U.S. to trace Nigerian stolen assets, boost military help | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 July 2015

U.S. to trace Nigerian stolen assets, boost military help

The United States will offer to help Nigeria's new leader track down billions of dollars in stolen assets and increase U.S. military assistance to fight Islamic militants, U.S. officials said, as Washington seeks to "reset" ties with Africa's biggest economy.

President Muhammadu Buhari visit to the US is viewed by the U.S. administration as a chance to set the seal on improving ties since he won a March election hailed as Nigeria's first democratic power transition in decades.

U.S. cooperation with Buhari’s predecessor, Goodluck Jonathan, had virtually ground to a halt over issues including his refusal to investigate corruption and human rights abuses by the Nigerian military.
"President Barack Obama has long seen Nigeria as arguably the most important strategic country in sub-Saharan Africa," U.S. Deputy Secretary of State Tony Blinken told Reuters. "The question is would there be an opportunity to deepen our engagement and that opportunity is now."
The improving ties with Nigeria, Africa's biggest oil producer, come as U.S. relations have cooled with two other traditional Africa powers - Egypt and South Africa.

U.S. officials have said they are willing to send military trainers to help Nigeria counter a six-year-old northern insurgency by the Boko Haram Islamist movement.

Since Buhari's election, Washington has committed $5 million in new support for a multi-national task force set up to fight the group. This is in addition to at least $34 million it is providing to Nigeria, Chad, Cameroon and Niger for equipment and logistics.

Buhari's move on July 13 to fire military chiefs appointed by Jonathan clears the way for more military cooperation, U.S. officials say.
"We've made clear there are additional things that can be done especially now that there is a new military leadership in place," a senior U.S. official said.
Another senior U.S. official said Washington was urging Buhari, a Muslim from the country's north, to step up regional cooperation against the militants and to provide more aid to afflicted communities to reduce the group's recruiting power.

Buhari has said his priorities are strengthening Nigeria's economy, hard-hit by the fall in oil prices, boosting investment, and tackling "the biggest monster of all" - corruption.
"Here too he is looking to deepen collaboration and one of the things he is focused on is asset recovery," the official said. "He is hopeful we can help them recover some of that."
In 2014, the United States took control of more than $480 million siphoned away by former Nigerian dictator Sani Abacha and his associates into banks around the world.

Washington has broad powers to track suspicious funds and enforce sanctions against individuals.
Jonathan fired Nigeria's central bank governor in February last year after he raised questions about the disappearance of about $20 billion in oil revenues.

Johnnie Carson, a former assistant secretary of state, said Washington should not let security issues overshadow the need for closer trade and investment ties.

"Nigeria is the most important country in Africa," said Carson, currently an adviser to the U.S. Institute of Peace.

Now more than ever, "the relationship with Nigeria should not rest essentially on a security and military-to-military relationship," he added.

Lauren Ploch Blanchard, an Africa specialist with the non-partisan Congressional Research Services, said the U.S. challenge was to work with Buhari while giving him time to address the country's vast problems.

How Buhari will handle the campaign against Boko Haram is still an unknown, Blanchard said.

Reuters

51 comments:

We are not begging them to help us oo. They don't help people, they only compound ur problems#.

Yawns and stretches

Good one...

Meenah_wakil on instagram meenah83 on snapchat

Good one...

Meenah_wakil on instagram meenah83 on snapchat

We pray they fulfil all these promises.

Pinor pinor said...

Good good

My question is what does u.s want in return ?

This one u.s want to help this baba it means he has agreed to pass the gay law

Very good moves, carry on baba na.

I hope our collaboration with USA yield a good result at d end... God bless Nigeria.

Good news if only there's no string attached..👍

Nigeria will be great again. #optimistic!

Jesus Reigns said...

Is he still going slow????

PARENTAL ADVISORY

When d devil gives u a cap, he takes ur head...we are watching...

Nice move PMB..

Well, since when did Washington started praising us?All of a sudden Nigeria is the most important country in Africa?Well there is something to this praise that they have not told us yet,Buhari no go import Gay come here ooo....we dey warn you ooooo

Dem do well

I for one do not support getting in bed with the United states, anyone who has done that has never being the same! Historically look around and see what getting in bed with them does to a nation.

Now they are doing what they criticized and forbade GEJ to do then...sell Nigeria to the US....GEJ single handedly almost crushed and ended BH

Let's be more careful with this US. They are like MTN. "Give with right and collect with left hand". I suspect same sex marriage on its way to Nigeria.

Noted

Allybrownny said...

These white people don see una finish o,I hope our president is sure of every decision??Act right

Ok oooo, hope no be gay rights we go use say thank u sha

Better for Naija.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Una don hear am gej was a blunder a weakling d Americans knew dat and dey refused to work with him.now pmb is on board d courrupt SOB will b brought to book.sacking of d military chiefs was a master stroke all dey did was steal funds ment for the soldiers

A very welcome development.

WORD!!!
Still suspicious of Uncle Sam though.
What is in it 4 them?

Endydecency said...

All the help is in exchange for gay in Nigeria. God is watching!

US does not do anything for free o...
Baba go slow better not sell Nigerians to US

Ok noted

Pls they shud b fast ooo,we need this help. Linda post mine oo

Hope it's not an empty promises....

Ofilispeaks.com said...

So America actually knows.

Way to go my President, God is with you. Linda take note!

Hope dey won't demand for gay marriage to be allowed in niaja

Since buhari came to be president, alighs are lining up. This shows a progressive government. I read news daily that give me hope. Am so proud and happy 4 this government. Maybe there's hope 4 nigeria to become the giant of Africa. All we need is good leaders with set priorities and he curb of corruption.

"A new military leadership in place".Hmm! America one thing you do not understand is that they are all the same. Believe me, if they do not tackle the terrorists Boko Haram with force, it will go on for several years. What exactly did the old service chiefs do that the Americans are so upset with them?. How do they want the new ones to handle it differently?. All these are pertinent questions. We are yet to see.

Story story,STORY. Pls Reuters didn't mention the other African countries that America had befriended in the past and how the all ended up. We hope this our friendship will be different.

Na wa o! Buhari dey think so? Na some body go come help u trace fish way Comot for your okro soup pot? I smell a rat

Emmy said...

I think PMB is taking the right steps in the right directions. Diplomatic ties with US could be to our own advantage, but at a cost. Only God knows what it would eventually cost us.

Emmy said...

I think PMB is taking the right steps in the right directions. Diplomatic ties with US could be to our own advantage, but at a cost. Only God knows what it would eventually cost us.

They were happy collecting Sani Abacha's loot, now it's pay back time. What goes around.....

They shld help us o

Good move #PMB..we will support you with prayers.

If they can help us recover all the stolen funds and jail all the criminals then they are most welcome!!!

I don't believe the US helps any one for nothing they could have offered same help to the previous government I know that GEJ once solicited for help to fight ebola and boko haram they came and didn't make any significant progress they never gave any good intelligence as regards to combating bokoharam I just PMB is not into any sealiance with the US Hmmmm Hmmmm hmmmmmmmmmm

If US and PMB are sincere, the money when traced, should not be repatriated, but applied wherever found, to liquidate all Nigeria's external indebtedness. Only any excess should be brought back.

Lol! You are a fool. Too funny

Lobatan