Miss Philippines crowned Miss World 2013, Miss Ghana came 3rd | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 28 September 2013

Miss Philippines crowned Miss World 2013, Miss Ghana came 3rd

The 2013 Miss World pageant held today Saturday September 28th at Bali Nusa Dua Convention Center in Bali, Indonesia. Miss Philippines Megan Young (pictured left) beat 126 other contestants to win Miss World 2013. Miss France Marine Lorphelin was named runner-up, while Miss Ghana Carranzar Naa Okailey Shooter (pictured right) came third.

153 comments:

Lady G said...

I knew Miss Ghana would place!!!!

How nice!!!! Beautiful girls!! Wat position was anna banner?? 135th or 140?? Mtchwwww!! Whenever MBGN realises BLACK SKIN girls are to represent us in pagents!!! Dey wana see d real us!nt clone of demselves!! *farts on post**ONYX GODWIN*

Congrats to them.
I still rep my sisters.

Mich said...

Miss Ghana is such a pretty lady.
Good for Miss Philippines.

Congratz 2 dem...happy 4 miss ghana..! Wen I said miss nigeria no go ff, dy said I ws hating.!

Miss ghana deserves it jare, next time naija wld bring bllack, take d likes of akudo ezinne of miss nigeria daily times, great potentials, she wld go far if actually she ws Mbgn for miss world, enuf said, bye bye

Well done Ghana, black beauty, this is why i keep telling nigerian women, it is only nigerians that care about light skinned women. The rest of the world does not give a fuck about them. Light skinned women never win beauty contests abroad, it is mostly dark skinned women. They are the true african beauties. 9ja women enough of bleaching it takes you nowhere, well except the bed of a married man. oh by the way i am a nigerian man who adores dark skinned women

Hello Kitty said...

What position did our yellow paw paw ann banner carry please?

So happy for Mz Ghana.

Awwwwww!!!!miss ghana came 3rd.......happy 4 dem 4 sure,9ja gotta sit up dis time around @rexo6

So whot of Mz Nig.

Anna Banner was a "no show". I saw her just once all tru the show. Congrats to Miss Phillipines...,she did deserve it.

This ghana gal is actually cute. Congrats to them.

Beauty it is oooo...

N hw abt our Miss 9ja?

She is pretty First 500 Click get to Win a gift...open now.

Wat happened to our wonderful nigerian gurl

Thank God for them

Bucky said...

Congrats Philippines&Ghana! We still love our Anna Banner! I'm sure our Miss Universe rep will go far come November!

Nikapetrelli said...

No be small matter,pple rooted for dis SHOOTER of a gal

Whr is miss nigeria? She tink say na bayelsa b this??

Joyan said...

This Miss Ghana's beautiful... Shai!
Congrats to Miss Philippines.

she deserves it. Shes so pweety, nd spoke realy well. She lukd really natural nd not over made up or overdressed. Ghana did real gud 2. Cngrats to al 3.

Nigeria where u dey...oya dey come house

Miss nigeria nnko??

how much dem go collect??

so wat happened 2 our miss nigerian anna

Dat miss ghana no dy amon jor..see ha eyes ball..mtcheew

Miss Philippines really worth it.

slyvia said...

wow dats nice

Congratulation!!! She is beautiful. Mkat

Nice one frm Miss Ghana.Africa is proud of U.nd congrats to Miss Philippines.

Miss phillipines deserved the crown, she so beauty and she answered the question very well.... Was also proud of Ghana too

Yeeesssss! I knew miss Ghana wud go far, I'm happy 4 her, she is a beauty!

So that yeye Anna Banner girl,d so-called MBGN didn't win?? Ben Bruce no fit go play politics 4 dt side,bah? I LLLLove d Miss Ghana gurl...indeed BLACK IS BEAUTIFULLLLL.

Big ups to miss Ghana u did well we are proud of u

tђέ sexy 1 said...

Where anna banner na? Bayelsa pdp no fit reach indonesia?

If nigerians wld ever want to come up to 1st 10 in dat context!dey nid to stop chosin fair girls!africa is known for ts blakness# yes I said dat. Coz d whites dere are too much nd we cn neva compete wit dem nd dats why both muna,adaeze nd anna dint go far. Ts high tym we come to our senses nd chose girls like agbani derego all ova again for dis mbgn context.corrupt nigeria!!we nid change we nid better leaders nd unbiasd judges

Congrats omo dudu,not dat omo pupa dey took 4m naija 2 jare..Dudu is fine aniday,anitym..

Andra said...

Wow...big ups guys.

*rep

Haha!! Congrats. Pls do check out what's up here www.popularitybar.com

Miss Philippines is like the most beautiful woman I have seen. She is like Snow White.... Megan see her complexion..... Miss Ghana is gorgeous lesson to all u naija girls trying to bleach ur skin. It does nt pay to bleach.... Ntoi.

Nd Miss Naija carry wetin abeg

Wat happened tu Anna banner?

Ojoro oooooo....Wats the criteria abeg ....... I mean, this ghanian gurl fine pass the crowned miss world nah...

@EDDYSYFAR said...

ђã† of miss 9ja Ω​a̶̲̥̅̊. Wats Ђeя̲̅ position

sdk's first lady said...

If only Miss Ghana tried harder she coulda won :( anyway m apy 4miss philippine cuz i watch deir movies.anna banner cme back hme ooo

What about nigeria? It's so uncommon that a phillipine won d pagent.

Chinedu said...

Wow,thatz good.

Chinedu said...

Wow,thatz gud.

I knew miss ghana would go far in the competition. She's really pretty, unlike our own Anna Banner that was unduly crowned. Congrats to the winner.

What was miss nigeria's position?

Nice one. But I wanted miss ghana 2 win

Way to go Africa, miss Ghana pweety n fabulous.

Miz Ghana tried jare

Abeg which position our "Anna Banana" take?

Visages Parfait said...

Is that ankara she's rocking?? Nice!

Well done linda, u are really on top of ur game.

Wetin dat nigerian gal carry?

wow....proudly ghanian

ghana is not more beautiful than the winner

Sorry Libers,on behalf of Linda Ikeji our boss,we wish to notify u on the mistake of this post...
The Ghanaian beauty actually came 1st
The Phillipine beauty actually came 121st
Thx for ur understanding,Libers...(JOSH)

dats wat u get wen u dont allow d beta person in d 1st place 2 win. Well congrats 2 miss ghana, france n miss phillipines nd i wish d new miss world a succesful reign

Rubynnia said...

Miss Ghana is pretty.
When I first saw her picture, I knew Ghana had a presented a contestant!

Black is beautiful! Love your skin people!

You re absolutely ryt,we re africans. The dark skin is a symbol.

I woke up 6am to support our Anna but couldn't even pick her out of the crowd.....wah a shame. Congrats miss Ghana u made us proud

So happy for miss ghana,you made africa proud.she truly is an africa beauty

Like serzly mgbn should put der act 2geda n try giving d crown 2 girls d@ hav real talents. I watchd d show from d start 2 finish. D@ anna was no whr 2 b found. Evn arnd d oda girls d@ wer havn serz fun. D anna geh 1 naira talent e nor gt. She nor evn win any competition 4 camp. If any silverbird worker is readn ds dey shuld pump up der pageant n pick real girls wt real talents n passion 4 helpn pple. Mgbn pageant nor gt any foundation wey dey help d needy or suntn. Ds miss world pageant generates fund 2 help d less priveleged. Beauty with a purpose. Naija mk una wake up o.53yrs on tuesday mk em try stop ds wayo. Imagine anna jus go der waste plane ticket moni top 20 she nor rch. Mtcheeeewwww.

Black is beautiful. Hapi 4 miss Ghana, black complexion is de symbol of Africa...I ope u've learnt frm ur mistake Naij?

Good for the Ghanaian girl,what position did our naija oyibo,(Ben and Guy Murray bruce girl friend) take,Bayelsa money no reach to buy this one..

How wont 9ja gurls bleach wen u see a fair gurl all eyes are on her so why wont a black gurl bleach

Yeah, dats y agbani darego won and will always be our winner until we av anoda black lady... Our yellow pawpaw is still kul tho but I knew she wasn't up to the task...

Ojoro no de pay,Bayelsa and Seriake Dickson money no fit buy this one.Linda post my comment or..

Big congrats to Miss philipines,and to Miss Ghana,you really have made Africa Proud,Weldone black beauty...As for Anna Banner,where were the people shouting she was going to go places? Its not even about her fair skin its about the fact that she's a classical example of Beauty without Brains,so am not even disappointed...MBGN organizers hope y'all are happy now...SMH

PRETTY GIRL

zoomzoomzoom said...

Miss Ghana is so beautiful. I love her skin color.

9ja done F up big tym!nxt tym dey shld choose a black gal 2rep us abg.Miz Ghana u go gal!!

Congrat to dem. Miss ghana is very beautiful.

Congrt to dem,

Adetola said...

Got to see Anna just once tru out d competition,it was like she wasn't even dere at all.Miss ghana made us proud,miss philippines deserved it

Flavour said...

congrats to miss ghana!
www.flayvour360.com

All this fools shouting bleaching this, bla, bla bla, did syvia nduka who was tall, dark win when she represented nigeria? glory chukwu who was mbgn 2009 she was also dark, did she win? emma wareus from botswana who was light skinned but came first runner up in 2010 miss world, enough of all this discrimination dark girls like to beef fair girls dark skinned women are just as beautiful as light skinned women.

Moral lesson:
1. There is a limit 'mago mago' can take you.
2. A local champion is only recognized in his/her territory.
3. Not everybody gets attracted to 'artificial' beauty.

Manuel N.

Moral lesson:
1. There is a limit 'mago mago' can take you.
2. A local champion is only recognized in his/her territory.
3. Not everybody gets attracted to 'artificial' beauty.

Manuel N.

Omg m so hapi for ds miss Ghana! Shez damn pweety! Nt dt stupid Anna or waheva z ha name..dt gal is nt jst it! Wn wil Naija stp crownin wyt bleached skin gals as quins? Wn wil dy choose ppl lyk Agbani nd c hw far dy wil go in d miss world. Anna was did nt evn deserve d miss Naija crown na miss world she dy expct? Shex slippin on an okada! She shld go nd b lyk muna nd rest.smh for Naija.

I watched the show, anna banner was nowhere to be found, no talent, no sports, no creativity not even beauty. oya make she come back, she don try

MzAnon said...

Eyes ball??? Really

Linda abeg post ya bday pix naw
am damn anxious

Fair judgment. MBGN don't expect to produce another Agbani Darego becos your judgment is now biased. Corruption has entered into your crowning system. It was so glaring even to a blind man in this year's pageant. U made it all about Bayelsa.

Dat Igbo boy said...

D Bayelsa rigging has come home to roost. Silverbird is a hopelessly corrupt and corrupting organizers. Hope nobody watches their peagents ever.

Duke Emeka said...

Lmao, was a great show and the winners deserved it. A black girl should always rep a black country(my opinion).

Miss Phillipines outfit looks like ankara. Proud to be African!!!

Oloshi I'm Sure u re one of those who encourage bleaching....jux bcus u dnt ve any else to say abt her u decided to pick on her eyeballs...wetin do d eyeballs? Na cross eyes she get abi na wetin? Fu*ckn critic! Mtchew

When they first got into camp,I knew Ghana was gonna place @ the top 6 this year,first take a look @ her introduction video...Nigeria Anna banner sat on a chair and told us what she likes to do..then look out 4 miss Ghana beauty with a purpose video(a video where u show what project u have done to affect Nigeria)ask silver bird if any of their gals submit d video..i.e beauty with a purpose just started recently..but all d past winners always have a clip on beauty with a purpose..did we even place anything in sport?or even beach fashion.no before we start blaming Anna,how come dem guy Bruce don't ever prepare d queens and let them know what's up..then Talent??is also 1 of d criteria...I pray Mbgn loses miss World franchise...AMEN

Well said my dear, I strongly support wot u said.

Where ar our Nigerian girls,nd na dem do shakara pass.All they knw is local fashion.sheew

Congrats Miss Ghana. I wonder why Miss Nigeria girls dnt go for Miss world instead of MBGN. Mtcheeeeeeeeeeew

dumb asses commenting on Linda's blog. Linda seriously, u need to sieve Ur comments to eliminate dumbness. winning d miss world pageant wasn't all bout being fair or dark and being pretty had minimal role to play. cant u see it was all bout gathering points from different mini competitions like top model, beach body, beauty with purpose, spots, talent hunt etc. wat naija shd do nxt time is train whoeva d nxt mbgn in sports area, catwalk area, talent hunt, grooming the body at least point/scores can be gathered to shoot u up to d semi final(top 10) where beauty might den play a role because thats the point judges come in.

Thumbs up to

d Ghana gal. u rock gal.

Cant see my posts.

How will Nigeria won when they paid money to win the crown I hear it's going for 7to 10million now and the car is usually bought in advance for the winner they already know ninja can never win miss world again in this generation even to smell first 50 position

Anabanana said...

Please there's only one Anna Banana...and that's me! Just like there's only one mojo jojo...thanks!

Oluwadamilola said...

Hahahaahaha! You are wicked.. Lmao@135th or 140th..

helena said...

Ithey should hv given miss imo the crown and not miss bayelsa,anner banner.she would hv gone far,black beauty.

Miss Ghana is really pretty and more on the natural side. See beautiful photos of Linda 'chopping life' Ikeji as she arrives London @ www.kaylachanai.blogspot.com

Mtsheeeew waka pass! Boring story! And all u hyprocrites bout a light skin girl let's have a throw back of MBGN tat was black, she dint go no where only saw her dance the masqurade dance and tats it. Phuck outta or bring it on

I knew dat when d politics dat was played out back dere in bayelsa for anna banner and left out our own black ibo gal (miss imo) she was not goin 2 win miss world,and abeg people no vex 4 me.
Lindy baby howz ur bday celeb goin

Oh well... It has all been said. Take into the skin colour of who u send to represent nigerians... Sending anna feels like sending Micheal Jackson(RIP) to contest in a rock and roll/ country music contest!!! Lol

N whrz d so called anna banner. #shame. Short fair girl representin naija.how r we expected to win

Na Evry light skinned person nai dey bleach 4 una eyez ooo atleast we al knw dat d ibos ar naturally fair pple+congratz our new Miss World

Why she got there cos she is truly black,btfl,smart

Ezinne Akudo would have gone for this miss world. Anna banner what's ur position?

Anna "banana" is a beauty. her not making it far has nothing to do with whether or not she is light skinned. They aren't judged by looks alone anyways so I don't think this light skinned/ dark skinned argument holds. To em white people all black na black whether your skin is a light or no. #jaybeyblu

Judgin frm d comments of a lot of persons on dis blog, I've com to see dat Nigerians hav forgotten dat dere r many naturally fair Nigerians....if ure fair, u must hav bleached. Dat notion is absolutely not true and yes black is beautiful, just as naturally fair is also beautiful. It is not unafrican to be fair!

Madam linlin whr ur birthday pics?? By d way miss ghana u so pretty#throw back

Congrats to d winner. And to the ones that didn't get the crown, ya all did great too. So congrats to all the contestants
Tweet

queen hadassah said...

Congrats to Miss philipines, All the contestants were so beautiful, talented and with a purpose except Anna banner, she's only beautiful. I saw her face just once during d final show. I hope d organisers of MBGN have learnt their lesson and would not let a medoicre win MBGN next time. Most of the Miss World 2013 contestants were career ladies and mature . The contestant that won beauty with a purpose(Miss Nepal) is a dentist. I doubt if Anna banner is a graduate or has a career.

My best part of d show was Blue's performance. Those guys are cute and they haven't changed.

9ja banner nor win any competition in d miss world competition nor even step her foot in d top 30,how she wan take win na,Nigeria will not win dat crown until d ryt ppl r crowned MBGN,congrats 2 d top 3,especially ms Ghana.,black z beautiful,lovely n wonderful.

Miss beauty with a purpose. Mis Ghana I hail ooh. Congratulations

Am so happy 4 Ghana 3rd runner up! She is pretty, she deserve it Oo

See how ignorant you guys are thinking about light skin dark skin. No one cared to raise our flawed education system. Most of the people that represent nigeria, light or dark don't have no command of the english language or diction. I think Ms. Ghana came third because of her poise and intelligence. Truth be told she is not half as pretty as the Nigerian girl. How many dark skinned women have won Ms.World in contrast to the lighter skinned one. The dark skinned ones are dime a dozen. So before you insecure dark skinned women stay being jealous of the next light skinned chic. Go take care of you skin instead of being jealous of lighter women. P.s I'm brown skinned but I tend to see so much jealousy, envy and rage in dark skinned women towards lighter women

When bruce nd co wodnt chose d bst candidate for it. They only choose d one Gud on b*d. I taya oooo. The girl is nt intelligent, no creativity. She is nt even outspoken. Na wa ooo. And to tink of she is someone PA I jst weep for nija. Politics everywwhere. Right now d winner for mbgb nxt work is already doing her work for room. They should jst stop mbgn in nija for a while joor or change d judges

So linda u refused 2 post my comment ryt? Wetin U wan carry am do? After I waste my tym cum comment finish,well I no blame u

I knew it. All my predictions was right. Loved Miss Philippines from d beginning. Congrats to d ladies, y'all deserved it.

i watched it this morning on E! it was really nice i'm happy that Philippines won and Ghana looked so beautiful, i didn't see Nigeria
Love from Miami

Beauty pageants abroad and super models that are African or African descent tend to be really dark skinned. That is what they prefer abroad. So Ben Bruce and Co should note this...darego, this miss Ghana, alek wek, oluchi, imam, naomi Campbell, tyra banks

Mehnn dis ghana baba fine shaa.chk out ha skin colour,very lovly

And who d h**l cares... Whewwww

@least Africa is among best 3...nyzzz.wat was Niger finkin sendin a fair gal ova thr..n Sez nt evn slim

U seee! All dez our black oyinbos rubbing abi drinking egyptian milk dat r nt proud of dir natural color, no1 outside d country appreciates you. Black is beautiful. B proud of who you are and rock your skin, it's perfect. All dez our 'clear', no b fair, sisters take note.
VeeO

Wat is wrong wit all dis peeps dat just run their mouth anyhow. U think its easy for one to just go and carry d cup. Was she d only one dat didn't get to d finals. Afta or even before agbani was crown in 2002 has ghana ever reached d final 5 or watt. U guys shuld just shut ur gutter mouth alone and leave d poor girl. Whether black or fair the organisers and judges of miss world careless. U think d two weeks d girls spend before d main event day is just to have fun? They monitor everything about them. Their talent,social life,education wise and so on. So stop running ur mouths anyhow. Rubbish

SUNSHINE said...

Anna Banana. Iyen naa da.
Just come back.

Hmn!this ghana lady is really beautiful! Congrats to the winner.

fly guy said...

Ghanian ladies r way sexier than their naija counterparts

Wen I watched dat MBGN contest, I knew that dat Banner girl can never win miss world. Shez unintelligent, foolish and dull + she walks like a sea horse. Na because she yellow dats y she won.

Lindiway, this your form of news is incomplete. Let's know the whole results. What happened to the others?

All of you should just shut up..if its your sister will you guys talk this way? You can never appreciate anything in this country. Fast to abuse someone's efforts, stupid hypocrites dont u know all this unreasonable comments can make her sick? Thats how you abused goldie then beverly now ann...smh

Nice one.they for swap anna for miss Nigeria Akudo.Anna yellow paw paw wey do take ojoro crown MBGN.Anyway make she still enjoy her ojoro crown for now.If to say na miss imo represent naija she for go far.

MBGN,Banner emerged out of Ojoro,see how she ended up!

Yetinde said...

Artificial yellow yellow tii loo ruu poo wale,dey shld take the beauty pageant rights frm silverbird,we're nt fair people here in nigeria,Anna Banner ko,swift faster ni, doesn't even sound like a nigerian name,dey're breeding prostitutes,sluts,boyfriend\husband snatchers up & down,awon oniranu oshi,even miss world muslimah was dark,so dey shld park well joo,linda jare,how yur trip dey go,omo ire bii iyan

great said...

We all knwn dat d person who won MBGN did not merit it na politics. Congratz to miss world nd ghana lady. Nigeria shld grow up nawa

All of una wey like yellow pawpaw dey promote business for Fifi and iya Bisola dem hope yaff see black is beautiful o #okbye

semiramis said...

@yetinde, why so pained n bitter???omg, d light skinned gals must ve really dealt wiv u o! Ha! So ur husband do u one chance wiv yallow paw paw abi? Eya take heart dear, God go bring am back or better still go n bleach safia n bismid still dey lagos if u no too get money. Oshisko, stupid, foolish n bitter woman.

y persn were dy black nor fit maintain her colour make d beauty come out abi u nor hear say black is beautiful abeg jor twale to miss ghana u too much

@ yetinde omo dirty yoruba...so beauty pageant is not for fair girls? Foolish dirty pig

Hopeezy said...

Anna Banner wasn't even ranked, I only saw her when are the contestants are being called, she was just non-existent... Gosh I was crying when watching the show, God is just wonderful for creating these beautiful women.. I love the Miss Canada Miss Dominica and Miss Phillipines girls..

-Bolt

debimade said...

Mscheeew Nigeria for win if TOOLZ be our representative....all that Ikebe must come to good use na!

It's a beauty pageant so Miss Ghana was 2nd Runner-up and not 3rd I beg. Use the right register and win my heart. And for d records...the winner is an American born Philipino. Why didn't they choose the pea eyed short ones if they really wanted her to represent?

True talk.. Miss nigeria shd av represented us not Anna

Even miss south Sudan was among top 10. Despite her very dark skin which I must say actually glows. She's such a beauty. No be by bleaching ooo. Anna Banana.take note

#TeamGhana.... I'm Ghanaian and this girl is a beauty with brains and very classy...she worked hard to get here..she's a medical student in Ghana too!!Congrats Naa..

Lmao! We dnt do runnerups. Win once den come and talk