Gringory today! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 February 2012

Gringory today!

Most of us who were brought in Nigeria grew up watching the TV series, New Masquerade. And one of the stars of the comedy series was gifted actor and comedian, James Iroha, popularly known as Gringory.

Gringory today is a shadow of his old self. The 74 year old is barely surviving and does not seem to be getting much help from anyone. Our Nigerian heroes, so sad!

42 comments:

ONYEDIKING said...

hmmmm that is naija 4 you www.gideblog.com

that is why our today's leaders steal, steal and keep stealing, cos they feel once they are out of the shine, no body/system will remember again

Amarachukwu said...

Linda, I know James Iroha has responsible Children. I know this because 2 of his sons are my friends. He was never rich but he trained his children well. He lived in the era before Nollywood. When Nollywood stars are pushing drugs and doing crazy things to keep up with the jonses, what do you expect from an honest man like Gringory. May the Good Lord bless his Children Amen!

May d heros of our past, never be in vain. Mr. Iroh inspires many 'celebrites' in Nigeria today.

Frank.

sandy baby said...

Linda havnt u heard of d warri snake girl story dat hapend 2day???pls confirm nd tel us hw true it is cos we r rly in doubt!!!!tanx

Linda, every 74 year old man is a shadow of his 45-50 year old self. Just like you at 74 will be a shadow of your pretty self of today. I don't see the gist here. Quite frankly, he looks okay for his age and let's be sincere - what's the heroism in acting in an NTA production with an ensemble cast. The man was paid his NTA salary and his allowances, it was the deal of the time.

I don't know if people put you on to these stories, but you should let people retire in peace. These stories embarrass their families in many cases. What next will we see, the man who played Jegede? Get some real news, biko!

Anty May

please linda do you have any idea how one can reach him?

Barely surviving !!!! ....... Linda thats very speculative. He might not be rich but okay . God bless him

i would hardly call him a "nigerian hero". Having said that, there is no such thing as a "nigerian hero" because nigerians do not value anything apart from MONEY.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Dude is a national hero a pioneer..pretty sad not even the thiefing Governors/Senators can help..

Shaddy said...

God will be with him thats all i can say

Ayamatanga said...

Anyone remember "SAMANJA" the TV drama set in a fictional military camp. The star of the soap lives in a shanty town up north; muddy road, leaking pipes, open drainage and rooms not fit for the dogs of the elite a real mess...

I rem New Masquerade, loved it. Not to sound harsh, but he was not a hero, he was an actor.That picture only shows that he is aging, it doesn't mean he is suffering!

*Sad*

Hi Linda, I know one of his sons and they take good care of him. I guess age has caught up with him.

Amarachukwu: Well said!

What does Linda mean by "Gringory today is a shadow of his old self." Didn't she just say he's 74?

It's called aging nothing more. He looks wonderful to me.

KELE GOLDMIND said...

That's why corruption and all sort of calamicious act is prevalent in Nigeria, hardwork is not rewarded but smartwork is!

this is really sad but what are his children doing to help their father?

Amarachukwu, if he has responsible children as you said, they should take care of him na..

UBADIRE ASHIEGBU said...

well is just that our so called govt dont even have regards for such pple in our society, that is y things are like that for pple like Gringory. Though him de follow my papa them de eat pension for BCA Umuahia. he use to be a director for program when he was in active service

@Amarachukwu, if gringory trained his kids very well and u said d r responsible why should someone refer to gringory as barely surviving? D children shld take responsibility and ensure their father ages gracefully then.

When I read comments, lamenting that Nigeria should take care of her aged heroes,celebrities......I wonder.
This is just to say, you don't leave your future & destiny into the hands of anybody but God. You must take charge and plan your future. Any dependence of the country or anybody except God is highly unreliable and unpredictable.

But rili he isnt our hero,he acted n he was paid,so wat has naija got 2 do wiv tis

http://signup.wazzub.info/?lrRef=10345b5f

GREAT Online Income Opportunity, ABSOLUTELY FREE.

The world's fastest growing internet search engine, "WAZZUB" is offering the entire world opportunity to be shareholders (50% of their monthly profits permanently) if they sign up for free before April 9, 2012. The projected first monthly payment is scheduled for May 15, 2012. To qualify for payments such signed up shareholders must make sure the confirm the membership verification link "WAZZUB" will send to their e mail inboxes and sign up 3 or more verified shareholders. To sign up (absolutely free) click on this link below

http://signup.wazzub.info/?lrRef=10345b5f

Note: You can also post the invitation link code "wazzub" will give you on free online advertizing
sites to enable more people sign up through your invitation link without you stressing yourself. So you simply sit back and watch your income grow.

I saw him at a party a few yr's ago & he looked quite well.I also know his son who is a popular celebrity photographer.that pic to me is kinda misleading

Oh my! Gringory! I have been wondering about this man. Someone needs to start paying attention to the people who made television worth while back then. I've always wanted to do a documentary on them, all the new masquerade cast, the cock crow at dawn, even the checkmate cast, and so on. where the heck are they all?
Im sure they are disappointed at what the status is now. What I'm wondering is why all the "good" film makers don't reach out to them and use them in their work. Would be a shame if they all died off without any information on them

Producer$

this is so sad and depressing...

derty said...

where is the one called clarus:?

Pls Ms Ikeji, take down this post and stop embarrassing family members that who take care of this man.This is misleading and uncalled for.

@Linda,
Why is he a hero?. Please tell me because I don't know what made him a hero. Do you even know the meaning of hero?
--Gbenga

hmmmm....So Sad...

Like our Page On Facebook..

Ofu Obi( Oneness Of Heart)

Aunty May, your comment was my thoughts exactly. Linda needs to leave this former celebretis alone. Her publications sure do embarras their families.The cannot be the same people they used to be in their limelights. Age will defeintly catch up on them. Linda pls find us better story abeg

Dare said...

I remember the time is 8.30pm Tuesday. I have to rush home to watch NTA...the good old NTA. Well I think we all need to start planning for our retirement now. For a 74 year old, Iroha is trying. I believe his children should do more to keep him fine. I wish him well

in other civilised countries our elderly ones are looked after but in naija na lie what a shame upon all the rich resources we are blessed with. they would come out saying the reserves is xxx million $$$ up and yet over 100 million nigerians live in abject poverty a big shame.

nigeria is not too poor a country that they can not pay a pension to every elderly person living in nigeria today there would even be change after the payment and yet nothing to show!!!! GEJ your time dey come ooo mschew just a figure head for nothing cannot even organise his people to start the ball rolling to look after our elederly nigerian citizens nonsense!!!

But finally,Chika okpala aka chief zebrudaya is doing well. He shd help his former colleague naa

Ah he was aired on who deserves to b a millionaire and won a good sum of cash now,i knw he is blind but i guess he has children,pension to help wit we cant xpect govt to start payin all retired actors now

Unknown, amarachukwu said responsible not "RICH"..dolo!

sweetorgasm said...

linda why ve u bin ignoring my comments?im pissed ooo.wetin happen na!!

Olubabafemi said...

May, exactly my thought!...as in, what is the meaning of the phrase "...is the shadow of himself"?
Linda, a little word goes a long way. The family isn't happy with your write-ups!

##Olubabafemi##

I know one of his sons. He might not be living in affluence but they are taking care of him.

GOD BLESS YOU FOR SAYING WHAT I WAS GOING TO SAY, ANTY mAY.

Muse said...

Linda, how do you know he is barely surviving? Did he come to you or any of yours to beg for food or money? mind you he is 74 and not 47, i think he looks perfectly good for a 74 year old. besides he's got responsible kids who are not doing badly and i don't think he is suffering!!!