Father flogs 5 year old daughter to death in Warri | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 February 2012

Father flogs 5 year old daughter to death in Warri

Mother after she was once beaten by Becklin and Bethel Okoro inset
Yes, this happened in Nigeria. A five-year old girl named Bethel Okoro, a kindergarten pupil of Holy Cross Schools, Warri, Delta State, was allegedly flogged to death by her father, Becklin Okoro, an ambulance driver with the state-owned Warri Central Hospital, last week, in Delta State.

The girl's father was said to have been angered when he found out that Bethel had visited her mother at 22, Numa Mejeyi Street, Iyara in Warri, after she closed from school. Her mother (pictured above with late Bethel) had left home because of the beatings she constantly got from her husband.
Bethel was said to have fainted after the beating, she was rushed to the hospital but sadly died. The father is on the run.

62 comments:

5yr old has got boobies? Something is wrong with this tale!

ONYEDIKING said...

hmmmmmmmmm all i can say is RIP www.gideblog.com

Joey said...

He had better continue to be on the run. What a wicked father he is. I just wonder why people do this sort of things to fellow humans and more disheartening when its done to children. May her soul rest in peace.

Saddest news by farr! May her beautiful soul rest in eternal peace. Some men can be suprizngly horible,cruel to mentn bt a few wrds!smh!

Pascal said...

This is serious i cant just believe it, why are parents like that.
MURTALA MUHAMMED SCHOLARSHIP 2012,LONDON
Total Petroleum Nigeria Ltd Recruitment 2012

Dis is so so sad..y is da pic like a nollywood movie,I be wan ask which movie be dis,,na aw oh..

I want a child is wot i get in return woteva may be dey case u dnt touch a child u only talk 2 dem advise 4dem 2undrstnd u nt 2d aspect of beatng like a mad dog linda like diz tory diz will serve as a warning 2othr parent.

if dis is true, then ist may d little gal's soul rest with the Lord.

As for the pathetic excuse of a father, he is surely mad to have hit his own child. i hate to curse but i kw dat God will not let him go scot free. retarded bastard..

The fact is, Domestic violence is far worse in Nigerian than western society, at least in the west you can call the police And have him arrested. And the law in the west protects women by far than men. In Nigeria and Africa atlarge, domestic violence are not reported until someone dies. Thousands of Nigerian women suffer abuse everyday and no one bothers or care to report it.

kcee said...

He should be sentenced accordingly.

Oloriburuku ma se afani eda! Why should de mother leave her behind! Some men are just animals,,, that man shd be burnt alive, asin how cud sm1 possible beat a 5year old child to death!!!! Beats my imagination! Ko ni ku ire!!

Possibly* I meant!

Naomi said...

some people r just sickkkkkk, a little girl just got beaten to death and all u can ask is 5yr old got boobies? i feel sorry for u. may the little girls sou RIP Amen

To "Anonymous - February 15, 2012 7:03 PM" Try reading the caption underneath the picture before commenting!!!!!!!

RIP - so so sad

onyigirl said...

Do you have a problem with English language?

zoomzoomzoom said...

Hi dummy variable, the one with the boobies (in white top) is the Mum, the one on purple outfit is the dead 5year old.Where u see boobie? God go help u oo.

As mch as i hate 2 insult,u av proven ursef 2 b an idiot.cnt u read ehn,may ur soul rest in peace princess,and 4 ur fada...i refuse 2 curse him.i leave God 2 judge u

melody said...

Stupid story,y̶̲̥̅̊ leave a little and only child with a man who treats u dis way without taking her along to ur new location,arrant nonsense.

Nigeria Scholarship said...

I hope that bicycle kill him why still on the run. Free Nigeria Scholarship

Jamb 2012 results said...

May the little girl soul rest in peace. And may the father never know peace!

@d first pervert looking 4 a five year old boobies dat only him could see. May God hav mercy on u. On d issue at hand:beckel, u re a beast & I leave d soul of dis innocent kid 2 torment u 4 d rest of ur miserable life. Rip little angel.

this is not good oo. I know some people are barbaric but up to this extent is beyond me
visit http://giftemezu.blogspot.com/

Hmm...

Baffles me

This is Indeed Sad....May ur soul RIP pretty Angel

ONOME says........................

Dear Bethel,i know there's nothing i will say that hasn't been said already.The outrage is palpable in the land.You did not deserve to be beaten to death.What can i say little one........your play mates in the UK,US and other civilized countries will not understand this case cos in these places there is a law that you cannot smack your child so as to leave a reddened imprint on the skin(fair skinned/white children);such a parent will be prosecuted for child abuse,assault,battery etc and the child is promptly removed from such a home and placed in a safe foster home/care.Bethel,i hope your dad is apprehended.I hope Justice is served.I hope he rots in jail......
Bethel's mommy,why did you leave your baby in care of this man?Most times custody is awarded to the mothers,only a woman(and some men) who has carried a child for 9 months,breastfed the child,changed the napkins/diapers understands that it's not easy to have a baby;the father may have visitation rights and in a prior abusive relationship the father is absolutely excluded from seeing the children alone;;.....
Sadly i shudder to say this but as my country has proved time and time again,this case may be swept under the carpets and join the other dusty files in the archives of Nigeria's failed judiciary system.....
Sleep on Bethel Okoro.....Sleep on vulnerable one....May you find rest in the bosom of our Lord...

When caught he should also be flog to death.

God forgive me.

What else could one expect from an ambulance driver?so sad!

donsolix said...

nawaoooooo!!!...nsogbu di!!!....maybe he isnt d biological fada of her....but even @dat.....I dont knw d word I'll describe dis madness with...dats y d Bible condemns ANGER so much.....he must v a record of insanity....RIP my beautiful angel....oh little one,dats wot u get in a coun3 as wicked & corrupt as ours,u culd v still been alife were u 2be born in US or UK.....hope u r with GOD

naijababe said...

I'm not trying to be insensitive here. A 5yr old with boobs and weave like that, did they mix her age up?

Child abuse is nothing new to Nigerians. There's a fine line between abuse vs discipline. Very sad case.

naijababe said...

Oh sorry, I see that's her mother. I need to keep my glasses on. Anyway, very sad case. This little girl did not deserve that at all.

I am dumbfounded.. all I can say is people should RISE to action and understand that Domestic Violence is a criminal Act ..why are there no pictures of this man in the media. All these NGO's that are supposed to be fighting for Causes like these, should show proactive action. Have his picture scattered around the place, there should be a price placed on his head. Once we begin to understand the gravity of pain and suffereing that Domestic violence sufferers endure will we be able to deal with it once and for all....MEN people should get off the internet and Witch hunt this man till he is caught....sorry I am too angry too say much else! Nonsense

he should be tortured to death

Do you know why all this won't stop?because no one takes such things seriously,only some communities take the law into their hands, and that's if it was a woman that committed the crime, men ALWAYS get away with crime - wife/girlfriend battering, rape, child molestation, domestic violence and it's always treated as a "family affair".
The government is too busy looking for the next avenue to scrape whatever's left of the masses. I'm enraged by this news, it must not be accepted anymore. How much more crime and bloodshed would we allow before getting serious?

why is the little girl in custody of her father if he beat his wife.

am speechless, i dont even know where to begin, but seriously, abuses against women and children should STOP, our society is the only place men abuses women and children, and they go scote free or are even rewarded. female lawers and advocates should rise up to this challenge.
may the soul of the little angle rest in peace, and my heart goes to the mother as well.

Sounds like a normal story in Warri.He will get away with it as police intelligence is non existent to catch him but hope his rotten soul is in turmoil.

HISS said...

#sad# soul rest in peace baby. #heavy sigh#

why didn't her mother take her along when she moved? In Nigeria, that is the common practice!

Where were the neighbors when the child was crying and probably shouting?

#exhales# am so A-N-G-R-Y!!!!
I pray he never has a child in his miserable life again IF this case is swept under the carpet as usual when money exchange hands with our corrupt police! #long hiss#

@Onome sadly custody is often granted to the Father in Nigeria because according to them he owns the children. Smh #dumb law.

You are one of those who read the caption but never read the real story.olodo rabata

teju said...

And with living examples like this,you hear nigerians asking you to stay in ano abusive relationship and "pray"!!!!the last time i checked only someone alive can pray,and hope and plan.good luck to us as we continue to cover up and make excuses for this animals in human skin.

I blame the mother more.. How can a mother leave her five year old daughter with an abusive man? This is so sad and I pray for the little one to rest in peace. All I can say for now...city madam

Fearless! said...

Such a sad story!May her Gentle soul rest in peace!but for the insane father with a weird name,he will never know peace again!Amen

This 5 year old has the baddest cleavage ever.Naaaa not true madam linda u sef no see am

My question is, how did the dude end up with the kid?!!!!

Riddle me that pls... Someone know to be violent got to keep the 5 year old? He must have beat her up the way he beat the mum. Imagine the stunning blows he gave the poor girl, sent her straight to the grave!!!!

I'm trying to concoct curses for this man but i cant seem to come up with something befitting.

sleekreek said...

@Annon Feb 15 7:03pm.......i think u have a very big problem comprehending simple english...ode!!

@Annon Feb 15 11:54pm......exactly the first thing that came to my mind,,,an ambulance driver is used to carrying unconscious and dead people....so he wont mind have one unconscious or dead person in his home......

I really blame the mother,,,how can she leave her child with such an animal after all the experience she had with him????

Anywayz,,may the little girl's soul rest in peace....(amen) and as for the beast who calls himself father,,,the wrath of God will surely visit him......

God!!!!
this must be a heartless man,
Do u know what guys? God must surely pay him back.

Shaddy said...

@ all: I said it too why could the mother leave her 5yrs old girl behind but come to think of it some men are very stuborn you can imagine he beat her to death simply because she went visiting her own mother? am pretty sure the man took the girl away from her with force I have seen cases like that some men are ready to take custody of a year old baby just because they want the mother to suffer or because the woman left them even though they know dat taking care of the child will be very challenging and demanding......Hummm for the girl RIP and for the mother so sorry may God comfort your heart and give you peace In Jesus Name. Amen

This is nothing new, there are lots of damaged fathers out there who have not dealt with their own issues; charming in public, destructive at home.

As for the mother not taking the child with her, would you blame her when she has not got the upper hand over her abusive husband.

RIP to the child,
Lets all stand and say NO to abuse

The man is MAD!!! tooo many mad men walking around freely these days! living with sane people!
God would save us from stark madmen like them! nonsense!

God!!!!
this must be a heartless man,
Do u know what guys? God must surely pay him back.

Mawetthii said...

OMG' May her soulz R.I.P. Curse on him. diz man will never see happiness agian no matter how far he ran to. some pple r sample of some other beings.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Men like this sickening me. What sickens me even more are the neighbors that keep quiet while the beatings are going on!

He is an Animal in Human skin!
Lord God, take vengeance on this innocent girl's behalf for your word says that vengeance is yours!!!

Are you blind, deaf and dumb?

Luffy said...

Spare the rod and spoil the child, no part said to kill the child. If my kid errs, I m gonna smack em so he wont end up becoming underwear bomber later in life, but that dude took it too far, he should be punished.

Are u blind????please read the caption properly.guess not everyone that can use the net can read.

Someone has answered the auestion and criticism of many.in nigertia,they will tell ou the man "owns" the child/children as you came with nothing and you must leave with nothing.and trust me when i tell you this is also practiced amongst the supposed literate and elite.it took cunning and child theft(by me) to get my daughter with me and smuggled to whre we are now.(We are out of the country) and this with a very affluent and popular family.please dont judge the mother till you have been in that position.thank you.

the father most put to book becos life is not like that,what kind of anger that will make him to beat to death.him most be Arrested and charge to court

Such a sad story..!anyway,guys mk cool cash by signing 4free on http://signup.wazzup.info/d448d854

lol,funny comments,bt blve me dat man is MAD,God hlp us oooo,RIP my dear.

D fada na bomb. No b evrybody surpose 2 dey alive like d smally pale. If i seam, na me go evn kpa am