Pres. Jonathan demanded N2trillion election funds to be refunded? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 19 April 2015

Pres. Jonathan demanded N2trillion election funds to be refunded?

According to an exclusive Punch report, he did. Below is what they are reporting...
Following the defeat suffered by President Jonathan and his party, the PDP during the March 28 and April 11 elections, the President has asked the party and government officials who handled campaign funds to refund monies not spent, or those not judiciously expended, Sunday Punch can authoritatively report.
Jonathan, credible sources said, has also set up a committee of five to get those with the funds to return them.
Sources within the party and government told our correspondents that President Jonathan was disturbed that despite giving campaign coordinators, ministers, special advisers, close aides and friends, support groups and traditional rulers over N2trn in cash, most of them could not deliver their polling booths and local governments.
The President was said to have been further irked by the results of an investigation he ordered. The probe showed that some coordinators used campaign funds to buy very expensive properties, especially in Abuja, and luxury cars. Some of the funds have also been traced to the bank accounts of senior party and government officials who were charged with the disbursement of funds to voters and groups.
A reliable source within the Presidency said, 
“Some ministers did not get less than N20bn each. None of them can deny it because this fact isn’t hidden within government circles. The only problem with such monies is that there is no receipt to show that they collected money. The sad part is that almost all of them performed woefully. Even in the states where the PDP won, some ministers could not deliver 100,000 votes. They could not mobilise their people to come out. The President is not happy. They all went property and car shopping. This was the most expensive election in the history of this country, yet there was no result.
“The sad part was that even after the President lost on March 28, more money was given to all of them to make up for the dismal outing by winning their states during the April 11 elections. But that turned out to be a bad decision because apart from losing the governorship election, we didn’t perform well at the National Assembly and House of Representatives polls.
“They must give an account of the money since they didn’t use it for the election. The President is not particular about the funds spent on genuine campaign needs like the hiring of jets, advertisements and the rest that also cost billions of naira. His focus is on the individuals that collected billions to deliver their states but couldn’t even win their polling booths.”
Read the rest on Punch

242 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 242 of 242

Fool!

U forgot to insult ur Shero o.leave Ffk gf alone.

Kwakwakwakwa......jona was spending privolously $ peps took advantage of it ,opc,celebs $ co. PDP outspent APC in this election, but APC made smarter use of their fund oshe!corruption is in jonathan DNA wallahi $ I hope better nemesis catch up wit this zombie, mumude,Agbaya,muchimuchi,wawa,Oruvwe ! In d history of Nigeria, Jonathan is d most corrupt president of d highest order.I thank God for opening the eyes of Nigerian, too see d snake called Hero over night,Hero ko Shero,Shero noni! General Muhammad Buhari is d real deal! Sai baba

Tony said...

this jonathan has got to be the biggest fool in the planet. is it just me or does someonelse see stupidity in his looks eachtime he wants to talk

olu said...

Dude, what opposition? He already lost... What could "the opposition" possibly stand to gain from defaming him

Gobe!!

It's our money. If they had shared two million per nigerian. It would have gone round a population of 150 million

LIES...read it in one of the dailes and the author was just OUR CORRESPONDENTS...sources were anonymous...LIES

This is sad, no wonder FFK bought the latest 2014 range rover for his squeeze. Wonder what he would have done for himself. Its only in this country that pipl who had no genuine source of income would live proudly and shamelessly on stolen funds. See what happened to Jesse Jackson's son ending up in jail for spending campaign money to furnish his home.

Punch newspaper is fill of it these days. There's no attempt whatsoever to hide their partisan posture. It has been consistent, without no shame whatsoever, in showing that it is no longer a news media, but rather, an attack lynch pin for APC. If Nigerians were to think twice before swallowing every news item hook line and sinker, they would have realized that this news item is nothing but yellow journalism at its best. Take a look at the figure being bandied about by Punch, 2trn naira, there's no way shape or form that such an amount would have been spent on the election. My God, do these arm chair journalists at Punch realize how much a trillion actually is? While real journalists all over the world are busy in the field doing investigative journalism, Punch 'journalists' and their ilks would sit in their offices and manufacture cock and bull stories every day. What a shame!!

Chyke
City: Unknown

Now u call it story...then u come here to defend Jonathan! Shame on u!! Later u complain u don't have electricity,health care etc when f president can give trillions in naira for campaign, is d money his personal money or pple donated it? Money they would have used to better lives of Nigerians and they won't need to beg us to re_elect them. D sentiment and hypocrisy of pple like u made this country what we are.

It is true Barr. I have sources who collected share from this money. 2bn naira was given to each pdp state office.

Babe they don't av to print it now. If u may know , there is more money in the politician houses than we av in bank now. A case in point is th $700 million found in diaziani house. Yeah I know Is rumour but I will not be surprised if it's true. Jona was too desperate and they av access to excess crude money. It u think they declare all the crude that goes out from this country. Thank God d mumu is gone

That serves him right. When you refuse to perform and instead choose to buy traditional rulers and bribe voters, that is what you get.

Gbenga said...

You're a bastard! There, I've insulted you and nothing my happen.

OMG! the PDP is a herbinger designed to destroy Nigeria. N2trn just to bribe and win electorates votes? In a country 55yrs old but can't boast of stable electricity? God pls scatter and decimate the PDP and let them never recover as a party in Nigeria again. Never again!

Dr90210 said...

Na talk him wan tAlK

GEJ's money or Nigeria's money?

Too bad u av d father of all the thieves as ur mentor

We are very sad that you thought that billions and thrilions will return you to power instead of transformating Nigeria as you promised us.I hope that GMB will learn from your kings,bigmen,politics

You already know you're plain stupid that's why you're placing curse on your head. Did they say he came out to say it? Did they say he went on ait to request for a refund of the money?But why do you choose to be this stupid?

Stay there make pants dey wear you. Have you been paying attention at all? When minister of finance said Nigeria is broke who did you think is causing it? Why is every sector in Nigeria paralysed? It's cos no money

Well,we know ur type.what else are u supposed to say.

Yeah I wonder too. But Fayose should be exemp, he did a pretty good job though. Buhahahahahaha

When GEJ decided to overhaul d power sector and paid off all d staff dat were sacked monies worth trillions I recall asking,y dat money being used to pay dam off be used do build more power stations or whatever is required to provide adequate power in this country?and someone told me dis 'our president might look timid on d outside,but he is d cunniest thief Nigeria would have for a ruler'. And now dis? This is just a proof that president Jonathan is a THIEF. And he think because he openly conceded defeat and received accolades for it,he can pull different public stunts to deceive Nigerians.what does he think he is doing?making us feel we av lost a statesman?HELL NO!we got rid of Nigeria's worst nightmare.U were in a cage? And yet u were so desperate to remain in dat cage u spent 2Trillion Naira!Pls,save ur Tales of Woe for the gods.And now d thief is asking his fellow thieves to return d money they all stole, SMH. I'm glad Nigerians decided to wise up. And for u his blind followers,i only feel sorry for u.

Well serves Nigeria and Nigerians right, alot of Nigerians vote along ethnic and mostly religious lines. Someone in my office because he's her christian brother. Nigerians are foolish and unrealistic people so they fall victim of these kind of things. Some are even saying its a propaganda! Can u imagine,in da face of da truth sum still choose to live in denial. Let those who supported him cover their faces in shame, non of them got a kobo from dat money yet they blindly and stupidly supported him all in arrogance envy of GMB. They knew he's a bad leader but envy, they wickedly and arrogantly support GEJ even when they knew the truth.

Lol who send am

Yawa don gas, casala don burst, b4 we use 2 hear hundreds later it turned to thousands 4rm der it jumped 2 millions n billions n now we r in d era of trillions chai! Der is God o. Dis same govt couldn't afford 20k per month 4 graduate seeking 4 job bt can afford #1.06trillion 4 campaign, posterity wl judge u all. As 4 d lyks of ffk, asari, okupe, Abati, Gani Adams n d rest, una don eat weytin una no go fit swallow o. Efcc, abeg arrest all of dem including president jona

I took 8 million Naira out of the money, even his fore fathers can not get it from me.

Wr did he got de money from, u dey answer oyibo name u no fit speak gud english.

hahaha. Baba Jonathan don carry last. hehe

This is wickness of the highest order.wick should not unpunished.

story.

Baby Girl, most of the Cash(es) are stored in Ware Houses.
Luv ur Genius though.

That is u Bae. That is u.
Bt those trollz out there don't give a FUCK.

You are the only one with brain here. How can people believe this kind lies? Yes PDP spent excessively, but not up to this ridiculous amount.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

iyke cindy said...

God bless u for dis beautiful write up,his first tenure purged him.Not like he's gonna get a refund tho,so chill Mr presido.

Nicole said...

I'm shocked that people actually believe this story ! How the hell do you think he would publicly announce to the world that he bribed ministers and party agent ? Don't you know that it's illegal ? Lmfao @ no receipts! Do you receive a receipt when you collect bribe? Do you obtain a receipt from police men after giving them egunje? Does a thief give you receipt and invoice after robbing you? Lmfao! I don't believe this story one bit!

Real medicine after death, totally useless. Jonathan go to your village and stop acting like u were ever accountable and responsible with the nations wealth smh

So Nigeria get dis kind money and the citizen are suffering? Goodluck God punish you and ur generation. If I get dis kind money,I will not hustle till I die

Ikponwa

@Royal... where do u actually stand? today you twist ur mouth to the right, tomorrow u will twist to d left. Indeed u r suffering from PDP syndrome. Say a thing in d morning, deny it in d afternoon n claim you never said it at night. Bros abeg make u change

Maybe na HERO beer him be

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 242 of 242   Newer› Newest»