NASS crisis: APC Govs meet with Buhari, urge APC Senators to respect the wishes of the party | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 June 2015

NASS crisis: APC Govs meet with Buhari, urge APC Senators to respect the wishes of the party

Following the lingering crises in the National Assembly over the appointment of principal officers in both the Senate and the House of Representatives, APC Governors late Tuesday night had a closed door meeting with Pres. Buhari to discuss on ways to resolve the matter. At the end of the meeting, the Governors called on APC members in the National Assembly to respect the wishes of the party regarding appointment of principal officers.

Speaking with newsmen at the end of the meeting, Edo state governor Adams Oshiomole, called on the APC Senators to respect the wishes of the party and appoint Senators whose names have been forwarded by the party to occupy principal offices in the Senate and the House of Representatives.
"Senators should adopt the position of the party because we all got elected on the platform of the party. We are not just a collection of individuals. We are a political party and when the party has spoken, we must listen. otherwise if it was a game of individuals like golf, then individuals can go their way. I think it is very clear at this point that the party has the responsibility to keep the system going. so we as progressive governors have listened to the president, we have discussed extensively and we are clear that the party position should be supported by the Senators. This is the way it should be and we should start with a note of working closely. We as governors we listen to the party so we expect our senators to listen to the party"he said

Also speaking, Imo state governor, Rochas Okorocha said
"We the APC governors, we met with our president. Worried by what is happening at the National Assembly, we felt we should rub minds with the President and also to commend him on steps he is taking so far to address the issue of the economy of the nation which is literally in shamble and the meeting we had with Mr President is more reassuring that there is light at the end of the tunnel. But with all this achievements and progress we are making, we are worried by the pockets of disagreements going on in the National assembly. and we resolved that we came from a party and our party's views should be respected. and we feel that there is room for us to invite our senators and look more into the matter and see how we can all make peace. We believe our party that we all came from should be respected"he said
Meanwhile during yesterday's plenary session, APC Senators loyal to Senator Bukola worked against him reading a letter sent by the leadership of APC on its choices of Senators to fill principal offices in the Senate. The Senators argued that the constitution states that the affairs of the Senate House is to be handled by the Senate members and not by any external body or force. 

APC Chairman John Odigie-Oyegun had in a letter sent to Senator Bukola Saraki and Hon Yahkubu Dogara forwarded the names of those the party wishes to occupy principal offices in both the Senate and House of Representatives. Copies of the letters below...

34 comments:

Seen. Lindaobserve

I hope d wishes will favour us o

READ THE FUNNY DIARY OF A JOBLESS NAIJA YOUTH

Hmmmmmm

BUT WCH WAI NAIJA..??WIT DS APC...TOMJERRYSWIT

Are they still on this? Smh

#SenatorBukolaSarakiIsATraitor/Betrayal

Is this the change they promised Nigerians? Old fools!!

I pray dis leasdership tussles in d NASS b resolve asap so dat dis leadership drama can come to an end thereof.

This people are seriously disgracing themselfs i swear....

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Nawa o

Ouch! Too bad all this is happening to them.
*nopity*

Angelhil said...

All correct Sir

Nice move

hian! this pple should get their ass together in time o, Nigerians r watching.

Dey shd listen 2 d party n let peace reign, dey still v many miles 2 cover

Ladun Liadi said...

The party is not an abstract entity, the party exists for its members not members for the party.

This PDP in collaboration with some snitches in APC are seriously working to undermine the APC, especially by putting a clog in the wheel of the anticipated War on corruption.
Lord help us.

Hmmm war in d house, not that they are even there to work

These old men should allow someone see road see berra things nah??? Linda take note!

Too many greedy and selfish elements in the APC.If they arent careful,their party will soon fizzle out

Now, this thing is beginning to get really annoying. Why is the party trying to impose leaders in NASS? If these candidates were picked democratically, then they would have been agreeable and no need to force them down people's throat. Do they owe these nominees any debt that unless they give them something by do or die?
"Leaders" should be chosen by the people being led, lest they lead in vain. So if these leaders are not being accepted, allow what is legal and democratic which states that the leaders of these houses should come from the party with the most members, so let NASS do like in civilized societies like in America, APC NASS members should hold an election for these position that is transparent like they do in the U.S. And they collectively elect they leaders.

Anything short of that is a continuation of the corrupt practices that we shouted,,,change, change, change.

APC, change oh! We do not want the status quo or the old corrupt way of doing things. So what separates you from PDP now? You are all the same. Same old same old.

Buhari's response will let us know if he is really serious about this his change and fighting corruption. Because, if he supports this up un-democratic, back-door, corrupt process, instead of a transparent process, then shame on him.

Saraki is a betrayal......shikena!

APC na wa oh,How will d change come na,dis party na wayoooo.

Yimu

Apc change! Apc change! Apc change! Bia kedu Aboki da warri by? Bonario shame on u! Ndi afo ojo! Unu kporo jonathan asi abi? Ngwa bia ka nke unu gazire unu. Sipping my guinness malt and peak milk. Lolo1

Respect wishes of d party, and wht abt wishes of Nigerians. D way, and manner they r going abt dis issue leave me wit thought of Nigerians b taken for granted by our politicians who we elect into power.

So d wishes of d party is now above d wishes of Nigerians peace or well being.

But with all this achievements and progress we are making, - dese guys are actually deluded

See their greedy faces

So what did the president say?