LASG warns Lagosians against consuming imported chickens | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 November 2015

LASG warns Lagosians against consuming imported chickens

The Lagos State Government has warned Lagosians against eating exhumed and contaminated chicken that are in circulation within the state as they pose a serious health risk to everyone.
The Commissioner for Agriculture, Mr. Toyin Suarau, said some imported poultry products that are contaminated were seized by the Nigeria Customs Service in Badagry and buried but were later exhumed by some people who planned to sell them to unsuspecting members of the public.
ADVERTISEMENT
Suarau disclosed this on Saturday while receiving officials of the National Orientation Agency who came to inform Lagosians about the dangers of consuming the contaminated food.
The commissioner said the imported poultry produce was preserved with chemicals like formalin which was poisonous, adding that it could lead to slow death.
Suarau said the poisonous products were not as nutritious as freshly processed poultry meat because imported poultry meat had been preserved for months and years with dangerous chemicals.

Punch

32 comments:

WAIT, imported chickens from which country?

Be warned

Nawa, some people are wicked how can you sell such to ur fellow human beings to eat.God help us

Hahaha.stupid guys.how can we really tell which is imported or not.or u just want us to buy those life ones in smelly cages?mchew..economy don fall for una hand now u are trying to scare who?contaminated ko contaminated ni.death just for eating imported chicken?Ur father.which was is the governor and president eating.gerrahia...........linlin abeg post my comment oh.wharrisdis

ogeee said...

May God help us in dis country

Admin said...

chinwa fine ibo girl said...

Wonders shall never cease

9ja dey import chickens too????

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#IT MuSt enD iN prAise

People won't hear,until it starts killing them,Naija people sha. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

NEWBIE *SLY said...

Them white people send any rubbish they can lay hand on....to africa......bit ion blame them....I blame our own people who know how dangerous these things are and still wanna make money out of it.....

#AmNewHere

See talk! Why didn't dey burn it???Mcheeeeeeeeew! Na God dey save person. Linda take note!

Why nt burn dem

And those useless ppl will sell it to d public!

dee said...

Humm! God help us.

Na today??? Abeg they shouldn't spoil business for some people oo.

I love this awareness

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Good to hear

Pls Lord have mercy and save ur people !

We have to be vigilant

Ok!

I hope dis info goes a long!
Linda thanks for sharing dis witt us.

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

But we dey eat am since, y we nvr die? Na bcos una wan ban all importation, una suddenly realize say imported chicken dey poisonous.
On a second thought, this could be true o, considering d high rate of kidney disease, cancer and other illnesses killing us by d day, it wasn't ds way in d past. Maybe they r right.
I go begin chop native fowl , I no fit come beg for Nigerians for millions thru LIB to go do surgery abroad.

Why would they bury it instead of Yall to burn it huh

(Crash Course) The most effective method to get you to the top after you hit rock bottom said...

this is so true

Why would they just bury them knowing they are hazardous to human health? Why didn't they use acid to destroy them after defrosting. This same thing happened in port harcourt, it was widely reported, but Nigerian customs wouldn't learn. It's obvious it could be a deal to enable it's owners come back for them later. Mtsheeeeeeeeeeeew

It beats me how some people prefer frozen chicken to life ones. You can even ask d vendor to skin and cut it up. Its even tastier. Well...

Bad market for frozen chicken sellers.

Hia, there are diff ways to destroy such stuff other than burying it....u could use a caterpillar to run thru them, or grind them with some huge machinery use in destruction of quarantined stuff in the US from custom etc...didn't they hear what happened in Ph? They aint serious tho..I eat live chicken anyway.. better taste

why were they not burnt instead of buried. Are there no incinerators in nigeria?

chilyn said...

Are they trying to tell us that they are working or what. if truly they are, why didn't they unwrap it first. cause the best bet is to burn, grind with machines, acid or chemicals. These are all gist cos they only knew where they buried it and so they are the same that dogged it up n retail to the masses.
Nigeria is full of CORRUPTION, we should all BEWARE.

chilyn said...

Are they trying to tell us that they are working or what. if truly they are, why didn't they unwrap it first. cause the best bet is to burn, grind with machines, acid or chemicals. These are all gist cos they only knew where they buried it and so they are the same that dogged it up n retail to the masses.
Nigeria is full of CORRUPTION, we should all BEWARE.

This your gbagaun fit cure craze. Omg!

Dug it up.
No be doggy style.
You're welcome!