Photos: Fraudster bags three years for N27million scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 June 2015

Photos: Fraudster bags three years for N27million scam

Read the EFCC press statement below...
Justice Lawal Akapo of the Lagos State High Court, Ikeja on Monday June 22, 2015, convicted and sentenced one Emmanuel Osita (a.k.a Chuks) to three years imprisonment on a two count charge of obtaining money by false pretence. The convict was arrested by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, sequel to a petition from a legal practitioner on behalf of one Mrs. Veronica Okonkwo, an eighty-one (81) year-old woman who was the victim.
The convicts while operating as a commercial tri-cyclist conspired with other persons who are still at large and falsely represented to the victim that they had the capacity to produce local and foreign currencies from pieces of papers by dipping them into mercury.

Osita and his accomplices hoodwinked the 81-year-old woman to let go the sum of N120, 000.00 (One Hundred and Twenty Thousand Naira) as registration fee with a mercury company prior to the procurement of the chemical. The octogenarian was also induced to sell her property in Festac Town Lagos for N27 million and the proceeds appropriated by the convict and his co-travellers.

Upon his arrest, the convict was arraigned on 1st July, 2014. He subsequently pleaded guilty after making restitution to the victim; including the property valued at N27 million as the alleged buyer forfeited same to the victim. Based on his plea and the restitution of the victim, Justice Lawal Akapo convicted and sentenced the accused to three years imprisonment without any option of fine.

50 comments:

Bloody criminal!

Lucky him

Hmmm and he is looking wretched

Sorry for them shah....

Ode covered his face with a handkerchief, we still see am...lol

Just 3 years okay

Ohh guy... Synagogue wud hav been ur escape o!

Sorry dude, jail time is ur own reward.

Always convicting ordinary Nigerians, what of the obvious thieves that aren't hiding(politicians). They should please go and sit down and provide jobs for young people. Rubbish!

Oleeeeee show ur face!

Covering his useless face

He has settled enuf pple joor he ll b out in

In six or 8 months gv or tk .

Wow! Can't believe people still fall for this type of scam. Well, God protect us o.

If no be greed, wetin 81yr old mama need illegal money for? She should be enjoying her old age before God calls her. Yet, she still dey hustle money at 81. For who and wetin abeg?

Na wah ooo

Na wah...ooo

Na greedyness dey cause am. Wetin old mama dey find for fake currency abi na really currency? Abeg make dem mercy guy men na. Mugu fall men chop. Na wa. Buhari make dis ur regim no dey agaist guy men ooo cause we go swear 4 u and u go die like ur brother Umaru muda Yaradue

D mama sef na thief but 2yrs for dt amount is too small

It is very easy for nigeria judges to sentence common men to prison term without option of fine, but when it comes to politicians and the elites, it is either they are discharge or they are giving option of fine. idiots

Moxex Akoji said...

No hiding place for the wicked.

just want to take a minute to abuse the stupid fool that is using my name and signage on this blog. IT was me that start "Linda take note" and I did it so that she will know who i am and give me 100k at the end of the year. and one stupid goat is trying to steal my identity. She even went to gmail to create an account using my name. God will punish you fake julia.

He's chopped enough. It's payback time!

Something is off here , 81 year old woman that own a property that is worth 27 million naira on keke ?

Elanz said...

Its nothing but pure greed

Was this not the same Judge that just set a bank official free for billions of naira fraud today?

And where is Buruji Kashamu? Oh that's right. The judge found an excuse to let him off the hook. Where's Timipre Sylva? Fani Kayode nko? Nigerian judges are so shameless they don't even bother covering up anymore. Trash.

Chivalon the Law said...

Again while not supporting this evil act, this is a clear case of miscarriage of justice and a travesty in its right.
Some many Nigerian to say the least have looted both state and federal treasuries only to be left off the hook with paltry fines as shown in the excerpt below:
“In a shocking ruling, Justice J. Liman of the Federal High Court in Benin, Edo State, fined Michael Igbinedion N3 million for stealing N25 billion of public money”.
“Oluremi Olayinka sentenced to 266 years imprisonment for stealing N8m”.
This goes to show that the legal profession in Nigeria has either different regional or states interpretation, I might even be tempted to conclude that it’s indeed a crime to steal small money in Nigeria according to these cases and several others awash in the media.
In other countries the symbol of justice is an image carrying a scale and a sword with the eyes strapped but in Nigeria that image has its eyes open.
Osibanjo professor of Law please look into this.

Haba mama, u no try at all..

Gov. Amaechi's Girl said...

The old woman should be arrested too. Three years imprisonment for just about 200k meanwhile billions of naira go unaccounted for and they are let go. God bless Nigeria

dessymal said...

Osi bobo the moni is worth d term

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Greed!!!! Nn

Na shame make d guy use handkerchief cover face??? Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

Na shame make the guy use handkerchief cover face??? Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

Everybody is ignoring the second culprit; the octogenarian that allegedly agreed to register with a mercury company. she should have reported to the police at that time. I am sorry but its not just one criminal here

U are one of them, And the long hand of the law go soon catch up wit u. Buhari will not die. Nah u go die.. Ole 419

abujakenneth said...

The allocutus by the convict's lawyer would have earn the convict a lower sentence had he not been convicted before.

When will they sentence a Governor, an ex President to court?! We are tired of seeing ordinary citizens go to jail. Not that they don't deserve it!1

I'm sure he has a gf/ wife!

He should b punished accordingy so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

Because he pleaded guilty n restituted naa, if the deal had gone well, would d woman be making noise, won't she be there spending fake currency? She should also be tried, it's when things don't go well that they will be using words like "hoodwinked".

Me am still saying!! Wen u scam buy Ak 47 and make sure u hav grenades!! So wen this fools uncultured swine so call EFCC comes for u! Kill dem all and let the attorney do his or her worst! Dem dey carry common Nigerians dey shine and make name for newspaper! Fools!! Shame on u EFCC!!

If not that the grandmama at 81 is a sharp shooter too,tell me why she would buy the idea of change paper to cash with mecury,hmmm?Abeg make them free the guy joor,all way na way for this nija and i bet he wud soon be out if not so aw com they allowed him to cover his face?

My Year Of Linda's 100k

Only greedy people fall for 419

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

TONIA GREEN said...

He even cover face. Doing the works of darkness since 1990. Okwa unu! Ndi niile n'emechu mmadu ihu, ekwensu abuola unu onu.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

That serves him right