Photos: CBN workers accused of N8billion fraud remanded in prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 June 2015

Photos: CBN workers accused of N8billion fraud remanded in prison

Find the EFCC Press statement below ...
Six staff of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, implicated in an N8billion defaced and mutilated currency recycling scam, were today remanded in prison custody following their arraignment by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, before Justice N. Ayo Emmanuel of a Federal High Court sitting in Ibadan, Oyo State. The suspects: Patience Okoro Eye; Afolabi Olufemi Johnson; Ilori Adekunle Sunday; Kolawole Babalola, Olaniran Muniru Adeola and Fatai Adedokun Yusuf, were arraigned on a five -count charge bordering on conspiracy, fraud and stealing.
Specifically, the apex bank employees were alleged to have compromised the CBN's Briquetting exercise, meant to mop up mutilated and defaced higher denomination currencies from circulation, to combat inflation. Instead of destroying the currencies, they allegedly recycled the notes and substituted them with newspapers neatly cut to Naira sizes. When the charges were read to them, they pleaded not guilty.

Count One of the charge reads: "That you Patience Okoro Eye; Afolabi Olufemi Johnson; Ilori Adekunle Sunday; Kolawole Babalola, Olaniran Muniru Adeola and Fatai Adedokun Yusuf on or about 5th August, 2014 in Ibadan within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court, have by virtue of abuse of your office, being employees of Central Bank of Nigeria, contributed to the economic adversity of the Federal Republic of Nigeria when you destroyed a box marked " Counted Audited Dirty" filled with Newspapers in place of a box containing N10,000,000 (Ten Million Naira) of N1,000 denomination and which activity led to the increase of money in circulation which the briquetting exercise of Central Bank of Nigeria was intended to control and you thereby committed an offence punishable under Section 1(2) (b) and Section 10 (1) of the Recovery of Public Property (Special Provision) Act, Cap. R4, Laws of the Federation Nigeria, 2014".

Count Two reads: “That you Patience Okoro Eye; Afolabi Olufemi Johnson; Ilori Adekunle Sunday; Kolawole Babalola, Olaniran Muniru Adeola and Fatai Adedokun Yusuf on or about 5th August, 2014 in Ibadan within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court, engaged in corrupt practices when you replaced the content of a box of N1,000 denomination in a total sum of N10, 000,000 (Ten Million Naira) marked as " Counted Audited Dirty" meant for briquetting, with Newspapers and which sum you converted to your own use and you thereby committed an offence punishable under Section 1(2) (a) and Section 10 (1) of the Recovery of Public Property (Special Provision) Act, Cap. R4, Laws of the Federation Nigeria, 2014".

In view of their plea, prosecuting counsel, Rotimi Jacobs, SAN, prayed the court for a trial date and for the defendants to be remanded in prison custody. He opposed their bail applications and urged counsel to the defendants to present their bail applications formally to court. However, counsel to the 1st accused person, K. A. Lawal made an oral application for bail. All other counsel followed suit. Justice Emmanuel however adjourned the matter to June 9, 2015 for hearing of the bail applications and July 6 and 7, 2015 for commencement of trial.

He ordered that all the defendants be remanded in Agodi prison custody, Ibadan. Media & Publicity 2nd June, 2015

79 comments:

Shameless people. Lindaobserve

Techrammer.com said...

Omo na wa o. Na person papa dem dey display there faces like this o. Ehhhhhh!

Infinix Hot, Infinix Hot Note & more all at crazy prices today. Grab yours

This is indeed shameful, I pity them, especially the woman amongst them,

Quite unfortunate

~album drops 8th june~

princess said...

A min afterr post...first 2 comment

8 billion naira ???? Jesus!!! This money will change my future .....it will change my generation

Joshtech said...

Linda is that the money?

Abekeade said...

See their ugly faces!! Oleeeeeeeeeee

See their faces. I'm sorry for them cos dey won't get off easily under the new administration. Linda take note!

Na God catch them.....

Everyday for the thief, one day for the owner.

OK

Hmmm... the wages of sin!

Amazon said...

Are these yoruba names am seeing or am dreaming? I thought it's only the ibos that love money...hahahaha

NDBLOW said...

thank God say all of them na Yoruba thief.... them for talk say na igbo and their criminal mind..... Godwin

Fraud and stealing?....lock them up for good.

This duplication of charges I see no difference in charge one and two....however make dem face the law

Dese faces don't look innocent at all

mopelola said...

See as dem jst spoil their carrier,wetin dem dey carry sef?their news paper?

tjay'TEE Bello said...

Rot in hell thieves. May thunder strike that lawyer that tries getting ur arses off kirikiri. Oloshi gbogbo. oole!!! Stupid idiots. Werey. Na dem use iron draw map for housemaid body say he steal 500... Useless gluttons... Bastards.

They should be all sentenced to 200yrs in prison with hard Labour

Anointed said...

May dey be punish for dere evil doings.....

Anointed said...

May dey be punish for dere evil doings.....

I feel for them, and as I type dis words am short of words for them. I wish them well but d law should take it course.

Hmmmmm! See their funny faces! Lol

ANYA IKENGA said...

They ve been watchin d movie by Queen latifa but went a step further to use newspaper cutting.

This is bad

OMG! Rivers State Governor Pictured Sleeping On Duty(SEE HERE)

Holuphorlahan... said...

Bursted...even their eyes have given them away...

Chioma Ijomah said...

I bet they just watched the movie"Set It Off"
They forgot the part that read, "Do Not Try This At Home"!

But EFCC and CBN should relax na.. After all, it's a condemned money..
Watevs...

Haywhizzle said...

I wouldn't call dese ppl scape goats...i'll prefer to refer to dem as 1st batch....enough space dey for kirikiri.

teeboi said...

How much dis people dey collect for salary
Cos der face an dresin doesn't sim as CBN workers.

Thos people don't seem to me like they have seen 10m not to talk of 8bn

Good! This is just a bit of the long arm of corruption with its strong graps on our nation Nigeria. However, this should stand as a good example to anyone person or group of persons in attempt or attempted to attempt fraud in the new Nigerian system. Long live Buhari; long live our blessed nation Nigeria

lami said...

This is what greed does to people.

They should b lock up, and d keys never to b found again.

Forget that thing...that money was meant to be destroyed and then they cornered it..if efcc is really doing their job,why not go and apprehend the real criminals in abuja..

coded said...

God don catch una

Imaging these old Men and women they are all Yoruba

Dem never chi chom tin

Sharap thr,if na u ,u no go tif am?

Shithead,your brain is full of maggots.Is Patience Okoro Eye a Yoruba.Ewu!

These guys are not the main thieves,..efcc should go after the criminals looting our treasury. These ones stole already condemned cash.

Used to know at least 2 of them back in Ib. Their greed is infinite when it comes to money!

These are just the fall guys, the main syndicate are still running their business as usual.

They wished it upon themselves.

missliisah said...

Ugly faces!

missliisah said...

Bed bugs... I mean floor bugs will finish ur nyashes ndi ala tireti

Nigeria won't stop amazing me, this people are being used to replace the real people that commited this crime, just take a good look at this people, do they look like people that have ever touched 10,ooo naira? hisses

You are just confused!!!

Yoruba as usual

Abegii,is it nt sum1 dat embezzled 28billion pension funds,walking freely on d streets in naija.Dey shld let dem be joor.

Used to know at least 2 of them back in Ib. abt 5/6 yrs ago.Their greed is infinite when it comes to money!

They have local urgly looking faces and they are hungry looking. Why them no go thief when they look hungry. How these ones take pass interview enter CBN sef

Please why are they not wearing Suit their trade attire ? It's is a known fact Nigerian Bankers are 90% of the time useless to their bank clients in respect of CLient business improvement .
They are lazy ,self center individual s,all decisions must favour them or no deal.
It's taboo to give loan for more than 3 - 6 months,at useless rates like 33% per annual than means after 2yrs ,with compounded hiden charges you will be indebted to them for the rest of your life.
Over 30 members on a board to approve loans,end of the day they approve less than 5% iOS total loan requests year in year out.
Mortgage for 20 yrs ? They will ask you to provide 40% of intended mortgage ?
It's a know facts 70% of Nigerian Banks have collected investment fund from Nigeria stock exchange and foreign loans
Running into Billions what do they do with the money? No visible SME benefactors.
It's also a confirm fact 93% of Bankers are useless to their self ,they lack skills to survive outside the banking industry .Totally useless to them selfs and their Family ..CBN should allow foreign Banks to set up in Nigeria to change the poor run banks land scape for Good. Let me use this avenue to please ask President Buhari to withdrawn Oil blocks from individuals and give it to States,states will help millions with jobs and infrastructures ,individuals can not help more 1000 people,they are not accessible compare to States,in the spirit of Change let things start move in right direction Sia.

just because they ve been paraded doesnt mean they all are guilty. people be sensible ,they have not been tried.even the efcc parading them too are corrupt.may we not b in d wrong place at the wrong time.

So funny how fast the hand of law moves in catching ordinary decent criminals. Still waiting for the day big names in the society will be caught and treated like the above suspects. Dear EFCC $20b is still missing in NNPC oh.

If na Igbo news paper for don sell well with big captions. Igbo only hustle for money they dont steal govt money.

U no fear?? Very haggard, like homeless ppl. Bet u they r working 4 some ppl, big 'shots' I think they need 2 confess who they wk 4.

NA them, these mbati ppl. They have continued 2 plunder Nigeria, yet looking like homeless ppl. Just look @ them, very hungry. Lol.

U no fear?? Very haggard, like homeless ppl. Bet u they r working 4 some ppl, big 'shots' I think they need 2 confess who they wk 4.

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

They all look poor

This faces I'm seeing here dont look like faces that have eaten 10million b4 talk more of 8billion.... they wunt go n catch dis stupid politicians its poor pple dt hv stolen little to feed dia families dey will c to post pix of mtchewwww *not interested*

Ok and I think this is not their first time,,,, God don catch them

Lol,,, ok na I think say na only ibo like money, so yoruba too likes money,,,,, Oloshi in the highest order

UNA SAY IGBO LIKE MONEY, BUT I DOUBT THEY DO MORE THAN THESE YORUBAS AS WE HAVE ALWAYS SEEN IN GOVT CIRCLES. REMEMBER POLICE CHIEF AND 17.5 BILLION NAIRA. THERE IS GOD O!

Hmn. No Comment.

cant bliv aunty Patience is involved in this mess. If she's not guilty, may God vindicate her. This is too embarrassing

Royal keep quiet my friend. U will be talking as if u are a saint. This reminds me of a Movie..."Mad Money" starring Queen Latifah. Exactly what happened in that movie is what this people did. I guess they must have watched it too...lol.

O ga o

Where at the 16 other bankers? Why are they only parading the CBN staff? Anyway innocent until proven guilty.

Are u sure these pple r responsible, I dnt tink so. I smell conspiracy.

Are they d only thieves we have in nigeria? What happen to our politicians dat steal ?

I just can't understand why people are blaming them. How many of you would destroy a box full of #1000 naira notes? Judge yourself before your judge others and think about what you would have done if you were in their shoes!!