Why are all these Naija hotel workers striking and protesting? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 January 2015

Why are all these Naija hotel workers striking and protesting?

First, it was the staff of Radisson Blu Hotel on Ozumba Mbadiwe, Victoria Island. The hotel had to be temporarily shut down after their workers refused to continue work, claiming they haven't been paid for at least two months. In fact they protested in front of the hotel on Monday January 26th. Now it's the staff of Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos. A few of them have sent me emails explaining their own side of what's happening. Apparently, over 100 of them have refused to work, alleging ill treatment and not being paid enough.

Isn't there like a union for hotel workers in Nigeria that can sort this out for members?

89 comments:

Na naija we dey..

Kikiki..see Gobe!

Even the workers that have union are ineffective.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

jessica egolo said...

I think since it's private property owned by individuals there won't be. But that is soo unfair.

They don't have Union... All man on his own...

Seems like its a trend with Nigerian hotels, if you get close to their staff they always complain of not being paid enough for the services they render. Yet to see a hotel staff that lasted beyond a year.

I doubt if there is any union tho ..

OKORO UPGRADED **

Hummmmmm....just hope they do have a union, else na O.Y.O.

Its a sad situation but having had first hand experience in the Nigerian hospitality industry. I can categorically confirm that there is no union available. Hotel staff are routinely maltreated and their wages held back at will.

The only complaint they are having is about payment, so if that is taken care of, no more problems..a labourer is worthy of his reward. 1 tim 5:18. @Bishop_Dammy

Hi linda, am a staff of federal palace hotel, because of thier wicked act, they refuse us having union, all we need is union.

Jennifer vivian said...

What is this country turning into...employers don't pay their employees anymore

Hi linda, am a staff of federal palace hotel, because of thier wicked act, they refuse us having union, all we need is union.

Paul Ofou said...

The ill of slave labor #verysad

that's very bad and wicked

How I wish they know how many months salary am yet 2 collect. Linda, most companies do not allow union like where I work, that is if na work I dey work.

Amablaze said...

All dis so called big hotels hardly get customer,cos no b evrybody get d moni to afford room der or buy drinks..it's dier loss dou..mak dem ask dt ndokwa man dt has hotel almst evrywre in lag hw he did it,cos d man is reali a millionaire..meanwhile I feel 4d workers sha cos e no easy after work no payment,can b frustrating.

Hahahhaha
I even saw dem @ raddison 2day
Dey should calm down jooor

Union Linda u pay too many attention to how western world is been run to Nigeria

Dey don't need any special union, if dey are registered with NLC, den dat shld do. Linda take note!

Mtweeee, Rubbish my boss pays me for last month, the middle of d following month...wen I challenged him, he said even government owe workers, what else can I say Dan to keep mute...

Abi naa poor employer and employee relationship is not good.am sure they know the kind of money the hotel makes through them and they are not been getting paid that's nt fair at all..

Dere is a union of hotels, but I guess dey aint doin anytin abt it; corruption levels

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

They are protesting and striking because they want "CHANGE" lol......not vacuum cleaner or broom

••••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••••

omobaba said...

Yeah saw it in the news. We need God's divine intervention.

I don't know why hotels are like this
They don pay well and still owe their workers
And most hotel workers work 24hours
This is not fair

if the culture of unionism were embraced in Nigeria workers would sleep easier at night & everyone would be a lot happier. these people need a voice. a loud & strong one at that.

Liflblog.wordpress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

Hotel staffs dey suffer well well...no wonder they take all the frustration on guests..... And they steal guests belongings

Please they should pay them well and give them good package that will motivate them as they do their work....

There is this hotel in warri....the staffs are well taken care of...in fact u see it through them....the smiles they give u.....and also every month they give award....for most outstanding staffs and other awards...that alone make them to do their job very well...when there is incentives

Na wa oh! I heard hotel staff but depends on the grade and dept oh are not paid well

Southern sun protested before Radisson blu.

hotel managers attend to your staff

Steady said...

Let them find better jobs

ukbliss said...

Na only dem waka come, who send dem work

Jeni_zee said...

They need a union to fight for their interest

I haven't heard of that o. Hmmmm.

Naija is a very silky country, is only in my country

Eyaaa, it hurts after over labouring, you are not well remunerated. All these hotels with big names like 5star, 3 star, 0 star etc, na for mouth ooo

Lin Lin my love!

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

People av refused to av sex and focus on d forth comin elections, so hw dem wan tk pay na. Linda reply d mail ask if dem get association, me wey I no dey work der how I wan take knw. #happyweds

very rude

They should have a Union. How can someone work 2 months without pay?

Im preety sure dis would make a good political headline push. ...
Say no to GeJ....we need a Change.....lol

Jonathan has suffered. Lol....

Umu ashawo should form d association and pick dia leader ka udiri ihea kwusi sharp sharp.....

wow
Hey pls visit www.thestylecafe.blogspot.com if you love fashion. its awesome!

Even the "private sector" has their own wahala.. Later them go blame GEJ for not managing 6million people when them no fit marriage just hundreds

In solidarity with the workers. I hope they unionize and organize accordingly for their rights.

D high cost of operating hotel is too high often times runs into millions couple wit our unstable power supply.

I was formally in dis sector and d trend of none salary payment is prominent issue. Thank God am out of dis sector.

D case is really alarming which is experienced in almost all d hotels except for few one's dat r extremely doing well.

I wil not advice my enemy to wrk in d hotel no matter hw big d pay is.

I doubt if they have one

doll (retired blogger) said...

Are you joking? Try and get a room at 4points or raddisson or intercontinental on a Friday without reservation and see if you will find space

Hotel workers have a union? I swear I didn't know that!

Huh??? Say that again....In English this time please.

That is their glass of champagne.

elovi said...

Lols. Make dem pay dem na

Modern day slavery

i work with at Federal Palace.The South Africa GM is a hard and wicked person aided by some of our senior Nigeria managers.They maltreat you and fire you at d sletest error without remose even if yu win the award for best staff yesterday. No promotion,growth or invividual dev part. They constantly remind us that there are no jobs in Nigeria if we get sacked. The height of this maltreatment was when they decided last year to be removing 7500 monthly from our sdalaries because we have been over paid for 5 years.

That's fraud and slavery

Is that the best you can say?

Forex said...

Chei, all these hotels? All at once? But wait oh! Why aren't the management of these hotels talking? A single-sided story is never a complete story.

Nne said...

Look, I have been in the position of an employee before and I am now in the position of an employer of labour. There is one thing I can tell you all: It usually seems easy when you are an employee. You come to work, do your 6 hours and go back home. The employer on the other hand, spends all day and night making contacts, looking for business, strategezing and all that. Then when the money comes in, the employee expects to get almost as muych money as the employer? are you kidding? When the busines enter financial trouble, employee go dust im leg waka. If the business close down, employee carry im kaya, and move. But when things are going good and the employer is enjoying his investment and pampering himself for all his sleepless nights, we call him wicked. Abeg make una pack well biko

Ruthcindy said...

Dis is getting serious. Why are those in power denying their workers pay? Its so unfair nah. Mtchew

Linda there is a union. I work with a labour centre. Infact these people were fired because they were unionised. The management does not want them to be involved with union activities. My boss was in a meeting yesterday with the management of federal palace hotel to resolve issues .there should be another meeting today .

So far they impose against unionism, we will get to see or hear more of this. They should cater for the employees or would the MGT or MD/CEO do the whole work alone? The answer is NO

TrueTalk said...

First Southern Sun, then Radisson Blu, then Federal Palace. its too much of a coincidence for me oh. Plus wait first, didnt Radisson Blu say they were letting go of staff because they needed to short down to renovate their hotel? What about Federal Palace and Southern Sun? I'm asking becuase I have noticed that we are just a bunch of complainers, we dont do what we are supposed to do and when it backfires, we blame everyone: our employers, the government, God, the moon and stars.

VivaViva said...

Let the workers go and join NLC abi Union or whatever. Let them take there greviances there and be properly represented. After all these years, have we not learnt that no real solution comes from carrying placards and singing chants of activism. Pls let us hear word!

Meanwhile those hotels are raking in so much money!

BeingCreative said...

If there werent so much people looking for employment instead of creating avenues for employment, we wouldnt have these many companies making their people work under unfavourable conditions. Lets tell it as we see it biko. If na to say una no just full ground wey dey depend on employers now, employers wouldnt have a choice but to ensure they keep their few good employees. But as it is, overjobless people full troway so if you no like the working conditions, they replace you ni, shikena! Go start up your own thing...

Workaholic said...

I think this might be the beginning of the Change we need in Nigeria..Its not just hotel staffs that are been treated this way. We also have a a lot of private establishment where there staffs are not regarded as human beings..And sooner or later I think this as to stop..Wouldnt like to mention names for now,but as events unfold I think the striking thing might spread just to get the WORD out to all the MTF-ing employers.

Change datz wat dey need.lol

SHEY E GOOD MY PEOPLE?THEM THREATEN TO LAY US OFF BECAUSE WE ASKED FOR OUR RIGHT.

Make una come know the truth of the matter at the official facebook and twitter page created for all Radisson blu hotel staff.

ON FACEBOOK PLS SEARCH: Voice of Radisson Blu Staff

ON TWITTER: @VoiceofRaddisson

SAY NO TO INJUSTICE,VICTIMIZATION AND OPPRESION.

The condition of service is too poor. Employers of labour are constantly exploiting employees so imagine why they had to strike.

JIRO said...

Dear Linda, it's always easy to want to blame employers for the mess of the nation. Employees complain all the time because of poor salaries and most times forget that employers are also going through very tough times. besides, whatever salaries paid are always as agreed at the inception of the employer-employee relationship. an employee that feels he is earning less than he ought to should resign jeejeely. when employees dont have houses, it's blamed on employers, when they cant feed their families- employers, when they cannot afford to buy cars- employers. We must realise that business are to make money and not charity organisations. The business realities of our time are tough and employees who are engaged should demand less from employers and do their best to make the business grow. AN EMPLOYEE CAN ONLY BE AS SUCCESSFUL AND AS HIS/HER EMPLOYER. unfortunately, what we have in many places are people looking for avenues to chop down their employers' businesses. This however does not excuse the employers that consciously underpay their hardworking staff. Employers in that category deserves the wrath of the labour movement.

Na wa o
And i use to jelous dem
Chai i thank God for my shikini work
And shikini salary that comes on time o

Sheta said...

I feel sorry for the hotels who are undergoing all these attacks. It is going to affect their business greatly. It seems to me that this protesting employees do not even know they are worsening their situation. So lets say you get the sympathies of all the clients frequenting these hotels and they decide to stay away, how in God's name will your employer pay you?

Blunt said...

Nigerians can just protest all sorts of things. We are a very reative people. if the systrem does not work for you or as you would prefer, then there is a reason. Have we found out the reason? When you eventually know the reasons, do you find a solution, talk to the managers or stage a loud, noisy and ultimately uneffective protest. Everything cannot be sorted through protests

Is this one caused by PDP or APC lets change the way we do thingz and the way we see others

union wont work with those kind of employers, Its Nigeria, there is always someone ready to take the job for half what you earn. Very sad

Very true. People that work in hotels are soo underpaid and overworked. That's why some females sleep with their clients for extras. I was once an Admin manager of a hotel and it wasn't a nice experience. We had a union though. But the union didn't help.

And these bloody hotels rake in sooooooo much money. when fellow Nigerians are not fair to each other how will foreigners be fair to us

Jite said...

Wait, sebi the report on Vanguard says the Radisson Blu staff were paid for two months because of the sudden shutdown???

If these workers are striking because of their working conditions, then we should all just strike because there is no one who is a 100% content with the working conditions of their place of employment. Meanwhile, when they had no job and were pitching with a 1000 people for the sema jobs, they would have been contented with anything

I don't there's any

Eyaah

Mama Peace said...

Hmmm....I have put in my time in the hotel industry and I can tell u that there are a lot of problems the Nigerian staff face. I'm refering to the big hotels now. Protea, Federal Palace and co, not the roadside ones. The expatriate staff have it all...free accommodation within and outside the hotel, official cars, all-expenses paid trip whenever they want to go home, free food and salaries in dollars. But the local staff, the Nigerians, are treated with disdain and no respect, even when they put in all their effort in their jobs. To get an extra day off for something one deems important is almost impossible sometimes, but they jet back to their countries even when their grandma farts or coughs. They won't pay you complete if u miss days due to sickness. Granted, there are a lot of expenses these hotels have to deal with. Let's talk about power. That 24hr power doesn't come in cheap o. But not withstanding, many of these hotels belong to South African chains but have local owners. These owners teach the expatriates how to cut corners and encourage them to trample on Nigerians, telling them things like 'Nigerians are stubborn. If you don't use iron hand, they won't do the job well. I know my people". And these expatriates listen to them. To top it up, many of these expatriates are 100% racists. So now u have the expatriates and the local owners working against u. And they purposely don't allow unions. I am no longer in the hospitality industry but I support them having unions. The staff have had enough. They deserve to be treated with dignity.

Naija for real