Oh wow! Giant Monkey shot dead in Ogun State today (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 July 2015

Oh wow! Giant Monkey shot dead in Ogun State today (photos)

A LIB reader sent in these photos. This giant Monkey was killed in his area in Oru, Ago Iwoye, in Ogun state this morning. The Monkey had been in town since yesterday, eating peoples life stock. It was shot in the head today. See more photos after the cut...

187 comments:

Diamond Studded Chic said...

Wow!

Looks like a Baboon.
Ate a monkey once.

That thing fit be human being o

Giant monkey eh, pls is there anoda meanin of giant? Cos dis monkey isn't a giant one,

It's not a monkey

It's a babbon

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

What a creature..monkey eaters have gotten free meat tho

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

Nawa o! And they just had to shoot it...when will animal rights and protection start in this country??? And monkey is almost going extinct here.

Paris said...

It's livestock.
You're welcome

Vinnie Mcoy said...

Choi!

Linda, this isn't a monkey na! It's a baboon.

Now they will roast n eat it

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

What a creature...monkey eaters have gotten free meat tho

Hmmmm yorubas are monkies so am not surprise over this.
#sad indeed#

Oririe ada naru ndi ofe mmanu

Hmmmm yorubas are monkies so am not surprise over this.
#sad indeed#

Markchercy said...

wow! kinda looks scary though

Ladun Liadi said...

But monkeys aren't cannibals

What!!! Irritating.

Linda, are u an illiterate??? thats a baboon not a monkey, dont be slow! is dat wat dey taught u at unilag??? looool

*Teary eyes* innocent monkey that knows nothing

Sad! Crazy Nigerians killing animals anyhw

Linda how can you look at a baboon and call it a big monkey? You go school so?

ify said...

Poor monkey...Wrong continent! If it were in the Americas now,it would be a star on NatGeo! Here,all it is bush meat

They are touching Ebola Again This people wont kill us

Dis one resemble baboon oo

People's livestock linda. Quit the typos lady. It's already embarassing.

Linda y are u acting like an illiterate? Na baboon be this!

Phew!

Rip dear monkey

So dis one follow 4 news now

So huge.... rest in peace monkey :)

More like giant baboon

Instead of making plans on how to catch him/her alive, all they could think of is how to kill

Monkey is very sweet, nice meat,

Awwwwww :(

AFRICANS SEF. STILL BEHAVING LIKE HOMO SAPIENS IN 250 BC. THIS IS 2015!!!! WHY SHOOT A MONKEY. WHAT ABOUT SEDATING HIM OR CAPTURING HIM AND TAKE HIM A ZOO. THIS IS COMMON SENSE.

UrAnon said...

That's a Baboon not a monkey. Thanks

Temmyruks said...

Oh no! Threat (Anthropogenic activity) to Biodiversity. Nigerians which way nw, they could have simply captured it and release it to the wild or Zoo. All these species are going extinct. We all need to learn about the Moral Justification of Conservation

Hmmmmmm

that's a baboon not a monkey

that's a baboon not a monkey olodo

Oh ny goodness!!! This is murder and a crime, animals should not be killed at will anyhow pple wish, they also have life in them.. They should be arrested, by the way that's a baboon, not monkey.. Illiterate Idiots

Trendyify said...

Wow

it is well

Ok.Rip to the dead.

animal cruelity

AQO said...

Correct meat!

Really giant....

Frm lindaikeji look alike....

So big

see better meat..choii dis one go full pot plenty

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Yoruba people I hail o

Lewis said...

Irritating

Eyaaaaaa. RIP monkey

I don't think killing it was right

Ladun Liadi said...

Are you a woman in Abuja looking for a confidential tryst, one night stand or even the odd roadside quickie?
Hit me up at lawrencefrederick120@gmail.com.
You'll be free to indulge your fantasies with me.
100% CONFIDENTIAL!!!

Arsenal said...

Where is the zoo?
Should have taken monkey to the zoo where it should belong.
Can there be animal rights in Nigeria?
This is cruel.

◇◇◇◇◇◇The main thing is keeping the main thing the main thing.” –

German Proverb◇◇◇◇◇◇

Yunski said...

Don't be an illiterate. That's a baboon

Temi said...

Wicked pple, do dey hv 2 kill d monkey?

Is that even a monkey? ewwww

Stanley said...

Bia Linda, what's gigantic about this 'monkey'? That's a frigging baboon and it looks regular sized to me. The way those folks are huddled around it tells me that poor dead bastard is meal for the evening.

And I have a funny feeling we're about to have a reprise of a virus outbreak cause Lord knows what diseases those people might ingest if they eat up the animal. I shudder to contemplate it! Where're those animal rights protection people when you need them sef?

Hmmmmmm

Hmmm if it was in my city/awka that they shot it dead,it must be buried d way human beings are being buried...it is a big taboo to kill dem in my village.

Whattt!!!! So big..

Baboon

and how is dis news...don't blame u sha..tatafo

But who shot it na?

nn2bgx said...

It's a baboon not giant monkey.

Where are the animal right activist?
Animals are meant to be preserved and not killed like this.
Nigeria will get there one day.

nn2bgx said...

It's a baboon not giant monkey.

Jolof Hearts said...

Well there's no point killing these animals really There are better ways to dealing with them.

But this is a baboon tho

Ebola...

Nigerians are always in a hurry to kill anyone and anything. Life means nothing. In the US, you can't just kill an animal like that. Well, who am I to ask for legislation against animal cruelty in a country where young boys and girls are lynched in the name of jungle justice. Shame on NIgerians

Make dem no eat am o! Ebola is still hovering around looking for where to settle. Linda take note!

Why are dey touching it without safety gears wat if it has ebola?

FYI it's called a baboon.

Why kill the animal for GOD sake. Why is it that NIgerians are always in a hurry to kill animals. Well, who am I to ask for legislation against animal cruelty in a country where people are killed everyday in the name of jungle justice. Shame all those who stood and watched ALUU boys get killed. Shame on LINDA ikeji for accepting to post this kind of crude animal cruelty on her blog.

Linda... that is a baboon not a monkey! Get it right.

tz_elijah said...

Dats a baboon Linda, not a monkey

Tripllem said...

Na patrick sawyer ghost be dat,holyghost fireeeeeeeee,was it not by dis time last year he came?now he has made his apperance in d likeness of monkey,abeg make una put those people wey don touch dat monkey for isolationoooo,dis is july,and I will never forget july 2014 in a hurry,so therefore any animal that reminds me of that terrible disease is a prime suspect,back to sender!

DaShaun said...

That's a Baboon

MlleP said...

LOL that's not a giant monkey, it's a baboon

And people are stupid enough to stay around,touch and probably end up eating a known Ebola virus transmitter.

JUST ME said...

Pepper soup don ready be that oo

Animal cruelty. Tranquilizer obviously no dey Ogun state. Smh

Hey!!! Ebola

JUST ME said...

This monkey shud hv been caught and kept in the zoo Why killing d poor tin

It's not a monkey Linda, it is a baboon

That's unfair. LGA officials could have been called to remove the animal and keep in safe custody. When we are crying of protection animal species. Nigerians are killing them. Thank your gods it wasn't in Europe where animal rights group will come after you.

See d bum bum

This is not a monkey its a baboon! Fckn morons!

evie daniels said...

Yeah right! Monkeys are not carnivorous, they dont eat flesh,so how can it eat livestock? Soon you guys will have no animals left... And what is you guys obsession with death though?... Shame on you people.. RIP to the beautiful creature...

*am out*

olatunolas blog said...

thats a baboon,they should have caught it instead of kill it.

It's a baboon nt a monkey

Foolish ppl., Oyinbo man no go do that kind thing.

Diamond said...

Linda dts a baboon

Mihearty said...

Ehya #crying. But this one na better meat o. Choi

What happens to "capture it and put it in a zoo"?

Ladun Liadi said...

*CARNIVOROUS

Blessed Indeed said...

Aunty Linda, dis 1 na baboon oooo! No be monkey. Pls take note & thk me later.

Awwww n I lik monkeys o

Chio see pepper soup meat o

Chaiii.... Linda, it livestock. Hehehe

hrm paul ojeih said...

This is a baby baboon doesn't really look like a monkey esp with the two buttock patches dey just couldn't capture it alive and put in d zoo

Why kill it?

E ya bt who wl carry it? Eran gbe don come

Hian una wey dey touch dis animal with your bare hands no near me oooo Ebola dey

This looks more like an orangutan

dudette said...

Lol dats a baboon nau, what's so strange in that!! Nigerians will gather for just about anything

That's a baboon, not a giant monkey.

Too bad for a country with no zoos. I feel for d monkey. Ehyah!

Awon Stephen Oshi said...

I don't see how this is news. They could've easily snared it then sold it to a zoo, anyway its death equals bushmeat for the village.

Linda, specifically this is a baboon. Correct your title.

That's not a monkey though.. That's a baboon

Monkey or a gorilla.
Faceoflib

Monkey or a gorilla.
Faceoflib

*Linda. Monkeys are mostly plant eaters. They sometimes eat meats like small lizard but definitely not goats, rams or cattle. Those saying that the monkey ate their livestocks are telling lies

Tee girl said...

That's not a monkey, that's a baboon. the patch on the bottom differentiates the two

Animal rights activists please where are you? This is madness!

Linda it's a Baboon not a monkey.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Monkey eating life stock? Linda, do us all a solid, post in Eebo.

That's a baboon, not a monkey

That's a baboon not a monkey, Linda.

This is a baboon

Okay oooo

That looks like a baboon... not a monkey

That is a baboon Linda..

nekky said...

Wow...luk lik human wit lots of hair

Awww

Wickedness of men. Hungry imbeciles
Poor monkey!

Too bad, why killing the monkey can't they set trap for it and take it to zoological garden. Plz let us try and learn how to preserve our wild life.

Most of the monkeys are highly endangered, why kill it? Nigeria is blessed to still have one or two of monkey species dat have been close to extinction. Drill monkeys. Na waa oo. Awka na aso enwe.

Lolz.... Good 4 d monkey oya wu is ready 4 monkey pepper soup.

Champs-Xtra said...

That's a baboon. Not a monkey

talk2frankky said...

That look like baboon

Linda, abeg tell dem mak dem no eat am oooo. Bcos of MR EBOLA

Not fair at all

Linda its a baboon.

Black lives matter

Eeyah....that's kinda bad sha

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Where did the monkey come from sef? Hehheee

Its a baboon

Why kill it na? What is wrong with people?

You na

Oluwadamilola said...

They didn't have to kill it..

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Oh dear

Goaldyn Boy said...

This is very cruel of them! They should have caught him instead of killing him! See them bush people taking selfies for killing their fellow ape!... Nigerians have a long way to go before they catch up with civilization!!!

Whether na monkey or na baboon one thing I know for sure is Peppersoup na I'm sure pass

My Year Of Linda's 100k

Mr Gandes said...

That's not a Monkey. It's a Baboon. And YES they can eat Live stock. At maturity, a fully grown Baboon's Canine Teeth is Longer than that of a Lion. The last pic can attest to that fact. They are Cannivores.

Mr Gandes said...

That's not a Monkey. It's a Baboon. And YES they can eat Live stock. At maturity, a fully grown Baboon's Canine Teeth is Longer than that of a Lion. The last pic can attest to that fact. They are Cannivores.

Giant monkey ke? Linda, this is a baboon oh!!! Sheesh, you really, really need a proofreader, like yesterday! I can proofread for you!

It's a baboon dumb bitch

pwetie j said...

Ebola on rampage!!

king tare I of Nottingham said...

Afta nw u go start bath with salt and water..
I dey tell u linda

king tare I of Nottingham said...

Afta now na u go be first to bath with salt and water, say u no want die,..bush will catch d hunter smday

Linda beware!

Eeewwww

poshbarbie said...

See their legs

LIB addict

This is a normal height/size for a monkey of this specie. People should try and watch Discovery Channel or National Geographic once in a while.

Uncle zoologist why u no catch am carry na

That's not the normal monkey breed, we all see.. that's an anor

Some people are illiterate. Is baboon not a specie of Monkey? Baboon is an African or Arabian monkey, so it's still a monkey. Though nothing giant in the one and it's shouldn't hv been killed

Yep, this is not a Monkey! Its a baboon; and God sake why do they have to kill it?! They should have captured it and transfer it to the zoo in Ibadan (where it is needed). Hmm....Black man

pearl said...

You r very senseless for dis u typed, myopic fool.

mr flyp said...

it was killed right behind my house in oru.... we have been hunting the baboon since Wednesday morning it ate eight live chickens.. thank God it was finally killed yesterday.

Giant indeed...

They are actually omnivores like humans. and its Baboon not a giant monkey. and No Canines are not as long as a lions. they are long but not that long. Y'all should watch NaGeo Wild once in while and not always E and Telemundo.

all of una wey dey call baboon monkey shey na eyes una no get abi dem no teach una for skool. well beware of Ebola ooooooo. primary carrier

Now i know you are crazy....Goat!!!

@ freeborn zina...your father is a monkey ...you must be a bastard for saying yorubas are monkeys....am sure you dont know who your father is ..but am glad to tell you your father is that baboon that was shot in his fuckn brain ...

U are sick in d head ,so am not surprise

Vixen said...

Linda honey i love you but the frequent typos on your posts is getting embarrassing. You are not just a blogger but a brand now.Please reject the 'Ijebu' in you and hire an editor.We are tired of you hurting our eyes....i know you may not publish this but i am euphoric that you got to read it

I was expecting a King Kong sized monkey!! It is not that big!

akinnux said...

It is wrong and unacceptable to wantonly kill endangered wildlife. Government should act on legislating against such cruelty.

Giant indeed! Good job.

Am ur God said...

Ebola Alert

Well, me Pa fed da flesh 2 me.

@Freeborn, for that tribal mis jaive you are a very stupid monkey ass.....

@freeborn zina your generations are monkeys omo ale jatijati

Divaclan said...

I can just imagine the delicious pepper soup this monkey can prepare *salivating*

Get ur facts right...it is u ibos DAT originated from monkeys Cuz ur female ancestor fucks dem believing money grows on trees...Dats y y'all so fucking hairy...bastardized duplicate of an animal! Omo ale atoko wa bale je!

Ebariba