Quite a number of people have written to me about the robbery that happens in traffic at CMS...here's another story by someone who has witnessed it. It has happened to me before...a few years ago. They come to your car window in traffic & tell you to wind down or they will break it. Anyway read below
I am avid reader of your blog. I would like you to help bring to the notice of the concerned authorities in Lagos state concerning CMS (outer Marina).
Between 5.30am and 6.30am on Weekdays there is usually traffic at this axis. Although traffic on this route is not unusual , however the early morning one is avoidable because it is caused by the Danfo Drivers stopping and picking passengers indiscriminately.
Usually by daylight, they move to their proper bus stop.
Now the traffic is not my problem, the problem is because there is traffic, young men use the opportunity to move in between lanes robbing people in cars of their money, phones, etc.
I have witnessed 3 of such in less than 2 months. It is even easier when you don't wind up your glass. I witnessed this morning as a woman with her kids in the car was harassed and robbed by just one man. The woman was shaken and crying and she was the one driving.
Without the traffic, this early morning robbery and harassment wont be happening
The solution is easy and has been done in the past.. all we need is for this 1 hour (5.30am- 6.30am) on weekdays, soldiers or VIO should be stationed there sending the buses to their proper bus stop created for them (LASTMA and policemen are unable to handle it as they are there every morning doing nothing).
There was a time in the past that VIO would come for about 30 minutes early in the morning and there would be sanity and free flow of traffic.
Kindly help send this to the appropriate authorities.
It is the only route for people like me to work and I go to work in fear everyday.
Thank you
60 comments:
We need to be kiaful
Hmmmmm
God oooo...........
meenah_wakil on instagram
God oooo...........
meenah_wakil on instagram
obi seen
#GODWIN™
I hav said it countless time d authorities need to look into dis issue deploy mobile police men d policr know these hoodlums I am prepared each time I pass thru there my wheel spanner is beside me anything misbehaving from any idiot dat idiot will need 5stitches lagos is a jungle we must adapt
This is very painfull though i swear....
CHAI LAGOS HMMMM....TOMJERRYSWIT
It's a terrible experience... we need help in this country.
Lagos na wa.
Pray something Is done asap to stop the menace.
I hope something is done by the appropriate authorities to arrest the ugly trend.
I Hope security operatives will do something about incessant robbery there.
Wht stop dis person dat sent dis to write directly to d police or officials of VIO... All d same, nice one, and we hope sth urgent is done abt dis.
Thanks for d info.. Ye who has ears should hear..
Eko o ni baje
As a risk analyst,av always said it @ various fora,dt security is 24/7.we dnt av ds gadget d oyinbo's av.but we av enof manpower.if d securities personnel are nt enof,pls lagos state or federal govt shd do d needful n recruit capable hands.(pls dnt get me wrong,i dnt mean opc n d rest).
It happened to me in 2010.what I did was to hit d man in front of me.when he came down to check I screamed thief theif and d lone thief ran away.if not he was draggin d steering with me tellin me to park.this was at 7pm.as an iron lady,I fought hard
It is well
THIS HAPPENED TO ME IN 2002 IN EXACTLY THIS AREA.
IT'S UNBELIEVABLE THAT THIS IS STILL HAPPENING.
It does not happen only in the mornings. I was almost robbed last month at the same CMS by 3pm in the afternoon. Broad day light. The guy broke the back glass of the vehicle i was in reaching for my phone on the seat but by the grace of God, i was faster than him to reach it. He attempted harassing me. When i did not bulge he walked away. The government should do something about those under the bridge. and should tighten security in CMS traffic
Please Our able Governor Mr Ambode do something about this!!!! There is God oooooooooooooooooooooooo
Fresh Presh
Linda's Doctor 😷
Hope the said "authorities"
will be alerted about
this incident
Same thing happens at Oshodi, along for agege motor road, around charity Toyota b/stop, anytime there's traffic even in broad daylight, those thieves will be on the express banging on the car windows and robbing people, it's easier for them when he don't wind down and I think they have weapons too. Broad daylight robbery in the presence of everyone, moving comfortably from vehicle to vehicle
Sorry not agege motor road, it's the apapa-oshodi express
Awon Lazy fools robbing people off their valuables. God will catch u one day and we shall all see their faces on Linda's blog!!
Lol Iron Lady Weldon o
Buy bulletproof car
Sabi woman jare..
It's so funny when ppl mention the Army when being harassed by co-civilians. Our same Army that are said to be inhuman. No wahala
@'this iron lady that fought hard'. u shld thank God and not jus praise ur self.. I pity you.. cos d man no carry sharp/dangerous object or even fake/real Gun to threaten u abi... d one i witness on my street on a Sunday morning after early church, branched Shoprite and coming back wit kids, two guys on the Bike crossed me one came down wit something like a gun.. after robbing us of what was left on us, I jus sat down in d car for like 20mins, we were all shaken cldn't even start d car again..d street was very dry no one passing by and that was btw 10:30 and 11am.. it cld actually happen anywhere and not only Lagos. since then o, na late service we de attend o
I see these guys everyday on my way to work and there faces are known to people that ply this route to work everyday. I even witnessed one this morning as i was going to work. As a responsible citizen of this country that pays his tax monthly to Lagos state government i called their emergency nos(767) last month to lounge my complaint. They said that they will communicate to the appropriate authorities on this and promised that they will fish out the boys and deal with them.
I suggest that government should plant security men(SARS) on plain cloths in strategic places like the car parks to monitor them or compel the car park managers to engage the services of a notable security outfit to man the entrance to these parks from CMS.
I also advice my fellow lagosian to always wind up there glasses whenever they are on this axis.
This same CMS! The Gov, should pls help put a final full stop on this crazy ish!
Very bad
Hope Governor Ambode is listening
Thank God for you. Fashola is a damn failure. The idiot can't even put street lights and enforce bus stops in 8 years as governor. God will punish these greedy bastardized leaders we have. Must we lose our valuables because they can't think. I pray God gives Ambode common sense. The solution can be very simple but they are too busy focusing on how to steal big money to think of our problems.
O'baje ti! I hope something is done fast about the ish.. Linda take note!
Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!
For ur mind! They could have shot u dead! Mumu
please we need the police or army at that marina/eko brigde,even in the afternoon they rob there, i was also harrassed by a dude too at 5pm just before UBA HQ Marina heading to Surulere,the guy ddnt succeed in robbing me because i had no money and he eventually left my car window.
The annoying thing is thesame dude is always at the bridge at that same time btw 5-6pm standing at the same spot everyday looking at cars and im sure he robs some.
Police need to be stationed at that bridge. its getting scarier by the day.
Not a gud testimmony
Please which is outer marina bikonu, make una no vex o.
It happened to my family friend just recently, she was even beaten and practically molested. It happens both in the mornings and at night. That bridge needs a 24/7 watch guard.
Hmmm kudos to u ma u re a strong woman.
Linda that CMS matter pass me. I had to move from Lere to Lekki cos I could not stand it. Its a daily occurrence no matter the time of the day and the RRS and Police are there also helpless. They move in gang of 3 and 5. its not funny.
The queue caused by the Oando fuel station at marina is also a major cause of the traffic and the robbery....the worst part is daat the same set of guys wu rob are d once acting as traffic wardens at the car parks on marina.....i ve witnessed this severall times!!!!!
Police should lanehandbush around the area to arrest the criminals them
Am yourself with a pen knife and once the person appears stab the person probably to death
I'm sure they will. They all advertised their posters on LIB during the last elections.
PLS AMBODE SHOULD DO SOMETHING VOICE OF THE PEOPLE IS D VOICE OF GOD
LINDA TAKE NOTE THANK U
what of that mile 2 bridge on apapa-oshodi express way. Yesterday, the tankers were there and due to their presence there was traffic building up on that bridge. That was when some rough-looking idiots came around knocking on windows of saloon cars and trying to force their way into the cars to steal their valuables. There was a police motorcycle yards away, but obviously no police man could be sighted. That's why sometimes, I am indifferent to mob-justice on thieves like this, but the problem can be solved by govt by providing jobs, electricity, security, etc. I just dont understand how I would be paying tax and yet I dont feel any impact by govt. I support the previous commentator that blames fashola. I am one of the few that believed that he did nothing in his last four years.
sympathies to those that lose their valuables to these miscreants
This is really getting too much and something needs to be done bout it on time....
It is a daily occurence. it's not only CMS(outer marina), also along marina b4 Oando fuel station. it's so sad n traumatic dat 1ce u get to those spots, u will be scared bcos u are not sure weta u will be d nxt victim. Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee, also orile suru to mile 2 n fro 2nd coker to mile 2 oke along oshodi-apapa expressway are d worst spots and d lastma/police in d area are busy chasing private cars who are trying to find their way out of the gridlock on d express by jumping into vehicles and collecting (bribe)money and meanwhile commercial vehicles ply 1 way fro cele b/stop to tin-can. i ve witnessed so many incidents dat i call 767(Lasg emergency nos but was informed last wk dat d operational hrs is now 7am-4pm n i was so upset dat i didn't wait to hear d word).
its about Safety n my advice to people is dat PLS DO NOT DISPLAY VALUABLES WHEN IN YOUR CAR. Put all items in d boot. d robbers uses stone to break d windows not their fist oh.
It's every where than...... In portharcout Rumford precisely my fone was snatching from me while driving in traffic....
Trust me,dis menace ain't peculiar to Cms area alone,i usually make use of Apapa oshodi axis each time i av to pick cars feom the port and the way dis miscreants knock ur glass demanding for money is could be frightening and threatening. If u dare refuse to roll down d glass,they start removing stuffs from d car,i've had the side chrome of a lexus removed,wit side mirror in d process of struggling Wit dem. Its so bizarre,our govt should do something quick b4 something do us ooo...ehn ehn
I hope sanity is brought 2 dat road o, yellow bus drivers r d main prob of lagos traffic, 1s dey r packed off d road,d prob wl b solved
Agreed
May God deliver us from road robbery