It's on! Lil Wayne sues Cash Money for $51 Million | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 January 2015

It's on! Lil Wayne sues Cash Money for $51 Million

It's not news that former best friends and business partners Lil Wayne and Birdman have fallen out over money, record deals, and artists under their label. What's new now is that the rapper is suing Cash Money for $51million with the hopes of ending his contract with the label.

According to TMZ, Lil Wayne filed a lawsuit asking a judge to end his contract with Cash Money. According to the lawsuit, Wayne says Birdman and company violated the deal by withholding tens of millions of dollars Cash Money owes him for his long-delayed album, "Tha Carter V." 

From TMZ

Wayne claims because Cash Money is refusing to pay, he's entitled to walk. But Lil Wayne wants more than just a declaration of freedom. He's suing for $51 MILLION. 
And Wayne wants the judge to declare he's the joint copyright owner of all Young Money recordings ... which includes Drake, Nicki Minaj and several others.
Sources connected to Wayne tell TMZ ... if Birdman antes up then he can release "Tha Carter V," but only if Wayne gets paid. Wayne says he was supposed to get an $8 million advance when he began recording in December, 2013 and another 2M when he completed the album a year later, but so far he's gotten nothing.
Update: Lil Wayne to Birdman - I'm willing to stay if the price is right

Lil Wayne will stay with Cash Money and Birdman IF they ante up the money he's owed ... in fact, we're told if Cash Money antes up, Wayne has no choice but to stay.

Sources involved in the case tell TMZ ... Wayne feels Birdman's decision to avoid paying him is nothing more than a power play. TMZ broke the story that Wayne is suing, and a central claim is that Birdman has consistently stiffed him over the last year.

There are 2 payments that have irked Wayne -- he says he was owed $8 million when he went into the studio to record "Tha Carter V" in December 2013, and another $2 mil when he completed the album last month.

We're told the hope is that Universal -- which distributes Cash Money records -- will step in and earmark the $10 mil for Wayne. And we're told Universal is already putting pressure on Cash Money to settle.

If Cash Money pays Wayne the $10 mil, it would essentially eliminate any breach of contract. That means Wayne would have no legal basis to ask out of the contract. Even though Wayne's suing for $51 million, most of that is predicated on future lost profits which would not be an issue if they settle.

As for the release of "Tha Carter V" ... even if the case settles the power would be in Birdman's claws.

83 comments:

Ok. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Not a fan....

#GosblessNigeria

WhoThemHelp?

Lucky Lu said...

Yeah Linda, It's on like Donkey Kong!!!

Should have happened a long time ago too. Weezy lays the golden eggs thus needs his respect... something baby aint been doling out recently

***Doing the Shmoney Dance***
#Luckylualua

It's on?wetin on?.....LOL!! thought Birdman is d Father of Lil Wayne

Oh shit has gotten real mehn..... I luv Lil Wayne and must say I don't like d way cash money Boss is handling dis matter. It's obv not fair in every sense of it.

Alright
Handsome reliable single dad of 1 seeking Godfearing hardworking pretty lady for friendship and more please be matured
Pin -53468ED6

Dave Mide said...

make dem kill each other sef ....its all #kermit

I don't want him to leave cash money,they are cool together but they are the one to loose if he go...I love wyne

VERULE Says-Huge cash.

Make dem scatter if dem won scatter jare

What Secondary school boys and girls do during break time

OMG!!! See How Some Wicked Yoruba Boys Abused a Secondary School Girl

Bombshell!! Dr Sid behind my breakup with Don Jazzy- D’banj Speaks Out

Ike Ani said...

This is serious Fight! www.ikeani.blogspot.com

VERULE Says-doesnt affect us here na. ""Beautifu is life""

IKEMBA said...

Lilwayne is just looking for money to flex his new girlfriend Christina Milan lol

Phew! Birdman found himself another Boo is YoungThug.

And the battle begins let's see how it goes....

Two idiot's dat sold their souls to d devil suing each other...

Good riddicks to bad rubbish.

And the battle begins let's see how it goes....

Where make he from go get dat kind of money??? I dey ask you, Lil Wayne. Linda take note!

Biting the finger that fed you huh Wayne? Couldn't y'all found a better way to have done this than in the court, especially as he has being a father figure to you. I guess money changes everything.

Where make he from go get dat kind of money??? I dey ask you, Lil Wayne. Linda take note!

Hmmmm Record Labels and there C.E.O selfish interest is everywhere, Lil wayne is been cheated, with is kinda talent and style he should be part of those topping forbes list(hope u understand me)

ovis prince said...

Too bad for cash money records, but it won't be bad thing either if T.I. And Lil Wayne work together

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Lil wayne pls dnt b like the mohit group ooo

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Am a fan
But not interested

Ok, may the best case win.

Mmmmmmh!

I did not see this one coming, Never thought this two will fall out

serious case

Good one.... He has the talents, so he should not be cheated

Young mulla baby
.....eeyah

bluemagic said...

Same here..kill urslves,who kais!!

Its getting messy

ecablenews said...

that is an hell of a money

Ifeanyi said...

Its always about money. Men can be so greedy
***HARTROBBER***

They have really been together for a very long tym.......

cabarae said...

great

Birdman na hin papa nah!! Make dem settle abeg. No a fan though

That is a lot of mula!

Oh no! Dis is 1 beef am nt enjoying,..c'mon man birdie and weezy Daaamn!..bt weezy shud chillax fo yunG thug to blow na...++++++0BIE CH0X!

Mercy seat said...

Lil Wayne please excuse us! We ain't gat ya time at da moment. We doing February 14 and may 29... Try some other blog ## ehe Linda continue @ politics

Birdman jr and Birdie 4 LIFE****

I just pray all this Sh**T won't affect Onika and Drake....love young money crew to bits....

•••••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••••

i'm your Secret admirer. said...

Ode buruku Yes you face your shoe business

@Birdman found himself another Boo is YoungThug....dis guy called Bonario is a *GAY*....cos dats exactly wot happened.

i'm your Secret admirer. said...

I love you for loving Wayne***kisses**

soo strange..make birdman drop d album n pay him up naa..I need d album oo cany wait...............................#KingOfKings #6God

Steady said...

I never liked that birdman for one day... I like it if wizzy go joor

Wow!

Are u serious or joking?

U mean u r dat "single" dat it on social media u do advert for pretty lady and hard working@dat...

Pls go do ur search some where else and stop fooling ursef.

U MUST B A BIG JOKER...
U even wrote "must b matured". Do u even know wht it means to b matured???

Definitely it is SUGAR MUMMY u r looking for.

Wow!

Are u serious or joking?

U mean u r dat "single" dat it on social media u do advert for pretty lady and hard working@dat...

U MUST B A BIG JOKER...

Wow!

Are u serious or joking?

U MUST B A BIG JOKER...

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Money is indeed d root of all evil... U 2 shld work out ur diffs .
Davido's GF

Money knows no one....best buddies can turn worst enemies all becoz of money....Money is d root of all evil so they say....

People's integrity will be shaken once money comes in

OH yeah... interesting.....

New stock of Naija Use and Tokunbo Cars

Visit : http://www.sewaautomobile.blogspot.com

I no like oyibo music buh I be Weezey fan

I don't get the logic behind not releasing the album. Lil Wayne's at his peak. His music sells. Birdman's a fool for not capitalizing on his fame.

Him go pay na ....

Case of Lost love.... *music*All we need is one love **in tuface's voice**

I hope everyone involved gets what it deserves.

OKORO UPGRADED **

Do i look like i care

Lil wayne should take it easy, birdman made him who he is today. Never bite the finger that fed you.

Why do pple like taking advantage of others.
Especially if they helped

Fast Writer said...

You must be born again

Fast Writer said...

You must be born again.

e haff set naa

missvee

Ur father, the thunder wey go fire u still dey do press up since them don use ur brain soak garri

Ur father, the thunder wey go fire u still dey do press up since dem don use ur brain soak garri

Nawa. Such a thin line between love and hate.

That's what money can do.

Shee like dey foul play..hu dem hlp? Like he sed

This royal something na real asshole o. U were there when they sold their souls? You better face your career and look for a job. Nuisance

Hahahahahahaha...

Hahahahahaha

Birdman should just pay up abeg we fans have been waiting for Wayne's new releases all this while na