Full text of what Obama and Buhari said when they met today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 July 2015

Full text of what Obama and Buhari said when they met today

Below is what President Obama said to President Buhari and his entourage... 
Well, it’s a great pleasure to welcome President Buhari and his delegation here to the Oval Office for his first visit since the historic election that took place. Nigeria is obviously one of the important countries in the world and one of the most important countries in the African continent. Recently, we saw an election in which a peaceful transition to a new government took place.
And it was an affirmation of Nigeria’s commitment to democracy, a recognition that although Nigeria is a big country and a diverse country with many different parts, nevertheless the people of Nigeria understand that only through a peaceful political process can change take place.
President Buhari comes into office with a reputation for integrity and a very clear agenda, and that is to make sure that he is bringing safety and security and peace to his country.
He’s very concerned about the spread of Boko Haram and the violence that’s taken place there, and the atrocities that they’ve carried out, and has a very clear agenda in defeating Boko Haram and extremists of all sorts inside of his country. And he has a very clear agenda with respect to rooting out the corruption that too often has held back the economic growth and prosperity of his country.
On both these issues, we’re looking forward to hearing more about his plans and how the United States can partner with Nigeria so that Nigeria ends up being an anchor not only of prosperity and stability in the eastern part of the continent, but can also be an outstanding role model for developing countries around the world.
And we very much look forward to talking about security issues, how we can cooperate on counterterrorism. We’re looking forward to discussing how we can be helpful in addressing some of the corruption issues that have held Nigeria back, and unleashing the incredible talent of the Nigerian people. We all recognize that some of the best businesspeople in the world are from Nigeria, and they thrive as they travel to other countries, but we want to make sure that they’re also helping folks thrive in Nigeria.
We’re also going to have an opportunity to talk about some of the other areas where Nigeria has taken leadership — in public health issues, fighting tragedies like Ebola. Nigeria has an outstanding track record working with us to eradicate polio, and that gives us a framework and a template to continue to work on public health issues throughout the western part of Africa, as well as throughout the subcontinent.
We’ll have a chance to talk about issues of climate change, electrification. As many of you know, Power Africa is one of our top priorities, making sure that we’re electrifying the continent so that it can grow faster and more people have access to the power that they need.
So we’ve got a busy agenda, but I want to emphasize how much I appreciate President Buhari’s work so far. I’m looking forward to seeing him put together his team so that we can do everything that we can to help him succeed and help the people of Nigeria succeed. Because if they’re successful and doing well, that will have a ripple effect not only in West Africa, but throughout the world.
So thank you very much.

What President Buhari said

Nigeria will remain ever grateful to President Obama and the United States for making Nigeria to consolidate its gains on a democratic system. The visit of the Secretary of State, when he visited Nigeria to see the President and the whole government of Nigeria, see the Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission for Nigeria, and saw the operation was very clear and a positive trend that saw us through for this credible election we had.
And the maintenance of pressure by the United States, mainly, and Europe, to make sure that the elections were free, fair and credible led us to where we are now. It would have been almost impossible if the United States did not maintain the pressure on the former Nigerian government, but they would not accept anything less constitutional as far as the processes of the election are concerned. We will ever remain grateful to you because there are fundamental objectives that are identify all of Nigeria’s people’s Congress — security, economy, employment especially of youth, and then fighting corruption.
We are extremely happy that the United States had made it absolutely clear before the election that they are prepared to help Nigeria in this aspect. And this is why I am here, and I am very grateful for the invitation Mr. President extended to me.
Thank you very much, Mr. President.

83 comments:

Waooo blowing the trumpet of Change... Carry on winning men.

Damilola said...

Let me try and read

HAVE YOU BEING THINKING OF A MEANS TO ALWAYS EARN EXTRA STEADY SIDE INCOME ? HERE IS HOW YOU CAN MAKE INCOME DAILY BY USING YOUR MOBILE PHONE. CLICK HERE

Enough of these already...! Buhari plz come back and get to work.. Enough of u and Obama honeymoon..

SANDRA said...

When Buhari shit, Zahra should snap nd post it on instagram

SANDRA said...

When Buhari shit, Zahra should snap it and post on instagram

Rough Diamond said...

Yawnsss! !!!!!! Ewo chimu o! Tank u lord

Lol funny peeps..

Noted.

Damilola said...

Am.proud of Nigeria so far but we need to stay focused. Americans give and take

The slp wey dey my eye no wan agree me read anything i swear.....

Bulk shoes, bags, accessories gor ladies for sale.
Email shoewarehousenigeria@gmail.com for inquiries.

Nothing goes for nothing so he should be wise in his trade.

Two presidents!!!! Brief and sound

Obama: chukwu ndi apc. Bike nu ka any nuru unu ihe. Make u jump enter gutter bc Obama had a chat with buharia. Eze amaro na oga echi

By the Grace of God Nigeria must work. God strengthen my Able President. Linda take note!

I hope no gay issue is discussed?If it ends like this,Nigerians are happy all over the world!

Kill me b4 I read dis crap!

"President Buhari comes into office with a reputation for integrity and a very clear agenda"
It doesn't get better than this, today once again we felt proud being Nigerians.
Change is here.

Mihearty said...

Ok seen and read. So what is next agenda

FASHION POLICE said...

Where Amechi naa? Abi them no want make he spoil show for them? So even baba go slow knows he is a rascal. STORY FOR THE gods. WHAT HAPPENED TO SAME SEX AGENDA?

That's great lovely...

Ds man is just pathetic! Is our Commandr in Chief kissing Obamas ass? Can't u jst stop gushing?! Pls o leav GEJ alone! Pls! Pls! Enuf rubbin shit on him Abegi! I just tire for ds guy jare!

Bull crap

Oakshire Realtors said...

Wait.. did my president just say:

''We will ever remain grateful to you because
there are fundamental objectives THAT ARE IDENTIFY all of
Nigeria’s people’s Congress — security, economy,
employment especially of youth, and then fighting
corruption.''?......

Well, wish him all the best tho. #TeamNigeria #EverBlessed

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Words dnt move us anymore
Come back and give us 'change'

Temi said...

What next?

Temi said...

No time 2 waste time

Lies...

NMaa said...

Same tin GEJ did is wat u r also doing. Tot u r a magician. Dan ban za.

Thank u Linda for the information so far, please keep your ear down for more details,

Lukman said...

I cannot see any reasonable agenda for this visit! Aboki, come back home!

The both parties have spoken well..
Now let's see you put a fist to those words

Obama too talk. Buhari is a man of few words. Action man

All is well

All is well

Business Barbie said...

Oh my lawd! Nigeria's people's congress!!!!!! He still doesn't know the name of his party? BabA dullard. All hail Nigeria's president. Obama's speech was so articulate while PMBs was.... hmmmmmmm

Linda tell me in summary pls

sweet malo said...

Yes my General, that is what we need now,someone to stand for us in good faith..!

Exellent!

Would you agree for 24 hours light, free healthcare, good roads and higher salary for all if it came at the price of legalizing gay marriage in nigeria? Answer true o

Excellent

Una sure say buhari hear does english obama speak..... Ok oh..........

Broke ass, greatest fool alive bonafool

Well spoken but implementation is the problem.....no gay agenda

Some of our Igbo brothers will never learn their lessons. They criticize destructively. Wake up brothers and let's move Nigeria forward!

Well said but implementation is always the problem I hope this time around it will be a different story......no gay agenda Nigerians will not accept gay issue.

Are you minding this big headed rat? Bonario pls get a life aside lib. Baara onwe GI uru

But nne'm are you not biafra? What concerns you with the leadership and how my president of my great Nigeria choses to lead us.. are we complaining?

Then,who cares,as long as Nigeria becomes a great nation that's conducive with essential amenities,he can go ahead with the gay marriage thing. If things are going to work,its better he legalizes gay marriage and save millions of life getting lost from insurgency than resist it and loose many lives,afterall,some gay couples are living like they're married,the difference is just that they're doing it secretly

Aboki u re really an aboki

Amaka.u.l said...

Good

God order PMB's steps and help him to remain focus and healthy. NIGERIA will ruled by God not PMB for those that believe

Aniekan said...

Oga cool down.

I just taya ooo

while Obama addressed so many issues in his statement , president Buhari only gusged about the Election and blah blah blah ...issoright

As confused as u are of 'does' and 'those' biko.

sheed said...

He wasn't mentioning his party's name Dumbo! That was part of a sentence........ PMB's speech was short and precise.

sheed said...

I can't believe I just read PMB's speech in his fulani accent....lol! Proud to be a Nigerian mehn! God bless PMB and Nigeria.

U this Biafran idiot!!! Shut ur mouth!!!

did he go with an interpreter or how did he communicated with Obama via English speaking and intonation

Even in resurrection me no go read am....

Una dey look Buhari 'All Nigeria People's Congress' and non of you dumb fellows saw when Obama said Nigeria is in East Africa. Sorry for you guys

Una yeye president no talk of boko haram o... na so so election! In fact Obama was the only one concerned abt the boko haram topic sef!

FRESH said...

Thank God you were not chosen as his interpreter. Obama would have fainted at your English.

Who read that statement on behalf of Buhari?? #justasking

If Obama come into Boko battle then the northernance will see more of this insurgence... America went to Iraq till date there is no peace, the went to Afghanistan still the same. People are dieing in Syria Obama did not assist them because there is no Oil, Nigerians should wake up, is better we do business with China or any other country not US. When Ebola hit Nigeria what help did Obama render

Imbecile whore and stupid prince

A clear Agenda?? Really??? What is clear at this point? Story story all the time....No Challenge

@anonymous 8:10am. No mind all those stupid Nigerians. They are america ass lickers. Them go dey hail oyinbo people and bring Nigeria down. Must he understand american accent? We have our own accent. Why are we not proud of our own accent. Hypocrate Nigerians. Stmchew

Sheed u are the fool...he forgot the name of his party it was on channels tv

He forgot the name of his party..Linda pls post the video its trending

kings4tary said...

Beginning to like this nigerian president. thumb up!