It's a shame Nigeria still imports, eggs, toothpick, sugar, wheat - CBN Gov | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 June 2015

It's a shame Nigeria still imports, eggs, toothpick, sugar, wheat - CBN Gov

The Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele, says it is a shameful thing that Nigeria to still be importing some basic items such as wheat, eggs, toothpicks and others into the country when such items should be produced in Nigeria. Speaking at a news conference yesterday June 24th, Mr Emefiiele said to discourage the importation of such items, the CBN, banks and bureaux de change offices will henceforth seize to offer foreign exchange to business men & women who import such goods.

According to Mr Emefiele, the move by the CBN is to encourage the production of such items in Nigeria.
"Most of you are aware of the often-quoted number of N1.3 trillion, which is what we spend on average importing rice, fish, sugar, and wheat every year. I am saying it is shameful that we have to import toothpick. I am saying that it is shameful for us to import fish in sauce canned, fish in sauce and sardine. I am saying it is shameful. Before I was born palm kernel was taken out of Nigeria and taken to another country and today we go to that country and import palm oil. It is shameful. It is shameful that items that we used to produce in this country we now begin to import them.
It is shameful and we need to stop them. That is what we are saying. Only last week, I met the Governor of Kebbi State and he lamented the unfortunate situation in that state. Where people, our own farmers, have committed themselves to producing rice and have produced paddy and we have paddy glut in Kebbi State today. As I speak, the government has spent its money buying paddy from the rice farmers, almost close to 200,000 of paddy rice. Aside from that, Kebbi State farmers have unpurchased paddy rice close to 800,000 tons. And yet we patronise imported rice.
For our benefits, those rice imported to the country are those that have spent at least seven years in their stores and yet we have rice that is produced today in Nigeria and we are running away from them. The only way we can encourage people who are producing rice to go back to the farms is to do what we have done today. How can we keep complaining about the depreciation of the naira when all we do as a people is to import everything from ordinary Geisha and toothpicks to even eggs? These are some of the fundamental reasons behind the bank’s recent announcement.”he said
He warned that any bank or bureau de change outlet that offers foreign exchange to any business owner who imports such goods will be sanctioned
"Foreign exchange will not be provided by the Central Bank of Nigeria, the banks or by bureaux de change. If we find people flouting it, luckily these people we have mentioned are under our regulation, we know how to deal with them"he said

80 comments:

Big shame

Ladun Liadi said...

Alongside stifling importation, initiate programmes to stimulate local production.

Ok we are watching

Big shame.

Before nko?

Everybody is saying d same thing..."such a shame"..

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

I don tire for this country. I'm leaving for lagos.

Lol are u for real. Egg,toothpick and sugar. What a shame, when cameroon produces it's own sugar and so on.

True talk oh...

Wow!
Terrible anyways.

WEN WE CAN ACTUALLY DO ALL DS..TOMJERRYSWIT

No one respect naija products and everyone always say is fake, so what do yu expect..... I just hope things will change shah bcos is very embarrassing i swear.....

This country can import flies if to say they are beneficial in a way.Well,we are hoping for a better Nigeria .

Actually pple produce this things here, but its not enough for d whole Nigeria.. What dey need is support to boost production

walahi........... wen i haVE A poultry fa

meenah_wakil on instagram

kunta said...

Really a shame....when will we grow?......guess dats a question for the gods....the most prayerful country but nothing really works...I guess d devil himself is a Nigeria!...,on jugdement day i jst wonder wat jersey to wear...Nigeria jersey or Arsenal jersy jst to tell God av been tru hell already....*rotfl*

kunta said...

Really a shame....when will we grow?......guess dats a question for the gods....the most prayerful country but nothing really works...I guess d devil himself is a Nigeria!...,on jugdement day i jst wonder wat jersey to wear...Nigeria jersey or Arsenal jersy jst to tell God av been tru hell already....*rotfl*

Dumb Fuck.
Dude is jst waking up now.
slumber sluggard.
I dislike this scum jst like i do Cocroaches and Wall Geckos.

Indeed is shame dat we enegage in such importation whereas we can do far better wit producing dis products locally.

Which way Nigerians... God help us!

Click Here to Visit My Blog said...

Eggs O_O

Enna said...

That's naija for you

It's a big shame as big as we ar we stil import odinary egg. Jezzz.

"It's ybrecoz"

No be say he talk am, its really a very shameful thing, hoooohaaaaaaa

#ITwillONLYgetvBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

It's really a pity...😭😭😭. All those products needs to be banned.. GMB what are u still waiting for?!.

This country can import even flies if they are à bit beneficial.We keep hoping for a better Nigeris

Ofcourse when there's no conducive environment for entrepreneurship to thrive, when banks will ask you to get the teeth of a chicken before you could be given a lone, what do you expect.

nice move

It's a SHAME you're the PRESENT CBN GOVERNOR whose tenure is witnessing these ANOMALIES!

Very well said i hope it well implemented

Its not all bout saying it....do something to change it...we all know its a big shame but bring a way forward to it not just talking.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Make Loans available for the masses willing to invest in some of these things.

The Politicans should stop squandering our money..Ole Ole!

Johnson said...

Are u kidding me Mr CBN Governor..? What is the root-cause for these importations? Get FG to fix basic amenities - Power, Road... and this importations will stop as the environment will become more investment friendly. Your actions will only worsen the situation as inflation will sky-rocket.
It is high time we get intelligent and street-wise people into positions, not some theoretical bookworms!

Well said. I hope it continues this way. Nigeria will be a better place.

It's such a huge shame. God help us. Linda take note!

himself said...

Calm down sir,,the changes we campaigned for is coming,,dnt worry it wunt come lyk a thief in d NYT,,bt will come broad daylight,,b4 evribody koro koro eyes

desmond said...

very very shameful.

He as no brain,yeye man,it a shameful thing too that he allows the atm charges.was it nt wen he became the cbn governor he launch the atm charges again.he as nothin to say,pointless man.

I know we have enough resources in Nigeria.

I keep saying it. These are things that are very high in demand. There's a high unemployment rate in this country yet the govt can't construct industries that can produce these basic necessities. Not only will it reduce unemployment, it'll also tackle import deficits

HONEY said...

PERFECT ONE BOSS....I LOVE YOUUU

Oguike Emmanuel said...

May you live long because of this comment Mr Governor.If this type of discouragement should be done to some other imported goods and enhances the domestic production I bet you Nigeria will gradually improve.

Yea it is a shame.... really big shame, importing things like what he mention.

AMIJEZ said...

Very unfortunate. We are our own enemy.

Frank White NYC said...

Finally somebody is connecting the dots, but the Dollar is still going to be $1=N300 by the end of year.

ogeee said...

Pls dnt ban food stuffs until we begin to produce our own

WHY WONT NIGERIANS IMPORT THESE THINGS? LET'S BE FRANK, NIGERIANS ARE NOT TRUST WORTHY. THEY WILL USE CHULK TO MAKE PANADOL AND KILL INNOCENT PEOPLE. WHY SHOULD WE TRUST NIGERIAN PRUDUCT WHEN NIGERIANS HAVE NO INTEGRITY. THIS CHANGE HAS TO START FROM WITHIN US AS INDIVIDUALS. WE NEED TO LEARN TO HAVE INTEGRITY AS INDIVIDUALS AND STOP DUPING AND DECEIVING PEOPLE. THE OTHER DAY, OGOGORO KILLED MANY NIGERIANS BECAUSE OF POOR PROCESSING MATERIALS. TRUTH BE TOLD, CHANGE HAS TO START FROM US AS INDIVIDUALS. STOP WAITING FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO DO EVERYTHING FOR YOU. YOU TOO, MAKE A CONSCIOUS EFFORT TO CHANGE YOUR CHARACTER AS AN INDIVIDUAL AND NIGERIA WILL BE A BETTER PLACE

CBN Governor, it is not a shame oh. We Nigerians dont have integrity that's why we patronised foreign products. Nigerians will produce fake drugs for you which is dangerous to your health and you say i should not buy foreign panadol, you lie. I never ready to die oh.

The eggs that Nigerians are selling to you might even be the ones used to worship idols. Abeg i prefer foreign egg. I no trust Nigerians. Them too do juju

Muna said...

Can somebody please help me ask Mr. CBN governor the kind of rice he eats in his house? Just a thought.

Ma Fla said...

Big Shame!!!

The real issue is Nigeria banks including Zenith bank, the cbn gov last employer is that nigerians banks generally do not support small business and manufacturers to grow. If you are not a cadbury, dangote, nestle fo oil, biu etc they will hardly encourage you.

Nigeria banks are interested in quick money, they do not have the patience to nurture the growth of the economy. So it is easy for the cbn gov to just sit down and talk.

Why will people not resort to importing toothpick etc when you cannot borrow N5mill from a bank to set up a toothpick making factory. Even the Development bank are not better. Micro-finance bank is even better in lending that most banks but how much can they lend

Dis one is a lie it cannot hold water, those importer can never take this serious, infact how would the bureau de change know when they tell him that they are exchanging to import furnitures and clothes, so Emefiele is just try to assume but not facing reality,unless death sentence to those who committed the offence and back by law would try small.

This should be government policy and that is why we voted in governent to sede to this bit at the end. You see government blaming innocente civilians forma govt neglected duties and responsibility.

We import eggs, really?!!

HOW CAN YOU PATRONISE NIGERIAN PRODUCTS WHEN WE CAN'T TRUST NIGERIANS? TELL NIGERIANS TO CHANGE AS INDIVIDUALS. WE SHOULD STOP WAITING FOR THE GOVERNMENT

Dullarinho aka Buhari said it is ok to bring textile so why not egg and tootpick

For you Mr Emiefele reduce interest rate from banks in Nigeria from 22% to something more reasonable then people can invest in Nigeria. At such an interest rate hardly will any investment give a positive NPV so before you cry about the citizens and importers. Are you telling me today that if I am ready to stop importing wheat today there is an incentive from the government to help me if not then sit down and look for something to do. Also, importing might just be stopping a food crisis, because if you limit imports, there will be a shortage with high demand and you know what will happen to price, it will topple and you will want to increase interest rate again to counter it. So slowly find an incentive for people to slowly move from importing to producing that is your headache not mine, I will always stick with what is rational for me. Because importing is keeping this foods affordable, we do not have the ability to sustain the current price and demand when import quantity is restricted.

sisi said...

Are you just knowing it a shame? Why didn't you make this statement when Jonathan was in power?

La said...

It is a shame we have this guy as the CBN governor. We import all these items because all our factories and industries are dead. Not until we have steady power supply, then we can talk of producing these items here.

This man is just waking up. You still need to wake up. Revisit cashless policy you have suspended.You are not helping the banks and the country by so doing. You have individuals that still lodge as much as 3 to 4 billion naira per week in some banks in Nigeria.

In a developed economy like US , you will not see an average american carrying cash.It is Card. We were making progrss before you aborted it .Wake up Mr Governor after paddy paddy you did with my Uncle Jonathan.Please Wake up and write your name in gold. We need comprehensive directions and policies from you.

how do we come out of it. it is not in stopping them, what measure have been put in place to cover the loopholes.

it is indeed shameful but that's what our senseless leaders have done to us

Please champion this issue oga cbn governor. Keep talking about it till government does something

Nigeria should wake up and embark consumption on locally produce goods.

eddie000 said...

Create jobs and stop blabbing, or if the companies are built with expatriates to tutor workers is it bad? You people at the top know the truth but because of what you stand to gain you won't do anything.

Ikuku AmStrong said...

Very nice. This is the kind of change we want, not the type going on in the NASS

He should shaaarrrappp he needs to be probed ole man

Pls keep quiet, where is d power to run factories?

cathy said...

Dis is not something u can just stop by force Mr man, gvt hav to provides equipment dat ll make it easy for dem n organize a seminar for dos farmers so dat dey ll not farm n kill dem selves, and at d same time produce rice dat ll b like dat of OYIBO without stone inside, dat is my own

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Eggs and toothpick for real? a big shame really.

the pple dat should delibrate on matters like dis are busy fighting at the national assembly. God help Nigeria, and lets help ourselves

Anika_YGNL said...

We are so backward.

An African proverb says, it's the house rat that invites the bush rat into it. When people fail to value/develop themselves, their God-given talents and resources, don't be surprised/discontented when an outsider/foreigner comes in and treats you less than. Countless examples in the world abound to show poorer or less endowed economies than Naija's that took the reins and became power houses today e.g. China, Malaysia, Indonesia, India, Brazil to list a few. Lesson: they all started from meagre beginnings; they trusted and had confidence in themselves and attendant economic policies. It's now 2015 and the question remains: Which way Naija?

Damochedxb said...

When you had a clueless Government who instead of starting from the little things wanted to go from non-production of tooth pick and sugar to production of substandard cars that came at a high price, all driven by greed of a few people at the top. Them nor fit produce egg but them wan force us to buy nonsense car....

Damochedxb said...

They didnt fix the roads nor gave us stable electricity, yet they want to deceive themselves by pretending to be a car producing Nation and force the citizens to buy the substandard vehicles. Bunch of idiots.

The way forward is God's kingdom

Everyone is telling the CBN government to do something about the importation of these goods. Please be informed that the CBN governor has done what he can do. He can only advice the FG on what they should do. So Buhari will decide the next steps to take.
Another person comments that he is just waking up...Please when did the guy enter office that you want his to start changing everything? Even Buhari is yet to start real work as he is still getting familiar with the office.
And as for the banks, i personally believe that if we can stabilize our currency and economy, we can then start seeing changes in the banking industry towards loans as their forcast can then be more stable.

I personally support the CBN governor's move as i believe it will push Nigerians in the right direction. Let the FG provide the environment for growth, that is not the CBN governor's role.

U r just one ODE why he no talk am when GEJ was in pwr abi? Or Is he just realizing now that we import toothpick, furniture and eggs, Nonsense man biko mechie onu n bring bera banking policy that wil help naija