Model Temi stuns in new photos as she marks Work Vitiligo Day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 June 2015

Model Temi stuns in new photos as she marks Work Vitiligo Day

There is a lot of stigmatization that surrounds Vitiligo (pronounced Vi-Ti-Lai-Go). The skin condition is caused by de-pigmentation of some parts of the skin and usually occurs when skin pigment cells die or are unable to function. 

This skin condition is rare with worldwide incidences averaging 1% with most people who're affected being diagnosed before the age of 40. Temilola Omobajesu, a model affected with vitiligo, states that the confidence within you is the key to overcome the 'stigma'. 

"It took me some years to really accept Vitiligo. Vitiligo affected my modelling dreams and aspirations. Most Directors and Agents would tell me they couldn’t work with me. Some would even say it to my face that they need girls with beautiful skin not my patches." Temilola has started Viti-Dence Foundation, an NGO dedicated to the morale boosting of people with vitiligo and workshops on how to live with vitiligo with confidence, hence the name Viti-Dence (#vitiligo / #confidence.)
June 25th is World Vitiligo Day and Temilola celebrates it with an extensive photoshoot showcasing the confidence that says #InOurSkinWeWin! 

Purple is the international symbol colour for vitiligo!

Today, Temilola is an accomplished supermodel, video vixen for several top music videos, and a make-up artiste.
For information and support on Vitiligo, check the official page of VITI-DENCE on twitter and Instagram: @vitidence 
You can also follow her on twitter and instagram: @temynikan

66 comments:

I like her figure. Lindaobserve

ASHANKA said...

NICE

Amazing, she's looking flawless. Linda take note!

LUV HER CONFIDENCE....THUMBS UP BABE....TOMJERRYSWIT

OK cool!

Every group wanna be relevant..

Sexy a bit

SANDRA said...

Good for her. Miracleogbodo.blogspot.com

Don't really know her

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Awww

Hhmmm! dont discriminate

The last pic tho... #CamelToeAlert

Bad condition.

Steady said...

And who she don help

Good for her

And she must pose semi nude to get our attention and drive home her message.
I support her advocacy, but I'm against women objectification.

Awwww!!!! Im happy bout this!! Reminds me soo much of Winnie Harlow.. Proud of them... Nobody shud feel bad for who dey are naturally n can't control

Happy Vitiligo Day!!!! Am so proud of u girl.

It is well

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

go girl.......you have done well

It is well

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Ok good for her, this her cultural hair style dou

I LOVE HER COURAGE

All d best

linda onyx said...

My director of socials in camp had this. Mr ebony!

She looks good.

good call...she still very attractive

ebony said...

Nice one,well done

Good 4 her! Ginger ur swagger wit guinness malt and peak milk. Lolo1

Nice.

She's stunning

Ikuku AmStrong said...

Nice. #WhereverThereIsAWillThereIsAWay

Go girl.. you look amazing

If you watched Boondocks, you would be familiar with the word vitiligo, Uncle Ruckus claimed to have suffered from RE-vitiligo (which does not exist by the way) Michael Jackson credited his skin colour change to the condition though.

GUESS U MEANT WORLD NOT WORK...
BY D WAY HER OWN VITILIGO IS COOL..
BUT DAT PIC WITH A DRUM THO...EYES SEEIN TINZ...
DAT WARRI DUDE DR UFUOMA

Flat ass don't care

I love her already! Egedege things

Thanks for this Viti-Dence Foundation, i will be willing to show to you are grateful i am to develop Wab Application(Website)as a means of creating more awareness for your foundation. This will be done free of charge no matter how you want it.

Unyimeabasi Nelson.

She looks gud though no doubt....

Lee's Cryb said...

World nt work @linda

This ish still fright me.

Is it the uncle rukus vitiligo?
Lmao

Wow! Dis is y I lik our Africa ladies, alwaz cover up. She looks great, and lovely. God abundantly bless her.

It's on her feet only because I've seen many others with the discolorations on their face? There's a popular before and after pic on the blackospher of a black model with the white patches all over her face and then when she applies make up.

Can white people get vitiligo? Can the skin turn other than white for sufferes?

Thank you, Stella. If I had seen her before this post, I would have thought she was in a fire outbreak or accident. Pretty girl btw. Vi-Ti-Lai-Go

Being Tochi said...

Abeg.. She is not modelling material.. She's too stiff and doesn't evn know how to pose.

For large size ladies shoes whatsapp 08133415730 pin:3340F687 konga.com/prinzaih-big-feet

Fine girl

Nice cover

Well done dear

Was she trying to dance makosa in one of the pictures or what? She's fine and I like her confidence.

Miz_wendy said...

In our skin we win indeed ☺ stop the stigmatization.... u go girl!!!

Courage

The Sky Is Your Starting Point...%100

You must be very stupid!

mira cookie said...

I love winnie tooo! So proud of her

Amazingly different... Love her courage

WHAT IS THIS? @ LINDA .COM

Is it a coincidence that June 25, the anniversary of Michael Jackson's death is also the date for World Vitiligo day?!! Remember Michael had that Vitiligo thing, and decided to colour his whole skin like the vitiligo patches, but we all thought he hated being black...

Vitiligo is usually associated with Diabetes mellitus type-1, Thyroid disorder or some other endocrine abnormality in the body.

Nice one! Temi is just soaring high! Using your problem as an opportunity.... Guys pls give her a break. I'm sure some of u on here bad mouthing her didnt even know of this condition before. Temi never used to wear shorts cos of this vitiligo condition, but with the awareness all over, she's now confident.