Buhari to governors: Days of impunity, lack of accountability is over! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 June 2015

Buhari to governors: Days of impunity, lack of accountability is over!

Press statement from Presidency below...
President Buhari Tuesday in Abuja assured State Governors that the days of impunity, lack of accountability, and fiscal recklessness in the management of national resources are over in Nigeria. Speaking at a meeting with the Governors in the Presidential Villa, President Buhari also vowed that funds stolen by government officials who abused their offices in the recent past will be recovered and systemic leakages stopped.
"There are financial and administrative instructions in every government parastatal and agency. But all these were thrown to the dogs in the past. Honestly, our problems are great, but we will do our best to surmount them.
"The next three months may be hard, but billions of dollars can be recovered, and we will do our best, " the President told the governors.

Expressing surprise that  the governors had tolerated the atrocities allegedly committed with the Excess Crude Account since 2011, President Buhari promised to tackle the issue decisively.

The President declared that the payment of national revenue into any  account other than  the Federation Account was an   abuse of the constitution, adding that what he had heard  was going on in many agencies and corporations, particularly the NNPC, was clearly illegal.

On the refund of monies spent on federal projects by state governments, President  Buhari assured the governors that the Federal Government will pay, but insisted that due process must be followed.

The President promised special assistance for the three North Eastern  states badly affected by the Boko Haram insurgency.

He also said that  a comprehensive statement  on the economic and financial situation inherited by his administration   will be made to the nation within the next four weeks.

"We will try and put the system back into the right position. What happened in the 2nd Republic has apparently happened again, and even worse, but we will restore sanity to the system," President Buhari assured the Governors.

On an immediate lifeline for states that owe salaries running into many months, President Buhari said that a committee headed by the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, will look at the Excess Crude Account and see what can be shared immediately.

The governors, led by Chairman of the Governors Forum, Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara State, had presented a wish list to the President that  included:
Ø Obedience of extant Supreme Court ruling that all monies go into the Consolidated Federation Account;
Ø An order from the President that all revenue generating agencies must pay into the Consolidated Federation Account;
Ø Review of the Revenue Allocation Formula;
Ø Refund of the monies expended by states on federal projects;
Ø A special consideration for the three states of the North East under Boko Haram infestation;
Ø  Full details of the amounts that accrued into the Excess Crude Account from 2011, and how the money miraculously shrank without official sharing.

Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media and Publicity)
June 23, 2015

80 comments:

edo juju said...

Tell them! At last the business of governance has left the hands of court jesters!

better

Sisi Jemimah said...

That's my president!

Learn how to cook for your husband like a pro. Say NO to concoction food, visit sisijemimah.com for Nigerian recipes with step by step preparation photos http://sisijemimah.com/2015/06/19/party-jollof-rice-nigerian/

Mr president pls endeavor that ur word is fulfilled. We really need our leaders to be accountable for actions.

CHANGE!

U spoke well my presido, nice 1

Arinze Chiji said...

Too much talk! Get to work already!

Property Arena Ng said...

Baba better back that word with action we are tired of words without of our politicians

Angelhil said...

allcorrect sir

Will will will that's all i keep hearing... Bugarri gosinu anyi change nwanu! Ona acha red koo green? Hian!

Tchid Mr TIL said...

I Love this pic linda... Dax ma Presido

We'll have to wait and see

Great and a new Nigeria is born and the days of operation share the money is over. Tinubu God bless you for PMB and we forgive u your sins in Lagos cos of this act. Nigeria we finally in the right path.

Now Mr president is talking.. That's d kind of thing I wanna hear.. No hiding place for government criminals anymore.. Kudos Mr president 👍

NIGERIA VOTED FOR CHANGE NOT FOTOS

But we needs less talk and immediate implementation... Carry go Mr president 👍

We need action ASAP...👍

naso ...but first look into that NASS allawance, this is not the kind of change we signed up for

EjYcE Bugatti said...

This is what we call a good leader...GMB God will guide you and ordain all your steps. Forward ever Nigeria...#GodBlessNigeria!!!

Hmm ok, Sai Baba, may God continue to protect u nd Osinbajo, to lead Nigeria Amen.

My man has spoken. So shall it be.
http://www.naijists.com/beautiful-empress-njamah-releases-photos-from-her-vacation-in-londonphotos/

Nemo said...

Okay....

There is fire on the mountain ! We dey watch

I Hope better days are ahead.

I hope they work o...

Oh yes o! Who no fit manage should give way. No time for nonsense. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Enough of all these 'we will,we will...' Let's see action already!!

Fayose faced his Master. Hmmm!

Kaylincurty said...

Good one

peterkurdor said...

okay

GMB- The Governos are the major problem of Nigeria. Your SATLITE should be beamed on them.

Sai buhari is working

COLLIN said...

I pray

Presentation by the Governor's to the President, is all about money, money, money, share, share, share, fund, fund, fund, amount, amount, amount, abeggggggggggggg..........what Governors are dying for, how share oil mony,while poverty are killing our people in our villages. God help Nigeria.

Good start Mr. President

See as wike dey look like suegbe,if linda likes make she nor post my comment because that is what she does.Just watch out for one stupid egg plant comment and she will post it,the babe don dey vex person.

I wish them well, and d very best thereof. I pray PMB meet Nigeria expectations.

Karlsson said...

Na only complain U dey complain since U assumed office Baba. If d situation is overwhelming, just quit already or U do something abt d situation pls
Ubanagum

Action Speaks Louder than Words,Buhari time to act is now!

wike i see you,our president 2023

Story for the gods. Get to work and quit complaining.

Plenty talk. tired much. Buhari please get to work

Are we still at this stage?

has any one heard oby ezks voice on BBOG was she just an agent to remove GEJ. i just wonder.

Na so!

God continue to bless and strengthen you sir.

Way to go! everyone of them should fasten their seat belt for a roller coaster ride

Good Mr. President

But funny thing is. There's nothing he can do in terms of indicting governors. They have immunity. The govt can only be sued

Slow and steady wins the race

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Wise comment.

A comment from a house help! Anytime 1 I knw.

Bush rat I see u.

I like ur comment this time is objective unlike welhemenenene Moses or Wats her name called?

Actions dat ur brother couldn't parform in years hipocrate.

Amen!

I DONT KNOW WHY PEOPLE ARE STILL TALKING ABOUT ACTION INSTEAD OF TALKING. THE ACTION HAS ALREADY STARTED NA. THEY HAVE ALREADY RECOVERED 22 CARS FROM THE WIVES OF THE EX-GOVERNOR OF BAUCHI. SO BE PATIENT. THE PROBLEM WITH NIGERIA IS THAT THEY ARE VERY IMPATIENT. THEY ARE ALWAYS IN A HURRY THAT'S WHY THEY MAKE MISTAKES. YOU CAN EVEN SEE IT IN THE WAY THEY DRIVE. NAIJA WE ALSO NEED TO CHANGE OUR WAYS AND CHARACTERS AS INDIVIDUALS NOT WAITING FOR BUHARI. BUHARI CANNOT DO IT ALONE

This is all getting really boring really fast. Old administration, New administration NEITHER have a clue.

GGS said...

Forgive fire. we most all face the wrought of the law.ass

Ur d bush rat. Cnt sum1 say somtin again on dis blog wifout been insulted haba

Why should the probe start with GEJ? $2b disappeared when PMB was Petroleum Minister under OBJ's military government, over $12 b Gulf oil windfall vanished under IBB, billions of dollars were looted under OBJ's civilian Administration why is PMB not starting the probe from them? Is it because GEJ is not a retired General?This is sheer selective victimization which is capable of throwing this country in to chaos and pandemonium. PMB should be wary of vindictive politics. For it's not always that those who starts a war that wins it.

U want an instant miracle in 3weeks? You must be an idiot.... The path to change takes a step and the president has jst start..

U r a bastard.

Jobless fuuuu.

Dani said...

Past governor dont have immunity

Chief Ojuolape said...

Please wat of Fayose?

Did your GEJ do any talking not to mention working.All he did was always gesticulate like a hare brained man & looting us blind.

Then what is he doing?

omee said...

Buhari needs prayers because he has no idea of economics or finance and he is being puppeted around. These useless governors that sued the Fg for excess crude money that was supposed to act as shield for a fragile economy dependent on a volatile crude market, are asking for more.
And he is stupidly agreeing. Has he asked them why they dont bring their own state revenues to be shared? Mumu. He doesnt understand jack n is making noise. The laws are clear.
Just pray for the old man. He is complaining of empty treasury. When without that same tiny remaining excess crude the economy managed a crises for over 1yr esp in an election year. Economists had better move in fast n advise the man. That is if the cabal around him will agree.
Pray for Nigeria

Miriam nwannem ina atupuru ndi OSU imi onu? Mtchew! Too busy to notice anon.

Ekwensu wuo GI fuel muo GI oku @ anon...mind u Nnenne is my dear friend. U and am no dey same stand oh. NNE abeg we go talk later for phone, u no naa

True!

Buhari needs prayers because he has no idea of economics or finance and he is being puppeted around. These useless governors that sued the Fg for excess crude money that was supposed to act as shield for a fragile economy dependent on a volatile crude market, are asking for more.
. Has he asked them why they dont bring their own state revenues to be shared? He doesnt understand . The laws are clear. He is complaining of empty treasury. When with that same tiny remaining excess crude the economy managed a crises for over 1yr esp in an election year. Economists had better move in fast n advise the man. That is if the cabal around him will agree.
Pray for Nigeria

Yeah..(y) ..@anon 8:07 that B word is very correct =D> =E> #=-S

Eheheheheheh....no Royal rumble pls! Let the Bs talk...

Adetunji Saka said...

Thank God o. Perhaps after paying osun workers he can consider we d corpers too for our state allowee.

"Slow and steady wins d race"

I DONT KNOW WHY PEOPLE ARE STILL TALKING ABOUT ACTION INSTEAD OF TALKING. THE ACTION HAS ALREADY STARTED NA. THEY HAVE ALREADY RECOVERED 22 CARS FROM THE WIVES OF THE EX-GOVERNOR OF BAUCHI. SO BE PATIENT. THE PROBLEM WITH NIGERIA IS THAT THEY ARE VERY IMPATIENT. THEY ARE ALWAYS IN A HURRY THAT'S WHY THEY MAKE MISTAKES. YOU CAN EVEN SEE IT IN THE WAY THEY DRIVE. NAIJA WE ALSO NEED TO CHANGE OUR WAYS AND CHARACTERS AS INDIVIDUALS NOT WAITING FOR BUHARI. BUHARI CANNOT DO IT ALONE