajiri to be used by boko haram because he cannot take care of them

This is insane......are dese Muslims a curse to dis country or wat?

Estee19*7 said...

Its so Sad; u r so 4kn dumb...WAT!!!!!!

What happened to condoms? Why cant they use condoms for protection? Not just for protection against unwanted pregnancies but protection against diseases. These illiterates need to be educated about all these things. Common sense is not common

In fact i have made up my mind never to give beggers money again. Let them go and meet the vigina that they came out from to give them money

Nobody is saying you should not give birth to children but give birth to children that you can take care of. When you give birth to plenty children you cannot take care of, the innocent children will suffer poverty because of your selfish and self-centered attitude

The day Nigeria politicians will start separating religion and culture from politics, that would be the beginning of better things to come. Contraceptive is anti-islam? Pathetic reasoning.

Dogora , u get sense!

It is a question of quality not quantity. That means naija society ought to be able to provide sound healthcare, education, power, transportation networks, jobs and freedom from hunger for its citizens. Even at the current popln level, you'll agree many naijas are suffering but smiling. Now, imagine adding to the hell hole without due family planning and control.QED@atm

Religion this religion that, yet the country is a mess and these hypocrites in power keep looting abi that one no dey against religion.they'll flood the place with kids they can't take care of and leave them to flood Nigeria begging on the streets. Pls religion or not control you prick and stop bringING children that are nuisances to the rest of us.

When looking for a job, dont distribute your CV to different organisations. Wait for God to just drop the job on your lap. Dumb fool

So Northerners do not use condoms to sleep with prostitutes? Na wah oh

When i am driving in traffic, pls no Northerner should come to my window to beg for money. Go back to the North and face face your Islamic religion

Pls going forward, we in the South should stop giving Islamic beggers money. When we stop giving them money and they start dying of hunger, they will learn to control the way they give birth anyhow.

The way these Northern beggers constitute a nuisance in the Southern part of the country is irritating and annoying. They rush to your car in traffic like hoodlumps. Stmchew

Remove the catholics from your comment because they do not shun out kids like chicken. They practise natural methods of family planning. Besides is Catholic the argument here or the anti Islam rubbish

I was also in utter shock when I discovered that. Very very nonsensical!

There is no problem in having many children but not when u cant feed them or give them shelter