Lagosians spend N36billion annually on parties - Governor Fashola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 September 2013

Lagosians spend N36billion annually on parties - Governor Fashola

Lagos state governor, Babatunde Raji Fashola, this weekend revealed that more than N36 billion is spent by Lagosians annually to organise parties. The governor said this at the 4th edition of the Lagos Ignite Enterprise and Employability project, a joint youth empowerment programme between the government and the Afterschool Graduate Development Centre, AGDC.

Governor Fashola said:
“This was the study of night life carried out by the government in five local governments including Agege, Mushin, Ifako-Ijaiye and Ikeja and another local government. It showed that more than N36 billion was spent on 1555 parties held within the period. We did a study between October and November last year. We studied from Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, three days every week for four weeks which was 12 nights. In 12 nights, 1555 parties were held in these local governments. In terms of drinks, food and all other engagements during such parties, about N1.2 billion was spent and when we dis-aggregated them we saw how much went to DJ, MC, food and drinks, the total picture in the state now and I don’t want to give you a wrong number but it’s something in the region of about N3 billion monthly on that side of our life and people are playing and impacting on that side of our economy.
 The governor further stated that Aso Ebi alone gulped a minimum of N1.2billion monthly.

111 comments:

Omo bendelie said...

S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ fashola ♍A̶̲̅kε̲̣̣̣̥ waiten cme happen И̘Oº°˚˚°W̶̲̥̅. ₪A̶̲̥̅ dsame goverment pple d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ spend D cash on all dis S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ called parties spending our money unnecessarily

Yorubas r u peeps listening nw!!

Mich said...

Funny,right?
Can't blame Lagosians,parties are necessary to cool off from all the hustle and bustle in that city.
But n36b is quite a huge sum to go on frivolous activities,isn't it?
In the end,just like the governor stated,It's good for the state's economy.

hehehehe Eko for show.
they rather spend on parties,then go to sleep in their Taxi's than rent an apartment.

So what? Is dat one of Ʈhe pressing issues in Lagos. Don't start taxing MC's and event places. Abeg!

Eko for show...let's go there!!!!

tjoshua said...

Learn to start printing recharge cards .its easy and affordable, interested people can email me on (johnjoshua512@gmail.com).

tjoshua said...

Very outrageous.

Learn to start printing recharge cards .its easy and affordable, interested people can email me on (johnjoshua512@gmail.com).

Eeeh ooooo!!

tjoshua said...

So?

Sue said...

So asoebi na good business, thank baba fash for the enlightenment...... Staggering figures tho, but. Na only one life to live, chop am well but secure ur place in eternity cos that's longer than earth.....

Opeedo said...

hmmm see better Ariya

click HERE for hot gist

B4 nko ? U must spend 2 have a nice party na !!! (Dancing 2 pakuruma

Ezems said...

When you look and this finely stated report, you would have wished this research was done on a very chronic, killer disease affecting the country. Instead, what this governor would be thinking about is how placing heavy taxes on the celebrants. #cluelessgovernor

Gbedu na competition for naija now. Wetin de governor go fit do sef. No b him money everybody dey spend na.

Na wa oh. And we complain that there is no money. God bless Nigeria.

Kai see dodo. *salivating*

Eko o ni baje ooo

That one is normal na. Man must groove. Laughs. Froggy t.

rutchie.com said...

This is very good, the money is going round - to d caterers, party planners, DJ, interior decorators, MC's, hall owners, bouncers and un-invited guests even chop the food. Fashola should build high capacity halls and remove all the Toll gates.

And they have not used Lekki VGC banana island dem dem...excluding the money they go spend abroad. We rili like owambe for Lagos o

Yoruba foolish die na, na 2dy?

Janelicious said...

There is no party like lagos party

WeirdKlade said...

Wow,speechless

Lagosians ℓ̊ hail ooo

Yoruba people and mgbati(party) are padis. Am not surprised at the amount. Signs of good living.

Should that be d business of lagos state govt? Anyone that can afford to have a party shld do abeg. Lagos state gov shld concentrate on finishing set projects, lik d badagry expressway road, dnt concern urself with parties abeg! Abi na ur money dem tak buy aso ebi?

Ogaju eko wenjele, eko 4 show dem no dey slack 4 dat 1 instead dey go borrowing parry is competion among yorubas. (Elemi lo ma last).

GOD IS ABLE said...

ok mr governor

Dis piktur is jes too funny!!!!lmaoo!!!!!didn't even read it!

wemimo said...

Nawa oh

So? Dats where some of us make our living from oo..fashola better watch it. I'm a fan of the go nor, but it was parties dat changed my life, a jobless msc holder.

imagine what we could do with one third of that money?

BRF, how did you and your researchers come up with this figure?Abi iya bose dey give receipt for joint?

How did he know??

Fashola i will keep saying it is just a damn greedy governor, what is wrong with people spending their money for merriment after what God must have done for them, that is why he feels like deeping hands into the pockets of lagosian to always extort their monies. Agana eri oringo na lagos it has been before him fashola. So he would have been happy if na for burial wey people dey sped the money na i hate this governor so much

bitchplis said...

Lagosians,brace up for more tax

Why is gov fashola complaining, why waste time and money to carry out survey that will not benefit us in any way. Does pple doing the party have the money moreover they are helping the economy becos pple like the party planners, caterars, DJ, etc are been employed. When u look at it u will find out that all these pple rendering all these services are unemployed gratuates. Pls let the gov find other things to do survey on.

Jill said...

Eko and owanbe..#synonymous

Lol, nahxo na,,,I love ma Yoruba pple...lyf z too short

Wetin concern dis fashola sef?didnt he bury his dad wit a massive party?abi dem no collect asebi ni?mbe congo

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

There's no party like a Lagos party *singing

Fashola please your point is??? Cos I don't get it linda if u like don't post my comment oh

Lagosian una try oh! Oshe!

Oh please...if its true..@ least its their money...they didn't use (steal) taxpayers money... They are spending their own money.. Even if its lavishly..he should tell his useless collegues and those stupid senators!!!

*bbm not interested face* plus *tongue out*

He has spent nation's money on eyitemi thorpe..the girl get range(old), evogue e-class, s class, has a duplex in lekki, gives her 10m a month! Nd security

Lol!He's sure saving ha 4 money ritual *hides n runs away*

helena said...

Good lord!!!*faints*

tokz said...

he should know, afterall it is him and his ilk that do owambe parties, is it me and ordinary lagosians?

tokz said...

he should know afterall, owambe parties are mostly hosted by the rich and 'in government' folks is it my and normal lagosians?

tokz said...

he should know, afterall it is him and his ilk that do owambe parties, is it me and ordinary lagosians?

LOL shine your eyes. I have a feeling all this grammar is prelude to taxation. Very soon wedding planners will start to add "plus tax" to their services because of the tax they'll have to pay to the state. Na to marry sharp sharp before it begins.

Yourba people things. There are the ones causing inflation in lagos. The picture is priceless.lol.

Critical Observer said...

gross exaggeration!

So wat should we do den?do u call this an achievement or?

Yeancah said...

More tax for Lagosians

Opeedo said...

Thats the truth we lagosian loves owambe, even linda thus.

click HERE for hot gist

After hustling weytin go remain. Na parting naw! Eko oni baje ooo!!! O bajetee

The yorubas n o wa mbe.

You and your entire family will be called foolish where ever they go. Bastard

Foolish illiterate. People wey dey chop human being dey talk too

We don hear

After spending millions to have a parry,the next day they drink cassava flakes(garri) senseless yorubas,senseless Nigerians

Dis man thinks we are fools!!!ur hands are stain,ur alawusa is full of curruption.he needs his brain checked.hisssssssssss

Well, that's d signature of a true son of Ile Ife. I'm not against throwing their parties but I kinda have a lil problem when they block the roads thereby causing an avoidable traffic. Thank God people use halls now unlike before

What is the source of his statistics?

Lolz....no be only yoruba pple ooo.

Taking things out of context, really. If you were at the 'seminar' or even watched the news, you'd know that Fashola gave the instance of Parties just to show money-making opportunities that abound therein. He talked of the wine, small chops and aso-ebi. Pick 1 sector and flourish in it. Like he said at the seminar "the solution to unemployment is in three words: Made in Nigeria".

Very soon in lagos u do party u pay for.dat party u ,guests come n eat food d celebrrante pay also so reduce d party lagosians.

Jj

Don't worry, he's abt to introduce event tax. So all dis their survey na propaganda. They know what they are doing.

hmmmmn na wa o, sum dey discriminate, sum dey abuse gov, abegi na u worst pass ffl @iam_likins

Hmmm..

loudmouth said...

A lot of u people here have eyes but can't see.....una no dey read, his talking bout how. To create jobs olodo people...btw these eko pips wee party with there whole salary buy jeep and leave in k2 in one face me I slap u house,with 9 occupants,nd one pit latrin....lool

Anonymous cunt, u need to visit d east and see how much ur pple spend on burials.

worst research results i have seen. you cant do an economic analysis based on one month worth of data. this is very poor.

if they spend 1.2 B on aso ebi and the total monthly is also 1.2B then what happened to drink and DJ. I dont have a PhD in Math but something does not add up.

Don't mind them! After, some of them will start blaming a particular ethnic group in Nigeria for their predicament. Your mates will be in the market or their business offices hustling while you will be partying. After partying you will go broke and turn around and claim that the hardworking ones are ritualists and robbers just to console urself. Ejigi akpata atufu, abu ogaranya.

I like what i read!
I live in Lagos, and upon cries of no money, partying still continues!
Ride on Baba Fash!

Ode lawon yi ke ,see one anon posting multiple comments. How much tax have u paid gan sef , govnor. Is giving statistics ,u dey poo. poo for pant u neva even know the theme of the event .... Choi.gullibity ati mass mumudom..... meanwhile egbon bee tie w ankara e ooo je semo pe pe. pe

Which are there wifes and sister that will do those dj and cooking

If a state goverment can spent 36 billion naira on partling. Den wats stopping FG spending 100b on education. What a selfish n corrupt country ar we

What now? He's gonna band party too?

Oluwapelumi said...

To all dose ppl sayin yorubas r foolish n senseless, u and ur entire tribe (frm d oldest to d youngest)r all senseless n r idiots. Whose business is it if d yorubas spend al their savings on parties? Afterall, u all com if u r invited. So, y d beef? I m sure by d time u ppl leav Lagos n go to Oyo, ondo, osun ekiti n ogun n see how yorubas spend on their parties, u all mite end up committin suicide on anoda tribe's way of life. N btw, if u r all fed up wif parties in Lagos, no b by force to stay in lagos. Y not pack ur miserable luggages bak to ur rotten villages? Personally, i think a tribe dat spends money partyin n feastin on rice, amala n ewedu is beta dan a tribe dat doesnt party but feasts n human beings. *tongue out*

so what should happen now fashola?? so if they work for their money and pay tax from their salary how does it bother you that they spend money to party? the tax in this Lagos is already too much so dnt even go there, (if it's what am thinking). All the money we are paying nko? shebi that ur LIRS man wetin be him name again wey dey dash all my friends the tax money that i work hard for. If they go to his office evelops piled up for thanks for coming. Meanwhile they are not working.

Gov. is forgetting that the firms that produce the aso-ebi, foods and drinks consumed at these parties also contribute to the economy in terms of revenue and employment.

Maggie said...

asoebi is our calling.

Linda y u no dey post my comment. Abi i thief ur thing.
Abeg post my comment after all took time to write u still no wan post am. No wahala God dey shaa.

Tank u joor

Man Pikin said...

Na for weekend parties some waka pass de see food chop for weekend o!!!!! Abeg Oga fash comot ur research for there oooo!!!!!!!!!

Elizabeth said...

This is why most Nigerians will never be wealthy and will still remain in abject poverty, most especially some ignorant people posting silly comments. You need not be at the event to realize that he gave an instance of parties in his speech just to show how much money is moving around in that economy and if you lazy and complaining ass would join the league and make yours legally. Wake up people and smell the coffee, no human being can please a whole state, he can only try. Now it is left for you to prepare, plan, open your eyes to opportunities and make good use of them while the sun is still shinning else you wont stop complaining for the rest of your life. What ever your hands find to do ( catering, event planning, baking, drinks, decorations, rentals, DJ, MC, cleaning, logistics, transportation etc), people do it with all credibility and integrity, then leave the rest to God and see results. It is only the works of your hands that would get you places, start doing something NOW!!!

Elizabeth said...

This is why most Nigerians will never be wealthy and will still remain in abject poverty, most especially some ignorant people posting silly comments. You need not be at the event to realize that he gave an instance of parties in his speech just to show how much money is moving around in that economy and if you lazy and complaining ass would join the league and make yours legally. Wake up people and smell the coffee, no human being can please a whole state, he can only try. Now it is left for you to prepare, plan, open your eyes to opportunities and make good use of them while the sun is still shinning else you wont stop complaining for the rest of your life. What ever your hands find to do ( catering, event planning, baking, drinks, decorations, rentals, DJ, MC, cleaning, logistics, transportation etc), people do it with all credibility and integrity, then leave the rest to God and see results. It is only the works of your hands that would get you places, start doing something NOW!!!

They leav substance and going after the shadow. God will judge all

african mentality

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

NA SO oo ... i have collected 4 aso ebis in the last 2 months and i dont even attend the parties but my mama can attend 3 parties in one weekend. fashola u are so on point

He should go and 4k himself...he has d efuntry 2 come out and tell nigeria how much lagosians spend annually 4 parties meanwhile he can't disclose how much has been raised from revenue tax since he got into office n what is has been used 4!#smh4him#

DSB

He should go and 4k himself...he has d efuntry 2 come out and tell nigeria how much lagosians spend annually 4 parties meanwhile he can't disclose how much has been raised from revenue tax since he got into office n what is has been used 4!#smh4him#

DSB

DSB

Your entire generation is foolish.... oloshi

I wonder o, atleast they have d money to throw d party! Unlike your father that used his entire family to do rituals and still broke.

money8869 said...

This thing isn't new to me anymore. I mean they also have their rights to have a party at their own expense. As long as it is fair and Lagosians can benefit.
airborne band pittsburgh

You are a genius. Just on point. After that, my mind is telling that, soonest, there will be Laughing/happiness Tax!

Jennykiss said...

Now imagine how much pride would fill our hearts if U carried out such research on NEPA bills, School fees, Transportation spendings, medical bills, Tow-gate fees,bribing agberos/crooked officials, generators, deasel/fuel, rents, and STATE TAXES on everything!...and give clear and confirm-able details too. Then we would know what most of us pump MOST of our HARD-EARNED FUNDS on.

You really had a lot of Free time to be able to do this Mr Governor, what do expect people to do to distract them from all the burden they feel when their Salaries never seem to meet up with Bills that are ever increasing?! Aren't you surprised that needed Therapist don't even exist in your State? how sane do you think the state of affairs make people feel? And who else do you think lavish cash excessively throwing parties apart from looting government officials or
"the System" supported Criminals who get their earnings by hook or Crook.

I, my family and most of my friends are no Party freaks, and we still have no intentions celebrating like money was toilet paper. & have never supported waste
.....However don't go Judging your people and Preaching we lack discipline, when your obviously not leading by example by facing the problems we actually need fixed!

How does this study translate to improvement in the political governance of the state? What I need to know is how the information gathered from this research can inform state policies so as to generate revenue and income which will be invested in public services!

That is so rite sue,there is no end to eternity so its imperative we maintain our salvation that's for those dt are born again and if not confess Jesus as lord and savior now before its too late.linlin post this comment oo

fashola is just a fool period

G.E said...

Abeg i wan knw if dem don do fashola papa burial or not? Cos all dis hin yarn nw i no undastand.... aw all dis take kan aye? We no go fit knw wen dem go begin tk una own aso-ebi nw! and aw much money una spend.Abeg gomina stand well well..... Banky dont talk am finish...No party like lagos parry! Na 1 life we gat.

Governor Fashola, Mr prudent.

Wats fashola bizness with party?
can somebody tell him to be reasonable 4 once??cos his government is turning into something else.....is he the first to govern?? dat he wnts to fustrate pipos life?