named Luis Vargas broke down in tears as the judge ordered the case
dismissed after new DNA evidence linked the crime to a serial attacker
on the FBI's Most Wanted list.
Luis Vargas had been in prison for crimes he didn't commit
since 1999 and was serving a sentence of 55 years to life for three
sexual assaults he didn't commit. When the verdict was announced &
he was declared innocent, he placed his hand to his forehead, covered
his eyes and shed some tears as he was finally free of the shame. His
mother & daughter were present in court.
However, Vargas is not a free man yet because of his
immigration status. He has been taken into federal custody until his
green card can be restored.

86 comments:
END TIME STORIES
Awwww
So painfu
Just find a way to sue their ass of millions of dollars. Don't waste time!
He would be blessed times 2 of the years he spent in prison. Psalm 1:3
Awwww
So painful
Thank GOD.
Oh!
16years of his precious life wasted just lik dis.
Biko he should sue them big time and demand for compensation dat wil last his generation.
16 yrs ain't no joke at all
Chai! Where does he start from?
Imagine we have so many people in dis our country prisons with similar issues. May God help us. Mbok dis man should be compensated with nothing less than $1b.
Chai! So they just wasted his 16years like that? Na wa o. Thank God he's been cleared shaa
#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#IT mUsT eNd iN prAise
Ehyaa... Pity him oooo
Le@k Photos: See The NAEAKAED Photos Nkechi Is Sending TO Her Clients Online
16years of wasted life.....he should charge them
Also Check www.vabadon.com
Chai..Omo, na to sue be the next thing oo
So who's going to give him those sixteen years of his life back now???
Nawa oooo
Daz a long year b4 getting justice
Dis doesn't sound like what Oyibo did
What took dem tym b4 running de DNA?
Poor man
Thank God all de same
# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Abeg make una free the man jo.
Just like that after 16years, no he ought to be compensated, he should sue the state, 16 years is not 16days.
Chai. Imagine!
Women! They've been men downfall since time immemorial
Congrats dude! But what next? He should take up the government on this issue and ask for adequate compensation. May God forgive us all. Toks
Can u imagine
Damn! This shit is just too painful!.... but thank God he witness the exoneration!
Eeeeeeeyah! It is well with him. Linda take note!
Na wa o
Na wa o
Chai they shd free him already, he's suffered enough.
Aunty lili this an old gist na
Wow. Just imagine the wasted years!
OKORO UPGRADED
i can't just hold d tears for this innocent man.. so painful
Chaiyah..d suppose pay am for damages n all dat
Eyahhh thankGod he's out now
Sad.
But the exoneration alone will not be enough to compensate him for those wasted and disgraceful years served behind Bars.
The American Criminal justice system is a sham. This is about the 3rd convict in recent time whose conviction has been overturned after decades in gaol. It's a shit system.
Ak 100 says so
Imagine.....after 16years.........
He shud sue
Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....
What a world we live in!
I hope they compensate him. Chai!
Some compensation plssss
They wasted 16 good years of his life!
What a pity, suffering from what you knew nothing about.. may we never be victims of circumstances in JESUS Name Amen.
Gosh! This is very sad
so so sad, though he's lucky. how I wish many prisoners here in nigeria could be this lucky
Chuwoi what will one call dis now
Tufia
That vuvuzela P guy
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.
Wow.. I bet it's becos he isn't white
I feel ur pain bro, 16 gud yrs behind bars 4 sumtin u knw notin abt??? Kai kai kai he shud b WELL compensated
OMG!
I'm crying
Oh sorry man, God will restore ur wasted years in hundred folds
Chai! Sorry man.
This is a serious problm
Take them too to COURT, #sue them too. They did the same to you.
Thank god he is about to be freed.
16 wasted years! Na wa o. I know money isn't everything, but I hope he would be adequately compensated. It will go a long way in making him feel better.
So sad.
Too darn bad, I guess no judicial system is perfect
Eya..m happy 4 u man
Tears from pain of 16yrs behind bars, suffering in silence! This God is an Awesome God! Only God knows what this man has gone thru. A lot are still in prison for crimes they didn't commit. Hope he is pardoned for his none citizenship status! Hmmmm! Ije uwa! It's well!
Want to make money online,but with little effort? Am here to give you some details,if interested,pls,only gmail subscribers online,the info is free of charge,send a mail to my gmail account :digitaldoryx@gmail.com....am a fresh graduate of uniben.....only gmail only
ehyaa,16 years of his life wasted just like that,thank GOD his innocence has been proved.
What now happens to the one that accused him of rape?
Jesus Christ!
We should please pray for justice all over the world. Things like this happen every day and many don't get to see day light again.# justice and peace for the world.
Chaii...16 years no be beans at all.
Thats not fair, not fair at all
So sad,thank God for this opportunity which you've given this man again,thank you Lord. TIMILEYIN BLESSING
Really heart-breaking,,,,,, can feel his pain,,,,, what dis man musta been through emotionally,,,,,, knowing he was innocent
Wicked world
This is serious miscarriage of justice, may the God we serve heal his soul Amen!
I hope they pay him for all the years wasted and give him a job etc. What rubbish
Hah! You can imagine oh! They should pay him for damages oh!
16 years wow talk about a miscarriage of justice
He wil press charges dtts 4 sure.........if he didn't den he is a fool
So no compensation for all this wasted years?
After 16years! So many still suffering for crimes they didn't commit....
Lots of innocent people still in the same kind of predicament. Am happy for the man at least the shame has been robbed off.
that is life for you ooooo ,i was was admitted in hospital in year 2007 when a robbery scene happen in my neighbor hood the woman said she recognize of the robbers ,she said i was the one ,but GOD so kind to me, i was admitted in the university of benin teaching hospital 3days before the incident happen,when police came to my house they saw my dad and they told him am wanted for robbery case ,my dad ask when did it happen they said last night he said ok i will take you to him. i love my dad he did not tell the police officers that i have been admitted for 3days in the hospital ,he brought them to the hospital where i was admitted that was how God save my life if not i would have been dead now or be in prison for a crime i did not commit friend is in white house prison in benin city since january 2011 for a crime he no nothing about,
16 years! What a pity!
Thank God he did not die without vindication though....
Many "free" people have ben convicted of crimes they did not commit and still carry the stigma around.
God help us!!!
I can imagine how traumatized he's been over d last 16yrs being accused of a crime he didn't commit, that can be very painful. 16yrs is a long one, no amount of compensation can buy back those years. All d same, thank God he's been exonerated.
I cry and weep alongside this man! I can feel his pain and tear! Father lord, I pray that you recompense this man and adorn him in Gold to pacify and comfort him.
he should be paid for damages biko 16yrs no be moi moi haba.
Awwwwww! Thank God For Your Life!! and May God Restore all that you have lost!!.....#IT IS WELL!
I hope he his adequately compensated for the 16 years they took from his life.
God will give him back
At The Law Offices of Anne Dowden Saxton, our lawyers have given their practice to helping Los Angeles families proceed onward through the separation process. While it may not generally be genial, our lawyers will guarantee that your rights are ensured all through the whole process and that the outcome is a simply come about for you and your gang. - See more at: Los Angeles