Al Mustapha (allegedly) narrates how Abacha died 17 years ago | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 January 2015

Al Mustapha (allegedly) narrates how Abacha died 17 years ago

I wrote allegedly because I don't know if he really said this, found it on Africa Telegram. Major Hamza Al Mustapha was the Chief Security Officer of Gen. Sani Abacha, former Nigeria military head of state from November 1993 to his death in June 1998.
"When I got to the bedside of the Head of State, he was already gasping. Ordinarily, I could not just touch him. It was not allowed in our job. But under the situation on ground, I knelt close to him and shouted, “General Sani Abacha, Sir, please grant me permission to touch and carry you.” Contrary to insinuations, speculations and sad rumours initiated by some sections of the society, I maintain that the sudden collapse of the health system of the late Head of State started previous day (Sunday, 7th June, 1998) right from the Abuja International Airport immediately after one of the white security operatives or personnel who accompanied President Yasser Arafat of Palestine shook hands with him (General Abacha) I had noticed the change in the countenance of the late Commander-in-Chief and informed the Aide-de-Camp, Lt. Col. Abdallah, accordingly. He, however, advised that we keep a close watch on the Head of State.
Later in the evening of 8th June, 1998, around 6p.m; his doctor came around, administered an injection to stabilize him. He was advised to have a short rest. Happily, enough, by 9p.m; the Head of State was bouncing and receiving visitors until much later when General Jeremiah Timbut Useni, the then Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, came calling. He was fond of the Head of State. They were very good friends.

They stayed and chatted together till about 3.35a.m. A friend of the house was with me in my office and as he was bidding me farewell, he came back to inform me that the FCT Minister, General Useni was out of the Head of State’s Guest House within the Villa. I then decided to inform the ADC and other security boys that I would be on my way home to prepare for the early morning event at the International Conference Centre.

At about 5a.m; the security guards ran to my quarters to inform me that the Head of State was very unstable. At first, I thought it was a coup attempt. Immediately, I prepared myself fully for any eventuality.

As an intelligence officer and the Chief Security Officer to the Head of State for that matter, I devised a means of diverting the attention of the security boys from my escape route by asking my wife to continue chatting with them at the door – she was in the house while the boys were outside. From there, I got to the Guest House of the Head of State before them.

When I got to the bedside of the Head of State, he was already gasping. Ordinarily, I could not just touch him. It was not allowed in our job. But under the situation on ground, I knelt close to him and shouted, “General Sani Abacha, Sir, please grant me permission to touch and carry you.” I again knocked at the stool beside the bed and shouted in the same manner, yet he did not respond. I then realized there was a serious danger. I immediately called the Head of State’s personal physician, Dr. Wali, who arrived the place under eight minutes from his house.

He immediately gave Oga – General Abacha – two doses of injection, one at the heart and another close to his neck. This did not work apparently as the Head of State had turned very cold. He then told me that the Head of State was dead and nothing could be done after all.

I there and then asked the personal physician to remain with the dead body while I dashed home to be fully prepared for the problems that might arise from the incident. As soon as I informed my wife, she collapsed and burst into tears. I secured my house and then ran back.

At that point, the Aide-de-Camp had been contacted by me and we decided that great caution must be taken in handling the grave situation.

Again, I must reiterate that the issue of my Boss dying on top of women was a great lie just as the insinuation that General Sani Abacha ate and died of poisoned apples was equally a wicked lie. My question is: did Chief M.K.O Abiola die of poisoned apples or did he die on top of women? As I had stated at the Oputa Panel, their deaths were organized. Pure and simple!

It was at this point that I used our special communication gadgets to diplomatically invite the Service Chiefs, Military Governors and some few elements purportedly to a meeting with the Head of State by 9a.m. at the Council Chamber. That completed, I also decided to talk to some former leaders of the nation to inform them that General Sani Abacha would like to meet them by 9a.m.

Situation became charged however, when one of the Service Chiefs, Lieutenant General Ishaya Rizi Bamaiyi, who pretended to be with us, suggested he be made the new Head of State after we had quietly informed him of the death of General Sani Abacha. He even suggested we should allow him access to Chief Abiola. We smelt a rat and other heads of security agencies, on hearing this, advised I move Chief Abiola to a safer destination. I managed to do this in spite of the fact that I had been terribly overwhelmed with the crisis at hand.

But then, when some junior officers over-heard the suggestion of one of the Service Chiefs earlier mentioned, it was suggested to me that we should finish all the members of the Provisional Ruling Council and give the general public an excuse that there was a meeting of the PRC during which a shoot-out occurred between some members of the Provisional Ruling Council and the Body Guards to the Head of State When I sensed that we would be contending with far more delicate issues than the one on ground, I talked to Generals Buba Marwa and Ibrahim Sabo who both promptly advised us – the junior officers – against any bloodshed.

They advised we contact General Ibrahim Babangida (former Military President) who equally advised against any bloodshed but that we should support the most senior officer in the Provisional Ruling Council (PRC) to be the new Head of State.

Since the words of our elders are words of wisdom, we agreed to support General Jeremiah Useni. Along the line, General Bamaiyi lampooned me saying, “Can’t you put two and two together to be four? Has it not occurred to you that General Useni who was the last man with the Head of State might have poisoned him, knowing full well that he was the most senior officer in the PRC?”

Naturally, I became furious with General Useni since General Abacha’s family had earlier on complained severally about the closeness of the two Generals; at that, a decision was taken to storm General Useni’s house with almost a battalion of soldiers to effect his arrest. Again, some heads of security units and agencies, including my wife, advised against the move.

The next most senior person and officer in government was General Abdulsalami Abubakar, who was then the Chief of Defence Staff. We rejected the other Service Chief, who, we believed, was too ambitious and destructive. We settled for General Abubakar and about six of us called him inside a room in the Head of State’s residence to break the news of the death of General Abacha to him.

As a General with vast experience, Abdulsalami Abubakar, humbly requested to see and pray for the soul of General Abacha which we allowed. Do we consider this a mistake? Because right there, he – Abubakar – went and sat on the seat of the late Head of State. Again, I was very furious. Like I said at the Oputa Panel, if caution was not applied, I would have gunned him down.

The revolution the boys were yearning for would have started right there. The assumption that we could not have succeeded in the revolution was a blatant lie. We were in full control of the State House and the Brigade of Guards. We had loyal troops in Keffi and in some other areas surrounding the seat of government – Abuja. But I allowed peace to reign because we believed it would create further crises in the country.

We followed the advice of General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida and the wise counsel of some loyal senior officers and jointly agreed that General Abdulsalami Abubakar be installed Head of State, Commander-in-Chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces immediately after the burial of General Sani Abacha in Kano. It is an irony of history that the same Service Chief who wanted to be Head of State through bloodshed, later instigated the new members of the Provisional Ruling Council against us and branded us killers, termites and all sorts of hopeless names. They planned, arranged our arrest, intimidation and subsequent jungle trial in 1998 and 1999.

These, of course, led to our terrible condition in several prisons and places of confinement.

165 comments:

Megoli said...

Why say it now

LGM said...

Make money on vals... click win' https://gleam.io/9mZAD-ZedKkh

Ok, seen.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Oh Wow and I thought it was Apple though.. Insightful!!
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Too long but may his soul rest wherever he want to rest my hand no dey at all.....

Why now?

Abeg let's focus on GMB $ GEJ first.biko mustapha

All this stories of old past deadly military men are surfacing now for what reason actually? Make the man go sleep
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Very soon some will look 4 away to invoke death politicians alive.ok ooo

Medicine after dead attention seeker.

Hmmmmm quite long n educating buh m wondering why this is coming out now

History 101

Was thinking that Buhari 's name Will pop out somewhere!

Order for your beautiful bedspread @79AEFD3B
Delivery available nationwide

may his soul rest in peace!

What a story ..... the military is just a complicated shit in Nigeria..... the NA is corrupt

Amaka eze said...

I would really love to hear this piece of history but a more genuine one.. Its so interesting...

Chidinma Grace said...

Hmmmm medicine after death!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!???

@Sophia Stephen

odiegwu

Thou.Thou said...

Akuko uwa!#lindi change ur profile picshure#:)

Story for d gods........linda listen

I've read the same account on Abacha's death and this seems the most authentic of all stories related to this that I have read.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Ok, noted. #lindagiveawayonmymind

Well nobody cares anymore. God just dealt with the situation as no man could solve the problem. And in that same way he would e all with the Boko Haram. Amen

elovi said...

Na una sabi ooooo

Wow! Interesting. I don't know how true this is but i always doubted that Abacha was killed by an indian woman.

name wah o

Austine ihechukwu said...

Well! The truth will come out someday

We have heard

The write up seems legitimate and true..buh u never can tell wat happened then..Ifa should be consulted

CELEB said...

Whoa! Politics! U don't know who to belive. And Its been years so why is he bringing up Abach issue now? God help us in this country

Efemena Sowho said...

Okayyy....sooooo wot exactly do we need dis info for????

Hmmmmmmmm I jex dey pass bye... all is well.. #Lobatan.

Abacha ugly sha
#LIBBOO

Hmmmmm!! I smell Rat... #Captain_Prech

So this is how they robbed General Usseini of being Nigeria's head of state? Coups irritate me

Abacha ugly sha
#LIBBOO

Na wa o

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Different versions..dnt know which to believe

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

After 17 years? Do one really need to know what killed him.

have listen to this same story couple of time

Story for the gods

Why this story now

beluGod said...

Onli abacha knw who kill am,,,bt dis al-mustapha suffered in prison o

Bestman said...

Hmmm...Almustapha really showed great patriotism by not seizing power for himself.I wonder where Goodluck Jonathan was when all this were going on.Probably still in d classroom with chalk lecturing his Uniport students.

Al mustapha, I admire your loyalty as a military man, but till my death, I still wish that revolution took place.. you and I knows Nigeria would have been a better place today.

Linda you dey fear before them come carry you ?...Allegedly" indeed..

REXOVIC said...

See revelations???????hmmm, all I know is that God is not asleep and he would judge every man accordingly.......

Abeg dis na story 4 d gods, spare me d agony if having to read through dis epistle. Linda take note!

"again, some heads of security units and agencies, including my wife, advised against the move" Nothing person no go hear or see for this country. Wetin concern wife with National issue ?

Na over dose of Viagra kill the idiot.. Period

blow said...

Not a tribalist but then, all I can see here are plenty hausas accusing and counter accusing themselves over D death of another has a man who made nigeria a living he'll and stole a lot of money; some yet u recovered, ,,, wetin consign me? I will rather listen to tonto dike's music jor!

Army and their desperacy for power.

Too long abeg,no need fr all ds story.

Long. # oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Dis aboki won coz war with those wicked Palestine pple? We nova finish war with boko oooooooo. Abeg close mouth small intelligence oga.

Kpele

REAL. PIKIN said...

All Is Well.

I HOPE THIS IS TRUE!

Always heard the Indian prostitutes and poisoned apples were lies. But this story of his seems a bit doctored. The real story will never be told except when IBB and A.Abubakar pass away.

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

Wow. Very interesting information indeed.

Liflblog.WordPress.com
LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

Wow. Very interesting information indeed.

Liflblog.WordPress.com
LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

CHERRY said...

Okay!

Hmmmm.

So how would dis story help me pass my exam?

connie said...

Okayyyy! Hmm! I knew that there was more to the story about his death. I hope that will get to hear the full gist soon. More tales by moon light please.

akin_smite said...

Super story script....where is part 2?

But it's there any need of all this re-opening of an old wound. I wonder wats going on that resulted in all this.

The only thing I learnt from this story is that northerners r too tribalist. General Jeremiah Useni was not made d head of state because he's too ambitious even though d seat was his by right but General Abdusalami was made d head despite being too ambitious too because obviously he's a northerner. Buhari is an angry old man thirsty for revenge and power. And will slaughter masses if ever d president. Nigerians pls vote wisely.

White people has been killing us for ages. They are happy our economy is unstable. And we are here fighting ourselves.

But thx for some of the information anyway because I was just too young then to understand all of this but now i got some point

Abacha's Autopsy is needed

Pepe said...

Wow!

Hmmmm...very interesting if it really happened this way.I wonder who started the apple story..well its all in d past

So what's the purpose of this super-story episode 1 all about

Liar, Abacha had two 'imported' prostitute with him when he died. The two prostitutes were handed over to the India High Commission some days later as reported by the highly reputable Guardian Newspaper.

Story 4 d gods

Historical history
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

Your cup of tea...

Hmmm! But we where told that abacha died by apple poised. Nd abiola was also died by tea poised

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Very interesting and enlightening. may his soul continue to rest in peace.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

They still haven't told us the whole truth! And does this guy feel the sudden need to be confessional all of a sudden?!

Is this still necessary?

@ lord flack don't mind jonathan he doesn't no what his doing, his a disgrace to south south region. As for abacha we where told that it was apple that they used to poised him. Nd abiola was also poised by tea back then

Intresting?!...

Abi oooo, for that alone I cant vote for him.

Chibuzor is dat u

Hmmmm,

Mustapha had the oppurtunity to have killed every bad apples in govt but instead fucked up and he himself got hurt and burnt beyond

Unlike you Some people have educated and smart wives.

just finished ....nxt .@shantelkingsley

Adanne said...

Well written but published at the wrong time...#distraction

wow there are more truth coming up after d death of some other generals in nigeria bcos dey know abt d death of abacha,abiola and d killer agent boko harram.time shall tell

He simply wants a favor #onelovefromsnow#

Nelson Nelson said...

In every liar, there's some elements of truth. Almustahpa was very close to gen. Abacha ,he can't tell me he was not also part of the dirty deals dat took place in gen. Abacha regime, if he was not then I still blame him for finish those guys when he had d opportunity in d meeting he call d PRC. Naija wuld hav been a beta 2day. He's suffering for d evil he was part of.

Please tell us something relevant and not this trash yes he made history as former head of state that died on sit or top of woman or no woman or on top of apple or no apple we don't care. The good thing is he's dead dead dead dead dead and living amongst the dead. And for MKO Abiola that you want to know if he died on top of a woman go and wake him up and ask him, all these political thugs.

You all "smelt" a rat. Is the rat iron that you smelt it?

He a goat

One thing I know is that rigging plus rigging equals to free and fair elections

Buqore said...

Na he know jare.abacha don die so wetin we shld do abt dat one nwww.weder he ate apple ooo or he was poison.he don die sha.@linda is my role model!

I don't understand.can someone explain further please. i'm 5yrs old. Rubbish.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

VICTOR EKEANYANWU said...

I have always known that Al Mustafa knows more than all of us about what actually happened that night and I think Babangida and Jerry Useni do too. Every other thing is story for the gods. Thats why he survived prison

Military stories are always sweet

There's absolutely nothing new in this story... Everything written is exactly what he said at the oputa panel..

Naija said...

wow long story

Stories 4d god's...
Who cares.

Dis is uncalled for and unnecessary...

why are flies still perching on a corpse that has been dead for 17 years. We need to grow up!

I wonder

Quite an interesting story, don't know what really happened then but it's the first time am hearing this story

He should write a book, "My real watch"

Abdulsalam Abubakar is a guy maan, he prayed and then cried so tay he go sit down for A bacha seat lol. D man na real guy man, I respect.

educate ur ignorance b4 commenting or b quite n save urslf d embarrasment.

If he had killed all of them, history wil never hav forgave him.

Thank God he has b released and a free man.

Different different story, they should let the man rest.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen

Why didnt he say this before.Me i grew up believing he died from poisoned apples given to him by a woman.That fact in my head dey very hard to change o.

This man is a fool.

It doesn't matter anymore.

And who told you Jeremiah Useni is not from North? Linda some comment here don't worth publishing.

gab2shoes said...

The things you people do in power amazes the devil himself, he says continue#in waffi voice...

The gods are wise
Gab2shoessaysso

Why is the story coming out now? Where have you been

Buliv it or not Abacha died on top of prostitutes period..................

*oparoescalade*

Abacha died ontop woman............

*oparoescalade*

Abacha died ontop woman............

*oparoescalade*

Make I hear word!! Story for the gods!

I pray, by the time d real revolution will come, all of you including this story teller, will be consumed!

WICKED LOTS!!!

This just goes to show how close we are to a military coups. Having tasted power once, there are still a few elements in the Nigerian Army who wouldn't hesitate to support a military interregnum. The Nigerian Army needs to be watched very closely.

the man is still living in the 1990s. what Prison life can do to people. he is still unable to ctach up with the new wave now.

OMOOBA said...

I JUST LIKE THIS MUSTAFA GUY SHA!

Dis has always being his stand on dis matter,in d Oputa panel he made mention of dis same fact regardless of d variance on d account of Abacha's death.D truth b told if they had actually gone ahead to finish d Generals and even a past head of state who wus present @ d meeting, We Nigerians would ve applauded them.And d rest dey say would ve being history.When I listen to d conflicting stories of how Abacha died I laugh cause d embarrassment of our security organisations an personals did not just start today.U can imagine with d almighty strike force around Abacha, some1 wus still able to penetrate his security cover and cause collateral damage. Mustapha failed his Principal Boss in dis regards.

eedlek said...

GOD KNOWS BEST...

Is God that kill him oooo

BIKO ITS TOO LONG...DATS DIA BIZ

missvee

I enjoyed it......he's sincere to.....but y wasn't a autopsy xarrid out.......

the prominent thing i took from the story: hausa hausa hausa names!

Element of truth. The fact is that the northers believe its their birthright to lead Nigeria. They have caused so many havoc, violence and destruction in this country and yet, East, west, South South cant seem to unite and work against these forces.
When we voted for GEJ, Personally i wasn't been sentimental but i felt Nigeria will be better off in his hands but he disappointed us and was distracted due to northerns not agreeing to his rule (Buhari). Im supporting buhari since GEJ is a weakling. I wonder when it will get into the hands of the Ibos, yorubas again.

Ok. So is Gotv promo still on, I wan carry am go village. Nonsens. Story

If you look beyond this story of events that transpired, it tells more than just assuming the seat of the president.

kaycee said...

ehyaa...saint.

Was like I was reading a movie script

i'm sure this Hand shake ish by Palestinian bla bla bla is due to too much film....

Is he saying the death is akin to the film "The Interview"?

Stories1

That shows how desperate people are when it comes to power and money,that's what we are experiencing right now in our country.

Military! Another place for bad politics. not surprised!

-Blisss

very long but interesting!

Story for the gods

i have always known it was all arranged. but it saddens me that the revolution did not take place. it should have. but we still need it. its not too late. the sit is still as good as empty. lets enter there and start it. enough is enough

Redcandy said...

For sure, there are a lot of hidden truths in this matter. The Lord God will expose them in his time. Al Mustapha may have been a lot of things but one thing I give him credit for is his loyalty to his boss. He was 100% loyal and that is something we don't easily find these days.

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

i don't know if this story is true but i liked it when i read it earlier today...Kinda interesting!

That's well said

He needed to suffer, he needs to tell u all the blood crying over his head

Are u kidding lol, don't play with white man's intelligence

True!with big revelations!

The seat has been hungry in all of them no 2,3 and 4.

Self serving story. Let him talk abt Kudirat Abiola...

If true very insight if false shame on you...But either way WHY NOW after so many years