Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 10/28/2012 - 11/04/2012

Wednesday 7 November 2012

Photos from Salawa Abeni's daughter's 30th birthday party

This party happened a while back but the photos are just coming out! Candy 'Fabulous' celebrated her 30th birthday party on October 14th at Oriental Hotel, Lagos. All the party guests got Louis Vuitton gift bags with LV key holders, cufflinks, mufflers, phone cases inside the bags. More photos after the cut...

Burna Boy visits flood victims in Rivers State

The break out star visited flood relief centers in his home town in Rivers State a few days back. He gave out relief materials and also performed for the victims. Good stuff!

New video: Timi Dakolo - Great Nation

Rapper Eva Alordiah and Trybe Records part ways

Eva Alordiah joined Trybe Records in May 2012, five months later, they are done! A statement from eLDee's record label below...
Trybe Records and Eva Alordiah have agreed to terminate her recording contract effective immediately. Trybe Records’ vision is to discover and nurture the talents of our artists while operating with purpose, valuing relationships with our partners within the industry, and being persistent in creating and releasing quality music.

Unfortunately, over the past 5 months, Eva’s vision has not aligned with ours and thus, both parties have agreed to separate. We wish Eva the best in her future endeavors and plan on continuing towards our goal of creating quality music for Nigeria and beyond.”
- Trybe Records

Policeman allegedly shoots bus conductor dead at Ketu

OK, so what's going on? Why are policemen now shooting indiscriminately while enforcing Lagos traffic laws? Last week they beat and stripped an Okada man at Unilag Junction, yesterday they killed another Okada man at Ilupeju Byepass, today another shooting, another death recorded.

A bus conductor was allegedly shot dead today at Tipper Garage in Ketu. Lagos State Government, what is going on? Is there like an order to shoot and kill individuals who break the new traffic laws? Why do these policemen feel it's okay to just take life over a misunderstanding? Why are we not hearing about arrests and prosecutions of these police officers? WTF is this?

Continue to see the bus conductor killed today. *viewer discretion advised*

Adesuwa Onyenokwe, Joke Silva, others cover November issue of TW

Lovely cover!

UNILAG student hospitalised after outing with Facebook friend

A 21-year-old student has been hospitalised, after she was allegedly pushed down from the third floor of a building in Lagos, following a disagreement with a man she met on the social network, Facebook.

Kim K's hot bikini bod!

Looks so unreal! Too perfect! Can exercise get your body to look like this, or is there more going on here?

'I was misquoted. I never said I will not play for Nigeria' - Osaze

"I have a lot of respect for my country (Nigeria). I will always honour the invitation if called upon. I never said I will not play for Nigeria, I was misunderstood. People should always wait to hear from me personally" Osaze Odemwingie said today during a telephone conversation with sports radio, Brilla FM

Super Eagles coach, Stephen Keshi, revealed to Supersports last week that Osaze told him he no longer wants to play for the National team because of the way he was treated in the past. He explained that prior to Nigeria’s participation at the 2010 Fifa World Cup, he played in all the qualifying games but was dropped at the finals.

AMAA Lagos screening and exclusive evening with P. Anyiam Osigwe

The AMAA 2012 movie screenings sponsoclured by Airtel was held at the Freedom Park, 1 Hospital Road, Lagos Island from 1st - 3rd of November. Movies screened were Otelo Burning, Alero's Symphony and The Figurine.

Exclusive evening with Peace Anyiam-Osigwe was held immediately after the screening. Celebrity appearances by Rita Dominic, Abiola 'Madam Kofo' Atanda, Michelle Dede and Sola Kosoko.

The AMAA screening of winning movies next to Enugu. To get your invites, go to Facebook.com/africamovieacademyawards and on Twitter at #AMAAAWARDS2012SCREENING

President Obama's re-election speech (must read!)

President Obama is definitely one of the best orators the world has even seen. Incredible speech. See it below...
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you so much. Tonight, more than 200 years after a former colony won the right to determine its own destiny, the task of perfecting our union moves forward. It moves forward because of you. It moves forward because you reaffirmed the spirit that has triumphed over war and depression, the spirit that has lifted this country from the depths of despair to the great heights of hope, the belief that while each of us will pursue our own individual dreams, we are an American family and we rise or fall together as one nation and as one people.

President Obama wins re-election

America's first black U.S. president has won re-election. President Obama won Ohio, securing him re-election as president of the United States with 303 electoral votes (thirty three more than he needed) to Romney's 206. He defeated Romney in key states.

This is the day that the Lord has made! I am soooooo happy! God bless Americans for re-electing such a great man!

Tuesday 6 November 2012

The okada man allegedly shot by policemen today has died

Just got word that the Okada man who was allegedly shot this morning by police men at Ilupeju Byepass in Ilupeju (if you missed it, read it HERE) has died.  

The Okada guy was trying to escape arrest from police men who were chasing him when one of them shot him in the chest. After the shooting, the policemen entered their van and sped off. Passersby then rushed the young man to a hospital where he later died! Nigerian police, why?

Banky W, Wizkid not splitting...

The report is circled on the magazine cover. The parties have denied it...

Beyonce's letter to Barack Obama

History will remember Obama as one of the greatest black men who ever lived!

Adaora Ukoh Covers Big Sister Magazine

This is the mag's maiden edition. Continue to see more inside pics...

Paul Okoye and girlfriend expecting a baby

Paul Okoye, the other half of twin singing sensation, P-Square, is going to be a father soon and this is authoritative. His long-term girlfriend Anita, who's currently doing her Masters at the University of Dundee, Scotland, is said to be many months along with the couple's first child.

Paul and Anita have been dating since their university days and I hear marriage is on the cards. Congrats to them!

Dear LIB readers: Am I still a virgin?

From a LIB reader
Please Linda I urgently need your advice and those of people reading your post. I turned 26 a few months back and will be settling down soon, God willing.
My confusion and fear stems from a childhood experience which I've kept to myself all these years. When I was very much younger, around the age of 8, something happened to me. My mom normally drops the key to the house with a neighbour so I can get it from there when I get back from school. Our neighbour has a son named Alaba, who is much older than me. All the kids, including myself, in the neighbour hood were very fond of him as he is very jovial and playful. And I don't think I've ever taught of him as dangerous to hang around.

South Africa launches new Nelson Mandela bank notes

South Africa today November 6th rolled out new notes bearing the image of 94 year old anti-apartheid leader and the country's first black president, Nelson Mandela. The new 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 rand banknotes feature Mandela’s image on one side and the other side maintains the Big Five animals already on the bills.

Mandela is the first black man to appear on South African money. A great way to immortalize a great man.

Okada riders beat up LASTMA officers

Aggrieved riders of motorcycles popularly called Okada plying Magodo area of Lagos State took to the Ojodu Berger road on Monday to engage some officers of the Lagos State Traffic and Management Authority in a fight after a raid by a combined team of policemen and LASTMA officers.

Okada rider allegedly shot by policemen in Ilupeju this morning

Just got this mail from a LIB reader who was an eye witness to this police brutality. According to the guy who sent in the report and photos, the young man you see above was allegedly shot in the chest at 10:52 this morning around Ilupeju Byepass in Ilupeju by policemen from the Ilupeju Police Station who were chasing him and trying to seize his Okada.

The Okada guy was trying to escape arrest when one of the policemen chasing him shot him in the chest. After the shooting, the policemen entered their van and sped off. Passersby then rushed the young man to Teju Hospital which is just adjacent to the where the incident happened. The okada man is presently receiving treatment at the hospital!

Former Miss Black USA Osas Ighodaro joins AfricaMagic's Tinsel

She’s gorgeous, well educated, widely travelled and a rising star. She’s Osas Ighodaro and DStv audiences can see her in action when she joins AfricaMagic’s popular soap opera Tinsel!  The New York born Nigerian-American actress, formerly Miss Black USA 2010, is hard at work in Lagos recording (filming) scenes for her new role on the series.

On Tinsel Osas plays free-spirited and forthright Adanna, an art student from the US who travels to Nigeria to find her inspiration. Honest and charming Adanna can light up a room but her restless energy sees her searching for love, adventure and self-discovery. Along the way, her unconventional interests will get her into all kinds of trouble. One thing is for sure – she’ll keep the folks of Tinseltown guessing!

Check out the Kardashian sisters' Kollection for Dorothy Perkins

The Kardashian sisters have joined forces with UK high street staple Dorothy Perkins to sell their glamour Kardashian Kollection which will be available in all Dorothy Perkins stores and online from the 8th of November. Continue to see the new collection the sisters unveiled and tell us if you like or not!...

Pictures from Taikoon's Respect My Hustle & Executive video shoot

Mogul Music artist Taikoon just shot the videos for his two new singles - Executive and Respect My Hustle which features Banky W, Ice Prince, and Chandon St Lucas. Video was directed by Clarence Peters. More photos after the cut...

Nigerian Paralympians Folashade and Tolulope wed

Nigerian Paralympics couple, Folashade Oluwafemiayo and Tolulope Owolabi, got married this past Saturday November 3rd in Jos.

Folashade and Tolulope won silver medals in the power lifting event at the London 2012 Paralympic games. Happy married life to them!

Flower Girl: Introducing Nigeria’s Newest Romantic Comedy

From the mind of Producer/Director Michelle Bello whose last film Small Boy won two African Movie Academy Awards, comes a tale of love lost and won in the city of Lagos.

Flower Girl is a romantic comedy that involves the life of Kemi, a shy florist,
who is desperate to tie the knot with her long-time boyfriend Umar. Contrary to her expectations, Umar suddenly breaks up with her, leaving her devastated.  In a desperate bid to get him back, Kemi teams up with a most unlikely ally, Tunde Kulani, a famous playboy Nollywood star.

Photos from Munachi Abii's small birthday celebration

Happy birthday once more, babe!

Photos from the New York premiere of Unguarded

The premiere took place on Saturday November 3rd in New York. Uche Jombo, her hubby, Ramsey Noah, Monalisa Chinda, Emem Isong were all there. More photos after the cut...

Monday 5 November 2012

Toni Braxton in her Tom Ford backless dress

Toni Braxton over the weekend stepped out in the bright orange version of the Tom Ford dress Kim and Jada wore a few months back. Kim and Jada stepped out in the white versions of the dress. Which colour do you prefer and who rocked the dress best?

African Footballer of the Year: Mikel makes Top-10 shortlist

John Mikel Obi has emerged as the only Nigerian shortlisted for the top ten of the 2012 African Footballer of the Year. Full list below...

Alexander Song ( Barcelona and Cameroon)
Andre Ayew (Marseille and Ghana)
Christopher Katongo (Henan Construction and Zambia)
Demba Ba (Newcastle United and Senegal)
Didier Drogba (Shanghai Shenhua and Ivory Coast)
Gervinho (Arsenal and Ivory Coast)
John Mikel Obi (Chelsea and Nigeria)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint Etienne and Gabon)
Yaya Toure (Manchester City and Ivory Coast)
Younes Belhanda (Montpellier and Morocco)

Actress Nuella Njubigbo shaves hair for new movie role

Still cute!