Driver Sacks Boss After Winning One Million On Star Game Show | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 September 2012

Driver Sacks Boss After Winning One Million On Star Game Show

They say victory loves careful preparation, right? Luck shone on Emeka John at the oddest of places…..a beer parlour. Well, Emeka is a trailer driver who was spotted drinking bottles of Star lager beer just at the right time and the right place. Unknown to him, Star was giving away instant gift prizes for Star drinkers through a raffle draw. Emeka was given some prizes including a raffle ticket to participate in Star TV Game Show in Lagos.

Emeka was flown to Lagos, all expenses paid, from his base in Benin, just to participate in the Game Show. Since Star Game Show is team-based, he was by sheer luck grouped alongside David Smith and Ugwu Chukwuemeka. At the end of the games, the trio emerged the winning team. Each team member pocketed N1 million for their victory. 

When he was asked about how he felt winning N1 million, Emeka did not waste time in announcing his resignation. He declared: “My days of working for other people are over. I will use this N1 million to buy my own truck.”

If indeed he truly plans to buy his own truck, we wish him well in his future endeavours as an entrepreneur. But if he just uttered those words on the spur of the moment or out of sheer excitement, we can only hope that his boss neither gets to watch that particular episode of Star Game Show on TV stations; nor read this particular post! 

There are some statements bosses do not find funny when they are spoken by their employees. One of them is: “My days of working for other people are over.” 

56 comments:

Ikechukwu said...

He is right!!!

Ikechukwu said...

He is right!!!

Is only in Nigeria that you can't say that.

I've told an employer at an interview here in the UK that i'll like to get to her position/be like her one day.
And told another that i'll like to be my own boss one day, when they ask me where I see myself in 5 years.

I got the 1st Job.

linda for the first time i don't understand this cos it seems u're trying to put the guy in trouble abi which kain funny headline is this.abeg if na joke stop it.

BLOGLORD said...

what kind of truck does he wish to buy with 1million?ordinary picanto is 1million not to talk of a truck. even if it is tokunbo. i will just assume he is overjoyed by his luck

mikeayooye said...

u talking like a critical boss those who work 4 u today will be on their own 2morrow.....

Pot Of Honey said...

he sack his boss because of N1 million? ok the money go soon finish the he go start looking 4 another job

if he's boss wasn't nasty he should not hav hastily quit 1 million in present day naija isn't a lot as he may imagine

NEKS said...

Linda,!I'm mighty mad at u..werez my comment on d Guinness post..what irks me d most is dat I went late 2 work cos I overslept..due to d fact dat I was on ur blog wen I shoulda bn asleep, typin sumtn u dint bother posting..Gosh!!..if dats how u gonna do it,I will stop botherin maself!!

No one Č‹̝̊ÚŞ destined †̥ be α̲̅ slave forever. So, y will his boss be offended by the statement. Linda Πå Ć”☺ΰ interpret Α♍ wrongly wt ♈ĹŤĎ‹ŃŹ headline. Take time ooo.

Zinny

You are right! It's only in Nigeria where the boss thinks you will be under him/her forever. Fuck that shit. That's why they ask you what you envision for yourself over here. They expect you to see yourself doing something more for yourself and your society. Unlike Nig, where your boss wants you to be his slave until the biz crumbles coz of mismAnagement. Silly.
I don't see anything wrong with what he said. Some people do not want to employees forever.

The main thing is that he should use that money wisely. N1mill isn't shit in Nigeria but if you're wise, any amount will yield great returns.

NEKS said...

Thanx Linda..seen it..U actually do listen..;-)

i'll go and drink my own star too

BLOGBABY said...

Lol..Linda u won put this guy for trouble i swear down! Did he say he sacked his boss ni??? Linda abeg o dnt misquote the guy.

Leeely Clinton said...

The guy should invest the money and continue working for his boss jari. No good truck is N1m. What about maintenance?

greatmikko said...

Lolzzz ... This is just the reality of wizboy song titled infinity ... Ah na go hurstle till infinity but ah go bubble till infinity ... So here comes an opportunity for him let him make proper use of it and find himself among tomorrow richest in Africa .. Lolzzz ... My time too dey come!!!!

LOL,I support him,be your own boss.
Earn money the easy way visit http://referraltask.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=171656

OY said...

It is only a wicked boss that will find his word offensive! That's the spirit, work for others for a certain time and start off something, in that way you will be creating opportunities for others. Anyone who wants someone to work for them for a lifetime is very mean.

He better be sure his boss is not watching ,which yeye truck does he want to buy with 1million

slimzyose said...

yea i agree wiv leely,he shld kip wrking 4 his boss,n put dat moni in 2 proper investment

Aku said...

I dont see anything wrong with this, except you linda has a different meaning to it. His boss probably wouldnt expect him to work for him forever, there is nothing wrong with that statement.... 1mil might not buy a truck but 1mil can start him a small scale biz, which is better than collecting 20thousand per month from his boss.

WHO WOULDN'T GET HIS OWN MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD AFTER A LIFE CHANGING EVENT LIKE THIS

Me too wan win one million o!!! Where bar Star dey distribute the money nah

N1 million - tax won't buy his anything. Unless he wants to buy an okada.

LIPS SAYS...

Linda the caption no make sense o.. Driver sacks Boss or Boss sack driver... Biko!!!

Na wa for this Linda o! See any good boss will want his employee to do well and move on to start something for him/herself. It shows they have learnt well. U just need to bless them and pray for them to do well like u have. Finish!

Deres no story here jare. Peeps resign everday cos dey get berra offers.

Segun said...

Who says he can't buy a truck for N1million? He can choose to buy a good tokunbo 2-5ton truck for that amount and he would live comfortable for the rest of his life.

Having one million and not being able to Say that is like being unserious. If my employee says that,I ll be glad and if he has any course to come back I will take him. No one wants to b a driver forever except of course you are clueless so that's not too much to say

he shouldn't have said those words, though they're not really bad per say, cos am wondering what sort of truck he's going to buy with a million Naira not dollars. he might still need his job or maybe go into partnership with his boss and then take it from there. I guess its all excitement. Anyway, there's still other jobs out there.

Really??? We shall see, he's def ganna come back on his knees. I'm waiting....

shosh said...

U sound lyk a drunk. If properly managed,1m is ennuf 4 him 2 start a gud lyf

brandigest said...

Who wouldn't do that
www.brandigest.wordpress.com

Anon 4:12, are you swearing for him? I don't pray he goes back to his boss oo..which kind enemy of progress you be?

lol, his time is now

It doesn't make sense jare! Which kain story be this?

Do u knw if he has some money saved up?

Vikany B said...

LMAO,aunty u dey vex ooo

yetunde said...

U guys dnt get d gist' linda is only tryn 2create awareness 4d star brand &d raffle draw dey playn, so all u guys can go &be buyn star,&hoping 2win a gift or d raffle ticket' which I doubt comes often. Tell me hw many of y'all knew bout dis b4? Well now u informed! Pls dnt spend ur house rent or childs skool fees on star. Or in BP(beer parlour). Lol

N1mn truck? Doubtful it won't be a rickety one. I hope he doesn't take a hasty decision he will later regret. He could continue with his job and use the N1mn for an aside business

It shows how little people really need to start off on their own. If only we had a responsible government, the unemployed population would have been empowered with small soft loans

I see why linda doesnt want to employ people to help her

What truck can he buy with just one million?
He should use that money to invest in his children's education.
One million naira can't take you anywhere these days.

Ode. One million that will finish, just like that.

ALLYBERRY said...

lollllllllll Linda don provoke Neks oooo,Neks on behalf of Linda i say she's sorry,u too suppose know say the work no easy na,why you come dey para?sleeping late doesn't mean you must wake up late,u just lazy like me(wink),and not an early riser like me too.(yes i'm not an early riser,na 5-7am my own sleep dey start and sweet pass.back to the issue on ground.have'nt u guys heard of someone starting up a business with just 50-100k and is a millionaire now? if this guy invest this money well trust me he'll be a multi millionaire in no time.#okbye#

I wonder the kind of truck he will buy with 1 million naira, trucks don't come cheap!

ALLYBERRY said...

and as for those of you saying the caption Linda used was wrong,na una own una dey talk so o,if she had said boss sake driver una for no get interest to read the story,but as she use the opposite so everybody must click read more,lmao.thats the scope of her business o.abi una never see where headline for magazine or news paper go dey captivating and when u buy am read d story no follow? but d thing be say u haff buy it already.#MARKET STRATEGY#.hahahahahahaha

NEKS said...

Lolllz..U're totally right abt d lazy riser stuff..d night neva seems 2 b enuf buh Linda is tryin 2 worsen d case..lol

I don't think the best thing is to resign. You can still be an employee while growing your own business by the side. Your salary can be your disposable income while you keep investing and re-investing your capital +profit to grow your business. You can comfortably resign when you've grown your business to a certain level. That is what I'll do if I were him + 1M is not a lot at all!

One million minus One naira is N999,999. He should better be wise and know what he is talking about!

Linda cuz i yab u small u didn't post my comment oya soli but its true na if that guy boss finds out from ya blog he ll come afta u o and d small cash u have made u ll spend it on law suit

Adele said...

NEKS has killed me with laughter o!!! Raging at Linda for not posting a comment she posted late at night when perusing LIB, which then caused her to oversleep and go to work late! Kai! If I was your employer I would sack you! Seriously??? I wonder if you devote as much time and passion to your career goals as you do on LIB.

The man na mumu oh! the speed at which the 1Million will finish eh. he would be back to beg his boss for his job! Any way he was probably overjoyed!

are some of you daft? can' t you see this is an advert for star beer? linda was probably paid to put this up

titilope said...

Getting a truck for 1 million naira, i don't think so, better he think of other investments now that he has sacked his boss.

NEKS said...

Lol..don't mind linda..na she dey cause my addiction..if our jobs were as interesting as reading gossip,we wld all b Bill Gates by now..lolzz..so I can't honestly say if I devote as much tym and career goal..;-)