Court prevents Gov. Wike from sacking 23 LG chairmen | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 June 2015

Court prevents Gov. Wike from sacking 23 LG chairmen

The National Industrial Court in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, has restrained Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, the state House of Assembly and their agents from dissolving or, in any manner whatsoever, interfere with the tenure of office of the 23 local government council chairmen in Rivers State.

A Federal High Court in Port Harcourt, yesterday, adjourned till July 9, for hearing in another suit by the 22 council chairmen against the Rivers State Government. The case is before Justice B. Quadri.

As early as 7a.m., supporters of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and All Progressives Congress, APC, had taken over the premises of the Federal High Court on Station Road, Port Harcourt. To prevent breakdown of law and order, policemen had to close one of the lanes to traffic.

The atmosphere was tense. The trial judge noted that among other things, the issues before him bordered on jurisdiction of the court and abuse of court processes and he urged parties to file their papers correctly. He said that his attention had been drawn to moves by the plaintiffs to secure an order from the National Industrial Court in Bayelsa State. Meanwhile, trial judge of at the National Industrial Court, Justice J. Agbadu-Fishim, made the order, Monday, following an ex-parte application argued by counsel to the council chairmen.Governor Wike, Rivers State Attorney General, Rivers State House of Assembly, Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission, President Muhammadu Buhari, Attorney-General of the Federation and Inspector General of Police are defendants in the suit. Justice Agbadu-Fishim held:
“The governor of Rivers State, the Rivers State House of Assembly and the Attorney-General of Rivers State and their agents are hereby restrained from dissolving, suspending, sacking terminating or in any manner, whatsoever, interfering with the tenure of office of the 23 council chairmen of Rivers State, pending the hearing and determination of the motion on notice for interlocutory injunction.
At the Federal High Court, Port-Harcourt , Attorney General of the state and counsel to Rivers State Government, Emma Aguma, accused the council chairmen of abuse of court process for filing the same process before the National Industrial Court in Bayelsa State. On his part counsel to the plaintiffs, Mr Abiodun Owonikoko, SAN, said his clients did not abuse court process as alleged by the state Attorney General.

Vanguard

33 comments:

we dey watch

More drama in rivers state.

Damilola said...

This wike guy needs to chill out lest he is restrained with chains like a mad man

Damilola said...

He is definitely a direct staff of mama P abi na man-friend?

Lmao! Nyeso my boo pls calm down OK? Calm calm calm...

I don't just understand dis Wike guy. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

Concerned Nigerian Woman said...

Once again Amaechi wins.

Wike and his excesses

okay heard

phatgal said...

whats wrong dis buffon wike sef?

Can Wike get over this *party* squabble already and start working??? since he resumed office all projects seem to have stopped working. Biko fashi Amaechi's tenure and start working on yours. Remember, you too will be probed. Your governorship isn't to be a personal vendetta.

This man's days re numbered in dt office. I thought he said he has repented? What is ateke doing in his entourage?

HMMMM....TOMJERRYSWIT

pls somebody should tel dis man to get a life

I tink this man needs his brain examined

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Good

Hmmmmm

Hmmmmm

Wike is just angry. How can you sack elected local govt chairmen? This Wike is an idiot!!!

I hope d order of d court wil b respected, and folllowed accordingly...

Dis wike guy own don dey become too much o, na only him waka come?

Shut up

Shut up u ignorant felow

Sharrap

Y nt boda urself ova ur st buhary hu has kept da natn stagnant for abt a month now.

Sharrap my friend

Dumb ass.learn to apeak frm ur brain nd nt frm ur anus

On d contrary, u ar d lunatik...go examine urslf alredy

U just comented lyk d idiot u ar..cos if u ar nt just a big IDIOT u wud hv knwn dt an electn don by only one party wer der ar several partis dt ar ordinarily suposed to b don by al dese partis, is far frm an electn, nd wrst stil, don in d face or against a restraing oda properly givn by a competent ct of law

From one issue to anoda,guy concentrate...

Okwa ima Nwa benekuku a ....gini ka ana akpo di gi? Damilola mmaa gi ura eeh! You'll forget your birthday. Uchicha gutter

Lolz drama

pharmimi said...

Afterall there was an injunction to stop d local govt election bt dey went ahead wit it, I trust Wike he wuld still do wat he wnts to do now APC knws we av courts bcos Wike opened it