Luis Ortiz, a student at Sacramento State in California, was rushed to Queen of the Valley Medical Center by paramedics in August, after suffering from the “worst headache of his life.”
Once inside the body, those eggs hatch and the worms can make their way to the brain. The CDC says approximately 1,000 people per year are hospitalised for neurocysticercosis and removal of the larvae.
Source: CBS
Luis was told he had 30 minutes to live. He was promptly put into a coma and doctors performed emergency brain surgery. Using a tool equipped with a camera, surgeons removed the larvae of a parasitic tapeworm living in a cyst that was blocking off circulation to the rest of his brain.
“The doctor pulled it out and he said it was still wiggling, and I’m like ‘ugh, that doesn’t sound too good.’ "I stood up and then I threw up Like, what are the odds I’d get a parasite in my head?” Luis told CBS San Francisco.
Although Luis’ case may sound like a freak mishap, some doctors believe a parasitic disease in the brain is actually relatively common but extremely underreported. Indeed, similar cases have been reported before.
However, Luis’ unwanted tenant still remains a bit of a mystery.
“They told me it was uncooked pork or if I went swimming in the river or if I’ve been to a third world country, and I was like, ‘I haven’t done any of that recently.’ But I don’t know how long that worm was in my head for.”The US Centers For Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports larval cysts in the brain - neurocysticercosis - develop after a person swallows microscopic eggs passed in the faeces of a person who has an intestinal pork tapeworm.
Once inside the body, those eggs hatch and the worms can make their way to the brain. The CDC says approximately 1,000 people per year are hospitalised for neurocysticercosis and removal of the larvae.
Luis is still recovering after the surgery in August but he’s anxious to return to college for his senior year.
"It's probably more gratifying to me to be living, because if I would have waited a little bit longer, then I probably wouldn't be here right now," he told CBS San Francisco.
Source: CBS
48 comments:
Chai! How now?
wawuu! I thank God for his life, he was very lucky.
Scary
Nawa oooo
What a situation
God forbid bad tin
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Mad people dey are for asking him if he had been to a third world country. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!
My own headache is getting out of hand, guess I have to go see a doc o....who knows?
#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE
Mad people dey are for asking him if he had been to a third world country. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!
Hmmmm thank God for his life...
Third World Country indeed........ SMH...... how many world's do we have?
Please please. Stop eating pork, bacon or whatever. Scientifically, it has been discovered that pigs carry a lot of diseases. One of the worms they usually carry (part of their life cycle ) can only be killed when heated above 850°C. You can't boil, roast or fry ur pork or bacon to that high temperature. Hence you eat the eggs of the worms. Please stop. Quit eating this meat. Once less meat out there 4 u to eat wouldn't kill you. Thanks
Omo, thing dey happen tapeworm inside brain? Dats serious than God for his life.
Produce ice blocks within 4hours, 8hours, 12hours and 24hours.
Third World Country,...just say Africa bc that's what r in ur minds...cunts...
Third world country,they might be right,cos d way almost every 1 complains of headace no get mate
So third world countries have a zoo of tapeworm Abi? Rubbish
what did he do then..
Download soccer predictions APP for daily predictions with highest odds. Download here www.bit.ly/1LIWF35
ok
Another reason why we should not self medicate but seek medical help at the hospital
All he needs now is God...
There's nothing one won't hear in des world,tnk God his life Ws saved
Damn
Third world country! Smh Thank God he survived it
Wow, d pic luks disgusting
Third world countries,meanin?? Rubbish.,i don't blame him
Wow. Bad news.
Third world countries,i don't blame u
For those who go swimming in beaches, lakes and lagoon!
Africa Ndo!
We are not robots
Some Asian countries and south America too
Damn
Apart from the info what caught me more I d third world country?! What the???? It's not nice!
Hmmm God help him
Africans always being silly! If he was in Nigeria he would have died. Doctors will first diagnose typhoid, then malaria before he dies. After he dies, it would be the witches and wizards in the village. We are primitive in this part of the world. Very sad.
My Dear we have very poor hygiene in this part of the world! Always good to acknowledge our shortcomings and stop being defensive.
Can't these people just thank God for once? A thing like dis happens and all he has to say is 'it's PROBABLY more gratifying' nd shii not even a simple thank u God. Tufia! Americans!
Can these bigots tell me what dey meant by 3rd world countries? So, 3rd world countries now train tape warms? Bunch of racist bigots!!! Smh
Third world country? Crazy people!!!
Instead of looking inwards to all the crap they get involved in, they are looking to blame it on Africa...Cunts.
Third world country my ass. Like i grew up eating pork (which we cook better than their raw food here), bathing in the river and hey waddaya know, i was born in Nigeria a third world country. Wait do i have a tape m worm in my brain? Lemme check..... Err no. Idiotas.
Btw linda, thank you for NOT replying my mail. God win.
I'm glad he survived. constant headaches should be checked for early detection of irregularities.
AFTER LICKING AND SUCKING ASS ALA PORN
My guy it's time to go on a shooting spree, after all u dieing soon, so it allowed to take others wit u. NA joke oo. (Linda's finest)
Really?....or if iv been to a third world country .Bleeping bigots!
Worm in somebody's brain? Well, thank God he sought medical report early.
Exactly. @anony10:29
How many people die like this in Africa and it will be remote control or witches, or village people.
I hv experienced at oo,at de bak of my bumbum, iit was so painful,de spot was reddish in colour, I was told to rub lizard feaces on it,lo and behold,a big life larva came out of it..
That's y I don't eat d likes of suya! Dey r not well cooked! Tnk God for him
dont mind them..
How come?
Thank God for his life. Tapeworms r very badt!