OUCH Couture dazzles at the African Fashion Week in London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 August 2011

OUCH Couture dazzles at the African Fashion Week in London

Nigeria's foremost fashion retail brand, OUCH COUTURE has showcased its new collection of Urban street Wear at the just concluded African Fashion Week London (AFWL). The Creative Director of the fashion range Uche Nnaji  joined fifty other designers from across the world to exhibit Africa-inspired collections.

The AFWL provided the opportunity for the ace designer to unveil his new collection of Urban Street Wear, '234' which pays fashion homage to Nigeria's international dialling code. The designer stole the night as his collection opened to an excited reception from guests including an interview with fashion bible Vogue.  In the full glare of summer, it was the perfect time for the designer's fabulous splash of bright colours and comfy polo's stole the night; wowing the audience with his fresh mix of trendy sophistication and comfort.

"OUCH has been all about expansion this way, and deepening the sense of this brand as both a part of the Nigerian lifestyle and as an authentic African ambassador," Nnaji said. "This is another step in that direction and we are excited about it." 

The OUCH brand was launched in 2007, as an exclusive menswear range operating from Maryland Lagos State, and has expanded to include outlets all over Lagos, it can also be found in stores around the country. In 2010, the

designer showcased his Platinum Collection range at one of fashion's biggest platforms, the New York Fashion Week. His latest collection of Urban street wear, the '234' range comprises mainly of Polo's and T-shirts, the designer also replicates the cosmopolitan appeal of the I love New York T-shirts with his I Love Lagos and I Love 9ja T-shirts.

The premiere of the AFWL which took place at the Gibson Hall, Bishopsgate in London from the 5 to 6 August, has been praised as the biggest platform ever dedicated to African inspired fashion in Europe. The two day event was

graced by over 4700 visitors. 

Photo credit: Des Richards Freelance Fashion Photographer. Photo and Digital Art Productions.

8 comments:

Terrific... said...

Nice one...

kkdlegend said...

am defnatly getting my hands one of those. When i hamah lolz .nice repping 9ja .saluteam defnatly getting my hands one of those. When i hamah lolz .nice repping 9ja .salute

Ese said...

This brand is surely the future of retail fashion on the continent. Kudos

This man bag don pass go LOL

Everybody wan get Couture now! Na wah oh!!

sakara said...

so na 'i love lagos'...'lagos is cool' I go dey take my hard earned kushi buy now....what of 'i love sakara' ehn ehn i no say u dey talk...i beg couture couture

still confused by the nut hugging shorts.

Kudos to OUCH, gr8 collection! My trouble is reconciling this man Uche Nnaji with this kind of ingenuity, my apologies, he doesn't look or sound that smart.